Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scotland v Ireland, Murrayfield, August 6th, 2.15pm -*MOD WARNING Post 628*

• 31-07-2011 11:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

First match of the warm-up series coming up and since it counts for nothing except building towards New Zealand, the discussion has to focus on the 22 players to be picked.

The key considerations for Kidney in this game are final squad selection and giving game time to injured players; the various pros and cons for each player and position are discussed ad infinitum on the other threads so I'll limit myself to just the 22 I think should be picked next weekend.

Andy Robinson, according to the Sindo, is resting Kelly Brown, Hines, Blair, Cusiter and Euan Murray, so it's not clear how seriously Scotland are taking it, therefore it may be of limited value in judging the merits of some of the fringe players, but anyway:

15. Kearney; testing out his injury has to take priority over any other consideration at FB, match-fitness will be low so there should be 20-30 minutes for Jones to come on.
    14. Bowe
    13. McFadden; BOD is not a player who needs a lot of games to get up to game readiness, so let's give Ferg a real chance to nail down a spot.
    12. Wallace; D'Arcy is still out, gives Wallace the chance to claim the 12 jersey
    11. Murphy; Out of position but needs to show his fitness
    10. ROG; Sexton could use another week of rest
    9. Boss; deserves a shot after a terrific season (but TOL will play)
    8. Heaslip
    7. Jennings; Wallace is nailed down and at his age, probably needs as much of a break as possible, I'd love to see Jennings get a real shot at a place.
    6. Ferris; we need to see how his knee holds up
    5. O'Connell; still not back to his best at the end of the ML, needs games
    4. Cullen; has to be given a chance to break up the POC/DOC combo, a good line-out showing against Richie Gray would be a start
    3. Hayes/Buckley; I don't care who plays, both useless but we have no-one else and I'd rather give Ross a break
    2. Cronin; I'm assuming Flannery isn't fit yet
    1. Court; deserves a start and is better at LH

Again, this game will probably tell us little enough about anything, especially when the multitude of substitutes start going on and off, so I think the real key is seeing whether Ferris and Kearney have recovered from injury (and to a lesser extent Murphy).
    On the bench, I'd go for two outside backs, probably Trimble and Jones and let PW cover out-half if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

I agree with most of your team, but I'd put Trimble in on the wing for Murphy. Murphy needs to get game time, but I'd rather it was off the bench then playing him out of the position we need him most in.
    I'd like to see Conor Murray involved because I'd like him to travel, but might be too late for that. I do hope Kidney tries out some of the non regulars though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Completely disregarding who is training etc, this is the team I would want selected for this game.

15. Kearney - Says he has been fit for two months and is raring for a shot. I think himself and Jones should be played at 15 throughout the warmups to see where each are at.
    14. Bowe
    13. BOD - Wouldn't play a completely new and unrealistic combination in the centers because that brings no benefit and so with no D'Arcy, I would pick BOD + someone else
    12. McFadden - Hasn't had a chance at 12 for Ireland, needs to show if he's up to it there.
    11. Fitzgerald - If he's fit. He wasn't playing well so it'd be intersting to see where he's at now.
    10. Sexton
    9. Murray - Given the opposition, this is the best opportunity to let him acclimate to international rugby before the world cup. Also gives us a chance to see how he works with Sexton/Heaslip
    8. Heaslip
    7. Jennings
    6. Ferris - To see where he's at in terms of fitness.
    5. O'Connell - Same as Ferris.
    4. Ryan - I'd like to see him have another run in the row before the warm ups really start. He needs to prove his ability there to be considered a back row/second row candidate for the world cup squad. Hopefully his form for Munster wasn't just limited to playing 6.
    3. Hagan - Ideally, this should be the point where he gets a proper opportunity to prove he is capable of playing against 2nd Tier international teams, thus making him a real candidate. Realistically it will be one of the two washed up lads that Kidney/Smal love.
    2. Best.
    1. Healy - If Hagan is playing then Best/Healy would need to play to allow us to gauge his performance properly imo.

Cronin, Court, Cullen, O'Brien, Reddan, Wallace, Earls (and give Wallace 20 minutes at 10 because he needs to show if he can at least give us something there and put that debate to rest. Maybe throw Earls/Bowe in at 13 for a stretch to check out potential depth.)

