Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would you like to see winning the football championship this year?

• 01-08-2011 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭

I'm not saying who you think will win it, but who, from a sentimentality point of view would you say "I'm delighted for them" if that particular team won? I'm just curious

What football team would you like to see lift Sam 142 votes

Kerry
    0% 0 votes
    Dublin
    19% 28 votes
    Mayo
    24% 35 votes
    Tyrone
    42% 60 votes
    Donegal
    13% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

I'm not saying who you think will win it, but who, from a sentimentality point of view would you say "I'm delighted for them" if that particular team won? I'm just curious

I really dont mind who wins as long as Kerry are beaten. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

teednab-el wrote: »
    I really dont mind who wins as long as Kerry are beaten. :D

I want Kerry to win it obviously, but would not begrudge Mayo one bit if they do beat Kerry, asides from Kerry or Mayo I'll be happy so long as Tyrone are beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Dublin.

If not them, Mayo or Donegal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

I'd love to see Mayo win it.
    I'd love to see Dublin get into the final as well but my generosity doesn't extend as far as wanting them to win it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

anyone but kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Double Post sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Donegal to beat Kerry in the All Ireland final...

So Dublin won't get their big day out so if they manage to beat Tyrone:D and sur then Kerry will have an easy day out in the final and Pat Spillane will be as sick as a dog when the amazing Kerry team can't break down the defence...

ahhh it will be hilarious and everyone who hates defesive play and thinks you can't win an All Ireland without playing amazing attacking football will be proved wrong...
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Toboldlygo

Stinicker wrote: »
    I want Kerry to win it obviously, but would not begrudge Mayo one bit if they do beat Kerry, asides from Kerry or Mayo I'll be happy so long as Tyrone are beaten.

If Tyrone don't win, I would like to see the Dubs do it. Of all the supporters I have encountered on our three wins so far, the Dublin supporters have been the most sporting by a country mile.

I feel sorry for any supporters who have never experienced their county winning on the third Sunday in September and I think it would be a great boost for the GAA in the capital if the 'Boys in Blue' could make a break through this year BUT only if the Red Hands don't make it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I'd love to see Mayo win it, they have been criticised all year.

If not Mayo then Kerry, they play lovely football, a joy to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Mr_Roger_Bongos

Toboldlygo wrote: »
    If Tyrone don't win, I would like to see the Dubs do it. Of all the supporters I have encountered on our three wins so far, the Dublin supporters have been the most sporting by a country mile.

I'd have to admit that as well. Everyone loves to beat Dublin because the dubs always have a swagger and it's a big scalp to beat them in croke park.

However, anytime i've ever come across their fans (normally when we're both drunk) they're always very sporting and wish the best.

It would be good for the championship and the GAA to see someone other than Kerry and Tyrone win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭bm1993

As a Mayo fan I'd love to see us win it. But aside from that I would like to see anyone other than Donegal win. I have nothing against Donegal but I hate their defensive style. If they win the AI then every second county will adopt a similar system and most games will be terrible and finish ten points to nine. Football should be played the way Mayo and Kerry play it not with 13 men behind the ball.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I have to be biased, outside of that I just love to see the under dogs do well so it would have to be Donegal.
    For the "real" Dublin fans though and a hell of a lot of them on here, I wouldn't begrudge them a title but the media would drive me insane :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

Dublin !

If not Dublin then Mayo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

yop wrote: »
    I have to be biased, outside of that I just love to see the under dogs do well so it would have to be Donegal.
    For the "real" Dublin fans though and a hell of a lot of them on here, I wouldn't begrudge them a title but the media would drive me insane :D
    In no circumstances can "Da Dubs" win the All-Ireland, I think everyone in "Da sticks" will have to emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

In no circumstances can "Da Dubs" win the All-Ireland, I think everyone in "Da sticks" will have to emigrate.

grand ! Up da dubs so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Personally it wouldn't bother me if Dublin win it, A lot of their fans are a decent bunch and are genuinely good craic. I saw this last year in the All Ireland Semi where we had a good chat with many decent Dub supporters afterwards about the Cork Dublin match.

Its Kerry Id be hoping would loose this year. They are so gracious in defeat :D I remember so well back in 2008 when Kerry fans were over confident of beating Tyrone, Things were said such as "its a matter of turning up and collecting the trophy". "We have Donaghy and Walsh this time unlike last time" "Its gonna be men against boys" "A chance now to put the Tyrone factor to bed".

There was a nice smile on my face when Tyrone went 4 points up with about a minute to go and to see the Kerry fans after the game was the best thing Ive ever witnessed outside Croke Park. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I'd like to see the team win who are most honest, hard working, disciplined, least cynical and most entertaining, and who play for 70-73 minutes rather than spurts and starts.

I'd hate to see a team win that are cynical, use dirty play, try to hurt other players and so on.

teednab-el wrote: »
    Personally it wouldn't bother me if Dublin win it, A lot of their fans are a decent bunch and are genuinely good craic. I saw this last year in the All Ireland Semi where we had a good chat with many decent Dub supporters afterwards about the Cork Dublin match.

Its Kerry Id be hoping would loose this year. They are so gracious in defeat :D I remember so well back in 2008 when Kerry fans were over confident of beating Tyrone, Things were said such as "its a matter of turning up and collecting the trophy". "We have Donaghy and Walsh this time unlike last time" "Its gonna be men against boys" "A chance now to put the Tyrone factor to bed".

