Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

kildares moaning?

• 01-08-2011 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

thought it was a disgrace that a member of the backroom staff had to go to the newspaper whinging about donegals cynical fouling before the game was even played, this is a new low in moaning even by kildare standards, their was only one team at the cynical stuff the other night, their tactics of cynical fouling in the second part of extra time was nothing short of a disgrace, made the donegal victory all the more sweeter though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭aarymark

thought it was a disgrace that a member of the backroom staff had to go to the newspaper whinging about donegals cynical fouling before the game was even played, this is a new low in moaning even by kildare standards, their was only one team at the cynical stuff the other night, their tactics of cynical fouling in the second part of extra time was nothing short of a disgrace, made the donegal victory all the more sweeter though.

lol were you at the meath kildare match in navan meath gave a master class in cynical fouling with more off the ball fouling than the other 6 games kildare played put together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I've got used to the Kildare moaning. Wouldn't let it bother me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

See McGeeney is at it again

Kieran McGeeney can hardly find words any more to comment on the standard of refereeing.

After seeing his Kildare charges once more eliminated from the All-Ireland series by a refereeing / umpire howler at Croke Park on Saturday, the Armagh man admitted that he's sick having to talk about such things:

"I am just fed up to the teeth talking about it. Every child knows that if it comes off the post … unless that rule has changed, has it?

"What is the point in talking about it? This is my fourth year in a row talking about it, eventually people just get sick of hearing me talk about it. To be honest, I am sick of talking about it.

"It's hard for me because sometimes I wonder is it my personality that seems to have an affect on officialdom.

"It is difficult to comprehend. I know most of these fellows and the uniform goes on them they seem to become supermen. What can you do?"

He's a little like Sean Og. In some for the parts in bold he says he's ''sick of talking about it'' It's not like he's being forced into it is he?

Kildare seem to think they get no brakes, yet in the Derry game Derry had a goal disaload yet Cork scored one yesterday that was the very same and that changed the Derry game in Kildare's faver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

aarymark wrote: »
    lol were you at the meath kildare match in navan meath gave a master class in cynical fouling with more off the ball fouling than the other 6 games kildare played put together

Meath have a history of cynical fouling. They won alot of All Irelands that way, look at 1996 for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭mattym

As far as i remember Teednab-el, there was two teams involved in that altercation in 1996. Unlike the time in Croke Park that Ciaran Whelan flattened Nigel Crawford before the ball was even thrown in. Kildare seem to think they are the only county in the country that get bad calls given against them. It happens in every game for both sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I do certainly think they were really hard done by with the goal on Sunday. I certainly wouldn't be happy if it was me. Particularly given all the talk about umpires this year, in fact on Saturday there was a big article about it in the times. Seeing it again, you'd wonder what goes through their mind when the make some of these decisions.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Eh what? :confused:
    Why exactly do you feel the need to make up bare faced lies?
    Does this really need another thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Well well what a surprise. A thread about Kildare started by a Meathman and backed up by a Dub.

I don't begrudge Donegal their victory yesterday. They worked their socks off and the winning point was a monster of a score fitting to win any game. The fact of the matter is that Kildare had a perfectly good goal ruled out which would have put them six clear. No one can ever say if that would have been enough against this never say die Donegal team but it still should have stood. Are all us Kildare fans supposed to sit back and accept that? Its simply not good enough. And I was one of the ones who said GG's goal for Meath should have stood following our victory over Meath in Leinster. I actually agreed with the Meath fans who were moaning and whinging about that verdict. Its happening weekend in weekend out. Why should these incidents be the talking points following games?

I could never have seen myself calling any fans whingers and moaners who have had crucial decisions going against them. I just hope and pray I can keep my mouth closed when one of these decisions go against Meath or Dublin.