PS, I dunno if Hagan is even training with the squad, I'm just pointing out the team I'd like to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

I would like to see Murray start but it will probably be TOL. If TOL is playing I'D prefer to see Sexton start to allow him and TOL get game time together as this could be Kidneys starting partnership.

No need for BOD to start this game, would agree with the McFadden + Wallace pairing.

If Jennings doesn't get a starting spot in this game then it's likely he won't make the 30.

I would probably rest O'Connell as he will be get plenty of game time in the England and France series. Kidney could try Leo + Ryan or McLaughlin in this game.

If Flannery is fit he should get some game time either starting or coming on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Whats wrong with Darcy? and has O gara recovered from his calf strain?

we are only 5 weeks away from the start, its time for players who are recovering to nail their fitness colours to the mast.

the last thing that we want is bring players to NZ in the hope that they will recover, we need players like Flannery, Murphy Ferris etc to have games under their belt BEFORE we head down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭val_jester

Phonehead wrote: »
    I would like to see Murray start but it will probably be TOL. If TOL is playing I'D prefer to see Sexton start to allow him and TOL get game time together as this could be Kidneys starting partnership.

No need for BOD to start this game, would agree with the McFadden + Wallace pairing.

If Jennings doesn't get a starting spot in this game then it's likely he won't make the 30.

I would probably rest O'Connell as he will be get plenty of game time in the England and France series. Kidney could try Leo + Ryan or McLaughlin in this game.

If Flannery is fit he should get some game time either starting or coming on.

Jennings probably won't start as I doubt he is fully fit yet due to the broken arm he received in the magners final.

Flannery and ferris will apparently both get gametime in this match according to kiss on ruggamatrix I think.

I'd like to see earls at 13 this week. He is the only person besides bod to play 13, since kidney has taken over as far as I can remember (excluding the north america tour during the lions), and is likely to play there in the world cup when bod is rested; as well as being injury back up there.

Kidney doesn't rate boss, and I agree with him, so I'd like to see murray given a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. TOL
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. McFadden
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Flannery
    17. Court
    18. O'Callaghan
    19. Wallace
    20. Murray
    22. O'Gara
    23. Wallace

That's the team I would take. Think these matches need to be a balance between preparing the best guys for the WC, and giving other guys a chance to prove themselves. There's no point messing with combinations that will most likely not feature in the WC.

That back-row gives us a chance to see a combination that could be deadly, while giving Fez game-time. Seeing as Kidders loves TOL, he might as well be given game-time. I'd prefer to see McFadden at 12 over Wallace, and Kearney needs to get game-time too. Then Flannery and Murray can come on to show what they've got, and Wallace can be the 23rd man because McFadden can go out on the wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Healy
    Flanerry (If he is going to go he needs game time ASAP. Although it could come off the bench)
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    Jennings
    Heaslip
    Redden
    Sexton
    Earls
    McFadden
    BOD
    Trimble (Bowe is nailed down so I'd give someone else a chance to prove themselves worthy of a spot on the plane)
    Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Id say start Wallace at 12. Save McFadden for a bench spot and to come in at 13 later on the game.

We'll end up mix and matching our centre's anyway if D'Arcy is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Healy
    Flanerry (If he is going to go he needs game time ASAP. Although it could come off the bench)
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    Jennings
    Heaslip
    Redden
    Sexton
    Earls
    McFadden
    BOD
    Trimble (Bowe is nailed down so I'd give someone else a chance to prove themselves worthy of a spot on the plane)
    Kearney

that could be said for most of the starting 15:P

Also Drico shouldnt play this game he should play one of the games agaisnt france plus the england game... well maybe not england considering the number of cheap shots they tend to take at him in recent games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Healy (don't have wealth of options)
    Flanerry (needs matches)
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris (needs matches)
    Jennings (deserves chance to stake a claim)
    Heaslip
    Murray (deserves a chance, needs experience)
    Sexton
    Earls
    McFadden
    BOD
    Trimble
    Kearney (with Jones getting the last 20)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Healy (don't have wealth of options)
    Flanerry (needs matches)
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris (needs matches)
    Jennings (deserves chance to stake a claim)
    Heaslip
    Murray (deserves a chance, needs experience)
    Sexton
    Earls
    McFadden
    BOD
    Trimble
    Kearney (with Jones getting the last 20)

