Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti 80's Car Shows!!!

• 01-08-2011 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine decided to go to Stradbally today in his 1985 car..When he got to the gates he was directed to the car park. He told them he wanted to exhibit. The told him it was strictly a pre-1980 show and that it had been advertised as so. He said fair enough, but as he was talking to them, a 1982 Capri was waived on through into the exhibit area.My friend nearly went balistic and pointed it out, to which the reply was,,"oh sure its a Capri".....When he again asked if he could go in , he got another NO....At which point he told the guys on the gate that it seems to be the case in this country that unless you have some sort of FORD, A Morris Minor or Beetle nobody gave a **** about what you had and he promply turned around and came home not even giving them the chance to chance to charge him as a spectator....Something similar happened me going into Loughlinbridge in the 18 Turbo last year though I wasnt having any of it--the guy on the gate clearly had no idea the difference between one car and another--now how can a 1982 car look like a modern car in fairness....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It's hard to give an opinion without knowing what car it was, TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Tin Lizzy

I know about 3 dozen people are going to attack me for this but..seriously,Who in with a right mind would own,and show later VW beetles,Mk3 escorts and Toyota MR2's and call them classics and be proud to show them?
    I'm only 14 and I remember some of these cars owned,in everyday use in rural Donegal not to many years ago...

I'll go now before some IloveandobeyEU-nazi shoves his ''FIVA approved...''

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

As an '82 Crapi got in, it's a bit misleading the thread title.

But I agree it's a nonsense not having one rule for everyone.
    now how can a 1982 car look like a modern car in fairness...
    To the untrained eye, some 1982 cars don't look too out of place in the modern world.

What did you say the 1985 car was again?:pac:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Tin Lizzy wrote: »

Grand job there Tin, Godwin's law came true after only 4 posts. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My Anti had an 80's car before she died three years ago. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Tin Lizzy wrote: »
    I know about 3 dozen people are going to attack me for this but..seriously,Who in with a right mind would own,and show later VW beetles,Mk3 escorts and Toyota MR2's and call them classics and be proud to show them?
    I'm only 14 and I remember some of these cars owned,in everyday use in rural Donegal not to many years ago...

well im not going to attack you but just make the point that I have seen very rare MK3 escorts and MR2`s get a lot of attention at shows if they were good.

how could this not be a classic.... theres only about 5 in the country left as far as I know
    5947234366_bc23530196.jpg
    s1 storm by BarryKelly, on Flickr

But getting back to the OPs point. Not every car is a classic but eventually when old enough they go vintage. Some shows have a 30 year limit and seem to think that 1980 was 30 years ago, some shows like Mondello acknowlege that 1981 actually happened. Perhaps your car just needs some more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

There seems to be a thing in this country whereby 1980 and older is seen as classic, this is a view reinforced by the current Nct regulations. I guess it's all down to the organisers of show who will probably be older lads who still see '80s cars as pretty new vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

They were probably just afraid the Renault was going to catch fire and ruin all the other cars !!! Or they were afraid you were going to start a Renault Owners Club at their event?

It wasnt a Renault actually,,,,if your trying to be so smart

Ok---so maybe I worded this a bit incorrectly----The point being, why should a 1982 Ford Capri have been let into a so called pre 1980 show, just because it was a Capri rather than let in a Peugeot 505 GTD which is now MUCH RARER . Remember that 70's cars were once the youngtimers, an the 60's etc etc.

I think I will start a new club....AFSI( Anti Ford Supporters of Ireland)I know that will work---:D;)

But seriously, you will always have the debate about what makes a Classic Car. The time to debate this is not at a gate to show where a couple of car clueless volunteers have be placed to collect money.
    By alienating 80's cars now, and possibly making them unsaleable means that they eventually may become extinct ans in 10-15 years time we will wonder where they have gone and I will remember this thread that I posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Doctor Kildare

Johnf2020 -

Your friend will get a welcome at Malahide Classic & Vintage Show on 21 August. They will accept anything over 25 yrs ie pre 1986, And I hear they are flexible on that..
    http://www.malahidelions.com/carshow.htm

Johnf2020 -

Your friend will get a welcome at Malahide Classic & Vintage Show on 21 August. They will accept anything over 25 yrs ie pre 1986, And I hear they are flexible on that..
    http://www.malahidelions.com/carshow.htm

Now that is in the proper spirit of things---Many thanks. I will pass it on.
    That is the way it should be.:D

Anan1 wrote: »
    It's hard to give an opinion without knowing what car it was, TBH.

