Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin man fighting for Libyan rebels

• 02-08-2011 8:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭

Anyone know this guy? Is he a hero or a headcase?
    As Libyan rebels braced for more desert fighting yesterday, one of them explained battlefield dangers -- in a Dublin accent.
    "They have ammunition to burn while we are running out of ammunition," said Irishman Husam Najjair, who is taking part in a new offensive against government forces near Tiji.
    Once a builder in Dublin, he now belongs to the Tripoli Revolutionary Brigade, one of the rebel forces struggling to end Muammar Gaddafi's rule.
    The son of an Irish mother and Libyan father, he decided to join the rebels after reports alleging that government troops were committing atrocities to quell Libya's uprising.
    "I heard there were rapes and oppression. I could not just sit there like a couch potato just watching it on the news," said Najjair, holding a rifle he purchased himself.
    Najjair came to Libya for a family wedding in January and stayed on to fight after the February 17 revolt began. Friends back home were shocked.
    Like many rebels, he had a crash course in warfare, mostly on the job. Sometimes he gathers intelligence. Or he uses Facebook to promote the rebels.
    "I am also a sniper," said Najjair, who was born in Dublin. "It's not rocket science. You just hold your breath and shoot."
    Adjusting to his new life has meant an upheaval for him. "I wasn't always such a good Muslim in Dublin," said the bearded Najjair. "You could say I spent some time at nightclubs."
    The days can be tedious. Rebels sit around for hours cleaning their guns and awaiting orders as the sun beats down on rough, sandy terrain and scrub that offer few hiding places from the heat, or Gaddafi's Grad missiles.
    Stench
    When it is broken, the meal is likely to be simple, perhaps another camel like the one which was eaten recently. The stench of the remains of its carcass permeated the air.
    Rebels have seized several towns and villages in the offensive. But the war has seen Gaddafi's forces hit back and retake territory.
    Najjair lost two comrades on Sunday and he says taking the town of Tiji will be tough because it is loyal to Gaddafi. "Their blood runs green," he said, referring to the colour that symbolises Gaddafi's rule.
    "Yesterday a sniper was closely tracking me and shooting at me as I moved for quite a distance," said Najjair.
    But he believes it's worth the risk. "This has made me learn about myself, what I am capable of achieving," he said.

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/africa/irishman-gets-crash-course-in-warfare-after-joining-rebels-2836774.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Good Irish name he has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Good Irish name he has

is that the Najjair's from cavan or roscommon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

phill106 wrote: »
    is that the Najjair's from cavan or roscommon?

No, you thinking of Mary Najjair, he's one of Micks in Fermanagh.

I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Surely as an Irish builder, he should know that the best way to bring down a government is to cause a massive property bubble.

Fekin hell. That is literal madness.. I respect him for believing in a cause though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

So he decided that something wasn't the way it should be and actively set out to change it? Maybe the rest of us that stayed in Ireland could learn a little from him.

mackg wrote: »
    So he decided that something wasn't the way it should be and actively set out to change it? Maybe the rest of us that stayed in Ireland could learn a little from him.

We live in a democracy, all we would have to do is vote.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Fekin hell. That is literal madness.. I respect him for believing in a cause though.

I suspect he is doing it as atonement of some sort, seeing as he considered himself a "Bad Muslim."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

How's that working out for you/us? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Sc@recrow wrote: »

Better than rioting is working out for the Greeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭TheChevron

You would want a fair set of balls on you to do what he's done, fair fúcks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Fair play to him and it's far from unprecedented. Just look at all the Irishmen who fought on both sides in the Spanish Civil war.

We need someone who we want to represent us to run first. When FF were going to be gone from government there was no question who was coming in. How many people actually protest things in this country, even something like the legalisation of cannabis, not trying to start yet another debate about it just using as an example, what percentage of the people who agree with the legalisation have ever taken part in the marches etc. I do and I havn't. We are far too passive, myself included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Sounds like an idiot to me.

Sc@recrow wrote: »

Well my chance of enda kenny firing a 50cal at me today is 0%, so better then in libya!
    derailing thread, back on topic of dublin man with amusing surname!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

We need someone who we want to represent us to run first. When FF were going to be gone from government there was no question who was coming in. How many people actually protest things in this country, even something like the legalisation of cannabis, not trying to start yet another debate about it just using as an example, what percentage of the people who agree with the legalisation have ever taken part in the marches etc. I do and I havn't. We are far too passive, myself included.

Marches are useless..

Start a party. One with an proper manifesto.

I suspect he is doing it as atonement of some sort, seeing as he considered himself a "Bad Muslim."

Probably got his wife to call him that when they were at it.

You've been a baaaaad muslim havn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

listermint wrote: »
    Start a party. One with an proper manifesto.

