Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

should mayo's young guns fear kerry

• 31-07-2011 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭

well what you think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

well what you think
    well what do you think ? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

What do you think?

Edit: Docta got there first :D

THFC wrote: »
    What do you think?
    I asked first ! Snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

im asing ye,,,,,,,,,,,are they on the way back,,if not this year,,,,is horan changing their tactics,,,,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

is there an echo in here?;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,470 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

BERBA wrote: »

a thread of opinions on no opinion - gotta love it!!!!

im asing ye,,,,,,,,,,,are they on the way back,,if not this year,,,,is horan changing their tactics,,,,,,
    Haven't seen much of them .. but they were fast, fit, skillful and had great work ethic .... need the same again and then some against Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

BERBA wrote: »

lawl you're so funnii BERBA! Big imaginary pat on the back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

If Mayo go in with fear, then it is game over. They've got to go in and play to their strengths and make Kerry worry about them. Mayo will be up against it, but they have to go in with a positive mindset and approach. If they do that, anything can happen. In 2006 when they came onto the pitch against Dublin and headed down to the Hill 16 end, they were making a statement that they were not afraid and were there to do business. They have to go in with the same kind of approach against Kerry.

Flukey wrote: »
    ....... In 2006 when they came onto the pitch against Dublin and headed down to the Hill 16 end, they were making a statement that they were not afraid and were there to do business. They have to go in with the same kind of approach against Kerry.

Will find it hard runnin down to Kerry fans ... best they can hope for is 3 fellas sittin together in the lower cusack : lol

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Will find it hard runnin down to Kerry fans ... best they can hope for is 3 fellas sittin together in the lower cusack : lol

There were a few lost souls there today. They must have got on the wrong train coming home from the Galway races. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

that was the best ever when mayo done this,,,,they had beaten dublin already by this stage when they done this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,381 ✭✭✭✭km79

Flukey wrote: »

There were a few lost souls there today. They must have got on the wrong train coming home from the Galway races. :)
    I hope Mayo are 5/1 again ;)

that was the best ever when mayo done this,,,,they had beaten dublin already by this stage when they done this

Yeah and youse gave us a 7 point lead inta da bargain .. cocky bastads :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Colb

Lads Tyrone had the beards but for Mayo its the hair dye disasters... remember Mortimer corner forward , and goldilocks Mc Donald ...Kerry need fashion guru Galvin fit to win breaking ball and if he is not they are suspect. I have not seen a Mayo team get stuck in like they did today... they showed some bottle , real bottle not hair dye bottle. Horan should send the Aidan O Shea & the goalie to the barbers in Castletown get the Hardybucks ( Eddie, Buzz and French Toast) in to do the Psychological preparation

Whatever about hair and psychological preparation, the main thing they have to do is football preparation. Good teams play well against anyone and believe in themselves. When a good team plays a very poor team, there is always talk about having to play whoever is put in front of them. The really good teams take the same approach when they face another good team. They just go out and play their own good football and try to make who they are playing as irrelevant an issue as they can. If Mayo concentrate mainly on their football and not so much on the opposition, they could beat Kerry. Mayo have shown today that they can play football so what they have to do the next day is play football. After all, it worked today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭kerryted

well what you think

I think they will Mayo done this before won big games like Dublin and Tyrone and than came a croper against kerry I do think this is a diferent Mayo team and could well win sam in the next 3 years with james horan on board. If they do win it this year it will be done the hard way i say best of luck to them

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

kerryted wrote: »
    I think they will Mayo done this before won big games like Dublin and Tyrone and than came a croper against kerry I do think this is a diferent Mayo team and could well win sam in the next 3 years with james horan on board. If they do win it this year it will be done the hard way i say best of luck to them

Agree with you there, traditionally we have done this. Its a hoodoo we have to break at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I just hope the usual hype merchants, usually on Mid West Radio and in the Mayo newspapers, just do us all a favour and dissappear for the next few weeks.

