Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAI complain about Des Cahill

• 29-07-2011 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭

http://www.thescore.ie/no-further-questions-rte-presenter-banned-by-the-fai-189108-Jul2011/
    RTÉ’S DES CAHILL has been cut off by the FAI after Abbotstown chiefs took offence at on-air comments about the Association, according to today’s Irish Daily Star (print edition).
    Paul Lennon writes the presenter has been temporarily blacklisted and had an official complaint lodged against him following a discussion of the FAI’s recent AGM on RTÉ Saturday Sport.
    Although the Star reported that Cahill was banned for comments on chief executive John Delaney’s salary, the FAI clarified that this was not the case, saying this morning that the complaint “relates to comments made about the Association and company related matters.”
    Cahill was not willing to make comment when contacted by the paper last night.
    Speaking on his Today radio show this morning, the broadcaster’s colleague Pat Kenny said that he was completely in the dark about the controversy.
    “I don’t know what that’s all about but I must give Des a shout over the weekend.”
    “I can shed no further light on it at the moment.”

Does anyone know what he said?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I heard him slating them about the shower situation in landsowne the other morning.

This is good news, anything that gets him off the airwaves is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Cahill on one side. The FAI on the other. I don't know who to back.

Can I just boo them both?

BTW, (and I don't think it says anything in the article) why exactly do the LOI team not get showers? :confused: Is it simply that the FAI are too cheap to pay for them or are the facilities at the ground not adequate for whatever setup this 'tournament' has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    BTW, (and I don't think it says anything in the article) why exactly do the LOI team not get showers? :confused: Is it simply that the FAI are too cheap to pay for them or are the facilities at the ground not adequate for whatever setup this 'tournament' has?

Celtic Somone using the dressing room after them and the players have to GTF.

Walking to wanderers ground to use them :) Altho its prolly Bray and players dont know that yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Both I think.

They would only be able to facilitate two teams. The FAI then upgraded only one team (Celtics) changing rooms rather than bother with the LoIs dressing room.

There loads of conflicting stories that they just have to vacate the room and such but the above story seems to be the most popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Wonder if the FAI will blacklist every football fan in the country too? I've never heard anyone say a good thing about them.

So is there 3x Locker Rooms in Aviva? :confused: Otherwise wouldn't Man City would have to clear out too to make way for Inter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

I've heard they are installing temporary showers in one of the conference rooms for the Loi players .

And yes I think there is 3 changing rooms , I think there is a 4th on site but they never fitted it out like the rest .

What do other top stadiums have? Nearly all the games in recent Concacaf Cup were double headers for instance.

Also the GAA frequently do double-headers. Does Croker have 4x Locker Rooms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

What do other top stadiums have? Nearly all the games in recent Concacaf Cup were double headers for instance.

Also the GAA frequently do double-headers. Does Croker have 4x Locker Rooms?

Yeah CP does have 4 changing rooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

There was always plans for 4 dressing rooms.

With the Europa Final being held there, they had to delay the completion of two of them to make space for all the press etc etc that would be needed for that.

After the Final, they fitted out one of the two extras, but never did the fourth, for whatever reason. With the full knowledge that there were 4 teams due to use the facility for this tournament.

The FAI, as usual, decided that the LoI and it's players could play second fiddle to "the stars" - the LoI players wouldn't mind not having showers after their games, shure they should be happy to even be playing in the same stadium as Inter, City and Celtic. It's typical of the FAI really.

Earlier this season they postponed a whole program of Friday Night LoI games because Wales were playing Scotland in the Carling Nations Cup, in case attendances at LoI matches affected that match.

The FAI don't give a flying fck about the LoI, it's players, the clubs, the fans or domestic football in general.

But they can afford to buy drinks for the fans on a train in Eastern Europe, and everyone thinks they are great, and the LoI Brigade should shut up moaning, it's a crap league anyway that nobody should bother with.

This will blow over, Cahill will go crawling and we'll all forget about the FAI and their treatment of the LoI once the Premier League starts up again.

Cool beans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

GAA players wash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

mike65 wrote: »
    GAA players wash?