Good luck finding a bunch of motivated stoners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The Libyan rebels must be among the worst fighters of all time. They have the backing of, and active assistance from, the most powerful military alliance the world has ever seen, supposedly popular resistance to the old regime country wide and yet after months and months they're still being held off.

Of course Irish builders in the mix explains all this, never do a job properly or on time.

Good luck finding a bunch of motivated stoners.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Sounds like yer man from four lions, omar.

I particularly like his quote
    'being a sniper is not rocket science, hold your breathe and shoot'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭bikerjohn

Now, I know a thing or two about snipers!!! as I am professionally trained as a sniper, if he thinks all he has to do is hold your breathe and shoot!!!!
    he will be a dead sniper very soon :D:D

"Bomb the Mosque" what a movie:D

bikerjohn wrote: »
    Now, I know a thing or two about snipers!!! as I am professionally trained as a sniper, if he thinks all he has to do is hold your breathe and shoot!!!!

indeed, he forgot to say,start breathing after:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Maybe he will be the new vasily zaytsev........:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Yeah, it's a bit worrying how he may be conflating fighting for freedom from Gadaffi (sp?) with Islam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

No doubt he knows the consequences and feels this is worth risking his life for .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

"I am also a sniper," said Najjair, who was born in Dublin. "It's not rocket science. You just hold your breath and shoot."

Well, actually, Husam.... It is, ballistics and all that.
    "Yesterday a sniper was closely tracking me and shooting at me as I moved for quite a distance," said Najjair.

I get the feeling both sides subscribe to Husams notion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

bikerjohn wrote: »

He may very well be a sniper and a good one at that. If he is, he isn't good at describing it. Sniping or any shooting is a lot more scientific than holding your breath and shooting. If I remember correctly (long time since I was shooting) you actually release your breath and squeeze the trigger before inhaling again? What about windage, calculating range etc - does his rifle have some sort of computer? :)

If I remember correctly (long time since I was shooting) you actually release your breath and squeeze the trigger before inhaling again? :)
    Yeah you exhale on the shoot .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

Good to see hes doing something with himself after emigrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

You respect him even though he's mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

He may very well be a sniper and a good one at that. If he is, he isn't good at describing it. Sniping or any shooting is a lot more scientific than holding your breath and shooting. If I remember correctly (long time since I was shooting) you actually release your breath and squeeze the trigger before inhaling again? What about windage, calculating range etc - does his rifle have some sort of computer? :)

exactly...you exhale and hold for 1-2 seconds and then breathe again..
    plus to be honest most of those guys would be only shooting 200-400 yards max..it's not as if he's sniping people from a mile away...

plus..who else thought this guy played Call of Duty when he started on about sniping? :D

Seems like there's a few hardened snipers on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Definitely not battle hardened!

even have their own forum ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=501

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Adjusting to his new life has meant an upheaval for him. "I wasn't always such a good Muslim in Dublin," said the bearded Najjair. "You could say I spent some time at nightclubs."
    Seems he's getting religion too.
    I really hope that Arab Spring means that the dictator is ousted and will not be replaced by the Muslim Brotherhood but by secular democratic parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The sheep used to be freaked out everytime they saw me coming onto firing range :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Nodin wrote: »
    Fair fucks to him.

+1 - indeed Nodin.

He's doing what he feels is right, he could have stayed at home bitching online but decided to get his hands dirty.. I respect that.

Ship's are safest in the harbour, but thats not what ships are built for!.

Good luck to the lad.

Hope someone told him there's no re-spawn in Libya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

Ah in fairness to him when there are bullets whizzing past your ear you are probably going to fall back on any belief system you had, no matter how dormant.
    biko wrote: »
    Seems he's getting religion too.
    I really hope that Arab Spring means that the dictator is ousted and will not be replaced by the Muslim Brotherhood but by secular democratic parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

G'WAN YA GOOD THING.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

Maybe he will be the new vasily zaytsev........:)

i doubt it,and he will never be anywhere near this man.;)
    White death was his nickname

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simo_H%C3%A4yh%C3%A4

Fair play to him and it's far from unprecedented. Just look at all the Irishmen who fought on both sides in the Spanish Civil war.
    No indeed ,many Irishmen have being joining other armys for a long time now , the British army springs to mind .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I say fair play to him for getting up and trying to make a difference.
    If only it happened with more back here in Ireland! :(

I wish him every success.

Biggins wrote: »
    I say fair play to him for getting up and trying to make a difference.
    If only it happened with more back here in Ireland! :(

I wish him every success.

We go and fight for Lybia?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Guill wrote: »
    We go and fight for Libya?
    DOH!

...Swish...Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee...

...I think something just flew over your head!

Biggins wrote: »
    DOH!

...Swish...Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee...

...I think something just flew over your head!

I think you'll find it flew over your head.