Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011/12 NFL Betting Thread

• 29-07-2011 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭

With only a month and a bit away until the start of the regular season, maybe time to start thinking about those antepost betting options?

Most firms only looking at the outright betting but this is how the divisional betting is shaping up from across the water:

AFC East Division

New England 4/5
    N.Y Jets 8/5
    Miami 13/2
    Buffalo 22/1

AFC North Division

Pittsburgh Evs
    Baltimore 6/5
    Cleveland 10/1
    Cincinnati 14/1

AFC South Division

Indianapolis 8/13
    Houston 14/5
    Jacksonville 15/2
    Tennessee 15/2

AFC West Division

San Diego 8/15
    Kansas City 4/1
    Oakland 9/2
    Denver 11/1

NFC East Division

N.Y Giants 15/8
    Philadelphia 15/8
    Dallas 2/1
    Washington 11/1

NFC North Division

Green Bay 4/7
    Detroit 4/1
    Chicago 5/1
    Minnesota 8/1

NFC South Division

Atlanta 11/8
    New Orleans 11/8
    Tampa Bay 7/2
    Carolina 20/1

NFC West Division

St Louis 7/4
    Arizona 12/5
    San Francisco 12/5
    Seattle 5/1

Odds courtesy of www.amcleanbookmakers.com

---

What's your value pick(s)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Houston at 14/5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Cowboys at 2/1 is fantastic value imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Tom_Brady wrote: »

I was looking at that one aswell. Tons of injuries last season, Garrett getting a first full season with them, results picked up massively towards end of the season and a much easier schedule than the Eagles/Giants.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yep, I like Tampa @ 7/2 as well ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Rams 7/4 looks good. Fancy Detroit to do well this year, 4/1 looks about right and might be tempted to gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,808 ✭✭✭Raoul

Juan Pablo wrote: »
    Rams 7/4 looks good. Fancy Detroit to do well this year, 4/1 looks about right and might be tempted to gamble.

Im a lions fan and I think it is difficult to look past the packers.

Raoul wrote: »

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Chiefs at 4/1 look like real value to me. Bit early yet though, have to see how free agency plays out first.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Chiefs at 4/1 look like real value to me. Bit early yet though, have to see how free agency plays out first.

Still think it's between my Bolts and the Raiders this year.

Think the Chiefs will struggle big time this year due to (a) Charlie Weiss leaving, and (b) not having as easy a schedule as year. In Weeks 11 - 15, they have the following:

@ Patriots
    Steelers
    @ Bears
    @ Jets
    Packers

They've also got the Colts, Dolphins and Lions in there, with the latter 2 expected to perform much better than last year.

Raoul wrote: »

True, the 4/1 on offer reflects that and isn't impossible. I would not be surpised to see Lions & Rams in playoffs this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If Wade Philips can sort out the D, the 14/5 on the Texans looks tempting

Rams at 7/4 too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Packers @ 4/7 is spectacularly good value. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Think the Chiefs will struggle big time this year due to (a) Charlie Weiss leaving, and (b) not having as easy a schedule as year. In Weeks 11 - 15, they have the following:

@ Patriots
    Steelers
    @ Bears
    @ Jets
    Packers

They've also got the Colts, Dolphins and Lions in there, with the latter 2 expected to perform much better than last year.

The Chargers have to go to New England, Jets and Bears also. They have to face the Packers and Ravens at home too. Its just as difficult. Ultimately imo the divisional games will be the major factor in this division as is the norm. Their improvement on defense last year was what made them so much better. Clearly on offense they improved too but Bill Muir is pretty decent in his own right.

Anyways I just think they are great value at that price. I look at them as having a 50/50 shot at winning the division so 4/1 is massive.

The Chargers have to go to New England, Jets and Bears also. They have to face the Packers and Ravens at home too. Its just as difficult. Ultimately imo the divisional games will be the major factor in this division as is the norm. Their improvement on defense last year was what made them so much better. Clearly on offense they improved too but Bill Muir is pretty decent in his own right.

