Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bridgestone Invitational

• 02-08-2011 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭

The start of a great couple of weeks of golf, with particular interest in the return of one T.Woods to action after his injury enforced lay-off.

Tee Times

PP Odds

Clarke paired with Tiger for the first two days, which will probably please both players.

A high class field as always for the WGCs, who are the standout picks? Stricker looks the form horse and has played well here the last few years while Mahan is the defending champion but is struggling a bit for form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

What channel is this on? Looking forward to Tiger playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Sky Sports 1 at 7 on Thursday
    Sky Sports 2 at 7 on Friday

Then Sky Sports 1 from 5 Saturday and Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 8081travis

going to be very interesting to see if Tiger lasts 4 rounds on his knee, playing out of competition when the competitive juices arent flowing is a very different story....clarkie will get him around the first round at least!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

Hope Woods falls flat on his face, the golf world is better off without him. I don't care what he has won, he dominated for too long and the scene was stale. Much more exciting now that more players can win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

I hope Woods makes a strong comeback myself. The golfing world needs him, he is the largest draw and the one people want to see. I cant see why one player being so good at a game that they dominate it is a bad thing. If people want to beat him, get better. Simple.

mags1962 wrote: »
    Hope Woods falls flat on his face, the golf world is better off without him. I don't care what he has won, he dominated for too long and the scene was stale. Much more exciting now that more players can win.

I'd be of the opposite view, I really hope Tiger gets back to somewhere near his best because it would be fantastic to see him compete with the younger generation of players.

Even Tiger himself said it in one of his press conferences this week...when he was at his big there was a core of 4 or 5 winning the majority of big tournaments (Vijay, Phil, Ernie, Goose and Tiger). Now there is far more depth of talent around with young, hungry players who don't fear Tiger.

I can't wait for him to be in contention on a back 9 in a major with the likes of Rory, Schwartzel, Day etc. It has the potential to produce some of the best golfing drama ever imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

I don't care what he has won, he dominated for too long and the scene was stale. Much more exciting now that more players can win.

Probably the most ridiculous statement I've read on this golf forum.
    what are you like............

so would the NBA have been better off without Michael Jordan
    Would the swimming world have been better off without Thorpe or Phelps ?

P.S golf today, is what it is today....with a HUGE contribution from Tiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭mags1962

So the bigger one player becomes the more money, attention and everything else goes to one man. Jordan was one man in a team that included the coach, how many Championships did he win on his own? I think Phil Jackson has more. Thorpe and Phelps did not dominate every distance and discipline. Woods may have been the bigest draw but to the detriment of the rest of the field, crowds moving as soon as he has played and not waiting for the others to finish. Less of the pot, including sponsorship, to go round the others, not so much of a problem now.
    Woods did not make the game what it is today, Ben Hogan, Harry Vardon, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Arnold Palmer, Greg Norman, Isao Aoki(for Asian Fans), Bob Charles and I could go on and on, Woods has besmirched the game with his arrogance and indifference, rarely played outside his country unless he got a huge appearence fee, his Ryder Cup exploits bear this up inspite of his results he is more devisive to the team and it usually becomes who can play with him. Mickelson can not, a true gent I must say, as Woods gets up his nose although he is too humble and gracious to say so.
    How does he do with autographs, any of you ever been near him to see his disregard for the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

SSK wrote: »
    I'd be of the opposite view, I really hope Tiger gets back to somewhere near his best because it would be fantastic to see him compete with the younger generation of players.

Even Tiger himself said it in one of his press conferences this week...when he was at his big there was a core of 4 or 5 winning the majority of big tournaments (Vijay, Phil, Ernie, Goose and Tiger). Now there is far more depth of talent around with young, hungry players who don't fear Tiger.

I can't wait for him to be in contention on a back 9 in a major with the likes of Rory, Schwartzel, Day etc. It has the potential to produce some of the best golfing drama ever imo.

id agree with you there. Really want to see him up against the young lads who are coming up now. I really dont think they will be afraid of him any more and will compete shot for shot with him instead of imploding.
    Never liked the way he was towards the fans or his some what stuck up attitude but it is an absolute pleasure to watch & see him hit golf shots at his best.

Gone with Sergio & Karlsson this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Ok if you fancy a bet on this:
    Miguel Angel Jimenez 150/1 with Paddy power. amazing value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

McDowell @70s and Wilson @150s for me.

Dustin
    Day
    Haas

Think I might lob a cheeky fiver on Tiger as well for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Degag wrote: »
    McDowell @70s and Wilson @150s for me.
    Have added Mickelson and O'Haire to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Woods at 20/1 for me. On the nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

McDowell was -3 and has just dropped 4 shot in 3 holes! Feck!!

