Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europe Airpost

• 31-07-2011 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

Flying with them to Arrecife in a few weeks. Has anybody ever flown them? Are they any use? Better than Ryanair etc? They fly 737-300QC and 737-700. Anybody know which aircraft they have been using from their Dublin base?

thanking you

Arbour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭A320

I flew with them a while back on the cork to Heraklion route,it was a 737-300,wasnt a quick change,but thats a Friday flight,Ive often seen the exact same aircraft operating from Shannon on a thursday(EI-STA).Its air contractors Ireland who own this crowd and operate it,all Irish staff,very friendly considering it was a holiday flight,no problems whatsoever,the only delay we had was leaving cork as there was a passport issue with an older couple and fair play to Air contractors they actually waited for them!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

F-GIXI is EX Aerlingus EI-BUD and F-GIXL is ex EI-BUE delivered to EI in 1987

Usless facts to you maybe but there you go:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Flew a few times with them on the staff flights for the AOC and i cannot fault them EI-STA is an ex thomson bird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 darragh82

andy_g wrote: »
    Flew a few times with them on the staff flights for the AOC and i cannot fault them EI-STA is an ex thomson bird.

Hi Andy,

Apart from LDE what were the other "staff flights for the AOC" you flew on?

Cheers
    Darragh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Missus flew to Greece a few weeks back with them, she said they were fine. I'm not sure I'd feel so fine travelling on a 737 that age but I guess they're ok.

that age??? 1997 is fairly young for a 737-300,ive seen some absolute buckets of crap 737 classics but this is well maintained too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭arbour

http://www.airfleets.net/flottecie/Europe%20Airpost-active-b737.htm

Their aircraft are fairly old except for their 737-700 which are the only aircraft under 10 years old.
    I have flown on MD88 aircraft in the states recently so shouldn't have to worry about a flying in a 737 of similar age (I HOPE)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

A320 wrote: »
    that age??? 1997 is fairly young for a 737-300,ive seen some absolute buckets of crap 737 classics but this is well maintained too

Maybe I misread one of the posts above, thought it said 1987, I know that only makes it 24ish years old but I'm not a fan of the 737 anyway, I don't mind flying on uncle Michael's 738's but older 73's don't do it for me I'm afraid:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Can we get a few things right. The Europe Airpost aircraft that is operating from DUB is not always the same one. They are not all 24 years old.

If you want details which aircraft have being operating since May just ask and I will post a list and the regs.

Only once this summer the Europe Airpost aircraft has gone tech. No other Europe Airpost flights since May have had tech delays. Quiet good for an airline with quiet an old fleet. There has being no crewing problems like with other charter carriers at the airprot this summer and the longest delay was 6 hours which was for the tech delay I said above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

These 2 bad boys...

2lwg2f.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

I flew with them a while back on the cork to Heraklion route,it was a 737-300,wasnt a quick change,but thats a Friday flight,Ive often seen the exact same aircraft operating from Shannon on a thursday(EI-STA).Its air contractors Ireland who own this crowd and operate it,all Irish staff,very friendly considering it was a holiday flight,no problems whatsoever,the only delay we had was leaving cork as there was a passport issue with an older couple and fair play to Air contractors they actually waited for them!! :)

So do they have Irish Based Cabin crew etc. ?? Didnt know that!

all the crew are irish on the flight i was on(both) but im sure like every other job theres people from many walks of life,its air contractors ireland own european airpost as far as i know,they retained the callsign and colours

If your flight number starts with ABR then it will be air contractors with Irish crew.

If your flight number starts with FPO then you may have French crew as its Europe Airpost operating that aircraft.

On that afternoon both aircraft go to ACE. 14.55 departure is ABR and the 15.15 is FPO.

Also the 15.15 departure is lightly to be delayed as the aircraft is coming in from Palma and ground handling over in Palma is slow and most flights are delayed as a result. No more than an hour delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭arbour

I got a letter from holiday company today to say that on the way home from lanzarote we would have to make a fuel stop at Santiago De Compostella..
    Anyone else experience this? Is this normal? I know Ryanairs 737-800 can make the canaries and back without a fuel stop. Would it be to do with loads and baggage weight etc?? Or Just that the older aircraft havent got the same range as newer 737s.

Its a bit of an inconvenience having a fuel stop. it means the flight will be 5 hours at least now. Long spin back from the canaries its turning out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭David086

Happened to me also one time coming from the Canaries with Futura had to stop in Seville for fuel, I think it was something to do with not enough fuel in Lanzarote or something can't remember, such a pain in the ass and meanwhile when we were taxing someone left the fuel door open delaying us even more! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

You would be due in DUB at 00.30 without any stops. They have the arrival at 01.30 with then stop. The flight alway gets in before 1.30. Most weeks it arrives at 01.00 so it may not be that bad. As said above its a fueling problem in ACE.