Does it really matter what it is when it gets to 1985?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Fair enough - there has to be one rule for all.

What I do find strange is the likes of late 80's MkII Fiestas and early 90's Toyota Carina E's at classic shows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

johnf2020 wrote: »
    Ok---so maybe I worded this a bit incorrectly----The point being, why should a 1982 Ford Capri have been let into a so called pre 1980 show, just because it was a Capri rather than let in a Peugeot 505 GTD which is now MUCH RARER . Remember that 70's cars were once the youngtimers, an the 60's etc etc.

I think I will start a new club....AFSI( Anti Ford Supporters of Ireland)I know that will work---:D;)

But seriously, you will always have the debate about what makes a Classic Car. The time to debate this is not at a gate to show where a couple of car clueless volunteers have be placed to collect money.
    By alienating 80's cars now, and possibly making them unsaleable means that they eventually may become extinct ans in 10-15 years time we will wonder where they have gone and I will remember this thread that I posted.

and the problem there is???????????????

Lots of Crap existed in the 50's 60's & 70's Had it not been for the discerning connisuer More might have survived into this Millenium, Imagine if you will a World populated by TR7s, Morris Marinas, Hillman Avengers, Lada Rivas & Datsun Cedrics.

arent ou Glad there are dedicated individuals commited to the eradication of utter Sh!te from the Classic Genepool

Max_Damage would have been the man to sort this thread out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

I'm from near Stradbally, we used to always go as a family for years, driving Cortina's, Anglia's,Trumiph's and Ford Escorts.

It all depend on the fella you meet at the gate. Two years ago my mother drove her 82 XR3 and the chap didn't know what it was!

Took ages to explain managed to get it in, Stardbally far as i can see is more of a Tractor, steam engines and trasher event.

Gave up goin, in future OP ring to double check in advance, its not nice been questioned at the gate. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

The point being, why should a 1982 Ford Capri have been let into a so called pre 1980 show, just because it was a Capri rather than let in a Peugeot 505 GTD which is now MUCH RARER

Capri began production in 1969/1970 iirc, so maybe on that basis the car got in.

I presume the 505 didn't begin until the early 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

505 production started in 1979. There used to be a dark blue 79 reg LHD 505 in west Sligo/west Roscommon back in the 90's, it probably fell to the first NCT's, as it was in very bad condition when I last saw it. There were still quite a few 504's registered in 1980 though and even later.

OP: To be fair Stradbally is really a steam/tractor event with classic cars on the side, they also state clearly that cars must be 1980 or earlier. I suppose to most people the Capri would be typical 70's and the 505 identifiable with the 80's.

Maybe he was being a jobsworth by not letting your mate in but where do they draw the line? I suppose if someone showed up with a 1988 Countach Anniversary they would get in but sometimes its the luck of the draw, frustrating though it may be. Maybe they are worried about a repeat of nearby Durrows scenes of chaos in 2009 and want to limit the amount of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭gfwd

Lots of Crap existed in the 50's 60's & 70's Had it not been for the discerning connisuer More might have survived into this Millenium, Imagine if you will a World populated by TR7s, Morris Marinas, Hillman Avengers, Lada Rivas & Datsun Cedrics.

arent ou Glad there are dedicated individuals commited to the eradication of utter Sh!te from the Classic Genepool

I suppose these dedicated individuals drive Mercs then, do they? :rolleyes:

I like TR7s, Avengers and plenty more of that ilk. They're just as much a part of our motoring history as anything else that's considered a classic these days, whether we like them or not. An '82 Capri wasn't the best car in the world. They were usually missing their door handles by the time they were 3 years old but they were a popular car that we grew up with and have a huge following. I think the 505 should have got in on rarity alone. I saw a Renault 18 at Trim and it was great to see it simply because I hadn't seen one for years.

