Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

President Dana

• 09-01-2011 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭

God help us!:eek:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0109/breaking32.html

Former presidential candidate Dana Rosemary Scallon has said she hasn't ruled out running for the Irish presidency later this year.
    The former MEP and Eurovision winner received almost 14 per cent of the vote when she ran for the presidency in 1997, coming third after Mary McAleese and Mary Banotti. President McAleese's second term of office will end in November.
    Speaking on RTÉ Radio's Miriam Meets... show today, Ms Scallon said running for the presidency was not on her radar at the moment.
    "But I've learned never to say never Miriam, because I said I wouldn't be a singer and I was,” she said. "I said I'd never be in politics and I was. And as I'm sitting before a prospective candidate as yourself, I'll never say never."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It will still be up to the voters who wins..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

One bland Mammy from the North is enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Dana see's Mary like the neighbour next door ie, if it's good enough for her it's good enough for me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

In all fairness to Dana at least she does a good job of convincing people she's human. Crafty lizard people & their cunning disguises.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

oh the horror :mad:

cant believe she actually came third in the last election. thats insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

So she wins the eurovision about 50 years ago and for some reason she's still in the public eye and plans to run for President a second time?! Why was she even in the running before? And to top it all of she's also a judge on a poor excuse for a talent show, please fade away into obscurity once and for all Dana and leave us in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

paky wrote: »
    oh the horror :mad:

cant believe she actually came third in the last election. thats insane

She came third. Out of three candidates. That's last to you and me.

Honestly, I don't care what anyone says, she's an unpleasant woman to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

After her last embarrassment you would think she would have learned.
    I thought she sais was going to retire from political life after that, i did'nt think she would do that to herself again.

Piss off Dana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I couldn't listen to Michael D's weedy voice for 7 years

Norris would be interesting but could he shut up about Palestine, US foreign policy etc?

I'd like to see Shane Ross give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

She would be as good at what is there at the moment. Cant stand mary mcaleese.

we really do not need a president at all.

I was once getting my hair cut in a unisex saloon in Graton street ,back in the 80s (true story ) so looking (as one does) in the mirror as to who is sitting opposite to me , I noticed the womon looked remarkably like Dana .

So averting my eyes from mirror and turning to my left to have a look I realised ...it was Dana :eek: with that smirk look on her face

(never went back to that saloon again ) :cool:

hondasam wrote: »
    She would be as good at what is there at the moment. Cant stand mary mcaleese.

we really do not need a president at all.

same here. one of the biggest bluffers of them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

What's everyone getting worried about? Just because she didn't rule it out categorically?
    Speaking on RTÉ Radio's Miriam Meets... show today, Ms Scallon said running for the presidency was not on her radar at the moment.
    "But I've learned never to say never Miriam, because I said I wouldn't be a singer and I was,” she said. "I said I'd never be in politics and I was. And as I'm sitting before a prospective candidate as yourself, I'll never say never."

Pherekydes wrote: »
    What's everyone getting worried about? Just because she didn't rule it out categorically?

as if there was some sort of suspense to it LOL

its time for some radical change in this country and she aint it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Wasnt she reduced to tears on the radio by someone during the run up to the last election she contested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

The last thing we need is another black pig for President. Shane Ross would be an excellent candidate. At last we'd have somebody who could restore a little dignity to the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

She came third. Out of three candidates. That's last to you and me.

No, she came third of five candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

penguin88 wrote: »
    No, she came third of five candidates.

Really? My apologies, I thought it was just Dana and The Marys. (I twas only a jungfellah with no interest in politics when they were participating in The All Ireland Popularity Contest) Who were the other 2? And how did they do worse than her!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Why the hell would you want that yolk for president? How the hell has she contributed to Ireland other than repeatedly singing some archaic little 3 minute song her whole life?

Put proper people up, like academics, experienced politicians or people who campaigned for human rights, etc.. Not someone who would be laughed at when trying to represent Ireland abroad.

David Norris and Michael D. Higgins are the only obvious people thus far to have hinted on their potential candidacy who could be classified as presidential material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

ejmaztec wrote: »
    God help us!:eek:
    You're saying it wrong....

It's God Bless us all.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Who were the other 2? And how did they do worse than her!?

Adi Roche and Derek Nally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_presidential_election,_1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Zon

Do not want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Jean Byrne for President.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Guill wrote: »
    After her last embarrassment you would think she would have learned.
    I thought she sais was going to retire from political life after that, i did'nt think she would do that to herself again.

Piss off Dana.

I thought she did fairly well in 1997... 175,000-odd first preference votes - and that was without the backing of any party machine.

