Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I started looking for a new job

• 28-07-2011 10:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭

Yes. Got pissed off today when I finally realised that the career path in my current job is nothing else but cul de sac. Thank Gods in Valhalla I'm not one of those guys scared of making a smallest step, who consider themselves "lucky to have a job". Yes, I know there is no boom anymore, I know that my job is secure and pays the bills - but I get physically sick every single day when I go there and simply cannot stand it anymore.

After Hours - wish me luck, I'm gonna need it. It's all I'm asking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

best of luck, hope you find something you will be happy in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

You're under 30, not married, no kids, or mortgage, right?

Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

fair play to ya, doing the same myself as I hate my current one, not much out there aside what I'm already doing but for different companies though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I used to believe that it you're not happy in a job, you're better off leaving it, for your health. But that was when you could walk from one job into another. Now, even though i wouldn't strictly say i hate my job, if it was back then i would have left already.

But alas, i have loans, and a mortgage, so i have to stay... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

Do you honestly get physically sick?

Poor co-workers!

In all seriousness best a luck with it!
    Life's about takin chances as da says!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

wolf moon wrote: »
    I know that my job is secure and pays the bills - but I get physically sick every single day when I go there and simply cannot stand it anymore.

Jaysus that sounds bad, what is it about the place, the people, the work itself or both?

What line of work are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

krudler wrote: »
    fair play to ya, doing the same myself as I hate my current one, not much out there aside what I'm already doing but for different companies though

Maybe you guys could just switch!!!

Problem solved!

I do not charge for my services :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Musicman2006

Hand or blow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

You're under 30, not married, no kids, or mortgage, right?

Go for it!

30+
    married
    kids
    mortgage...

... and no more time to waste.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Good luck to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Working is for losers. The PAYE worker pays my welfare & when I see him getting home from work after a long days slog at the office, there's nothing I like better than to crack a can of cider open in his face & tell him about my impending 2 week holiday to Lanzarote.

Work. Meh.

Who needs it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Good luck. Don't hand in your notice until you have been offered someyhing else. You have more of a chance of being offered a job when you already have one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Wow, not a great time for that!

I'd say if your job is secure, ride the storm for a bit!

A secure job is better in these times than no job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Working is for losers. The PAYE worker pays my welfare & when I see him getting home from work after a long days slog at the office, there's nothing I like better than to crack a can of cider open in his face & tell him about my impending 2 week holiday to Lanzarote.

Work. Meh.

Who needs it?

Where's the dislike button?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

I quit my job bang in the middle of a recession and everyone said i'm crazy.

Starting my own business now and things are looking good.

Sick of this 'lucky to have a job' mentality. There is plenty of jobs out there and money to be made if you have a bit of cop on.

Good luck OP!

lastlaugh wrote: »
    What line of work are you in?
    I work in one of the - once mighty - organisations, which today wouldn't survive without taxpayers cash.

Seeing these faces every day, it's beyond my levels of tolerance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

brimal wrote: »

Sick of this 'lucky to have a job' mentality. There is plenty of jobs out there and money to be made if you have a bit of cop on.

The unemployed need to cop on?

Any chance you would come with me to the local social welfare office and make that statement out loud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Just beside the "on" button for the sarcasm detector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭smilerxxx

I left a secure job last year. A lot of people said I was crazy. I told them jog on. I always wanted to be a nurse, so here i am. Going in to 2nd year nursing surviving on .. well we won't go there. But it was the best decision I've ever made. Go for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Best of Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

I quit my job bang in the middle of a recession and everyone said i'm crazy.

Starting my own business now and things are looking good.

Good luck OP!

Fair play to you and wish you well.

I have been dealing with loads of Irish companies in the last few weeks and the amount of times I have to send follow up emails, phone calls to businesses to get quotes or actually buy items. I thought most businesses would be really customer friendly now with the recession and would love people buying from them but apparently not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 The Marlboro Man

+1. Stupid mentality, both from an employer and employee perspective. If we all think like this then we'll be fúcked for a long time to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

30+
    married
    kids
    mortgage...

Brave move.

Best of luck.

As long as I'm not paying for it...........

Brave move.
    Thank you sir. I am a brave man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Work. Meh.

Who needs it?

Have a badge :D:D:D;)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQDzOCBZVMEQWjFDAFH5858mmDKq7hR5LGTAiGcZo7h3xBDNKx9j9CsuGJEiA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If you have kids then you shouldn't take risks like that.

I hope it goes well for you, for your kids' sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I know that my job is secure and pays the bills - but I get physically sick every single day when I go there and simply cannot stand it anymore.

food tester for Tesco's?

phasers wrote: »

Of course s/he should, and I hope the OP teaches the kids to do the same. Great attitude to have. I know the kind the OP is - they're the kind of folk who will come out on top!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Of course s/he should, and I hope the OP teaches the kids to do the same. Great attitude to have. I know the kind the OP is - they're the kind of folk who will come out on top!

very thin line though between risk taking and pure stupidity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

30+
    married
    kids
    mortgage...

