Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Males on supermarket tills.... what do you think?

• 01-08-2011 2:23am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭

"you discriminatory chauvanistic bastard"... yeah yeah...

It's just that, any time I've seen a male at a supermarket till, they've always seemed a bit unhappy and really frustrated.

I don't think the job suits male testosterone. I think males (and I am one), would be much better off doing something that involved a bit of exercise, or at least less people!!

Young males who are occasionally at small/medium shop tills seem very normal and cool, but at large supermarket tills where it's person after person, it's a lot different. Older males usually come off a bit worse again I think.

There is one young girl at a supermarket near me and she is some hottie. She smiles at me and talks really nicely, I love her lol. :) But the point is that she is happy there (inb4 feminazis: "you sexist bastard pig, a woman's place is at the till? she is not happy it's torture").

When I worked in retail I used to prefer working on the tills. At least there wasn't a manager busting your balls for not doing something that they never asked you to do in the first place.

My male testosterone wasn't affected. The handiest, easiest job, is the best job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I think in general women are just much more skilled at pretending to be friendly.

they must be, when you think about it. How many girls do you know who you would swear absolutely love one of their 'friends' but then the minute her back is turned say to you, "God, what a b*tch?

Or the other classic, where YOU get on really well with a girl and she's really nice to you, but other girls (alleged friends) all insist behind her back that she's horrible, and "how could you possibly like her"?

When guys have an issue with you, on the other hand, they're more likely to just tell you you're a dickhead.

The REAL question is: Which would you honestly prefer? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Recently, anytime I see a sexist thread, I think of sandwiches.

I am not joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

I think I would prefer someone not to fcuk up my bill and triple charge me for certain items due to their inattention.

I dont discriminate over this.

ffs,wise up,the world is achanging.You will have males working in your massage parlour next.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Women on tills seem to judge me on what I buy. Men don't give a toss. Self service isn't sentient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Women on tills seem to judge me on what I buy. Men don't give a toss. Self service isn't sentient.

This sounds promising for entertainment value, tell us more :D

What kind of items would you be purchasing that they would judge you on? 24 pack of Stella, 50 pack of condoms and various brands of lotion and other... "friction reducing" products?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The lads lifting stock and dossing in the storage area, the ladies at the tills

Works well and will continue that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Sure the woman are too weak to be lugging around heavy boxes so they get put on the tills and leave the lifting to the lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Recently, anytime I see a sexist thread, I think of sandwiches.

I am not joking.

Who made the sandwiches ?

Definietly wasn't a bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Women on tills seem to judge me on what I buy. Men don't give a toss. Self service isnt sentient.

The hell are you slabberin about?

We are not talking about self service in this thread.

I know its 4am.... but I believe self service may well be sentient.

I think I would judge you on what you buy even before I caught sight of your little basket :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

What kind of items would you be purchasing that they would judge you on? 24 pack of Stella, 50 pack of condoms and various brands of lotion and other... "friction reducing" products?

I bought dogfood, condoms and motor oil recently, I got a glare from the woman on the till. Granted, funny things to buy together, but I'm not making more than one trip for them.
    When buying nappies for my uncle's child, I got asked "What would you be needing nappies for?".
    When buying cigarettes, I got asked "Does your mother know about you smoking? I'll be talking to her about that the next time she comes in."

When you go to a man on a till, they don't care enough to say anything about what you're buying, and when you go to self service, it can't say much more than "PLEASE PUT THE ITEM IN THE BAGGING AREA". Thus, I prefer men and self service machines, because women cashiers are too nosey and gossipy from my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

[QUOTE=SuperInfinity;73581557
    I don't think the job suits male testosterone. I think males (and I am one), would be much better off doing something that involved a bit of exercise, or at least less people!!

[/QUOTE]

Beiing President of Ireland doesnt take much excercise;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Lapin wrote: »
    Who made the sandwiches ?

Definietly wasn't a bloke.

It certainly wasn't. A man should not degrade himself as much as to make his own sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

the lad at the till in dunnes earlier seemed to go out of his way to put the change down on the counter instead of into my hand so at least some are getting some kicks out of the job. awkward baxtard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

YGOS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

How about nobody at the tills. Self service is the future.

It certainly wasn't. A man should not degrade himself as much as to make his own sandwich.

