Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is boards hamster slowly dying?

• 30-07-2011 11:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Poor fella must be dead tired if not actually an ex hamster, getting 503 timed outs and all sorts of crap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Thought it was just me - add to that, the Journal.ie site also running VERY slow.
    Are they using the same servers?
    Are they using the same broadband service - 'cos I think they are in the same building, if memory serves me right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Same and UPC have been a disaster today, still can't watch youtube vids :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

RIP

I hope that AH can have a bit of decorum when it comes to his health and likely demise. No doubt he has friends reading this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I gave him some weed.

Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Thought it was just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

He passed away earlier this evening. Any jokes and there will be bans :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Sigh...... it's pretty irritating. It means I'll probably head to bed as I came on here as a result of being bored with the TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Down with this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Don't talk to me about UPC. In the past week their service has slowed to dial up speeds. I tried ringing them yesterday evening - listened to their fecking ""We apologise for the delay in answering your call. A customer service representative will be with you shortly." for over an hour before the phone cut off. They've raked us all in with their cheap deals and now we'll be paying for it literally. :mad:

RIP Hamster. :(

KeithM89 wrote: »
    WOT!

No taking the mickey mouse allowed? :eek:

Biggins wrote: »
    WOT!

No taking the mickey mouse allowed? :eek:

Have some respect!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

Meet the new hamster -same as the old hamster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Looks like he was wrapped in selo tape and ****ed to death...RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Slow for me on vodafone live with full 3g reception. UPC was working fine all day though for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

What do you say to a website owner with a dead hamster?

Your hamster is starting to decompose and it smells. Please dispose of it, it's making me sick.

Have some respect!! :p
    LOL :pac:

Poor hammy hamster! :(

Send for his cousin... Speedy Gonzales! :D

If you delete System 32, the site works fine :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Its been pretty slow for me but seems to have speed up in the last few minutes.

Long Live Boards!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

Its been pretty slow for me but seems to have speed up in the last few minutes.

Long Live Boards!!!!

They replaced the hamster pretty fast for this hour of the night...what kind of connections do they have?? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's been pretty bad all day but the journal, website and app, are a dead as a dodo. Thought it was just me too until I saw this thread.

I was visiting all sorts of weird sites when the boards.ie was down.

I felt kind of lonely.

I need to get out more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I was visiting all sorts of weird porn sites when the boards.ie was down.

I felt kind of lonely.

I need to get out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

KeithM89: "This is the part of the job I hate."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Do subscribers get partial refunds ? :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Tis slow alright lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Thank fúck it's back and wasn't just me, I thought I was site-banned for while :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mike65 wrote: »
    Is boards hamster dying slowly
    Poor fella must be dead tired if not actually an ex hamster, getting 503 timed outs and all sorts of crap.

David Norris borrowed him.
    He's had a tough day in fairness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Boards has been stupidly slow for the last 2 days, sort it out boards!! *shakes fist*

PinkFly wrote: »
    They replaced the hamster pretty fast for this hour of the night...what kind of connections do they have?? :eek:
    Squeeky clean ones? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

F*cking dirty rats.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Turpentine wrote: »
    KeithM89: "This is the part of the job I hate."

Good reference. I was trying to find a video of Skinner flushing superdude, but no dice.

I couldn't log in for the last ten mins. If I were the annoyed type I'd probably be annoyed right now but I'm not really annoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I want my money back. boards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

That was a scary 10 minutes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I thought this was just me. What's the story? I know this is usually a free service from the user's point of view, but it is sort of ridiculous. I've never known another forum I use to have this sort of ongoing issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Fair play Ross he is on the case :),http://twitter.com/#!/boards_ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

It's happened before a year or two ago.

Ross will be to the rescue!!!!!!!! But it is a bank holiday weekend. Cut the guys some slack.

later10 wrote: »
    I thought this was just me. What's the story? I know this is usually a free service from the user's point of view, but it is sort of ridiculous. I've never known another forum I use to have this sort of ongoing issue.

Seriously??
    Every website goes down. Gmail, Youtube, Youporn and yes even Boards. It went down for a few minutes. Its hardly the apocalypse...

Larianne wrote: »
    It's happened before a year or two ago.

Ross will be to the rescue!!!!!!!! But it is a bank holiday weekend. Cut the guys some slack.

See my post above yours ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

A lot of the Irish internet tubes seems broken tonight, and I've had pretty slow internet since 12pm. I suspect something is being upgraded.

That's it. I've had enough of this rubbish.

I'm going on hunger strike until those broads.ie folks sort this thing out by gum!

See my post above yours ;)

Yeah I know. Ya got there before me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Fair play Ross he is on the case :),http://twitter.com/#!/boards_ie

that was 24 mins ago though, no update :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Seriously??
    Seriously? This once?

OPENROAD wrote: »

Update

OPENROAD wrote: »

Well it's gonna be hard finding a new hamster at this hour of the night on a bank holiday weekend!!

Seriously? This once?

Its hardly 'ridiculous' that the site goes down the odd time. It happens.
    And gives everyone a chance to catch up on some quality 'alone' time :pac:

Update

stop it! :mad:

We should all be in bed,its gone bed time anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

That was a hamster? I thought it was dinner, sorry. :/