I laughed, but please dont allow the thread go down that route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

mike65 wrote: »
    GAA players wash?

roflbot1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Des wrote: »

With the Europa Final being held there, they had to delay the completion of two of them to make space for all the press etc etc that would be needed for that.

After the Final, they fitted out one of the two extras, but never did the fourth, for whatever reason. With the full knowledge that there were 4 teams due to use the facility for this tournament.

The FAI, as usual, decided that the LoI and it's players could play second fiddle to "the stars" - the LoI players wouldn't mind not having showers after their games, shure they should be happy to even be playing in the same stadium as Inter, City and Celtic. It's typical of the FAI really.

Earlier this season they postponed a whole program of Friday Night LoI games because Wales were playing Scotland in the Carling Nations Cup, in case attendances at LoI matches affected that match.

The FAI don't give a flying fck about the LoI, it's players, the clubs, the fans or domestic football in general.

But they can afford to buy drinks for the fans on a train in Eastern Europe, and everyone thinks they are great, and the LoI Brigade should shut up moaning, it's a crap league anyway that nobody should bother with.

This will blow over, Cahill will go crawling and we'll all forget about the FAI and their treatment of the LoI once the Premier League starts up again.

Cool beans.

If you were organising it and the situation is as it is, would you tell a visiting team to head off without showers or ask the home lads to be obliging to the visitors?

Maybe its less LOI victimisation and more courtesy for the visitors.

It is always better to be able to play the victim card, so I can see why you wouldnt miss the opportunity. :)

You say courtesy; I say abject fawning and fucking over players from your own country.

Glad at least that the story has broken - for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

FAI in censorship shock!
    They threatened to fine Shels because we were singing nasty songs about the dear leader.

This was the response
    16633319021829434045310.jpg:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

stovelid wrote: »
    You say courtesy; I say abject fawning and fucking over players from your own country.

Glad at least that the story has broken - for once.

****ign over? Seriously? Your honestly saying that in the same situation youd ask the lads travelling to the country leave the stadium and go elsewhere for a shower? Really?

Seriously, you lot need to get over the this professional victim thing.

If it was on over in Eastlands and the Irish lads were told to they had to leave and shower somewhere else thered be bloody uproar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Surely Celtic are the home team in all of this?

I bet if it was Eastland they wouldn't be asking *anyone* to get a bus down the road to the showers. I think that's point.

bohsman wrote: »
    Surely Celtic are the home team in all of this?

No, Man City as they've stronger Irish connections. I think Liam Gallaghers granny came from Cork or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

No, Man City as they're stronger Irish connections. I think Liam Gallaghers granny came from Cork or something.

His Mother's from Mayo and his Da from Meath IIRC. They don't make singers in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

None of the players from any of the teams should be put in that position. If thats how some of the top footballers in the country are treated by the governing body, what hope is their for the kids? (a lot of who are in the no shower position every time they play)

Seriously, you lot need to get over the this professional victim thing.

I appreciate that your sanguine outlook is probably down to the fact that you have a competent foreign football association overseeing your football interests.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I bet if it was Eastland they wouldn't be asking *anyone* to get a bus down the road to the showers. I think that's point.

Inadequate facilities in a ground barely a year old. I had heard people coo over the backroom facilities at Landsdowne, yet the first time it's tested..

For a tournament where four teams were 'planned' for..

It's the FAI. Seems fitting that the showers should be the issue when the thing is being run by a shower of idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The LoI players are being used as free labour and not even being given a shower in the stadium.

Where is the PFAI during all this?

Oh yeah, next door to Delaney. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

If you were organising it and the situation is as it is, would you tell a visiting team to head off without showers or ask the home lads to be obliging to the visitors?

It is always better to be able to play the victim card, so I can see why you wouldnt miss the opportunity. :)

Why should the LoI lads have to make way for the foreign teams? They're guests at the stadium too.

This poxy tournament is on in the middle of their season and really they would've been better off telling the FAI where to go stick their crappy tournament. But yet they are there. Playing in a tournament where they are being paid peanuts to show up compared to the opposing teams and being treated like second class so the FAI can have another chance to try ad rip off spectators.