Anyways I just think they are great value at that price. I look at them as having a 50/50 shot at winning the division so 4/1 is massive.

Ha, I never even looked at the odds. I'd agree that 4/1 is fairly ridiculous for a team who at the very minimum are second favourites for their division. Definitely worth a punt at that price, and I suspect you'd get even better if you checked OddsChecker.com (I can't, it's blocked at work).

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

4/1 seems to be the best (totesport)

http://www.oddschecker.com/american-football/nfl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

look at week 11-15 and then 2 divisional games to end the season...

I expect that they'll be leading the was in AFC West until about week 10 but then go on a nose dive when they have to play the Patriots, Jets, Packers, Steelers and the Bears in 5 weeks :o

that's not going to be fun at all and could cost them the Division but saying that 4/1 is a great price... really should be more like 5/2 because any bad form from the Chargers and the Chiefs will win the division

I have the Chargers as an 11-5 season with the Chiefs on a 9-7... one or two results either way and Chiefs will take it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Texans was my initial thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Free Agency has changed some of the odds.. Looks like this now..

AFC
    New England Patriots 10/3
    San Diego Chargers 6
    Pittsburgh Steelers 7
    New York Jets 8
    Baltimore Ravens 8

AFC East
    New England Patriots 63/100
    New York Jets 2
    Miami Dolphins 9
    Buffalo Bills 40

AFC North
    Pittsburgh Steelers 1
    Baltimore Ravens 5/4
    Cleveland Browns 12
    Cincinnati Bengals 16

AFC South
    Indianapolis Colts 21/20
    Houston Texans 2
    Jacksonville Jaguars 7
    Tennessee Titans 9

AFC West
    San Diego Chargers 8/15
    Kansas City Chiefs 4
    Oakland Raiders 5
    Denver Broncos 14

NFC
    Green Bay Packers 7/2
    Philadelphia Eagles 5
    Atlanta Falcons 8
    New Orleans Saints 17/2
    Dallas Cowboys 10

NFC East
    Philadelphia Eagles 6/5
    Dallas Cowboys 13/5
    New York Giants 11/4
    Washington Redskins 14

NFC North
    Green Bay Packers 8/15
    Chicago Bears 5
    Detroit Lions 5
    Minnesota Vikings 10

NFC South
    Atlanta Falcons 11/8
    New Orleans Saints 11/8
    Tampa Bay Buccaneers 17/4
    Carolina Panthers 33

NFC West
    St Louis Rams 7/4
    San Francisco 49ers 15/8
    Arizona Cardinals 4
    Seattle Seahawks 11/2

Baltimore at 16/1 is huge for the Superbowl IMO..

Considering the favourites are around 7/1 (Packers and Patriots), I dont think the Ravens at 16/1 is too great. It's about right imo.

I'm going to ring Paddy Power and get odds for a team going 16-0 and throw a sneaky 20 quid on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

I think the rams 7/4 is the stand out bet there.

there 20/1 for the NFC on PP but 16/1 for superbowl :confused:

Made a balls of that - got the price for the Vikings for NFC instead of Ravens for AFC by mistake :o:o Don't ask

Baltimore could be 1,000,000/1 for the NFC and I wouldn't bet on them

Seeing as they're an AFC team :o

Baltimore could be 1,000,000/1 for the NFC and I wouldn't bet on them

Seeing as they're an AFC team :o

redface.gifredface.gifredface.gifredface.gif ****ing **** bastard **** feck bollix fecking Viking and Ravens - always get them mixed up

Now I look like a twat :pac:

I'm after an all nighter last night - don't ask how I managed to get that confused :pac:

After backing the Packers mid-season last year, think I'll be faithful to them again and go with them outright.