I think a rolling 30 year limit is probably the way to go. Starlets and the like are still just a bit too modern. Plus it would mean less mid 80s Mercs! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I don't think there is any car more deserving to be at a classic car show than a 505. There are very few mass produced cars of the 1980's that are so rare these days.

My guess is that the guy was just an ignoramous.

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I don't think there is any car more deserving to be at a classic car show than a 505. There are very few mass produced car of the 1980's that are so rare these days.

Guys, thanks for the positive comments on this. I am a hugh fan of 80s cars. It is every bit as hard to keep these on the road as older cars and actually with the NCT having to be done its even harder..Generally you will find my friend with his 505 GTD Turbo and my Renault 18 Turbo parked side by side(both are NCT'd)..Now how often you you see 2 French Turbo cars of the 80s parked together in this country..Do you know,I just might keep the old 18 after all!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Anything over 25 years is fine by me, even for the novelty value. I love to see 80s peugoets, renaults, citroen's at shows.

and the problem there is???????????????

Actually I would walk over and Look at all the above cars mentioned above at this stage than look at lines of Escorts, Cortinas, Minors, Beetles, Minis .
    Actually the LADA RIVA has quite a following now and good clean ones are making good money. The UK Classic scene is not a biased as we are over here.Just look at this website--www.auto****e.com
    In my mind it is one of the best websites around and the more obscure your classic the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I don't think there is any car more deserving to be at a classic car show than a 505. There are very few mass produced car of the 1980's that are so rare these days.

Talbot Tagora.. ;)

si_guru wrote: »
    Talbot Tagora.. ;)

Is there any in the country?! I have a NOS Handbook for one, but I'm not sure if iv ever seen one.

I think 99% of dealers never saw one!

But I suspect 1000's were bought as government vehicles by the not at all biased French authourities.

IIRC it was fast - for it's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

TalbotTagoraDurrow06.jpg

At Durrow in 2006, in the public carpark. Maybe he wasn't allowed in ;)

Now anyone know if theres a Renault 14 alive in this country?

Speaking of stroppy stewards, I got questioned twice about a Fiat 127 I was bringing into a show in Cavan, it was a pre 80 only show and the boys couldn't decipher the 79 Irish reg.... its 45 CNI so next year I'm going to go back with it reading 45 CN 1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Does it really matter what it is when it gets to 1985?
    It's the central issue to me - I can think of classics newer than 1985 and older cars that will never (IMO) be classics. That said, i'd have been happy to have a Peugeot 505GTD at classic car show that I was running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

Really depends on the people at the gates, TBH I'm not into pre 70 cars, maybe an odd one DB5, E-Type etc.... I love 70's and 80's even 90's cars though.

Would be nice to have a little section at shows for the likes of 80's cars, thinking of Xr2s/Sierras/Renault 5 GTT/Cosworths etc.....

On another note Sierra's are really starting to come to the classic status now, anyone think the Mondeo will follow, bearing in mind the oldest examples are nearly 19 years old ?

PS: I'm 17 if it makes a difference.

Renault 14? Now there's a thought! There must be at least 1?

Talbot Tagora.. ;)

That's true, and I did think of that when I posted. The Tagora was such an epic failure though that it could hardly be called 'mass produced'.

Renault 14? Now there's a thought! There must be at least 1?

In the late seventies my Dad sold his VX4/90 (FD) and bought a Land Rover off of a neighbour - to tow our touring caravan.

The neighbour replaced it with a blue Renault 14 - they were just released. He towed his caravan with it too!

Interesting the dealer got him the same number plate ("DVLA Select" did not come in existance for another 20 years!) as his Land Rover.. just different suffix.

Anyway if a blue Renault 14 "PRA458T" is still going I will be amazed!