Finally I'm not surprised this thread was started and supported by two of our near neighbours. Most likely not by real GAA fans either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

It happens to us all. You prepare like crazy for something and then you think rightly or wrongly that a decision goes against you from the ref. You can't help but talk about it then as it plays on yer mind.
    But he should try to implement something like a non-comment policy on refs and officialdom because it's just a gee up to the opposition really.
    Next year if they met Donegal, Donegal would say to themselves "This crowd still don't think ye beat them fairly".
    From the outside looking in some people would think McGeeney is an obsessive, but it's more likely he's just very diligent and prepared. Refereeing was obviously an item on his list.
    Looking to influence refereeing through contacting newspapers before the game was a daft decision. It wasn't a huge jump in logic to think Donegal would use it as a boost to their players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I think contacting newspapers was a little more of the professional approach that McGeeney is taking with Kildare. Unfortunately, I don't think Kildare have the required quality to achieve All-Ireland success.

By and large they have been beating mediocre teams and putting in performances against the best teams.

I think contacting newspapers was a little more of the professional approach that McGeeney is taking with Kildare. Unfortunately, I don't think Kildare have the required quality to achieve All-Ireland success.

By and large they have been beating mediocre teams and putting in performances against the best teams.

Thats a fair comment. We're prob short 3/4 players to really challenge for honours.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

thats not a professional attitude, its a cowardly and lowlife attitude, and not one I'd be happy if my counties management team was doing. its all well and good talking about a ref the week before a game, thats bringing it to the boundary line, but to actively contact papers and talk about the oppositions cynicism in detail is not being professional and crosses that line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Eh what? :confused:
    Why exactly do you feel the need to make up bare faced lies?
    Does this really need another thread?

That isn't a lie. Were you at the game? Mark Ward was brought on to foul Johnny Doyle.

Le King wrote: »
    That isn't a lie. Were you at the game? Mark Ward was brought on to foul Johnny Doyle.
    Yeah sure. He wasn't brought on to improve Meath's midfield at all :rolleyes:

Meath conceded 23 frees in that game. Kildare conceded 24. Blows that theory out of the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Pegasusbridge

teednab-el wrote: »
    Meath have a history of cynical fouling. They won alot of All Irelands that way, look at 1996 for example.

Complete and utter rubbish. Meath played some fantastic football in 1996 and were worthy champions even if the final was a very close affair. If you had said the Meath team of 87-88 I could have seen your point but then again the Cork team of the same era was exactly the same.

With regards to Kildare I can understand their anger and disappointment. It was a cruel bit of bad luck not to get that goal but unfortunately until the GAA introduces video technology all a referee can do is try his best. It is very hard for a ref or an umpire (who are following the ball) to judge when the player enters the square.
    Every county would be annoyed but when you think about it we all could list off hundeds of decisions that have gone against our teams. It happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭mattym

Le King wrote: »

Why wait till the 24th minute to bring on a man only to foul Doyle??? Rubbish talk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Good ould Johnny.

TALISMAN MY BUTTOCKS

Complete and utter rubbish. Meath played some fantastic football in 1996 and were worthy champions even if the final was a very close affair. If you had said the Meath team of 87-88 I could have seen your point but then again the Cork team of the same era was exactly the same.

Will you go away with yourself, that Meath team from 1987-1996 played on the edge of the rules and got away with alot of stuff that they shouldnt have. You dont see them with as much cynical fouls now because they are no where as good as what they were before and dont look like winning another All Ireland for a long long LONG time!

Speaking about Kildare, I honestly think they have been very badly wronged here two years running. In 2010, they would have been in the final only for that square ball incident with Coulter and who knows they may have beaten Cork. In 2011 they were wronged again but they did have other chances of winning the game. We should see Kildare back next year again competing for Sam and have another crack at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

We should see Kildare back next year again competing for Sam and have another crack at it.

No we won't , the first 'half' decent team they come up against and they will bottle it , they a tier 2 side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I'm laughing to myself seeing the way this thread has developed into an attack on Meath.
    I'm not a Meath man, but I will say this, take a look at the team sheets over the years that Meath won the championship. They had a huge amount of top quality players. It was no accident they won what they won. They also had one of the all time great managers at the helm.