I'm not sure we can expect Jennings and Ferris to be back yet. Neither has even started contact training yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Court, Flannery, Hayes, O'Connell, Cullen, Ryan, O'Brien, Heaslip;
    Murray, ROG, G Murphy, Wallace, O'Driscoll, McFadden, Jones

Bench: Cronin, Ross, O'Callaghan, Ferris, Stringer, Kearney, Trimble

Scotland is our weakest opponent during the warmups so we shouldn't send our strongest side. I think this is a chance to give the potential bolters a chance. Murphy isn't a wing but needs time as much as Kearney.

Changes I'd make during game:

- Put Wallace at 10 for final 20/25.
    - Ferris on for Ryan at 50.
    - Flannery plays no more than 60.
    - Kearney on for Jones at 60.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

1.Healy 2.Best 3.Ross 4.Cullen 5.O'Connell 6.Ferris 7.O'Brien 8.Heaslip 9.Reddan 10.Sexton 11.Earls 12.McFadden 13.O'Driscoll 14.Bowe 15.Kearney .... we need the team to gel so I would use all the games to prepare the first teamers, the only exception would be that I'd give Ferris and Kearney game time to get fit as if they're fit they'll start. Kearney's fitness is absolutely vital to our WC hopes. I would give meaningful game time to the back ups i.e 30mins a match but I wouldnt use these games to crazily experiment as we need to find our form first.

• 1. Court
    2. Flannery
    3. Ross
    4. Ryan
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. ROG
    11. Earls
    12. McFadden
    13. BOD
    14. Trimble
    15. Kearney

16. Best
    17. Healy
    18. McLaughlin
    19. SOB
    20. Boss
    21. Wallace
    22. Jones

55/60 mins in, Wallace on for ROG, McLaughlin on for Ferris and Ryan goes to 6, SOB on for Heaslip, Healy on for Ross and let Court take over the TH berth. Jones and Best to be introduced when we've seen enough of Flannery and Kearney to know that they're good to go.

Sexton, Bowe, Cullen, DOC, Cronin, Jennings, Murray, Fitzgerald all get a chance to play the following week after missing this game.

Gives Ryan and McLaughlin a chance to sink/swin in the 4/6 slot vs a decent lineout in Scotland. Gives Wallace a chance to show that he sinks/swims at 10, and gives us a good look at some of the more marginal selections without making a pigs arse of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Felix Jones will definitely start this game with Kearney to get a run in the final quarter. The roles will probably be reversed for the next game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

Wallace at 10? I know, we've no replacement for Sexton/ROG, but heaven help us if this comes to pass.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

id much prefer wallace and sexton to get some game time together

Well, now that the injury list has been revealed, I would go with this XV
    Injury list: Ferris, D'arcy, Jennings, BOD

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. O'Connell
    6. O'Brien
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip
    9. TOL
    10. Sexton
    11. Earls
    12. Wallace
    13. McFadden
    14. Trimble
    15. Kearney

16. Best
    17. Court
    18. O'Callaghan
    19. McLaughlin
    20. Murray
    21. O'Gara
    22. Jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Ferris and D'arcy will not be selected for this one. However Flannery, Kearney & Murphy are ready for selection.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2011/0801/1224301709837.html

With this in mind I'd go for;
    1. Healy
    2. Flannery/Cronin (Half-Time swap)
    3. Court
    4. Cullen
    5. POC
    6. SOB
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

9. Murray/Boss (Half-time swap)
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. McFadden
    13. Earls (BOD's at 80% training so maybe should sit this out for now)
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney/Murphy (Half-Time swap)

16. Cronin/Flannery
    17. Buckley
    18. Ryan
    19. McLaughlin
    20. Boss/Murray
    21. ROG
    22. Murphy/Kearney

Perhaps at halftime Court could shift to loose with Buckley at tight & SOB could go 8 with McLaughlin at 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

is jennings not injured ? - not sure if he will make WC - might be wrong

thebaz wrote: »
    is jennings not injured ? - not sure if he will make WC - might be wrong

He's ready for selection next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Would love to see Geordan Murphy start, even though it was this fixture that he got injured in that ruled him out of the world cup previously. Another player I would love to see included in this game is Mike McCarthy, has been a great player for Connacht and this game might show the Irish rugby public that he should be a contender to be included in the travelling squad. I think that this is the game to get players who need gametime on the pitch and give the likes of Murray a starting role.

