Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky and BBC to share F1 TV rights from next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

G-Money wrote: »

Nooooooo...
    The beginning of the the transition to premium tv :(

That's a fnucker.

Plus half is a joke. I think this has a real potential to damage the long-term fan base of the sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭ro2

Worst possible result. Sky won't be able to poach the team from the BBC like they did with ITV, so you'll end up with second rate coverage for half the races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

Not looking forward to this, I think Sky will sterilise the broadcast and put in numptys for presenters and analysts. I really like the Beeb broadcasts, they are one of the reasons that watching Formula 1 has not become such a bore, their team is great (JH can be a bit annoying) but otherwise production is strong and presentation great. I think races on Sky will become lifeless, bit like their soccer coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I'll miss the "war of words" and constant difference of opinion between DC and EJ every race weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Well I will probably continue to tune in as F1 is my favourite sport, assuming I'm in a position to still have Sky Sports next year. But I'm not looking forward to a return to ad breaks and the like. Although is there any chance they won't show ad breaks seeing it's a premium TV channel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Ŵhere does that leave setantas coverage? Gone?

What about Irish tv rights? Rte could come back in now that it's not fta. Cap coverage but at least it's something.

Well I will probably continue to tune in as F1 is my favourite sport, assuming I'm in a position to still have Sky Sports next year. But I'm not looking forward to a return to ad breaks and the like. Although is there any chance they won't show ad breaks seeing it's a premium TV channel?

No chance they'd have 2 hours without ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Wont be the same, just as I got back into F1 this happens. No proper build up it seems (except on Sky News and Sky Sports News) no doubt Sky will have ads through it and have no presence at the races. Lets hope I'm wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭thegoth

This is shocking. I REALLY hope TV numbers decrease by 80 %. They deserve it for letting this happen.

Anyone else here think that the reason Bernie agreed to this is that he will likely be dead by 2018 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I agree, the worst possible outcome. I don't have Sky, don't want Sky, and definitely don't want to shell out for Sky Sports just for F1 (I have zero interest in football, golf, rugby etc.)

I heard that part of the reason they needed to cut expenditure on F1 was so that they could keep BBC Four. All I can say is that BBC Four better start producing some unmissable TV as the channel is pretty miss able as it is. I don't think I've ever seen anything of interest on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

Nail in the coffin, Used to be a huige F1 fan back in the Eddie Irvine and Jordan F1 days but lost interest after they left/retired. Only got back into the sport the last few races of last season and this season. I love the pre race analysis and if A1GP is anythuing to go by it will be a disaster. I for one wont be getting Sky Sports. Cant stand the Premiership and wont be getting it for the Rugby, ESPN does the football fine for me! This is teh beginning of the end for F1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Really miffed to hear this,SKY'll just sterilise the bejasus out of it.
    RTL on Hotbird looking more plausible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

I'm gutted this is terrible news not just that Sky sports have got the rights, but shared with the BBC who will only show half the races and will be keeping there staff so on Sky we are going to get CRAP Presenter and Analysts may i mention racing commentator James Allen anyone i can see him already filling out the application form.

This will harm the sport long term i can't believe the F1 teams have agreed to this deal as they alway want maximum viewing numbers to keep there sponsors happy. GUTTED :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭thegoth

James Allen isn't the worst. Encyclopedic knowledge of F1. He runs a great blog. He'd be a massive improvement on Skys A1GP commentators but I agree, it will not be a patch on the BBC's coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Joeyjoejoe83

Really isn't fair,how have the teams agreed to this? I thought they had to have free to air coverage for the teams to attain sponsorship etc, I presume this will be rewritten into the Concorde agreement.

Bernie, your a multibillionaire, when will enough be enough for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

As a fan and someone who does not have sky its very hard to put a good spin on this.

Skys coverage will most likely be inferior to bbc so by signing up for 30 quid a month sky you'll only actually watch half the races for that price. I, like many, need another direct debit like a hole in the head so I'm not gonna bite.

Fingers crossed that skys exclusive races include those that are on in the wee hours and guaranteed borefests like Catalunya and a few Tilke circuits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

What terrible news. Thankfully F1 can be seen elsewhere though.

Will Setanta still hold rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Brundle is on twitter saying he's out of contract

http://j.mp/oOw5UN

It will be interesting to see what happens

Nuttzz wrote: »
    Brundle is on twitter saying he's out of contract

http://j.mp/oOw5UN

It will be interesting to see what happens

Even he's not impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,472 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

damn that sucks :(

hope rte pick it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

bennyx_o wrote: »
    Even he's not impressed!