Not only did you hit the nail on the head here but you drove it home with one blow!

I sometimes think the problem with a team that won nothing is that they have no reference point or yardstick within their own county against which to measure their own quality.
    Eg. To use Meath as an example, they can look at their present outfit and compare it back to their most recent sucess and use this as a benchmark.

This of course is not to say that sometimes a team comes out of the blue and win something.

On the subject of Kildare, they could do worse than looking at their underage setup.
    To me a minor AI win is the way forward!

Will you go away with yourself, that Meath team from 1987-1996 played on the edge of the rules and got away with alot of stuff that they shouldnt have. You dont see them with as much cynical fouls now because they are no where as good as what they were before and dont look like winning another All Ireland for a long long LONG time!

You clearly just have an anti-Meath bias. The 1996 and 1987 teams were not that simillar. Any truely neutral observer would have seen that. The 96 team was a very young team which included 5 under 21s. If they played the same style as the 1987 team they would have been well beaten.
    Your argument that they don't foul now as they are not as good doesn't make sense at all. Does that mean all the good teams foul the most and that is the only way to get good?
    I would agree we don't look like All-Ireland winners at the moment but then again we didn't in 1995 when Dublin hammered us either and a year later we were champions. That's why sport is great. You just never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

McGeeney needs to calm the **** down and take a leaf out of Counihan's attitude with respect to post match interviews following a disappointing defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

OP you are an idiot of the highest order, your OP is'nt even worth argueing with.

Mod's this is clearly trolling.

eigrod wrote: »
    McGeeney needs to calm the **** down and take a leaf out of Counihan's attitude with respect to post match interviews following a disappointing defeat.
    If McGeeney was anymore calmer he would be dead.

You clearly just have an anti-Meath bias. .

Its not anti Meath bias its reality.

The OP makes reference to cynical fouls done by Kildare and aarymark is right to make reference of Meath doing it in their games, they have always been doing it and their teams of the past always did it. You just cant accept it TBF.

Back to Kildare, McGeeney should just take it on the chin now and stop getting caught up on other teams tactics. He should just avoid all media and do his own thing, he is going the right way in bringing Kildare from nothing to a major competitor for Sam. He should try and develop Kildare further, pick up a few players too on the way and Kildare will have a right good chance of making a final in the next 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Firstly let me declare I am Dubs supporter.

I think your view of McGeeney is incorrect. I think he is way too intense and this creates its own pressures. Training 5 nights a week, players attending marital arts classes, one player kicked off the panel for going to Oxigen. I think there is a need for balance, the players have a life outside football (work / family).
    I thought Kildare were unlucky not to win, but they ran out of steam in ET, They are a really hard working team with some excellent players but they are not All Ireland winning material, the fans also create an over hype about them.
    There is a need for McGeeney to learn that you can smile (even once) and also be serious about the job in hand.
    He is way too intense and it gets to players, same as Pillar was with Dublin

The OP makes reference to cynical fouls done by Kildare and aarymark is right to make reference of Meath doing it in their games, they have always been doing it and their teams of the past always did it. You just cant accept it TBF.
    I am confused as to how Meath was brought into all this.
    aarymark said that Meath did more cynical fouling than Kildare did in their 6 games combined. Yet Kildare gave away more frees than Meath in that game which obviously means he's exaggerating to the highest order. I don't know why you're using him to try and back up your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Never seen the amount of Kildare hate I have this year, from Meath and Dublin supporters.

Kildare beat Meath the last 3 outings, and in fortress Navan,live with it.

And Dublin, how dare anyone even THINK they might have a chance of beating ye eh? ye dont want the hype apparently, but God forbid if your neighbours get a bit.

One of these decisions will go against yee both someday, and reading the ****e on here the last few weeks Im looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Totally agree with you with respect to 1st minute to 70th minute on the sideline. But as the quoted post match interview on page 1 of this thread shows, he's obsessed about referees being against him.