No real man would knowingly consume a sandwich made by another man.

But its okay for a bloke to make himself one. As long as it contains a minimum of 3 slices of bread, half a dead animal and no low fat stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

I worked tills some years ago. Pretty cushy job.

But:
    I hated meeting customers on my own time cause they usually thought I was as friendly and interested in them when I wasn't being paid to be

Male btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Lapin wrote: »
    No real man would knowingly consume a sandwich made by another man.

When did this rule come about? I vehemently disagree. Would you get a bird to cut your hair? And with restaurants, I'm sure it's fine to have women make you the curry if it's being served out of a big vat, but if you're looking for a curry made with the delicate art of balancing spices and their heat and flavour with the citrus which takes from the very lifeforce of the spices, along with the right time of marinating the meat so it is delicate to the bite, but not so soft it falls apart in the curry you certainly do not want a bird making it for you, you want a fellow man.

I wouldn't want Paul, my fellow concrete shoveler making me a sandwich, but if I'm getting an artisan sandwich (cheese above and below the rashers) I have no problem with a man making it.

Buceph wrote: »
    artisan sandwich.

What the hell is that ? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I think fair play to them, going out and actually getting a job in this **** economy, regardless of what it is.

Lads can be whatever they want as long as they pay their taxes.

I would say there are probably a lot of dole scroungers giving chauvinist replies on here also, go out and get a job you bums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

It's just that, any time I've seen a male at a supermarket till, they've always seemed a bit unhappy and really frustrated.

Young males who are occasionally at small/medium shop tills seem very normal and cool, but at large supermarket tills where it's person after person, it's a lot different. Older males usually come off a bit worse again I think.

There is one young girl at a supermarket near me and she is some hottie. She smiles at me and talks really nicely, I love her lol. :) But the point is that she is happy there (inb4 feminazis: "you sexist bastard pig, a woman's place is at the till? she is not happy it's torture").

look men do all the heavy liften cause them bitches be complain about braking nails :)

true story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Who the **** cares what gender is working at the tills? Get over yourselves, chauvinists, welcome to 2011.

look men do all the heavy liften cause them bitches be complain about braking nails :)

true story

And.

Its hard to lift heavy stuff when wearing stilettos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

true story

Normally I'm really laid back about these kind of things - I like to think I have a pretty good sense of humour and it's not often I get annoyed by things but there is a serious amount of threads in AH at the moment where some witty soul says "bitches be ......". It's not funny, or clever or original - in fact it's becoming offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

I always go for the checkout where there's a bloke working. No hanging about, don't have to be social and no fear of judgement!

Op, that is assholic reasoning of yours. I'm male, did all of the above. I know women soldiers, male nurses, what's between the legs don't matter anymore, and that is the end of the reasoning.

The Sh*tyy thing is that there's plenty of small-minded managers all over the country who think exactly as the OP does, thinking jobs suit a race/sex/type of person, and make management decisions based on that.

Answer: OP this is just a "I'm not sexist, but......" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OP - are you actually serious?

Explain this: A good friend of mine is a Nurse, married with kids. We've both been doing various Martial Arts for many years and I can tell you, he is one mean bastárd to fight. He removed stitches from my arm once and I never felt a thing. Gentle as a lamb he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

The lads on the tills in my local supermarket always look very happy as they spend all day flirting with the pretty young things like the one you described who work on the tills either side of them. They don't even stop flirting when you're trying to give them the money, or ask for a plastic bag. Their dedication is truly admirable :rolleyes:

Op, that is assholic reasoning of yours. I'm male, did all of the above. I know women soldiers, male nurses, what's between the legs don't matter anymore, and that is the end of the reasoning.
    OP - are you actually serious?

Come on FFS.

Who opens a thread in AH at 03.23 on a bank holiday about male check out assistants and expects a weighty philosophical discussion on the topic ?

Take it in the light hearted spirit it was intended and lighten up a little. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    How about nobody at the tills. Self service is the future.

"Problem in bagging area. Please wait for assistance"

I hate those tills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

The handiest, easiest job, is the best job.

And with drive like that, I'd say you've gone really far since your checkout days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

1938 is calling you OP, best pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

No problem with a fella on a till. But a fella bag packing, NOOOOOO!. Tins of beans on top of yoghurts, and fruit etc:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Women on tills seem to judge me on what I buy.