I'm sure they will be dusting off their usual tired cliches like "weight of expectation", while constantly bringing up Sean Flanagan and 1951.

It's a football game, nothing else.

Mayo players are in a win-win situation anyways. No-one expects them to win, unlike 2006 or 1997...

If they lose people won't be too dissapointed as they know it's a new manager, youngish team, building for the future, and getting some experience of AI semi final day that will stand them in good stead for the future.

If they play like they did against Cork and with the same confidence, they might have a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

plasmaguy wrote: »
    I just hope the usual hype merchants, usually on Mid West Radio and in the Mayo newspapers, just do us all a favour and dissappear for the next few weeks.

I'm sure they will be dusting off their usual tired cliches like "weight of expectation", while constantly bringing up Sean Flanagan and 1951.

It's a football game, nothing else.

Mayo players are in a win-win situation anyways. No-one expects them to win, unlike 2006 or 1997...

If they lose people won't be too dissapointed as they know it's a new manager, youngish team, building for the future, and getting some experience of AI semi final day that will stand them in good stead for the future.

If they play like they did against Cork and with the same confidence, they might have a chance.

They're youngish, but a few more years and the likes of Dilion, Moran and Mortimer will start to retire, as will impact subs like Gardiner and McGarrity, and Mayo will be in a position where they won't have very many old heads to keep the exuberance and inexperience of the younger players in line. This might be the best connotation of experience and youth that Mayo will have for a good few years and equally their best chance to do something.

Moran in particular is only lately getting the credit from the media at large for what most people in Connacht have known for a long while and I'd love him to earn a medal for his unbelievable work ethic over the years.

Horan didn't really need to do huge amounts of squad rebuilding this year but in the coming years that'll be exactly what he'll need to show an aptitude for if Mayo want to solidify themselves as a top tier force again.

May sound stupid....

But the Mayo players need to sort their footwear for the next game, I was only half watching the Kerry game but a number of the Mayo players were wearing incorrect studs and this leads to needless turn overs and they can't afford to give any slack ball away.

It seems to be a big problem for GAA players in general, is it a case of the GAA watering the pitch to levels that studs are needed, yet the players are going out for Hard Ground studs?.

At the start of the second half against Cork, Two Mayo players slipped within 5 seconds of each other Varley and Dillion/Moran I think?.

I'm not sure why managers don't clamp down on the foot wear their players are wearing such is the importance of ball use.

Kerry won't be held at easy in the second half and it could be close, the last thing they need to do is have coughed up the ball numerous times due to players slipping, leave that to the Kerry players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Pocaide

I must first of all declare my affilations ( Galway ) but i hope Mayo go on a nd win the All Ireland though I dont think it will be this year but the very best of luck to them

My biggest fear for Mayo is if they do manage to beat kerry they still could lose the alireland a lot of these mayo players have never played in an alireland and the hype would hit the county big time If you were down in kerry the week before the alireland you would hardly know they were in the final, boring i know but very effective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

May sound stupid....

But the Mayo players need to sort their footwear for the next game, I was only half watching the Kerry game but a number of the Mayo players were wearing incorrect studs and this leads to needless turn overs and they can't afford to give any slack ball away.

It seems to be a big problem for GAA players in general, is it a case of the GAA watering the pitch to levels that studs are needed, yet the players are going out for Hard Ground studs?.

At the start of the second half against Cork, Two Mayo players slipped within 5 seconds of each other Varley and Dillion/Moran I think?.

I'm not sure why managers don't clamp down on the foot wear their players are wearing such is the importance of ball use.

I noticed and commented at the time on the same thing. Weather depending, I think all teams need to have longer studded boots just in case.

This time around I feel there's a quiet hopefulness in the county as opposed to the blind optimism of previous years. The big advantage as far as I'm concerned is that the majority of this crop haven't been mentally scarred by being hammered in Croke Park in the past. I just hope Kerry go into the game complacently.