Feeling that the Cowboys could produce something this year so EW @ 18/1 I'll give a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    there 20/1 for the NFC on PP but 16/1 for superbowl :confused:

The Ravens are 15/2 for the AFC and 16/1 for the SB on PP.

redface.gifredface.gifredface.gifredface.gif ****ing **** bastard **** feck bollix fecking Viking and Ravens - always get them mixed up

Now I look like a twat :pac:

I'm after an all nighter last night - don't ask how I managed to get that confused :pac:

Haha dont worry about it man, happens us all. I'm forever mixing up my Tuesdays and Thursdays :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I'm taking peyton manning at odds against to win his division all day long. I also think the cardinals are great value at 4/1 out west. People are getting carried away with the rams, even accounting for Sam Bradford being very good. The cards have a good qb now and have at least broke even at the cb position with the loss of cromartie and addition of Peterson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Im pumping my own team a bit but 11-1 for the Broncos to win one of the worst divisions in the NFL is a shade long, might be worth a sneaky bet? we drafted well and have had a decent free agency, lot of holes on that defence fixed and John Fox has turned around bad teams before. Worth a thought...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Donkeys won't win the division with Orton or Tebow at QB.

HEre's the win totals this season
    Arizona Cardinals Over 6.5
    Atlanta Falcons Over 10.5
    Baltimore Ravens Over 11
    Buffalo Bills Over 5
    Carolina Panthers Over 4.5
    Chicago Bears Over 9
    Cincinnati Bengals Over 6
    Cleveland Browns Over 6.5
    Dallas Cowboys Over 9
    Denver Broncos Over 6
    Detroit Lions Over 7.5
    Green Bay Packers Over 11.5
    Houston Texans Over 8
    Indianapolis Colts Over 10
    Jacksonville Jaguars Over 6
    Kansas City Chiefs Over 8
    Miami Dolphins Over 8
    Minnesota Vikings Over 7
    New England Patriots Over 11.5
    New Orleans Saints Over 10
    New York Giants Over 9.5
    New York Jets Over 10
    Oakland Raiders Over 7
    Philadelphia Eagles Over 10.5
    Pittsburgh Steelers Over 11
    San Diego Chargers Over 10
    San Francisco 49ers Over 8
    Seattle Seahawks Over 6.5
    St Louis Rams Over 7.5
    Tampa Bay Buccaneers Over 8
    Tennessee Titans Over 6.5
    Washington Redskins Over 6

Bucs over 5.5, skin under 7.5 both look good. Chiefs and Raiders(:( ) under 6.5 might not be a bad one either.

What does all this mean?. Over 7.5 (-130) etc???.

Leslie91 wrote: »

What does all this mean?. Over 7.5 (-130) etc???.

-130 is 1.77 or 77/100 in fraction.

Basically +130 means you win 130 euro for a 100 euro bet and -140 would mean you get 100 euro for a 140 euro bet.

To change it to decimal add 100 and divide by 100. And when its a minus figure you do the inverse (i.e. divide 100 by 140) and add 1. Therefore -140 becomes 1.71.

Redskins under 7.5 in that division with John Beck at QB?

Sign me up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I'm taking peyton manning at odds against to win his division all day long. I also think the cardinals are great value at 4/1 out west. People are getting carried away with the rams, even accounting for Sam Bradford being very good. The cards have a good qb now and have at least broke even at the cb position with the loss of cromartie and addition of Peterson

I like this bet.

Under 8.5 wins for the 49ers is a terrific bet.

Where are you getting those odds Chucky? Can't find that Redskins or Patriots one, they're 6 and 11.5 games respectively on Bet365.

http://www.sportsbook.ag/livesports/indexmember.php?sportsname=football

Pats are 11.5 on that, but skins are 7.5. No idea how legite the site is though.

Edot: I've edited the original posted and update them all now from odds checker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

http://www.sportsbook.ag/livesports/indexmember.php?sportsname=football

Pats are 11.5 on that, but skins are 7.5. No idea how legite the site is though.

Edot: I've edited the original posted and update them all now from odds checker.

I used to work for sportsbook.com. They are a US site based out of Costa Rica. Been around a good few years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭coldstream4444

You can safely bet the cottage on the Patriots this year. We finally will have a defense again. 14 - 2 last year with the 30th ranked pass defense. Belichick has obviously seen enough.