Vaseline and a butternut squash, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Oddly enough I notice this too. I nearly feel sorry for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

I think in general women are just much more skilled at pretending to be friendly.

they must be, when you think about it. How many girls do you know who you would swear absolutely love one of their 'friends' but then the minute her back is turned say to you, "God, what a b*tch?

Or the other classic, where YOU get on really well with a girl and she's really nice to you, but other girls (alleged friends) all insist behind her back that she's horrible, and "how could you possibly like her"?

When guys have an issue with you, on the other hand, they're more likely to just tell you you're a dickhead.

The REAL question is: Which would you honestly prefer? ;)

Oh this is exactly how it is with women, exactly! Well, not so much now I'm an adult, more when I was 14.

OP, you should visit Marks on Grafton Street. There's a middle-aged bloke who is on those tills for small amounts of shopping (so he's standing all day) and he's absolutely the nicest, friendliest person I've encountered in retail in a long long time. A big hello, asks you how you are, makes a bit of small talk, wishes you a nice weekend (or whatever), and on to the next one.

I was in retail myself, and absolutely loved it, and I know I was good at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

One of my best friends is working on the till in Aldi,and he is a blocklayer by trade,he got married in June so it has to be done,nobody looks at him differently its a job that pays the bills,who cares if its male female or shemale!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,854 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

watna wrote: »
    Normally I'm really laid back about these kind of things - I like to think I have a pretty good sense of humour and it's not often I get annoyed by things but there is a serious amount of threads in AH at the moment where some witty soul says "bitches be ......". It's not funny, or clever or original - in fact it's becoming offensive.

^^^Bitches be moaning

Just ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭KilOit

I worked in retail for about 3-4 years from 18 to 22ish and I loved working the tills, I enjoyed dealing with people, it was a big shop but had no supermarket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Yea they come across as having given up on life, depressed look on their faces and half the time they won't even make eye contact, sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

When I worked in retail I wasn't till trained, I just used to work on the shop floor and bring out stock from the stockroom. However all the lads I worked with were till trained, and no one gave a fcuk who was on the till as long as they knew what they were doing. I don't see why it'd matter to customers either, I doubt very much that guys are anymore unhappy about being on tills than women are. Women are just better at hiding it - that's what years of repression will do to ya!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,667 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I used to work in a supermarket, it's been about 4 or 5 years since I left it. Unlike tesco's or dunnes they only ever trained the girls for the tills which I never understood. I asked the manager one day why they never trained us for the tills, surely it would be handy when it got busy and that, his reply was simply "The last time we had lads on the tills money went missing". Men sexist towards men, who would have thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I'm male and work the till's the majority of days in my local shop, I enjoy it and find it easier than other activities they'd have me do if I wasn't on the till's

So I won't name names here, but there's a supermarket chain where the staff are not allowed serve people they know, keeping in line with the policy of staff working on tills not being allowed talk to customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

7Sins wrote: »
    So I won't name names here, but there's a supermarket chain where the staff are not allowed serve people they know, keeping in line with the policy of staff working on tills not being allowed talk to customers

Dunnes have that policy, dunno about others. I worked on tills for a year in dunnes before getting moved to the shop floor. Tills was infinitely cushier and you could count on getting out within 30 mins of your rostered finishing time unlike the floor where you could be stuck for an extra hour or more of work on a regular basis.

So as a dude, I'd much rather work in the tills. Ergo, the OP is talking most eloquently out of his ass.

Dunnes have that policy, dunno about others. I worked on tills for a year in dunnes before getting moved to the shop floor. Tills was infinitely cushier and you could count on getting out within 30 mins of your rostered finishing time unlike the floor where you could be stuck for an extra hour or more of work on a regular basis.

So as a dude, I'd much rather work in the tills. Ergo, the OP is talking most eloquently out of his ass.

Yup t'was dunnes, I was schocked when I heard but then again I'm easily shockable :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

watna wrote: »

true story

these-bitches-be-trippin.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

It's just that, any time I've seen a male at a supermarket till, they've always seemed a bit unhappy and really frustrated...
    Don't bother me one bit or give it the slightest thought.
    There is a couple of lads on the tills in my own home town Tesco's and to be honest, they come across as happy and helpful as others of the opposite sex most days.