She's a bit lightweight and right-wing for me but don't write off the right-wingers. Tea Party candidate, anyone?

Rohnan Keating put his interest into it a few years back .... (jasus no)

but Mikey Graham is out of the running I hear

( Mikey seems a really nice fellah and would do as good as job as any )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Wasn't she president already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Odats wrote: »
    Jean Byrne for President.:D

She'd whip us all into shape alright, if her outfits are anything to go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"All kinds of everything
    Remind me of losing elections..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

id rather vote for dana international

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

Not only don't we need a president, we can't afford one, it's a serious waste of taxpayers money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ali Babba wrote: »
    Not only don't we need a president, we can't afford one, it's a serious waste of taxpayers money.

As are schools.

Feckin' kids don't pay attention anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Nevore wrote: »
    Wasnt she reduced to tears on the radio by someone during the run up to the last election she contested?

She was trying to get nominated last time and one area was Galway so she was looking for support there

She went on Galway radio and was asked to name five estates in Knocknacarra, a large area with thousands of residents

She couldn't even name one estate :rolleyes:
    And then got flustered

She was trying to get nominated last time and one area was Galway so she was looking for support there

She went on Galway radio and was asked to name five estates in Knocknacarra, a large area with thousands of residents

She couldn't even name one estate :rolleyes:
    And then got flustered

Ask the same question to alot of Galway City people and only those living in Knocknacarra will be able to name probably three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Maybe but if you're lobbying for support and want to get nominated by Galway it's basic stuff to know.

Any local TD and every county councillor knows more about my own area and county then I do, of course they do

Maybe but if you're lobbying for support and want to get nominated by Galway it's basic stuff to know.

Any local TD and every county councillor knows more about my own area and county then I do, of course they do

It is a bit different than running in a local election. Our local councillors will have knowedge of the area but a TD will not.

Dont underestimate how little some elected members actually know about the area the represent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm glad I can't vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭JohnfromGalway

Love to see a run-off between Bertie & Dana.

"All kinds of every type of corruption remind me of you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 i_love_bertie

I'm not in agreement with Dana's politics but seriously this is a bit pathetic. She comes across as very nice, sure a little old fashioned twee, but nice. What has she ever done to result in this much hatred. Of course everyone's entitled to their opinion but this is going a bit far.

For those who question her career achievements maybe research her music career in the 70s/80s in both the UK and Germany before they define her music career as just Eurovsion and All Kinds of Everything. She didn't have much of a music career here in ireland buts thats because we're largely a nation of arrogant begrudgers...proven perfectly here!

if she runs for president, who cares. Just don't vote for her if you don't like her. Better than the likes ****ing Bertie Ahern who destroyed this country if you ask me!

Thats it...rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I'm not in agreement with Dana's politics but seriously this is a bit pathetic. She comes across as very nice, sure a little old fashioned twee, but nice. What has she ever done to result in this much hatred. Of course everyone's entitled to their opinion but this is going a bit far.

For those who question her career achievements maybe research her music career in the 70s/80s in both the UK and Germany before they define her music career as just Eurovsion and All Kinds of Everything. She didn't have much of a music career here in ireland buts thats because we're largely a nation of arrogant begrudgers...proven perfectly here!

if she runs for president, who cares. Just don't vote for her if you don't like her. Better than the likes ****ing Bertie Ahern who destroyed this country if you ask me!

Thats it...rant over.
    So how does having a shítty music career qualify her to be President?

OisinT wrote: »

what qualifications do you need ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭argonaut

Isn't she a crazy ultra-Catholic nutjob?

If so, her running against David Norris should be funny. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

That vacuous god botherer?

Naw, yer grand.

hondasam wrote: »
    what qualifications do you need ?
    Preferably an IQ over 60 so Dana doesn't really qualify.

ya maby but Im sure we will continue this debate when we see the canditates who are running for president. A few of the names I have seen are not much better than Dana.

Just because she has a good set of catholic values does not make her a nutjob. I would not vote for her myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Groan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

paky wrote: »
    as if there was some sort of suspense to it LOL

its time for some radical change in this country and she aint it

She'd be a step backward, anti - contraceptive hail mary or something:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 i_love_bertie

How does being a teacher qualify you to be a Government minister...lets be honest, being the Irish President isn't the most demanding job!

It most certainly doesn't... I've been on about that for ages to be fair.

The Irish President has a very important job. I'm just sick of explaining what it is to everyone who couldn't be bothered to pay attention in school.

She'd be a step backward, anti - contraceptive hail mary or something:rolleyes:

Mary mcaleese disapproves of abortion and divorce and is also catholic. Herself and Dana are very similar in their views.