YBTurbo wrote: »
    Really depends on the people at the gates, TBH I'm not into pre 70 cars, maybe an odd one DB5, E-Type etc.... I love 70's and 80's even 90's cars though.

Would be nice to have a little section at shows for the likes of 80's cars, thinking of Xr2s/Sierras/Renault 5 GTT/Cosworths etc.....

On another note Sierra's are really starting to come to the classic status now, anyone think the Mondeo will follow, bearing in mind the oldest examples are nearly 19 years old ?

PS: I'm 17 if it makes a difference.

I agree - for me the cars I like to see are the cars I wanted when I was 17!.. and the usual "car my dad had".

An early Sierra complete with "radical for the time" WHEELTRIMS!! would be a cool classic.

My brother had a Sierra 2.3 Ghia.. velour, leccy windows.. "ice" light!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Well my under standing is +20 years classic .... + 30 years vintage.
    And this is how the insurance companies see it. You can get classic insurance on a 91 car now.
    In the UK a 91 car is seen as being in the classic tax bracket but if that happened here to many of us would use 20 year old cars as Dailys to beat the rip off tax system we have here.

And this is how the insurance companies see it. You can get classic insurance on a 91 car now.
    In the UK a 91 car is seen as being in the classic tax bracket but if that happened here to many of us would use 20 year old cars as Dailys to beat the rip off tax system we have here.

No, in the UK classic tax (£0.00) is locked at pre-1972. But all cars/bikes/tractors whatever still have to have an annual MOT test.

Anyway.... so what is Veteran? Pre-WW1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

A guy brought his 2003 TVR to the Blarney classic car show last w/e, and he won a prize. Beat that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I was on the gate in Donegal a few years ago... I let a '07 Audi A4 Auto in ...

Well the driver was a wheelchair user and needed to be in the field..!

As said earlier it all depends on the gate person who needs a bit of savvy.. I have been showing my 1987 944 all over the place for the last 11 years and never once was I refused into a show field.. I started to show it when it was only 12 years...

I saw a 90-G box shape Civic,an 89 Carina, and a 90 GSi Cavalier on display in Mountbellew.... ! This made me feel old....:D

As long as the car is standard and original and 15-17 years old why not show it... ?

At the end of the day lots of shows contribute lots of money to charity and the show depends on people to bring their cars and tractors.. Having a total d**k on the gate does not help the show at all.. I personally would not have refused the OP .. If he was good enough to support the show then he should have been let in.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

Anyway.... so what is Veteran? Pre-WW1?

According to the IVVCC, who are affiliated to FIVA (Federation Internationale Vehicules Anciens), historic cars are divided into the following classes:-

Antique: pre 1905

Veteran: 1905-1918

Vintage: 1919-1930

Post Vintage: 1931 – 1945

Classic 1946 – 1984*

*FIVA adopted a thirty year minimum age for the definition of an historic car from January 1st 2010. The IVVCC decided to adopt this in a modified form to avoid exclusion of owners of cars that were over twenty five years old but not yet thirty. The IVVCC adopted a cut-off date of 31st December 1984 which will remain in place until 31st December 2014, after which the thirty year rule will apply on a rolling basis (or whatever later rule supersedes it, if any).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Fair enough - there has to be one rule for all.

What I do find strange is the likes of late 80's MkII Fiestas and early 90's Toyota Carina E's at classic shows.

An early 9os Carina would be OK in my eyes IF it was a pristine example. But when you see Auld Farmers cars with mud caked up them in the display area you just KNOW they are only there to avoid paying to get in/for car parking.

Pride of Ownership should be a category at shows which would admit lots of post 1980 cars that would be worth looking at

I have Classic cover on a 1990 ...its not a classic ,(might never be) but tis handy as a runabout.)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Type 17 wrote: »
    The IVVCC adopted a cut-off date of 31st December 1984 which will remain in place until 31st December 2014, after which the thirty year rule will apply on a rolling basis (or whatever later rule supersedes it, if any).
    Just squeezed in there, for what it's worth... :)

TBH, I think the problem here is not the system - just the guy John met at the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

Dades wrote: »
    Just squeezed in there, for what it's worth... :)

TBH, I think the problem here is not the system - just the guy John met at the gate.