Scotland only have 2 warm up games, and taking into consideration that most of their key players were pulled out of competitive Magners League games I would expect them to be putting out a near full-strength team.

Can't wait to get to Edinburgh for this one.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

As of now, RTÉ don't appear to be covering this game - it is not in their advance schedules (the film "Massacure in Rome" is scheduled) and not on the list of sports programming here:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/sportontv.html

The SRU are hardly trying to play hardball on rights for the game are they? Particularly when BBC Two are showing the game. Though I note Setanta Ireland has put a gaping hole in their schedule for that timeslot (repeats of Manchester United v Liverpool games from the 1990s) that they could easily slot a live event into if one were to arise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭nathan99

icdg wrote: »
    As of now, RTÉ don't appear to be covering this game - it is not in their advance schedules (the film "Massacure in Rome" is scheduled) and not on the list of sports programming here:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/sportontv.html

The SRU are hardly trying to play hardball on rights for the game are they? Particularly when BBC Two are showing the game. Though I note Setanta Ireland has put a gaping hole in their schedule for that timeslot (repeats of Manchester United v Liverpool games from the 1990s) that they could easily slot a live event into if one were to arise.

I was thinking the exact same thing, I didnt see it on the scheduled list, thankmgod I have bbc2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

icdg wrote: »
    As of now, RTÉ don't appear to be covering this game

You're right! I thought I had seen that it was being carried but no, it appears it will be BBC only, with RTE showing both games vs France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

As the final squad is expected to be announced before the end of the warm up games, the early games will see the tight calls examined. With that in mind, I think we can expect the likes of Ryan/McLaughlin both to get a start in the first two games. I think that whoever is fighting it out for the last scrum half spot will get some game time in the first two games so I'd be thinking Murray might get a shot or Boss/Stringer as I think Reddan/TOL are on the plane. The need for Kearney to get game time under his belt could take precedence over Jones getting a run. With all that said and injuries playing a part, I think we could be looking at something along the lines of:

1. Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Hayes
    4. DOC
    5. POC
    6. Ryan
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip
    9. Murray
    10. ROG
    11. Earls
    12. Wallace
    13. McFadden
    14. Trimble
    15. Kearney

I think we'll see McLaughlin come on then with Ryan moving to lock and POC/DOC coming off. Buckley to get a run if he's fit enough for a spell. SOB or Leamy to get a run with Wallace coming off. Boss or Stringer to come in. I wouldn't be too surprised to see a little bit of chopping and changing with Paddy Wallace getting a run at 10 and Fitz or even Duffy coming in and the back line reshuffling. I think they'll be hoping to get a look at as many people and combinations as possible in the first couple of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

15 Chris Paterson
    14 Nikki Walker
    13 Joe Ansbro
    12 Graeme Morrison
    11 Sean Lamont
    10 Ruaridh Jackson
    9 Rory Lawson (capt)

8 Johnnie Beattie
    7 Ross Rennie
    6 Alasdair Strokosch
    5 Richie Gray
    4 Jim Hamilton
    3 Geoff Cross
    2 Ross Ford
    1 Allan Jacobsen

Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Alastair Kellock, 19 David Denton, 20 Greig Laidlaw, 21 Nick De Luca, 22 Jack Cuthbert.

http://planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,16024_7077009,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I think it will be a stronger line up than people expect. These games are about fitness and performance from the whole squad. Dont forget the shoo-ins also need game time its not just about the uncertainties putting their hands up

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. McFadden
    12. Wallace
    11. Earls.
    10.Sexton.
    9.Reddan
    1.Healy
    2. Flannery
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5.POC
    6.SOB
    7. Wallace
    8. Heaslip

Murphy ROG Murray Best Hayes DOC Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

There's no a hope in hell either of Kearney or Flannery will start. They've played about 20 minutes of rugby between them this season and to make their come back in an international is asking for trouble. They'll get 20 minutes off the bench and if all goes well both start next week.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Kearney would have been fit for the end of the season but they left him just a bit longer before bringing him back. Also the new season starts on Saturday all form etc. starts a new!