My biggest fear for Mayo is if they do manage to beat kerry they still could lose the alireland a lot of these mayo players have never played in an alireland and the hype would hit the county big time If you were down in kerry the week before the alireland you would hardly know they were in the final, boring i know but very effective

Yeh agreed.

Kerry know about football, whereas in Mayo you have idiots in the media who don't know the first thing about football. That's the main problem. They lead the cheerleading and hype machine and usually try to exploit it for their own gains.

Supplements, advertising, the works.

Anytime Mayo get near an AI final or even a semi final you have mayo newspapers with supplements showing the men of 1951 or 1936 and so on.

If Mayo get into a semi final, they are treated like heroes already and people looking for their autograph and so on. They think they have already won the AI. Kerry players love to see the hype in mayo I would say.

Mayo have proved nothing yet by getting into the semis. They are a division one team, so beating an understrength cork team should have been expected. Beating Kerry is a whole different matter.

Kerrys Tom o Sulivan is well past it, great player but time has caught up with him i could see Mayos young guns causing a few problems there. they have a lad on the bench shane Enright he should be brought in he would tighten things up But lads the word coming from the kingdom is they are very happy that its mayo and not Cork in the semi the bookies seem to think the same Mayo 9/2 very tempting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Yeh agreed.

Kerry know about football, whereas in Mayo you have idiots in the media who don't know the first thing about football. That's the main problem. They lead the cheerleading and hype machine and usually try to exploit it for their own gains.

Supplements, advertising, the works.

Anytime Mayo get near an AI final or even a semi final you have mayo newspapers with supplements showing the men of 1951 or 1936 and so on.

If Mayo get into a semi final, they are treated like heroes already and people looking for their autograph and so on. They think they have already won the AI. Kerry players love to see the hype in mayo I would say.

Mayo have proved nothing yet by getting into the semis. They are a division one team, so beating an understrength cork team should have been expected. Beating Kerry is a whole different matter.

Absolute rubbish, there is no hype whatsoever in Mayo this week, No oine thinks we have won anything so please stop your childish generalisations. Oh and who are the idiots in the media??? Name them and what they have said thats so wrong? The media are indpenedent, they have a job to do and are not obliged to do anything in tandem with the gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Eh? A big portion of this squad have played in four national finals in the last seven years, the 2004 and 2006 All-Ireland finals and the 2007 and 2009 NFL finals. They have far more experience at this level than most teams - any problems won't be caused by the novelty of the occasion, at the very least.

Syferus wrote: »
    Eh? A big portion of this squad have played in four national finals in the last seven years, the 2004 and 2006 All-Ireland finals and the 2007 and 2009 NFL finals. They have far more experience at this level than most teams - any problems won't be caused by the novelty of the occasion, at the very least.

2004 and 2006 a nightmare for mayo started bad did not do ther home work on kerry Played kerry in a shootout not wise, they will have to play a sweeper and work there socks off again A warning Cooper is due a goal or two his having a quite year so far ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭PhosphoricAcid

Despite the fact I'm a Mayo supporter, I'm pessimistic about this game. Just hope it's not the same as 04/06 finals, I doubt it will be though. These players are tougher mentally and Horan's a far better manager than Maughan.I'd say we'll lose by 3 or less.

One topic I would like to get feedback in is, I'm of the belief that Mayo have the best midfield in the country, anyone agree with me? The first 15 mins excluded Mayo absolutely cleaned out the Cork midfield for the rest of the game. The two O'Shea's are top quality fielders, and they're tall, strong and relatively mobile. In Ronan McGarrity they have one of the best midfielders of this decade to call on off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Despite the fact I'm a Mayo supporter, I'm pessimistic about this game. Just hope it's not the same as 04/06 finals, I doubt it will be though. These players are tougher mentally and Horan's a far better manager than Maughan.I'd say we'll lose by 3 or less.