When the airline found out about the fuel stop it was to late to change the flights times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 annanicleoid

Ive just booked a flight with them ABR 455J on August 23 to Crete.I wondered if anyone can give me a heads up as to whether the seats recline and are comfy and if the aircraft is a comfortable one to fly on? I've heard about seat pitch, but frankly have no idea what it means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

sparrowcar wrote: »

EI-STA is grand,wen't on hols on this a while back,it has one engine that guzzles oil!!! (this is going on for ages even after engine swap out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

EI-STA is grand,wen't on hols on this a while back,it has one engine that guzzles oil!!! (this is going on for ages even after engine swap out)

And this is something a would be passenger should know?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

STA has been layed up for a while now. I believe the engine aforementioned is out of the country being overhauled.

Thanks all! Its hard to miss in yellow and grey. Looks very grand. Whats it like inside?

Strumms wrote: »
    STA has been layed up for a while now. I believe the engine aforementioned is out of the country being overhauled.

From what i heard the engine was sent for overhaul to the manufacture.

I hear they already swapped out an engine before and same prob existed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

not sure who is doing it actually but it is in Lisbon I believe if that means anything to anybody..

I hear they already swapped out an engine before and same prob existed

I heard that too but now resolved as of a few weeks ago but maybe a chinese whisper.
    Strumms wrote: »
    not sure who is doing it actually but it is in Lisbon I believe if that means anything to anybody..

Didn't know it was in Lisbon :confused:

The flights it does are pretty messy,the friday flight to crete from cork is a mess!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

The flights it does are pretty messy,the friday flight to crete from cork is a mess!!

How do you mean?? As in because of the passenger clientele?

Ha ya it's full of lads going on hols!!! usually tanked,I wouldn't hold it against them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Mobilephone1

EI-STA is a good a/c. The engine was sent to LIS for maintenance before the busy Summer season. EI-STA never had an engine change :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Grand airline, flew on an older 737 QC before and the whole experience was perfectly fine. It's nothing special but I had a nice flight.

Lads tanked up at €500 return? I hope not on my flight! It sounds as though everyone seems to know about what the plane looks like and even where the engines are being fixed.....but not what it looks like inside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭D.R Adams

Lads tanked up at €500 return? I hope not on my flight! It sounds as though everyone seems to know about what the plane looks like and even where the engines are being fixed.....but not what it looks like inside!

Where are you flying to with them Annanicleoid?

Inside it is basic enough, in flight entertainment would be limited if there at all. Not sure what the seat pitch is like but it should be comfortable overall. If i remember correctly the seats are leather and not the cloth type.

Well maintained though, the ACL lads that look after it are top guys.

It's a standard 3X3 config seats recline and are leather, even recline in my office the flightdeck, also no inflight entertainment last time i seen STA

thanks d.r and andy. I'm off to Crete on the 23rd of August. Ex Dublin 0600. Leather seats sounds grand!

EI-STA back in dublin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭calibratedtool

EI-STA back in dublin :)

Back operating this weekend but its been in DUB since Christmas.
    It's just the engine that's been in LIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

thanks d.r and andy. I'm off to Crete on the 23rd of August. Ex Dublin 0600. Leather seats sounds grand!

We did that flight last year, and ya get an added bonus as flying from Dublin

On the day ya return, the flight from Dublin lands, and instead of going back to Dublin, it has a 1hr turnaround, goes to Cork, an hour turnaround there, then back to Crete, and hour turnaround and then yer off to Dublin.

Gives you nearly a full 12hrs extra in resort ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Skidfingers

Flying to Palma on it in 2 weeks.

What's the aircraft like? reclined seats? screen in back of seats infront? etc.

Just some info :)

Flying to Palma on it in 2 weeks.

What's the aircraft like? reclined seats? screen in back of seats infront? etc.

Just some info :)

Hahaha, ok, i laughed

Just think Ryanair but in Yellow/Grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

here is EI-STA at Cork last Friday. Im flying on it on the 14th June

2qc2yr9.jpg

2pzb49x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Skidfingers

Are the seats as tight together as Ryanair?

Love to say no, but yeah, they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

Flew with them to Salzburg, very nice flight but the guy in front reclined his seat into my lap almost smashing my laptop and using up most of my legroom in the process.

For that reason I'd actually prefer Ryanair seats

reclining seats? woohoo. luxury! i think the flight leaves at 6am from dublin so i might get some shuteye with reclining seats.....ill ask yerman behind me if its ok first of course!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

EI-STA returned to Dublin today a short time after takeoff due to a smell of burning been reported, took off again a few hours later.
    EI-STA is great aircraft and works hard.

EI-STA returned to Dublin today a short time after takeoff due to a smell of burning been reported, took off again a few hours later.
    EI-STA is great aircraft and works hard.

It was smoke in the rear cabin and it turned out to be the toilet motor. Motor was replaced ;)

I heard it was a blown bulb, no mention of a motor.

Came from a good source. but here is not the place for it

Pity.