Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darren O'Sullivan's goal

• 31-07-2011 5:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭

Great goal by him today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

lovely finish, real moment of genius on the lads part. shame he took the knock he did though and had to come off

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

sendit wrote: »
    Great goal by him today!

It was commented about in the match thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    It was commented about in the match thread.

and?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Goal of the season. A shocking pass from Sheehan and just amazing improvisation to finish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

He could have gotten a hat-trick in the first half too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Great goal by him today!

hamstring injury picked up by him today should see Mayo avoiding that kinda thing in 3 weeks;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Dr. Bad Touch

Real classy finish, goal of the season.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

and?

and.... it was a well taken goal...as was said then, by me and others.
    Hardly a thread though:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 civileng2008

He spent two years with Queens Park Rangers youth academy when he lived in London as a youngster. Thats where he got the magic touch from! :D

Why not? Makes a change from thread about bad refs etc

There's a thread about bad refs.... I'm off;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It was a great goal. It was one of those cheeky ones that came off this time, but there were better goals scored this weekend in terms of quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

I thought it was a hit and hope one to be honest. Its great when it worked but if it hadnt, Im sure O Connor would have had words with him. Bit of luck really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭eigrod

I was in the Lower Cusack and had a great view of it. It was an excellent piece of improvisation. Nothing lucky about it. He meant to do it and it came off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

it was the only shot on after the poor pass, excellent goal by a superb footballer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

For anyone yet to see it. Quality and very unique in terms of GAA.

Flukey wrote: »
    It was a great goal. It was one of those cheeky ones that came off this time, but there were better goals scored this weekend in terms of quality.

Im sure if Mr Brogan scored it it would have been the greatest goal ever......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

Im sure if Mr Brogan scored it it would have been the greatest goal ever......

Imagine if Ronaldo or Rooney pulled it off. Dunphy and Giles would be getting an orgasm on air.

Quality goal in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

It was brilliant, genius...but absolutely sickening. What are the chances of something like that happening? A bad handpass across caused it, it looked like we had him covered but then he just pulls that out of the bag.

That really killed us...if we had scored a goal down the other end, we'd have been in front and Kelly should have finished it but I suppose you're more likely to get those breaks when you have players of that quality.

He was superb.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

If Donnacha or Walsh had scored it for Cork against Mayo it would be well thread worthy though right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Indie. wrote: »
    Imagine if Ronaldo or Rooney pulled it off. Dunphy and Giles would be getting an orgasm on air.

Probably would have been blown up for handball in the lead up :pac:

Great goal by a class player.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

teednab-el wrote: »
    I thought it was a hit and hope one to be honest. Its great when it worked but if it hadnt, Im sure O Connor would have had words with him. Bit of luck really.

completley disagree with all this. He had no option but to try it. it was low down and behind him, if O Connor would have words with anyone it would have been Sheehan for a bad pass. And it wasnt luck. luck is something that isnt intended. he intended to connect with the ball like that. are we to say every bit of brilliant individualism is luck? not wanting to compare to soccer (but seeing as it was a soccer type finish) if Messi scores a goal like that, is it luck or a wonderfully creative finish?

Stinicker wrote: »
    If Donnacha Walsh had scored it for Cork against Mayo it would be well thread worthy though right?

I presume you mean Donnacha O'Connor - and no, it would not, as I have already said;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I presume you mean Donnacha O'Connor - and no, it would not, as I have already said;)

I meant or Aidan Walsh, still it was a supreme goal but nothing like the cracker he scored against Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Absolutely savage goal, well worthy of a thread, unique is the best way to describe it.

Stinicker wrote: »
    I meant or Aidan Walsh, still it was a supreme goal but nothing like the cracker he scored against Cork.

Surprised you didn't start a thread about that then;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Class

Would love to see Messi and co try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Flukey wrote: »

i.e. Kevin McLaughlin vs Cork!!:D

It was pretty good though, massive bit of improvisation!!

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Class

Would love to see Messi and co try it.

To be fair to Messi, I think he's proven he can do about anything.

McLoughlin's goal for Mayo was also fantastic.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It was no fluke, he knew what he was at. Superb goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Kingdom Bhoy

Touch of class :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Brilliant goal from a player who's found himself this year. Has shone in all games. Hope the Hammer is alright.