One topic I would like to get feedback in is, I'm of the belief that Mayo have the best midfield in the country, anyone agree with me? The first 15 mins excluded Mayo absolutely cleaned out the Cork midfield for the rest of the game. The two O'Shea's are top quality fielders, and they're tall, strong and relatively mobile. In Ronan McGarrity they have one of the best midfielders of this decade to call on off the bench.

Im not going to judge on one game. We will see what they are capable of doing against Kerry. I fell they will be cleaned out by Kerry if they don't have a Plan B as Kerry will focus on all of that.

2004 and 2006 a nightmare for mayo started bad did not do ther home work on kerry Played kerry in a shootout not wise, they will have to play a sweeper and work there socks off again A warning Cooper is due a goal or two his having a quite year so far ;);)

Best way to quieten Cooper is to switch 3/4 lads on who are prepared to flatten him and take a yellow if needs be.

The International Rules games in 2005 showed he wasn't up to the physicality, didn't score an over, went hiding and avoided going on after he got the first belt or two in the first game.

He wanted none of it. I was watching it recently and the Aussie Commentators spent the whole time laughing about how he was the star of the sport here, he didn't do much to silence them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Yes we won a load of balls but how many times did they lose it by carrying it into an opponent or not letting it off quickly??? The O'Shea lads have ball winning ability but there is more to being a midfielder. Anyway a couple of weeks t work on that.

This could turn out to be a serious partnership, the name is good you had the best in the buissness jacko and then dara i know o shea is a good mayo name as well :rolleyes: kerry seem to be after finding a few midfilders them selvs they are not short of height ,maher 6,5 and brian sheahan is 6,3 hope its a good game, we have a mixed house here with herself being a mayo women and like the song says if they could win just 1 it would be great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Alot few of these Mayo players weren't around for the '04 and '06 games which can only be a good thing, as there won't be that many of them carrying the scars of those defeats.

So they have no reason to fear Kerry. They're just another team of 15 footballers (albeit good ones!) and if Mayo can block out the fact that it's Kerry and just concentrate on playing they will have a chance.

Horan seems a pretty shrewd coach tactically, very good at setting up his defence, so I don't see Kerry blowing Mayo out of the water like before. That said, Kerry are the best team in the country wth the best footballers, and it will take another monumental effort from Mayo to win this. They'll need to up it another 50% from the Cork game.

So it's a Kerry victory for me, but not with anything like the ease of those two finals.

Kerry 1-14
    Mayo 1-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kerry to win this with bit to spare...4-5 points

EVENFLOW

Best way to quieten Cooper is to switch 3/4 lads on who are prepared to flatten him and take a yellow if needs be.

The International Rules games in 2005 showed he wasn't up to the physicality, didn't score an over, went hiding and avoided going on after he got the first belt or two in the first game.

He wanted none of it. I was watching it recently and the Aussie Commentators spent the whole time laughing about how he was the star of the sport here, he didn't do much to silence them either.

In fairness the International Rules was a free for all and lawless up to a few years ago. It rewarded dirty unskilled players and the skillful players suffered.

Cooper has nothing to prove in GAA, especially against Mayo and I say that as a Mayo person. He's nothing to prove against Dublin, Cork and so on. Maybe against Tyrone but that's another day's discussion.

He's pulled it out of the bag so many times for Kerry it's unreal, and there is no question he is the best player of his generation bar none.

There are several Mayo players on the other hand who have a lot to prove against Kerry, both forwards and defenders. They may be good against other teams but Kerry steamroll them in the championship every time. It's time for them to put in a big game against Kerry or else retire and stop togging out for Mayo.

Like most Mayo fans I'm sick of having hopes built up, and mayo people travelling to Croke Park based on a win against a previous big team, only to be demolished by Kerry. It's happened once too often in the past, and I have a feeling it's going to happen again this time.