Every defeated team feels they've been wronged by the referees and it's fine for us supporters to go on about it on here as that's part and parcel of the game. However, managers doing it simply comes across as sour grapes.

df1985 wrote: »
    Never seen the amount of Kildare hate I have this year, from Meath and Dublin supporters.

And Dublin, how dare anyone even THINK they might have a chance of beating ye eh? ye dont want the hype apparently, but God forbid if your neighbours get a bit.

One of these decisions will go against yee both someday, and reading the ****e on here the last few weeks Im looking forward to it.

what, like Geraghtys goal being disallowed? Or Farrell being sent off?

Its not anti Meath bias its reality.

What a great line. You couldn't more clearly sum up your biased attitude if you actually tried.
    The key point remains that all teams feel hard done when they lose a close game. We all notice (and more importantly remember) when our opponents foul and never notice when our own teams do likewise. Of course its frustrating for Kildare supporters that in the last two years they have had some bad decisions go against them but they'll have (and have had in the past) days when the decisions go for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

eigrod wrote: »
    Totally agree with you with respect to 1st minute to 70th minute on the sideline. But as the quoted post match interview on page 1 of this thread shows, he's obsessed about referees being against him.

Every defeated team feels they've been wronged by the referees and it's fine for us supporters to go on about it on here as that's part and parcel of the game. However, managers doing it simply comes across as sour grapes.

McGeeney should have been concerned with how his team capitulated in the final 10 minutes of extra time. Marginal refereeing decisions occur in every match. It was a tremendous stroke of luck Doyles shot dropped off the post into O'Connor's hands. It was terrible luck it was ruled out for a square ball.

Donegal didn't need to rely on luck to come from 3 points down in extra time to win by one.

I feel sorry for Kildare.
    80 years of bad ref decisions is hard to take:D.

No hate from me. I was actually hoping you would go at least one better and make the final this year. It's been far too long since a Leinster team got that far.
    And acually ye have beaten us the last 4 outings :(
    Did you see the game between us in Croker this year?

bruschi wrote: »
    what, like Geraghtys goal being disallowed? Or Farrell being sent off?

So you'd agree something should be done about the amount of wrong decisions then?

You were beaten by 6 points tha day, not a goal or less. Kildare would have won saturday imo if the goal stood.

So you'd agree something should be done about the amount of wrong decisions then?

You were beaten by 6 points tha day, not a goal or less. Kildare would have won saturday imo if the goal stood.

I'm convinced the GAA should move towards using video technology to help referees get some of the key decisions correct. It would not have taken long for a video ref to check the Kildare score and decide that O'Connor was not in the square.

yes.

I'm not from Meath,

and no one would know if ye would have won.

ye were 3 points up with 8 minutes of extra time to go and you lost.

ye cant keep claiming things like that, same as saying ye'd have been in the final if Coulters goal didnt stand last year.

what if MacLoughlin had to have gotten the red card he deserved saturday.
    What if Callaghans goal against Down had have been rightly disallowed for over carrying. Or had Robert Kellys free at the end not counted as he was well inside the 14 when he took it.

Fitzerb wrote: »

I think your view of McGeeney is incorrect. I think he is way too intense and this creates its own pressures. Training 5 nights a week, players attending marital arts classes, one player kicked off the panel for going to Oxigen. I think there is a need for balance, the players have a life outside football (work / family).
    I thought Kildare were unlucky not to win, but they ran out of steam in ET, They are a really hard working team with some excellent players but they are not All Ireland winning material, the fans also create an over hype about them.
    There is a need for McGeeney to learn that you can smile (even once) and also be serious about the job in hand.
    First of all I play Club Football with 2 Kildare players and can assure you they do not train 5 nights a week they train on Tuesday and Thursday nights and they meet up a day before and after every game for a very light session and chat,

Secondly I have seen Mcgeeney smile on plenty of occasions and do you honestlty think Kildare players would play for their county if it was been run like a concentration camp as you are suggesting.

