Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baby on Board- What's the point??

• 01-08-2011 08:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭

Just walking home from the shop there, and noticed several cars with "Baby on Board" signs. Never gave them much thought before, but got to thinking about why people stick them up. I know people will say for safety purposes, but I doubt some maniac is gonna think "Sh!t, there's a baby in that car, better tailgate someone else instead!".

If it's not for safety, is it just about proclaiming to the world that you have kids- "Look at me everyone, I'm fertile!!". Or am I missing something entirely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Something something, Burt Ward.

Hey, this thread writes itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,253 ✭✭✭amacca

Einhard wrote: »
    If it's not for safety, is it just about proclaiming to the world that you have kids- "Look at me everyone, I'm fertile!!". Or am I missing something entirely?

you are correct....+ might just be painting a target for some baby hatin psychopath

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

It was first introduced in Germany to help the rescue service, they would tend to the cars with baby on board signs first, for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

JJJJNR wrote: »
    It was first introduced in Germany to help the rescue service, they would tend to the cars with baby on board signs first, for obvious reasons.

Complete urban myth

amdublin wrote: »
    Complete urban myth

http://www.snopes.com/horrors/parental/babysign.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭pipelaser

If I'm being honest with myself It probably does slow me down or make me less likely to drive aggressively if the car with baby on board is going too slow, or is slow at the lights or whatever, so for me, its a good idea!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Blatant prejududice prejudice, no wonder babies are smug little bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Rafa1977

Just walking home from the shop there, and noticed several cars with "Baby on Board" signs. Never gave them much thought before, but got to thinking about why people stick them up. I know people will say for safety purposes, but I doubt some maniac is gonna think "Sh!t, there's a baby in that car, better tailgate someone else instead!".

And people with those stupid signs are the ones speeding like lunatics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Yeah it's complete bollocks. I mean the sticker is on the car whether there's a nipper in the car or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Rafa1977 wrote: »
    And people with those stupid signs are the ones speeding like lunatics.

Or spending more time looking in the rear view mirror at their kids instead of keeping their eyes on the bloody road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yup, the "I've reproduced" stickers, I can't stand them. Little princess / prince on board, little United supporter on board.. mums / dads taxi and all that other shit.

If they care so much for their kids safety, clear all that shit off the back window so nothing is blocking your view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

It means you can park in one of those handy Parent and Baby Parking spaces, even if you don't have baby with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

but I doubt some maniac is gonna think "Sh!t, there's a baby in that car, better tailgate someone else instead!".

You've got it all wrong - I only ever, ever, crash into cars which have babies in them, if they're thrown through the windscreen then I'll try to drive over them for bonus points.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Blatant prejududice, no wonder babies are smug little bastards.

yeah...with their arrogant pudgy faces, always laying around....wasters

The_Thing wrote: »
    You've got it all wrong - I only ever, ever, crash into cars which have babies in them, if they're thrown through the windscreen then I'll try to drive over them for bonus points.

Double bonus points if there's a disabled sticker next to the baby on board one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

They irritate the piss out of me. I'm going to get one that says:

"Hungover cranky adult on board".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Don't have one myself but If you've ever driven a car with a kid in the back and had some c+nt tail gate you (and you're not crawling or hogging a lane) you probably cling to any faint hope or dumb sign that you can, however illusory.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

amacca wrote: »
    yeah...with their arrogant pudgy faces, always laying around....wasters

The little scroungers even get a "Children's allowance", give them a shovel when the umbilical cord is cut and pack them off to the mines I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

They irritate the piss out of me. I'm going to get one that says:

I already have my one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

This is what I do when i see that annoying "baby on board" sign. :mad:

That's right I just play some retro arcade games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

It's not a warning, it's an apology. I have one to let the car behind me know that there's a reason I'm taking my time and going so slowly, and you might as well go around, cause this is as fast as I'm likely to get. Simple.

I've never seen one that says "Trying for a baby" yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Would advertising the fact that one is committing the offence of driving while impaired really be such a smart idea ?
    tbh wrote: »
    I have one to let the car behind me know that there's a reason I'm taking my time and going so slowly, and you might as well go around, cause this is as fast as I'm likely to get. Simple.