Yes that was coppers first and i think last game of aussie rules he came on ran around the park and dodged a few hits and came off again copper admitted thats not a game for me after words, it takes a certain type of player for that aussie rules copper is not one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

In fairness the International Rules was a free for all and lawless up to a few years ago. It rewarded dirty unskilled players and the skillful players suffered.

Cooper has nothing to prove in GAA, especially against Mayo and I say that as a Mayo person. He's nothing to prove against Dublin, Cork and so on. Maybe against Tyrone but that's another day's discussion.

He's pulled it out of the bag so many times for Kerry it's unreal, and there is no question he is the best player of his generation bar none.

There are several Mayo players on the other hand who have a lot to prove against Kerry, both forwards and defenders. They may be good against other teams but Kerry steamroll them in the championship every time. It's time for them to put in a big game against Kerry or else retire and stop togging out for Mayo.

Like most Mayo fans I'm sick of having hopes built up, and mayo people travelling to Croke Park based on a win against a previous big team, only to be demolished by Kerry. It's happened once too often in the past, and I have a feeling it's going to happen again this time.

The players will give their all and I believe they did their best in '04 and '06. We were tactically naive and got destroyed by a superior team.

I've learned from the dark days in Croker not to expect too much on these occasions . We were underdogs against Cork and we will be underdogs again against Kerry.
    Like I said before the Cork game we have done well this year - better than anyone could have expected. It's a young team with a young manager, the Cork game has taught us that these lads have something about them but the worst thing that could happen is that the county expects too much too soon. Relax and enjoy the ride is the best approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Yes they do as Kerry seemed more prepped up for a challenge the likes of Cork or Dublin, Tyrone but Mayo is an interesting surprise for them but don't think they will have it easy with Mayo like they had with Limerick. Think it be a challenge for them but think they could run away with it! They will be tested no doubt but don't think Mayo have it in them to beat Kerry but they could never say never, you don't know how Mayo will perform on the day. It will go one way or the other no matter how good a team is! Even the best team on the day doesn't always win!? Kildare v Donegal match was proof of that!

I watch Aussie Rules and the International Rules was no different in terms of ball winning.
    As a matter of fact, your description kind of describes GAA more where unskilled players can just slowly hand pass the ball up the pitch since the tackling is so flawed, at least in Aussies Rules when hand passes are used it's quicker and intelligent and kicking skills are rewarded.

That aside though the issue I was making was off his mental capacity to participate in a battle.

He was the ONLY Irish player that completely wimped out of it and that to me shows that when the intensity rises he doesn't thrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Using that one off game in a different sport is a good idea, certainly makes more sense than considering his complete ruination of pretty much every team he's come across for the last decade.

I watch Aussie Rules and the International Rules was no different in terms of ball winning.
    As a matter of fact, your description kind of describes GAA more where unskilled players can just slowly hand pass the ball up the pitch since the tackling is so flawed, at least in Aussies Rules when hand passes are used it's quicker and intelligent and kicking skills are rewarded.

That aside though the issue I was making was off his mental capacity to participate in a battle.

He was the ONLY Irish player that completely wimped out of it and that to me shows that when the intensity rises he doesn't thrive.

Its easy to sit in front of the telly watching these games and saying he wimped out of it at least he had a go, did you have a go yourself at it, and if so how did you get on:confused:

The Aussie Rules players are professionals who spend most of their time in the gym. They are massive men.

That's not Cooper's game, never was.

Which is more important, being good at international rules or winning All Irelands? Winning All Irelands of course.

The International Rules are just a sideshow.

As a Mayo fan I'd gladly trade 10 International Rules Series wins for one All Ireland win. Most counties would feel the same.

