Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have You Ever Been In A Disaster?

• 02-08-2011 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

Excepting this thread! :o

I often wonder what it would be like to be involved in and survive a disaster, e.g. plane crash, earthquake, tsunami, or whatever. I have this strange desire to be on the perimeter of a disaster and watch it all unfold.

Anyone here have a 'live to tell the tale' disaster story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    ' disaster story?

My pay slip

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Excepting this thread! :o

I often wonder what it would be like to be involved in and survive a disaster, e.g. plane crash, earthquake, tsunami, or whatever. I have this strange desire to be on the perimeter of a disaster and watch it all unfold.

Anyone here have a 'live to tell the tale' disaster story?

Yer that bollox from unbreakable aren't ya?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I was in the front row of the 'Lyrics Board' when it was hosted by Aonghus McAnally back in 90's.
    Was an utter tsunami of shite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes.

Let me guess - you can't tell the story?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I had no milk for my cuppa tay last night, and the shop was closed! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭babsybaby01

Erectile disfunction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

First relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

i was at that all-ireland hurling final in 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

were all in a fecking disaster and watching it unfold.... Ireland 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes.

The Norris support camp? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

in before: this country is a disaster!

dammit, i wasnt in before it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dancor wrote: »
    The Norris support camp? :pac:
    No.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

My Life.....i might survive it though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Hasmunch wrote: »
    i was at that all-ireland hurling final in 2008

I was gonna say the holocaust but wow, you win!

Was in an earthquake once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Do tell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Closest I've been to one is when Concord crashed at Charles de Gaulle airport on 26th July 2000. I transited thru there some 10-20 mins before that crash.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

positron wrote: »
    Closest I've been to one is when Concord crashed at Charles de Gaulle airport on 26th July 2000. I transited thru there some 10-20 mins before that crash.

Me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

The toilet about 30 mins ago :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

My first ever rugby watch I attended: Ireland England 30 March 2003. Grand slam decider and they destroyed us. Gutted.

My first ever soccer match on the International level: France Ireland, Stade de France 2009. Went for soccer, got basketball - disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

enda1 wrote: »
    My first ever rugby watch I attended: Ireland England 30 March 2003. Grand slam decider and they destroyed us. Gutted.

My first ever soccer match on the International level: France Ireland, Stade de France 2009. Went for soccer, got basketball - disaster.

Here fook off going to Irish sporting events and ruining it with your bad luck:mad::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Timistry

My hangover after the weekend. It was rollercoaster of pain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

I was in an earthquake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

This is Ireland. The whole economy is a mess and a disaster. We're dying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I have been through a hurricane, several major floods, and a minor earthquake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I'll spare ye the details and just say it involved a bottle of voldka and a staff party.

*hangs head in shame*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

My nearest was when we had the earthquake in the south-east some 30 years ago or so. At the time there were protests about plans to build a nuclear-powered electricity-generating plant at Carnsore Point. Came the earthquake, even though it was only a minnow, and we never heard any more about the plans for the plant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well I was in a civil war, loads died if that counts...

I was in Beaumont & The Mater hospital A&E units where lots more die through our own governments & the HSE's neglect ... I think this one counts more!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

I havent been, but my bollox of a so-called friend was queueing to go into one of the twin towers when the plane hit......if only......
    (yes, he would have deserved it):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

earthquake of 6.something in mexico city couple years ago.. not a disaster but it was mad to see everything moving/swaying, locals took it pretty casually actually.. I was fascinated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I couldn't find a scarf to match my dress/coat combo, OMG disaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

yeah, \ive seen many train wrecks...

threads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

After Hours I'm very disappointed in you.

3 pages in and no ''your ma'' answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Saila wrote: »
    yeah, \ive seen many train wrecks...

threads

Derailed threads :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Kanoe wrote: »
    I was in an earthquake

Can anyone be in an earthquake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

I was under an earthquake? I duno, how am i supposed to say that.

It wasn't too big 5.7 but we were all falling asleep and the walls started shaking, cups hopping along coffee table and a couple of guys burst in through the patio doors screaming satan is loose!, satan is loose! They were playing with a ouija board as it happens and the glass was tipped over by the shaking :D

There was a fair bit of building damage the next day though, rightly shook the place up.

(we were in holland and all on drugs at the time, which helps for dramatic effect)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roermond#Earthquake
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Earthquakes_in_Germany#1992_Roermond_earthquake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,960 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Yap I was involved in Oceanic Flight 815 disaster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

being on this planet is a disaster

:D:D:D any chance of a mug a tay i take mine black

i was in a mushroom field near gortalocha i couldent get out i thought id fallen into a fairy ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Well I was in a civil war, loads died if that counts...

Fasinating..was that before or after you took your avatar pic with the swastica?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 HostingBee

pls tell your story :D

johnr1 wrote: »
    I havent been, but my bollox of a so-called friend was queueing to go into one of the twin towers when the plane hit......if only......
    (yes, he would have deserved it):D
    dosent say much for your charcter when you wish death on someone even if he is a bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lots of tornado warnings and watches but nothing major yet in the state of Illinois, lucky enough. Always potential for a storm from around March until August or September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

I was on Flight 180. Thank Satan for the Source Code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I narrowly avoided the Y2K meltdown when it all ended up being a load of bulls**t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Tarkus

Was 1 of 13 kids.

A very long playing disaster...