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Kearney would have been fit for the end of the season but they left him just a bit longer before bringing him back. Also the new season starts on Saturday all form etc. starts a new!

+1 on that, Kearney will be raring to go. I'd much rather start him and take him off after 50 minutes than bring him on with 20 to go when the game will be meaningless.

Flannery is a different kettle of fish; whereas Kearney had one specific injury to overcome, albeit a very bad one, Flannery has had numerous injuries, comebacks and breakdowns. I'd be inclined to treat him with a bit more care and ease him in off the bench. We have a very decent hooker in situ so Flannery's well-being would be a great bonus but is not critical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

+1 on that, Kearney will be raring to go. I'd much rather start him and take him off after 50 minutes than bring him on with 20 to go when the game will be meaningless.

Flannery is a different kettle of fish; whereas Kearney had one specific injury to overcome, albeit a very bad one, Flannery has had numerous injuries, comebacks and breakdowns. I'd be inclined to treat him with a bit more care and ease him in off the bench. We have a very decent hooker in situ so Flannery's well-being would be a great bonus but is not critical.
    Good post, totallegend, totally agree with your sentiments there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

team named on thursday pm apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I think they should be given 20 - 40 min for 2 games and then start the remaining 2. Throwing them into a competitive match might be asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

AFAIK, Kidney has gone on record saying that the Munster and Leinster players who played in the final will be given an extra week to gain fitness/to rest. So we will be looking at a pretty experimental side for the Scotland match. That said, I'd like to see some of the fringe players who will be looking to play the ''easier'' games in the WRC get a shot.

So here is my attempt:
    1. Court
    2. Flannery
    3. Buckley
    4. Cullen (C)
    5. Mcloughlin
    6. Ryan
    7. SOB
    8. Leamy
    9. TOL
    10. Wallace
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. McFadden
    13. Bowe
    14. Trimble
    15. Kearney

16. Best, 17. Wilkinson, 18. MOD, 19. McCarthy, 20. Boss, 21. ROG, 22. Duffy.

I know that its not the best team but, its gives most of the Leinster and Munster frontliners an extra week to come up to full match fitness. Neither Ryan or McLoughlan are being played in their favourite positions but, they are both being allowed stake their claim as a 5.5. They should be given some time in their preferred positions too.

Wallace too is being given a chance at 10, to see if he sinks or swims. I would like Fitz to be tried out at 12 too, as I don't think he should travel to the WRC as a back 3 player, as he is (currently) the weakest of our viable options.

whatever team takes the field on sat has to have some resemblance that will take the field in the world cup, injury permitting. there is no point fielding 15 random players on the weekend. nothing will be learned from that. look at south africa at the moment.

considering that neither of d'arcy and o driscoll are fit we are already looking at a new centre partnership. now sexton has never played with wallace at 12 so by pairing them together would be a good start. whoever kidney views as bods back up should start too.

kearney is realistically our first choice full back by some distance so by starting him you can see how a back 3 of kearney, trimble, bowe and or earls would work.

again in the pack i would be looking for certain units i.e. cullen to start with o callaghan or o connel. with a change of poc or doc at the 50 min mark for ryan.

If McFadden doesn't start he can consider himself at home for the RWC.