**** the FAI and **** this farce of a "tournament".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Playing in a tournament where they are being paid peanuts

They're not even being paid peanuts.

And they were given an out of date kit to wear as well. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Des Cahill is the most annoying sports presenters on tv, absolute c*nt... yeh, yeh, yeh, yeh, yehhh, yehhhhhh.....:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

What a joke of an association to only have showers in 3 of the changing rooms!

I worked on the new changing rooms in Fitzgerald stadium in killarney a few years back and the four changing rooms and the refs room are all equipped with showers and toilets.

Its really the least you could expect to be able to shower after a game.

The architects and design team must have put a lot of thought inti it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

What a joke of an association to only have showers in 3 of the changing rooms!

I worked on the new changing rooms in Fitzgerald stadium in killarney a few years back and the four changing rooms and the refs room are all equipped with showers and toilets.

Its really the least you could expect to be able to shower after a game.

The architects and design team must have put a lot of thought inti it!

Nothing they do surprises me.

I'm sure there is a very good reason why this happened and it was somebody else's fault:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Des wrote: »

Cool beans.

This is ridiculous Des. Everybody does not think they are great. You will be hard pushed to get a good word about the FAI from most informed fans in this country, whether they are supporters of the national team or not. Just because some fans who were plied with drink and had a train laid on for them by Delaney were nice about him on the news once doesn't mean that everybody thinks the FAI are great.

Since the LOI are being gimped by the FAI the LOI should stand up for themselves and tell them to fúck off. You lashing out at supporters of the national team and PL fans is stupid. It's not them who created this fiasco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Pro. F wrote: »
    This is ridiculous Des. Everybody does not think they are great. You will be hard pushed to get a good word about the FAI from most informed fans in this country, whether they are supporters of the national team or not. Just because some fans who were plied with drink and had a train laid on for them by Delaney were nice about him on the news once doesn't mean that everybody thinks the FAI are great.

Since the LOI are being gimped by the FAI the LOI should stand up for themselves and tell them to fúck off. You lashing out at supporters of the national team and PL fans is stupid. It's not them who created this fiasco.

While I agree with you mostly, the LOI player's grievances would be dismissed by a lot of PL supporters here, I don't think you could deny that. I think what Des was saying that it would be swept under the carpet by non-LOI fans pretty quickly and the 'sure it's only the LOI' line would be said by some.

There are a lot of people who don't like the F.A.I, most I would guess, but that dosent always translate to the same people defending the LOI against the F.A.I, most wouldn't IMO.

Corholio wrote: »
    ...the LOI player's grievances would be dismissed by a lot of PL supporters here, I don't think you could deny that.
    I would find that unlikely. What are you basing your claim on?

Because im sure some would have an image that most of these player's would be used to it anyway, given their level, and it's not that big of a deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Because im sure some would have an image that most of these player's would be used to it anyway, given their level, and it's not that big of a deal.

I think anyone who wasn't a complete rubberhead could see quite plainly that the LOI players were unfairly treated.

You're just guessing what people might think and might say though. What people have actually said on this thread has not been like that. Except for one guy, but you'll have that.

flahavaj wrote: »
    I think anyone who wasn't a complete rubberhead could see quite plainly that the LOI players were unfairly treated.

They may see they were fairly untreated but IMO, they wouldn't compare it to if an elite team came over and that happened to them. I believe they would be more on the F.A.I's backs for that, because they would have more association with these teams.
    You're just guessing what people might think and might say though. What people have actually said on this thread has not been like that. Except for one guy, but you'll have that.

Well I haven't taken an island wide poll, so yes im just guessing, but it's what I believe they would say. It's not a 'poor old LOI' opinion, it's just that I believe people would care more about a non-LOI teams ill treatment then they would about the Airtricity teams problems.

You are giving out about what you guess supporters of the national team and PL supporters would say even though they haven't said it. Bollocks.