As long as you are making reasonable progress for the traffic conditions and not unduly causing an obstruction why do you need to apologise for anything ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Little person on board is worse. Who's driving, Snow fcuking White?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Stinicker wrote: »
    The little scroungers even get a "Children's allowance", give them a shovel when the umbilical cord is cut and pack them off to the mines I think.

and their very own special meals...baby meals I think they are called

+some of them have almost ad lib access to breasts....that really sealed the deal for me on the whole baby hatin thing

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Would advertising the fact that one is committing the offence of driving while impaired really be such a smart idea ?

would

hungover...but not in breach of the intoxicating liquors and driving act...so fcuk you gard

do as a compromise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

sorry lads, but you just don't get it. Like the L plates for unlicenced learners, the baby-on-board sticker is issued by the state, and must be displayed by total muppets who can't drive properly, but fluked their test. If you have not got one, you know you are a reasonable driver with a bit of cop on. If you have one, ah well, at least the rest of us know not to get too close to ye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I find the Baby on Board sign to be a great thing, it immediately informs me not to park anywhere near that vehicle, unless of course I actually like getting numerous scrapes and dents in my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    As long as you are making reasonable progress for the traffic conditions and not unduly causing an obstruction why do you need to apologise for anything ?

A: cause I'm nice like that

B: cause anything which has even the slightest chance of reducing the possibility of some dickhead sitting two inches off my arse, in a much bigger car, flashing his lights and waving his hands around because I'm doing 5k under the speed limit on a one lane country road is ok in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

pipelaser wrote: »
    If I'm being honest with myself It probably does slow me down or make me less likely to drive aggressively if the car with baby on board is going too slow, or is slow at the lights or whatever, so for me, its a good idea!:o

would it not be an idea to drive carefully anyway?
    no wonder there are so many accidents,

booboo88 wrote: »
    would it not be an idea to drive carefully anyway?
    no wonder there are so many accidents,

The Baby on Board stickers show that some accidents have already happened.:(

Complete urban myth

No. No they don't :rolleyes:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The Baby on Board stickers show that some accidents have already happened.:(
    No. No they don't :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I see a huge number of Drivers with 'Baby on Board' signs driving like lunatics - speeding, tailgating etc.

Do they think the Sign gives them Superpowers which protects them from crashes or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Skid wrote: »
    I see a huge number of Drivers with 'Baby on Board' signs driving like lunatics - speeding, tailgating etc.

Do they think the Sign gives them Superpowers which protects them from crashes or something?

I know i do. Why dont you ask the driver the next time, see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

It was first introduced in Germany to help the rescue service, .

The last time that urban myth was quoted here it was supposed to be Canada :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I know i do. Why dont you ask the driver the next time, see what happens.

Yeah, I'll speed after them and tail them to their Creche and demand an answer.

That wouldn't be odd at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Skid wrote: »
    Yeah, I'll speed after them and tail them to their Creche and demand an answer.

That wouldn't be odd at all.

Im sure you have done worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I like them because hopefully the people behind you will be more considerate of your extra careful driving in bad weather conditions etc.

Also my OH used to drive a Nissan Silvia and it was an absolute nightmare if we were ever out in it, loads of young drivers would try to race us so we ended up putting around 10 baby on board stickers on the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I'd prefer one of these ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

In the days before mobile phones, if you saw a car broken down with a baby on board sign, you were supposedly more likely to pull over and help or stop at the nearest phone to ring the AA or guards, knowing that the driver of the car couldn't walk away from the car so easily. That was the thinking anyway.

Bassfish wrote: »
    In the days before mobile phones, if you saw a car broken down with a baby on board sign, you were supposedly more likely to pull over and help or stop at the nearest phone to ring the AA or guards, knowing that the driver of the car couldn't walk away from the car so easily. That was the thinking anyway.

Eh no, no it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

thread needs more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Wow, if it's on a website called snopes it must be right:rolleyes:

Bassfish wrote: »
    Wow, if it's on a website called snopes it must be right:rolleyes:

Why does the name make you not believe it :confused: eBay is a funny name also but your prob buy things on it.

Do you have a link proving your little "theory"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭solerina

They drive me mad...cant see the point in them at all....I certainly dont change how I drive because some stupid sign warns me that there is a baby on board.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Why do you never see a pregnant woman with a "baby on board" sign pinned to her back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

they let you know they drive eratically and can somehow park in a car park leaving a .01 cm space between two other cars, leaving several dents in one car while ignoring millions of yards of free space in said car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Life must be good if that's what riles you up :)

Some lunatics might actually think twice. Just saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

kincsem wrote: »
    Why do you never see a pregnant woman with a "baby on board" sign pinned to her back?

The front is often a give away, I find.