Rory going the opposite, was +2 but has picked up 4 shots in last 5 holes, now -2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

big_drive wrote: »

Rory going the opposite, was +2 but has picked up 4 shots in last 5 holes, now -2
    Following it on shot-tracker and dismayed to have put money on McDowell. What the hell happened? Anybody watching?

According to shot-tracker, on the 2nd, he came up 34 yards short from 120. On the 3rd, he overshot the green by 46 yards from 80 yards. I wouldn't do that on a bad day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

big_drive wrote: »

This is becoming a regular thing with Gmac now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

fullstop wrote: »
    This is becoming a regular thing with Gmac now :(

Has he been drinking with Harro?

Anyone got a stream all I can get is crap ;(

Oh yeah I have tiger 1st round leader @ 28/1 .Might as well might never see a price like that beside his name again ;) and I'm pretty sure he has been doing plenty of work with Foley so who know what his swing is going to be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

PH trying to cut the ball to much has ended up cutting his arm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

McDowell is over rated.

Jonathan Byrd is probably over priced but the way he performs on sundays is a worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Clarke eagle, Woods and his little beard in the bunker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

Amazed to see Padraig get so much coverage from the US broadcaster. Normally they only show Tiger and the other americans, even if a european is winning.

Have seen very little of Dustin Johnson, and haven't seen Rickie Fowler at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭board.eddy

anyone got a good link for this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭0161allin

k.p.h wrote: »

K.P.H

You know anybody with sky and sky sports, you could, if you could get there sky card number and set up sky player on your laptop with there sky card number.. It is the job, runs straight threw better than any straming you will find and you will get all the sky sports channels plus more.. PM if you want anymore details !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Ct25

http://www.veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4e33009556160

this is good at the min!!!

Watching Harro play is worse than having to sit in a dentist's chair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

why are they showing Justin Rose so much :confused: He is 2 over and a poor player as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

why are they showing Justin Rose so much :confused: He is 2 over and a poor player as well.

Was just wondering the same thing... It looks like they've picked a few "marquee groups" and are sticking with them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

Anyone know if there is a free internet feed for the Bridgestone as I dont have sky.

If so can you give the link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

same could be said for ph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

Thanks just saw the earlier vettle link works well given by Ct 25.

Ct25 wrote: »

cheers for that was watching it on a golf channel stream :rolleyes:

Jesus happy out tiger is back entertaining stuff :D

Some birdie outta the trees there by Woods!!
    Watney to six under,Scott shares the lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Ct25

cheers for that was watching it on a golf channel stream :rolleyes:

Jesus happy out tiger is back entertaining stuff :D

no problem.

is woods just playing with runners??

Ct25 wrote: »
    no problem.

is woods just playing with runners??

Nike must have thrown something together for him :p Must say they look comfortable reminds me of Freddies Echo's at the masters. Not too sure how useful they would be in Ireland TBH as they don't look that waterproof ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Nike must have thrown something together for him :p Must say they look comfortable reminds me of Freddies Echo's at the masters. Not too sure how useful they would be in Ireland TBH as they don't look that waterproof ;)

http://www.nike.com/nikeos/p/nikegolf/en_EU/products/details?sku=418541

here you go,

Ishikawa takes the scenic route .. Great shot :D

Pars it ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭0161allin

Very impressed with Tiger, thrilled he's back,hope he whips it up and roars on to 18 and on.. I just hope this come back means he's back for good and hopefully back to his best, which i have no doubt he will!!

One years waterproof Warranty (never heard that before) . They do look very comfortable. They might go on the wanted list if I find some good reviews and they don't cost an arm and a leg but I imagine it will be a while before find them going cheap on ebay. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Anyone fill me in on what happened Clarke? +7 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

randomer wrote: »

They look very similar to the other ones to be honest. Prototype no more ... I reckon their are a couple of hundred thousand pairs being shipped as we speak. He is a marketing machine I reckon the Nike boys are over the moon with the attention they are getting.

Anyone fill me in on what happened Clarke? +7 :eek:

From what I saw he drove the ball pretty well but his iron play was shocking (apart from the one he holed for eagle from the fairway). Kept hitting it over the back of the green and his scrambling was poor.

Still hit the shot of the day though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

What about Adam Scott, unreal. While he is looking deadly with that putter it is still a pity a young lad like him has to use it.

(we'd better not hear Stevo at the end bigging up himself if Adam wins)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Leslie91 wrote: »
    (we'd better not hear Stevo at the end bigging up himself if Adam wins)

All the same, Williams, who ain't the shy retiring type, must be lovin' it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Justin Rose is a poor player? You are officially clueless :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

Padraig off to a flyer... only a bogey on the first hole!

woohoo.... its on baby!

Has PH been mistakenly playing stableford for the last 2 years? that would explain his post round positivity after calamitous scores vs par.