Can't see why people are complaining. It was a moment of genius to work off an awful pass from Sheahan. Only thing similer i've seen is the overhead kick from Fachna Collins (or maybe Fiachra something) the bauld Cork Corner forward against Waterford one year in the early 2000's.

In my mind it is the Goal of the Season so far, with Kevin McLoughlin's goal coming a close second. Fantastic goals the pair of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

grea goal and he had 1-3 scored by 30 mins, shame he got injured, he is having some year, his best ever....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Brilliant goal from a player who's found himself this year. Has shone in all games. Hope the Hammer is alright.

Can't see why people are complaining. It was a moment of genius to work off an awful pass from Sheahan. Only thing similer i've seen is the overhead kick from Fachna Collins (or maybe Fiachra something) the bauld Cork Corner forward against Waterford one year in the early 2000's.

In my mind it is the Goal of the Season so far, with Kevin McLoughlin's goal coming a close second. Fantastic goals the pair of them.

it was fionan murray from the barrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

n32 wrote: »
    it was fionan murray from the barrs
    Ha thanks. Can't believe I forgot his name after the trouble he caused :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Rain Over Me

what made it impressive was that he meant to do it, had the presence of mind as the ball was behind him to try it, if it didnt work out everyone would be hating on him, it worked out and I give him credit as it was brave, after missing a chance earlier and it will be a goal shown in years to come, great skill

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Ha thanks. Can't believe I forgot his name after the trouble he caused :P

no better boy than fionan to cause a bit of trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

fantastic, lit up the game

ShamoBuc you're an awful wan***

what made it so enjoyable for me was that it was a completely off the cuff moment compared to the robotic safety first low risk bull****e we re being served up by teams nowadays . some pundits and journalists have said that coaches will be taering their hair out when young lads try and copy it but its skill and genius like that we should be encouraging young fellas to try. too many underage coaches now are taking the natural flair out of kids and encouraging to copy the donegals of this world to win at all costs and to hell with the type of football they play.

ye have no idea how hard it was for a cokrman like me to write praise like that for a kerryman!!!

mystic86 wrote: »
    fantastic, lit up the game

ShamoBuc you're an awful wan***[/QUOTE]

Using your famous Mystic powers I see:rolleyes:

When I saw your post I wondered how long it would take before 2 certain posters to thank it.....not long at all.....oh so very predictable;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Always nice to see a thread about a great goal being ruined by childish posters.

What can I say that hasn't been said already about the goal. Clinical and classy at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,821 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

what made it impressive was that he meant to do it, had the presence of mind as the ball was behind him to try it, if it didnt work out everyone would be hating on him, it worked out and I give him credit as it was brave, after missing a chance earlier and it will be a goal shown in years to come, great skill

To me it looked fairly opportunist, which there is nothing wrong with in a game that was not really a contest, but if it did not work out he would have been laughed at, or Sheehan would have been given out to for a bad pass in the first place.

I have seen many much better goals in my life.

Conor Mortimer scored a far better one where he latched on to a hand-pass from Aidan O' Shea and volleyed the ball into the roof of the net in a league game a few years back.
    But it was dis-allowed because the pass for O Shea was not properly fisted, as was the experimental rule in the league that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Goal was pretty special alright. Although not quite as special as Louth legend Mark Brennan's effort against Cavan. One of life's great injustices that only 555 people have marvelled over this one on YouTube.

Pighead wrote: »
    Goal was pretty special alright. Although not quite as special as Louth legend Mark Brennan's effort against Cavan. One of life's great injustices that only 555 people have marvelled over this one on YouTube.

Nice but to be fair Darren O'Sullivan had to react much quicker to a really poor pass.

Exactly. Couldn't agree more Mountainlad. Louth goal was better because the assist was a thing of beauty as well as the finish. Poetry in Motion.

Haha, ok so. Well I understand that there is no real point debating this so I'll settle for Louth's was a better team goal, but O'Sullivan's skill surpassed that of Brennan's, yes?

Yet again you hit the nail on the head Mountainlad. I totally agree with your assessment that Louth are a wonderful all round team wheras Kerry rely on individual moments of genius to drag them through games.

One day the GAA will realise how great Louth are give them the recognition they deserve...fifteen all-stars.

Let's see ya take that one out of context :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Vunderground

Indie. wrote: »

Not if it was scored against an amateur team from Limerick they wouldn't!
    No offense meant ...just trying to put it in proportion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

didnt martin casey from clare do something like this for a point in 97 v cork???