They may see they were fairly untreated but IMO, they wouldn't compare it to if an elite team came over and that happened to them. I believe they would be more on the F.A.I's backs for that, because they would have more association with these teams.

So in essence your opinion is based on speculation. Cool.

You are giving out about what you guess supporters of the national team and PL supporters would say even though they haven't said it. Bollocks.

I'm not 'giving out' as you state, im simply just stating my opinion that I dont think a lot of supporters would hold the ill treatment of LOI players in the same regard as other leagues players. Past opinions from people towards the league here has led me to believe this, that's all. No need to get all worked up over it.

Calm down bro.
    So in essence your opinion is based on speculation. Cool.

An opinion can't be anyway based on 'speculation'??

You're complaining about something that you think might happen but have no real basis in fact for thinking it will happen in the first place? Why bother?

My basis is other supporter's past contempt for the league, which is their prerogative of course, as i said I wasn't complaining, just stating an opinion. You don't need a fact to have an opinion. Maybe supporters will rise up and knock down F.A.I's doors because of the players treatment :pac: I doubt it however.

Hence my opinion. You've dragged out what I said way past where it was intended to. But I still stand by that I can have an opinion on it.

My basis is other supporter's past contempt for the league, which is their prerogative of course, as i said I wasn't complaining, just stating an opinion. You don't need a fact to have an opinion. Maybe supporters will rise up and knock down F.A.I's doors because of the players treatment :pac: I doubt it however.

Hence my opinion. You've dragged out what I said way past where it was intended to. But I still stand by that I can have an opinion on it.

You are using your opinion which is based on a guess derived from extremely flimsy (or even contradicted) evidence to defend people having a pop at the national team and PL fans. It's typical LOI Brigade bitterness bolloxology - ''Let's have a go at the national team supporters because we don't like them.'' It doesn't seem to matter to you in the slightest that it is unjustified.

Having a pop at national team fans?? Where the hell you get that from? and LOI Brigade, in fairness grow up.

It's not based on a guess derived from anywhere. It's based on seeing opinions on this very forum towards the LOI and it's fans, and ive seen it go back the other way too of course. It's ridiculous at this stage that you're getting worked up on something I fleetingly said. Everyone has an opinion on something that they may or may not be right on.

Having a pop at national team fans?? Where the hell you get that from? and LOI Brigade, in fairness grow up.

It's not based on a guess derived from anywhere. It's based on seeing opinions on this very forum towards the LOI and it's fans, and ive seen it go back the other way too of course. It's ridiculous at this stage that you're getting worked up on something I fleetingly said. Everyone has an opinion on something that they may or may not be right on.

See the bolded stuff in post number 35. And here's what you said to defend it:
    the LOI player's grievances would be dismissed by a lot of PL supporters here, I don't think you could deny that. I think what Des was saying that it would be swept under the carpet by non-LOI fans pretty quickly and the 'sure it's only the LOI' line would be said by some.

I'm not getting worked up over something you fleetingly said. You responded to my post and tried to defend Des' criticism of the national team and PL fans. Your defence is based on a bullshít, unprovable guess of what those fans might say. If you didn't want a discussion then you shouldn't have started discussing it with me.

See the bolded stuff in post number 35. And here's what you said to defend it:

I'm not getting worked up over something you fleetingly said. You responded to my post and tried to defend Des' criticism of the national team and PL fans. Your defence is based on a bullshít, unprovable guess of what those fans might say. If you didn't want a discussion then you shouldn't have started discussing it with me.

Non-LOI fan's were those who were.....non LOI fans, I never targeted national fans in anyway specifically at all. If Des mentioned national team fan's, thats him, but I didnt. But whatever you think right.

It's not my defence, it's my opinion. Even at that, I barely attacked anyone as you seem to be making out. I used the words 'dismissed' and 'swept under the carpet', hardly attacking really now is it, slight annoyance more like.

Your are right there though, I shouldn't have started discussing it with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

It's typical LOI Brigade bitterness bolloxology - ''Let's have a go at the national team supporters because we don't like them.'' It doesn't seem to matter to you in the slightest that it is unjustified.

what is this ****?