Kidney could (and I hope he doesn't) play Wallace at 12 and Earls/Bowe at 13 bringing trimble/fitzgerald into the back three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

With both D'Arcy and BOD battling injury, McFadden simply has to go. Kidney simply has to bring a specialist centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

The way I would view that is if Flannery starts then they will get a more accurate gauge of his fitness and stamina, I'm sure he is enough of a Pro to come off when he needs to and doubt he would push himself too far after a long lay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Which RYAN is it that most of ye are picking in the back-row? Donnacha or Dominic?
    I'm a huge fan of Dominic's and enjoy his abrasiveness around the pitch but I definately can't see him going to the World Cup. McLoughlin would be slighter higher up the pecking order in Kidney's mind (he adds more balance to the pack and is a good lineout option) but for me he seems to go missing in big games. The same can be said of Donnacha, seeing as he covers the second row and number6, he would be ahead of Dominic.
    My World Cup back row has to be Heaslip, Wallace and O'Brien with Ferris just behind one of Wallace and O'Brien. This backrow screams interchangeable.

Which RYAN is it that most of ye are picking in the back-row? Donnacha or Dominic?
    I'm a huge fan of Dominic's and enjoy his abrasiveness around the pitch but I definately can't see him going to the World Cup. McLoughlin would be slighter higher up the pecking order in Kidney's mind (he adds more balance to the pack and is a good lineout option) but for me he seems to go missing in big games. The same can be said of Donnacha, seeing as he covers the second row and number6, he would be ahead of Dominic.
    My World Cup back row has to be Heaslip, Wallace and O'Brien with Ferris just behind one of Wallace and O'Brien. This backrow screams interchangeable.

People are picking Donnacha so he can get a trial for 4th choice 6 (in the squad) and 4th choice lock. Most commentators think that either he or McLoughlin will get a spot in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

Kidney has made it clear that he sees the primary purpose of the August games as giving all 30 of the eventual squad game time to ensure they are match fit for the world cup. This seems to me to be a reasonable approach. I guess that he will use the last warm up and the USA game to get the first 15 to gel. This means that the earlier games will be mostly second stringers and will not be used to try out eventual combinations and only to a limited extent to give players a shot. This is especially so when you consider that he has said that the Munster and Leinster front-liners who played in the ML final are a week behind in pre-season and not yet ready for gametime.

I'm sure that whatever team he picks will generate lots of outrage - as usual - from people who don't have to worry about such things and who equally denounced EOS for focusing on getting the 22 geled. Totally tiresome imo.

Anyways, to hazard a guess at his team - assuming he has been telling the truth - it will be something like the following:

1. Court
    2. Cronin
    3. Buckley
    4. MOD
    5. McCarthy
    6. Leamy
    7. SOB
    8. Muldoon
    9. TOL
    10. Wallace
    11. Trimble
    12. McFadden
    13. Duffy
    14. Murphy
    15. Kearney

16. Flannery
    17. Horan
    18. Wilkinson
    19. Ryan
    20. McLaughlin
    21. Stringer
    22. Sexton
    23. Bowe

That would mean that only 1 starter would have played in the ML final - there's nobody fit in the squad apart from SOB and Wallace who play 7, so I guess he has to play one of them. There's also nobody other than Sexton to cover 10 (unless he uses TOL as back up 10 which is possible). There's also no cover at second row or back row or scrum half available who didn't feature in the ML final, hence Ryan, Stringer and McLaughlin or some similar selection (POC, Boss?) will have to be on the bench.

Of course, maybe he's lying, but I would expect to see something roughly similar to the above for the first game - it would give game-time to 15 or so players who will be on the plane and would also present all the fringe squad players with a shot to stake a claim.

Of course, with the Jocks playing more or less their strongest team, it would be seriously difficult to win with such a team, but I figure that for the first game he'll take that hit.

• I'm sure that whatever team he picks will generate lots of outrage - as usual - from people who don't have to worry about such things and who equally denounced EOS for focusing on getting the 22 geled. Totally tiresome imo.

This made me laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Just bought my tickets, £10 for a ticket not to bad :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

is the team being announced today does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Tomtom364 wrote: »

Should be announced sometime after 12 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Funk It wrote: »
    Should be announced sometime after 12 I think

First of the season. Missed them in the past 8 weeks!

Tomtom364 wrote: »

1pm, being streamed live on IRFU website:
    http://www.irishrugby.ie/matchdaytv/play/media/id/8871

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

1pm, being streamed live on IRFU website:
    http://www.irishrugby.ie/matchdaytv/play/media/id/8871

oh now im very excited :p
    never had the time to watch a team announcment before.

Cheers :)