He's not the only one.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

Theres a lot of talk here about this being the end of F1 and viewing numbers declining.

It ain't gonna happen folks. Sky Sports created the monster that is the premier league, they don't do things by half and if anything it'll introduce it those sports fanatics in the UK that just watch anything once its on Sky.

I have Sky sports so it doesn't bother me but to be honest I think the BBC coverage was second to none and would hate to see it stop. The reality is, the beeb need to cut costs and I'd say F1 is the most expensive luxury they have.

On the plus side, I would imagine Ben Edwards is on Sky's radar as a commentator. He's done it for them before including F1 in 2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Bad bad news.

Sadly I think this will be a transition to full Sky coverage.

I will miss the 3 hrs+ of uninterrupted coverage that the BBC give us for free, that's for sure.

If money is a issue for the BBC, they should do a whip round in Ireland...I'd happily give 'em a few nicker.

I have the digital Irish stations and HD free to air. I pay for one and don't watch it and watch the other and don't pay for it...makes me sick giving RTE money for nothing while the BBC are cutting my favourite shows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

****in gay

Why do Sky have to ruin every watchable sport by taking it away :(

Kxiii wrote: »
    He's not the only one.

:mad:
    I agree, not impressed with this either. Someone from Sky posted here that "every second of every race will be live and uninterrupted" which is a plus point, but I still can't see it being anywhere near as good on Sky as it is on BBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Jaysus this is a disaster. Just when the coverage gets to the best its ever been.:mad:

No doubt a lot of fans will be lost but...

Anyone any idea of how its televised in the rest of the world? How much is free to air? If its only the countries that recieve the british coverage like us it might not have that much of an impact so why would they give a bollicks.:(

yeah, How will I be able to watch it in New Zealand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

BBC loosing money is the biggest load of crap ever. If they wanted to make money they would bring forward the date of International iPlayer subscriptions and begin to print money.

Its incredibly shortsighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Would be very upsetting if they stuck ads in, they manage to show movies without ads in them, and everyone would be pretty outraged if they just skipped 2 mins of a film while the ads were playing

I'm sure they'll be able to do 1hr 40 without ads

Remember all the days of flicking between ITV and RTE2 to avoid the breaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

Zagato wrote: »
    Would be very upsetting if they stuck ads in, they manage to show movies without ads in them, and everyone would be pretty outraged if they just skipped 2 mins of a film while the ads were playing

I'm sure they'll be able to do 1hr 40 without ads

Remember all the days of flicking between ITV and RTE2 to avoid the breaks

They won't show ads.

Sky had the digital rights to F1 in 2002, what you see the BBC doing now with the red button and all the interactive stuff? Sky were doing that 9 years ago, the coverage was excellent and the races were not interrupted by ads.

Like I said earlier, they also had Ben Edwards on the team. He has to be one of the best motorsports commentators in the world. Much and all as I like Martin Brundle, Edwards makes the whole thing sound more exciting.

The ideal combination would be the two of them with Coulthard back into the role he had last year. Just my tuppence worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭MudSkipper

very bad news, i like many dont have sky, dont want sky and will not get sky...

I do have a satellite with loadsa german, dutch, french and spanish channels... here's hoping one of them shows the races and turn on the 5live commentary (that is staying right?!?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I heard that part of the reason they needed to cut expenditure on F1 was so that they could keep BBC Four. All I can say is that BBC Four better start producing some unmissable TV as the channel is pretty miss able as it is. I don't think I've ever seen anything of interest on it.
    I love the music documentaries on BBC FOUR but I think that's a pretty piss poor excuse if that is the case.

Looking like Special 1 TV is being dropped from BBC THREE as well so times must be hard for the BEEB!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭magunkey

Title says it all really. :mad:

Linky....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭sockpuppets

interesting here from Whitmarsh, possible breach of the concorde agreement by taking f1 off free to air tv?

http://www.planetf1.com/driver/18227/7066612/Teams-want-clarification-about-Sky-deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

There is no need to subscribe to Sky Sports. I suspect that the wonderful Liveonlinefooty will show the "Sky" races - there is a big thread on them in the soccer section here.

The BBC coverage has been so good because the BBC team are liked & respected. This & their huge audience means that every F1 team is happy to talk to the Beeb.

The teams will be in the odd situation of having to deal with different presenters every other week - or are they going to give the first half of the season to one broadcaster & the second half to another ?