Finally if the roles had been reversed and Donegal had a good goal disallowed and lose out by a point, do you think there would not have been a peep from McGuinness? Or if Cormac Reilly had of awarded Kildare that last minute free instead of Dublin, would Dubs supporters just have gone home and just took it on the chin? I think not!

Fitzerb wrote: »

Sure very few of the Kildare team are married!!:D

To be fair I don't think the genuine Kildare fan hyped us up. Its some of the muppets who come on here and proclaim us to be the best. Most of these Kildare people are not the real fans. The media did their best to hype us too.

People dont like Kildares moaning, but surely every county is getting sick of these instances week in, week out? The sunday game lads said they were sick of talking about them.

The attiude shouldnt be "it happens to everyone, live with it", they should be used as examples of why changes are needed. The game is suffering as a result.

People dont like Kildares moaning, but surely every county is getting sick of these instances week in, week out? The sunday game lads said they were sick of talking about them.

The attiude shouldnt be "it happens to everyone, live with it", they should be used as examples of why changes are needed. The game is suffering as a result.

Agree 100%.
    Not a weekend goes by without an incorrect decision.
    Some of these days someone is going to do something very stupid out of frustration.
    It's not just a Kildare issue. It affects all counties. The further into the championship we go, the higher the stakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Bizzum wrote: »
    I feel sorry for Kildare.
    80 years of bad ref decisions is hard to take:D.
    nice post you TROLL....

oh and its more than 80 years ;)

and we follow our team as we truly love the game. if kildare dont win sam in my lifetime my heart wont bleed tbh, i love going following the lads its a pleasure seeing them give their all week in week out....

heres to our lily white heroes lads!!!!!

and **** the begrudgers......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Direct that one at two posters on this website. I dont think any Dub, including myself, was not grateful to see other counties enjoying hype.

Not my intention to troll. It was a stab at humour!
    You are quite correct though it's 83 years, but who's counting...........

Bizzum wrote: »
    Agree 100%.
    Not a weekend goes by without an incorrect decision.
    Some of these days someone is going to do something very stupid out of frustration.
    It's not just a Kildare issue. It affects all counties. The further into the championship we go, the higher the stakes.

exactly. but Kildare seem to think they are being done out of the championship as they are the only ones who get bad calls against them. they cant see the favorable calls they have got too in games they have won and lost.

bruschi wrote: »
    exactly. but Kildare seem to think they are being done out of the championship as they are the only ones who get bad calls against them. they cant see the favorable calls they have got too in games they have won and lost.

Don't generalise Kildare fans, yes we had bad decisions I agree but the more intelligent and loyal fans don't blame refs. Do I think refs are cowards when making calls? Yes I do!!

I am sick of being called whingers that is literally a few dicks jumping on the wagon causing trouble here!

I hope Dublin hammer the ****e out of firstly Tyrone and then the ugly Donegal football!!

Dublin to step it up a gear for Leinster pride please!!!!!

Cill dara Abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I hope Dublin hammer the ****e out of firstly Tyrone and then the ugly Donegal football!!

Cill dara Abu
    Frame that and put it on your bedroom door ;)

dcr22B wrote: »
    Frame that and put it on your bedroom door ;)

Well Dublin have my support from here on in!!!

If they can stay true to playing the game and getting that swagger rid of who knows maybe just maybe they will break the drought!

Plus I'm annoyed at everyone else now ;)

Don't generalise Kildare fans, yes we had bad decisions I agree but the more intelligent and loyal fans don't blame refs. Do I think refs are cowards when making calls? Yes I do!!

I am sick of being called whingers that is literally a few dicks jumping on the wagon causing trouble here!

Cill dara Abu

thats true, but McGeaney coming out and saying he is sick about referees going against him and it must be personal sounds like whinging. And there were a fair few of monaers on the match thread, but also some genuine fans who realised that the team are as much at fault.

I also hate the way people say they would have been in an AI final last year only for Coulters square ball goal.

but while you are angry at people genarlising Kildare fans, are you not doing the same with Donegal/Tyrone fans? ;)