Indeed, this is nothing to do with what the organisers of the show that the OP went to, it's just the official line on the categories of older vehicles.

The text that Dades quotes above only exists because the IVVCC had previously set their classic cutoff at 25 years, but then FIVA set theirs at 30, so the IVVCC fixed theirs at 31/12/14 to avoid excluding previously-admitted 25-30 year-old cars.

I personally think any car is fine at a classic car show as long as it is something that was once common but has now vanished off the roads. I'd be very interested to see an early Peugeot 405 at a show for instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

No age restriction at our rally (Clonoulty Co Tipp 28 August), as long as it's of interest. Regularly have a bunch of Subaru owners turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Vintage = old , Classic = Classic.

We all went to Terenure last year in our Saab 900s and got far more attention than some of the so called bread and butter classics there. But it doesnt have to be old to be a classic. A Renault Avantime is a classic, a Pug 106 GTi is a classic, a Lada Niva is a classic, a Volvo 240 is a classic. None of the above might not in theory be over 20 years old but all classics. The word classic and vintage is often confused.

YBTurbo wrote: »

On another note Sierra's are really starting to come to the classic status now,

glad to hear I havent been wasting my time today hacking rust out of mine then"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Vintage = old , Classic = Classic.

We all went to Terenure last year in our Saab 900s and got far more attention than some of the so called bread and butter classics there.

I went to Terenure in my '89 Nissan Pao this year - since my entered classic Volvo decided not to start that morning. I had to argue with the guy on the gate that I wanted into the punters car park, and not the exhibitors area. Everyday early eighties cars, and younger exotica are fine by me at a classic show, but I don't think we're quite there for late 80's retro cars yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Yes i do think its a matter for the man at the gate, on the Stradbally issue send a letter of complaint to the club outlining exactly what happened and see what their reply is, if the club are worth their salt they will reply and possibly keep the eejit that was on the gate reserved for car parking duties or making teas in future. We are in a difficult recessionary time where car owners with a 1985 car which are good enough and proud enough of their car take it to a show to raise money for a charity should not be turned away as they may get disheartened and that car may never see the light of day again thus endangering future shows etc etc...
    John Joe pricks at the gates do rag me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

alastair wrote: »
    I went to Terenure in my '89 Nissan Pao this year - since my entered classic Volvo decided not to start that morning. I had to argue with the guy on the gate that I wanted into the punters car park, and not the exhibitors area. Everyday early eighties cars, and younger exotica are fine by me at a classic show, but I don't think we're quite there for late 80's retro cars yet.

Good point, late 80s early nineties cars unless special in some way i would wonder about, i recently saw a 1990 corolla saloon, red with black bumpers, nice an clean well polished etc....but to be fair this has no place at a classic show yet i dont think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

They turned away a 505. I've not seen one in decent condition for a long time now and they used to be everywhere.

TBH I like the way shows are run in Britain. They lay out the field and anything of any age can be driven in to it's respective age/make section, 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's etc.

Just because it isn't old doesn't mean it isn't worthy. If an owner spends a lot of time looking after it and keeping it in good condition then why can't they put it on display. I know there are shows for tuned car but what about people who just like to keep their car nice and original as it should be. Why don't they get a place?

Sure if there is a display of MG's everything from the MGA to the MG ZT deserves a place on the stand if the cars are turned out correctly for instance.

I'd like to think that by the time I'm finished fettling my MGF it would be worthy of a place in a show. It's 1997 and qualifies for classic insurance in January. Granted it's not that old but it's in good condition and if there was a section for it to be in I don't see why it can't have a place.

I've been at a number of shows and all that's ever there is the usual suspects of Fords, Mercs and Beetles, many of which are in rubbish condition or have been poorly resprayed and touched up. If someone puts the time in to looking after a car correctly then they deserve to show off their car.