Discodog wrote: »
    The teams will be in the odd situation of having to deal with different presenters every other week - or are they going to give the first half of the season to one broadcaster & the second half to another ?
    Not necessarily. BBC have half the races including the British and Monaco Grand Prix, and Sky have every race. I can't see Sky doing a big build up to the races like BBC do based on what I've read, but again I could be wrong.

BBC have said they will have a highlights show for every Grand Prix. I doubt this will involve sending people to every race if they're trying to cut costs.

bennyx_o wrote: »
    Not necessarily. BBC have half the races including the British and Monaco Grand Prix, and Sky have every race. I can't see Sky doing a big build up to the races like BBC do based on what I've read, but again I could be wrong.

BBC have said they will have a highlights show for every Grand Prix. I doubt this will involve sending people to every race if they're trying to cut costs.
    What really annoys me about Sky is the big blue studio, BBC do it right when they walk the paddock, it feels like you are there. Sky will make a mess of this just like they did with A1GP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

it's bbc 3 they should get rid of. harry hill should be put in charge of tv for a few months, going by this interview.

i'm still surprised on the amount of people that watched the canadian grand prix, even if it went on for hours, but people who normally would turn on the tv, see that eastenders isn't on yet and then turn off left the race on and watched it, and feckin well enjoyed it too.
    bernie's done a boo boo here methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

MudSkipper wrote: »
    very bad news, i like many dont have sky, dont want sky and will not get sky...

I do have a satellite with loadsa german, dutch, french and spanish channels... here's hoping one of them shows the races and turn on the 5live commentary (that is staying right?!?)

RTL from Germany will have live pictures. That should work nicely with 5 Live and both are completely free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭mburke

Terrble news, can't see setanta keeping the rights as Sky say they will be showing F1 in the UK and Ireland ( http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12433_7066182,00.html )
    Consider the difficult times people face at the moment I can't see people finding approx 50 euro per month to get sky sports.

When I lived in Australia it was a local channel that would do the build-up and then it would cut to the English commentary from the UK I believe.

I also lived in Denmark and from what I remember, the coverage there was shocking. Some weeks the qualifying and races didn't seem to be on or I couldn't find the channel showing it. I also think they had ad breaks. It was free to air TV I believe there but the coverage was so random it made it very hard to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Im Only 71Kg

tis the death of F1. :( bbc coverage over the years has always been excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭MudSkipper

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    RTL from Germany will have live pictures. That should work nicely with 5 Live and both are completely free.

Thanks for that, might actually give it a trial this weekend :pac:
    LIGHTNING wrote: »
    It wont be the death but the viewership figures will drop by a large amount. I can also see alot of people now watching races in pubs or gathering at one persons house that has Sky Sports :pac:

Viewing at one persons house yes, watching it in pubs... only if there is no football / gaa / horseracing on at the same time then might have a chance of getting F1...

Although years n years ago, I used to go down the the mad hatter in blackrock for my sunday brunch and a pint and they'd put it on for me (as there was no-one else there :-P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

What terrible news. Thankfully F1 can be seen elsewhere though.

Where else is it televised from?

How do we get RTL and 5live?

i can't afford Sky sports..:o

It wont be the death but the viewership figures will drop by a large amount. I can also see alot of people now watching races in pubs or gathering at one persons house that has Sky Sports :pac:

the problem with that is it's never going to be shown in pubs ahead of football, GAA, horses or golf :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

Setanta have tweeted that they will be broadcasting F1 next season. No idea which commentary they will be using though. This year they have dropped Declan Quigley and David Kennedy and are showing the pictures from the world feed and the audio from the BBC.

http://twitter.com/#!/SetantaSports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

I have skysports so missing out on the races isn't the issue, but the coverage, if we can go by their other shows, will be rubbish (Race of Champions etc). Gary Neville will probably be commentating on it and bellends Jardine/Allen will be co-commentators. Some attractive/annoying bint will be doing the trackside interviews and the whole show will be fireworks and graphics with no substance. I was only thinking the last few races that the BBC coverage could not be made any better (even though DC annoys me slightly), everything comes together perfectly. Imagine what the Canadian GP would have been like on ITV :eek:
    Ruport Murdoch probably phone tapped Bernie and has him over a barrel. This is all to do with greed and not advancing the sport. We will just have to enjoy what could be the last decent coverage of a season for some time and make the most of it.

Most pubs will change one TV if you ask them nicely.
    I don't think it's well suited to pub viewing as the commentary is an essential part of the viewing experience.