There was a nice smile on my face when Tyrone went 4 points up with about a minute to go and to see the Kerry fans after the game was the best thing Ive ever witnessed outside Croke Park. :D

It's interesting to see some counties have bogey teams who they can never beat. Tyrone weren't even a brillant team in 2008 and in other years too. But they always manage to put one over on Kerry. Cork can never beat Kerry in Croke Park. Dublin also usually have problems. Kerry on the other hand have struggled against Down in previous years.

Tyrone I would say have great confidence when they meet Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭rosiem

Would love a tyrone v mayo final wouldnt mind either of them winning it Mayo fans are long suffering and deserve an AI and tyrone have had so much personal heartbreak and they would love to honour Michaeal with an AI both would see a huge outpouring of emotion Kerry would be just plain boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

tbh I wouldn't begrudge any side left in the competition. Wouldn't have been a fan of Mayo (still hurting 5 years on:() but they won me over on Sunday. Its Dublin, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭CWone

Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭fearbainne

Donegal... and if not donegal then Mayo..

am sick of kerry winning it and lets face it, ya just can't be backin the dubs :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

As a Mayo man, I find it interesting to see the results so far. I don't think there are too many who would begrudge us a win in the unlikely event that it were to happen. Neither am I surprised at the number of positive Dublin comments - no more than us, they appear over the past few years not to be in a position to see the job through but I feel it's getting closer for them and I have to say I'd be happy to see it happen. Not much love for Kerry though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The bitterness ITT is delicious :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ah sure Kildare are like Dublin's reserve team with all our refugees in Celbridge, Maynooth & Leixlip .. yiz are entitled to come and join in the celebrations ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Good to see the bitterness towards a good footballing team like Kerry is alive and well if Kerry manage to win any year it makes it better.Hopefully will be a Dublin Kerry final always good banter with the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I'd like to see Kerry win but if any other team were to win hands down and deserves to win would be either Dublin or Mayo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

From a novelty point of view, I'd like to see a Mayo-Donegal All-Ireland final.
    I wouldn't be too pushed as to who I'd prefer to see winning, but if I had to choose I'd go with my fellow connacht men.

Wouldn't like to see a Kerry vs Dublin or Tyrone AI - there wouldn't be as much interest in it from a neutral point of view I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭henke

Would love to see Sam back in the hills. I just about remember bits and pieces from '92 and now I am older would love to properly witness such an experience. If not us then I would like to see Mayo win it.

If there is one thing Kerry are good at it's spoiling fairytales and the like, and upsetting the script.

It doesn't take much to motivate the Kerry players anyways, and at this stage they believe they own Sam Maguire and only lend it to other teams every so often.

In any case it doesn't matter who you would like to win, that has little relevance to who will win.

Determined teams usually who ignore the hype usually win. Sentiment will only get you so far in football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Dublin for me then mayo.

I to am sick of the hype The media give the dubs. but its not the teams fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

I'm goign to say Tyrone, because I think Mickey Harte deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Dad's from Mayo and mum's from Kerry so don't really mind who wins from either. However I will be shouting for Mayo when they meet. Connacht football as a whole could do with the boost.

As much as I like Dublin, I'd hate it if they won. We'd never hear the end of it in the media. It would be the equivalent of England winning the Euros/WC.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mayo to win Sam, then Tyrone, Dublin, Donegal and Kerry in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

Mayo v Dublin final.

Mayo to win.

Beating Cork, Kerry then Dublin would be some way to end the drought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

Double Post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Mayo v Dublin final.

Mayo to win.

Beating Cork, Kerry then Dublin would be some way to end the drought!

Carlsberg don't do All Irelands .. but if they did .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 gallowslane

I'd love to see donegal this year. Quite a task tho.....either dublin or tyrone would be formidable opponents. But results have shown a real self-belief and never-say-die attitude allied to some great skill and fitness levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Just once everyone in Da sticks doesn't emigrate to Da City (again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Kerry v Tyrone final. Hopefully Tyrone for the win but probably Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭SomeGuyCalledMi

BERBA wrote: »
    anyone but kerry

A lot of this going around. Irish people hate success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Bagheera

I voted for Donegal as they are my county, but if we get beaten in the semis I'd like to see a Dublin v Mayo final. Nothing against Kerry or Tyrone, I just feel that it would be great to see Sam go to a team that haven't won for a while (especially a team that has only won it once all of 19 years ago :))

A lot of this going around. Irish people hate success.

They more hate the attitude of Kerry fans. I had great craic with Cork fans after the AI SF last year. I've never had craic with Kerry fans after matches with them.

Yeah we're pretty bad people alright.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Yeah we're pretty bad people alright.

Bad winners and losers in football. I couldn't say what they are like as people, from that. Nor did I claim I could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

As a Corkman, I'd like to see either Dublin or Mayo.

I wouldn't begrudge either, but I've lots of friends in Dublin, so I'd probably go with Dublin. Then Mayo.

Then Donegal followed by Tyrone.

Thats it then really!!!:D

Bad winners and losers in football. I couldn't say what they are like as people, from that. Nor did I claim I could!

Maybe it's just that none of us like you. Cork people tend to be more forgiving cos no one really likes them either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Old_-_School

I would say Donegal except they're not a football team!

keane2097 wrote: »
    Maybe it's just that none of us like you. Cork people tend to be more forgiving cos no one really likes them either...

I just used Cork as an example because it's the most recent. It's more than likely that no one likes Kerry fans. I don't doubt that the Kerry team have sometimes been known to be play football to a reasonable standard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

nobody minded too much when Kerry won in 97 but people get a bit browned off seeing the same teams year in year out hence the haters doing the hate.

Baring my own county Mayo, I would not mind if Tyrone won purely for Mickey Harte then the Dubs/Donegal lastly kerry

To be honest there all pretty much the same for me really apart from Kerry:D