I'll be betting on the Patriots because it's an America's Game masterpiece waiting to happen considering what Robert Kraft went through this summer. Talent doesn't matter in the NFL, it's always the best story that wins :o

lads what's the best site to use for betting on the NFL... I'm thinking of doing a bit of a log/challenge thing so I'm gonna be stuck on one site for the entire season if I do go ahead with it...

I have a PP account now but they seem to be ****e - they only have handicap betting on the games... I'd be hoping for a bit more variety in bets come the regular season at least...

any suggestions on what site to use

cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭coldstream4444

I have used this one for years, never any problems;

http://www.sportsbetting.ag/sportsbook/nfl-football-betting/

lads what's the best site to use for betting on the NFL... I'm thinking of doing a bit of a log/challenge thing so I'm gonna be stuck on one site for the entire season if I do go ahead with it...

I have a PP account now but they seem to be ****e - they only have handicap betting on the games... I'd be hoping for a bit more variety in bets come the regular season at least...

any suggestions on what site to use

cheers :)

Bet365 used to be good, I recall them allowing you pick your own line for games. Must check them out again for the coming season as I used Powers last year. Powers should have the player bets too, i.e. Stepehen Jackson over/under 89.5 rushing yards etc which can give a bit more interest on your stud fantasy players in any given week.

Bet365 give you a bonus on doubles or higher. I think it's 5% on a double, 10% on a triple and so on. Might not be the exact rates, but they definitely do offer bonuses on American Sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

I have used this one for years, never any problems;

http://www.sportsbetting.ag/sportsbook/nfl-football-betting/

Same guys run this one as well http://www.sportsbook.ag/livesports/...sname=football <--- Link chucky put in.

Only thing about those Sportsbooks the American #cough splutter# Costa Rican based ones there is always delys with European customers getting their payouts as they use cheques or wire payment as the withdrawal methods.

I used to work for the company that ran both of those and ever since the US clamped down on gambling those sites were forever in a mess. Great sites for American odds if you dont mind the long periods getting your funds.

Competitive ootball is back!!

Any bets fo tonights game?

Jermichael Finley - Anytime TD - 5/6
    Rodgers over 275,5 passing yards - 5/6
    James Starks - Anytime TD - 11/4

My bets for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭padraig_f

Have the Saints to win on the money-line @ 21/10, decent price. It was 19/10 the other day but public money on the Superbowl champs must've pushed it out.

Time to bump this me thinks..

After a pretty successful weekend last weekend on the betting front (mainly thanks to Tom Brady's picks and listening to some of the talk in the college football thread - cheers lads, owe ye a pint!), what's everyone looking towards this weekend?

Some picks I'm mulling over -

Lions -3.5 - Evs
    Titans -6.5 - 10/11
    Chargers -14.5 10/11
    Panthers -3.5 20/21

- Lions is a solid bet.
    - Titans are hit and miss so it's hard to know. Broncos have a lot of guys back from injury and CJ has been very poor so far. I think there are better bets this week.
    - Chargers seem easily win here, divisional game makes the it a bit tougher and the fact SD have struggled a bit themselves but can't see the chiefs keeping it within 15.
    - Panthers - Very tough to know what the Jags will be like with Blaine at QB, would probably avoid this one because of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

- Lions is a solid bet.
    - Titans are hit and miss so it's hard to know. Broncos have a lot of guys back from injury and CJ has been very poor so far. I think there are better bets this week.
    - Chargers seem easily win here, divisional game makes the it a bit tougher and the fact SD have struggled a bit themselves but can't see the chiefs keeping it within 15.
    - Panthers - Very tough to know what the Jags will be like with Blaine at QB, would probably avoid this one because of that.

I disagree, +14.5 is very tempting. Also, as this site explains, there are a number of trends that suggest kansas won't get blown out...

Safest bet this week is the steelers - 10 imo.