Cooper has nothing to prove in GAA as I said before. And he certainly has the strength in GAA matches, but many so called hardmen were hammered by the Austalians, Graham Gerathy and the likes. It's a bit much to expect Irish guys, particularly the lighter guys to mix it with the Aussies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Mayo shouldn't fear Kerry. They should respect them alright but they've nothing to lose. They are the underdogs. The expectation is that they'll lose so they might as well go out and through everything they can at it.

It'd be fantastic to see them win and a Donegal Mayo final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Lemlin wrote: »
    Mayo shouldn't fear Kerry. They should respect them alright but they've nothing to lose. They are the underdogs. The expectation is that they'll lose so they might as well go out and through everything they can at it.

It'd be fantastic to see them win and a Donegal Mayo final.

Ya but I say if Mayo wins against Kerry, they are more likely to play Dublin or Tyrone rather than Donegal? They might on the off chance but I suppose you can't underestimate any of the current teams left! Its anyone's game really.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Using that one off game in a different sport is a good idea, certainly makes more sense than considering his complete ruination of pretty much every team he's come across for the last decade.

That one off game proves he lacks the mental steel for a physical battle, the sport wasn't the issue, his mental reaction was.
    Its easy to sit in front of the telly watching these games and saying he wimped out of it at least he had a go, did you have a go yourself at it, and if so how did you get on:confused:

I play here in Galway..... FAIL
    The Aussie Rules players are professionals who spend most of their time in the gym. They are massive men.

That's not Cooper's game, never was.

Which is more important, being good at international rules or winning All Irelands? Winning All Irelands of course.

The International Rules are just a sideshow.

As a Mayo fan I'd gladly trade 10 International Rules Series wins for one All Ireland win. Most counties would feel the same.

Cooper has nothing to prove in GAA as I said before. And he certainly has the strength in GAA matches, but many so called hardmen were hammered by the Austalians, Graham Gerathy and the likes. It's a bit much to expect Irish guys, particularly the lighter guys to mix it with the Aussies.

You're completely missing my point, when did I even mention the significance of Int' Rules victories in comparison to AI's?....

When did I say he had anything to prove in GAA?, someone mentioned how to stop him and I said based on what I saw of him in a physical battle he completely bottled it and went hiding.

My one and only point was he can be taken off his game if the heat is turned up, which hasn't happened much over the years, if he's given space and time he'll make hay...... the one time I've seen him ill afforded that he didn't want to know.

You see it with a lot of our hurlers, once the heat gets turned up its bye bye, thats the same point I was getting at with him using the International Rules game as an example.

You're entitled to your stupid opinion, but it's stupid.

Since Gooch was 12 every corner back has tried hitting him digs. I'd be surprised if he didn't lol about it when it happens at this stage.

If Kieren Jack jogs out to mark him for Mayo or whoever else, you might be onto something, but if it's just a regular old inter-county footballer I'm sure he'll ship a few digs as always and wave as they're being carted off after 40 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

keane2097 wrote: »
    You're entitled to your stupid opinion, but it's stupid.

Since Gooch was 12 every corner back has tried hitting him digs. I'd be surprised if he didn't lol about it when it happens at this stage.

If Kieren Jack jogs out to mark him for Mayo or whoever else, you might be onto something, but if it's just a regular old inter-county footballer I'm sure he'll ship a few digs as always and wave as they're being carted off after 40 minutes.

The gooch is class but in no way is he not markable, If Mayo swarm 3 or 4 players around him and try to isolate him he's beaten. Thats all they have to do. Down beat Kerry last year and nobody expected it. Can't see why Mayo couldn't do it with a bit of luck.

teednab-el wrote: »
    The gooch is class but in no way is he not markable, If Mayo swarm 3 or 4 players around him and try to isolate him he's beaten. Thats all they have to do. Down beat Kerry last year and nobody expected it. Can't see why Mayo couldn't do it with a bit of luck.

Yeah of course he's markable but to suggest he doesn't have the heart for a physical or high intensity football game is demonstrably retarded by virtue of his performances over the course of ten years of physical, high intensity football games.