You lunatic! I wish you all the best. Everybody has their own perspective about where the balance lies between doing whatever it takes to pay bills/ keep the family on track etc, and the other side, the enjoying your life/taking risks, giving things a go, making opportunities etc, in order to knock a bit more good out of this life.

Each person has to weigh up their own situation. But if you are just slogging endlessly through the sh1t and having your soul destroyed it certainly merits examining all your options.

If you need to get out then that's what you gotta do. Follow whatever the sensible procedure is to leave your job on good terms. (don't mail your boss a bag of dogsh1t!). I don't know what your profession or skill set is but if you want to make something happen, then you will exhaust all options and when no one can provide you with the role you want, then I'll bet you can make it happen yourself.

To those who say you shouldn't give up your job and pay packet, I do understand that point of view completely. Having a mortgage and dependents is a huge responsibility and not something you should gamble on 17 red at the roulette wheel. But an unhappy or unfulfilled mother / father / provider, will have a negative impact on the family also. I believe it's always worth reviewing your complete life situation and see what can be done to improve it to your benefit and to that of your family / those around you.

Best of luck again, whatever way you tackle your situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Your job is either a passion, or a means to an end.
    If, to you, it is only the latter, then it's clearly not worth it in the long run.
    I'd much rather be broke doing something I believe in every day, then have piles of money in the bank whilst waking up every morning wishing I was an 'auld fellow so I could retire. You only live once. If you're miserable, or pining for the distant future, then you're not living.

I would at least have another job lined up before I left somewhere, it just makes sense, especially if you have responsibilities.

It would be foolish to just throw caution to the wind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I would at least have another job lined up before I left somewhere, it just makes sense, especially if you have responsibilities.

And yet some of those who are remembered as the greatest people in history are precisely those who threw caution to the winds for something they believed in.

To quote Journey: "Some will win, some will lose, some were born to sing the blues, but the movie never ends it goes on, and on, and on, and on..."

Sure, you could take a chance and lose. Better to try and lose, then to spend the rest of your life wondering if you could have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

phasers wrote: »

very thin line though between risk taking and pure stupidity

To be fair, i don't think the op will be taking a risk by just looking for a job while still currently employed. I think he has a better chance of finding a new job as a person currently employed and with a positive confident attitude.

I'm in the same situation myself, gonna call into a few agencies next week and drop off some CVs just to see what happens. My current job is dead-end and absolutely horrid.

Depends on your circumstances I guess, but the OP was quoted as saying "but I get physically sick every single day when I go there and simply cannot stand it anymore".

I've been there - working for absolute díckheads "lucky to have a job" types.

I told them where to go, didn't have anything lined up either, but it made me even more eager. So now I'm earning much more than my previous postion, happier etc. The attitude of some of the Irish muck savage employers fúcking stinks.

And yet some of those who are remembered as the greatest people in history are precisely those who threw caution to the winds for something they believed in.

To quote Journey: "Some will win, some will lose, some were born to sing the blues, but the movie never ends it goes on, and on, and on, and on..."

Sure, you could take a chance and lose. Better to try and lose, then to spend the rest of your life wondering if you could have won.

That's all very inspiring and all, and I mean no disrespect to the OP, but he/she is just someone who is p!ssed off in their current job.

Better to have a sh!t job and start looking for a new job rather than leaving it and then sitting at home looking at the bills to be paid and realizing there are not that many other jobs out there after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

That's all very inspiring and all, and I mean no disrespect to the OP, but he/she is just someone who is p!ssed off in their current job.

Better to have a sh!t job and start looking for a new job rather than leaving it and then sitting at home looking at the bills to be paid and realizing there are not that many other jobs out there after all.

Hmmm... Nice user name you got there....

Anyway OP. Best of luck. Nothing worse than being filled with dread 5 days a week at the thought of going to a crap job.

wild_cat wrote: »
    Hmmm... Nice user name you got there....

Anyway OP. Best of luck. Nothing worse than being filled with dread 5 days a week at the thought of going to a crap job.

Hmmm... What has that got to do with anything?
    Can you not see the logic in what I'm saying or do you think I'm taking the p!ss.

How about sitting at home without a job and having bills to pay?
    Grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

If you have to ask a bunch of strangers if you're doing the right thing, maybe you should have a little think. What exactly is going to be so wonderful about a new job? Can't really imagine asking on here about what I should do for a living or wether I was doing the right thing. Then again, maybe you are very young. A job is a job, comes down to money really. My own advice, forget a job, jobs are a waste of your life. Find a way to do somthing you love for yourself, then work is really just messing. I spend most days just messing at what I like, other people call it work, but I cal it getting paid to do what i'd do anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

True the great winners of history are the people with that attitude, but so have the great losers too. For every person who took a gamble and it succeeded there are a hundred who tried the same and failed spectacularly...history doesn't tend to remember them though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

Solnskaya wrote: »
    If you have to ask a bunch of strangers if you're doing the right thing, maybe you should have a little think. What exactly is going to be so wonderful about a new job? Can't really imagine asking on here about what I should do for a living or wether I was doing the right thing.
    OP actually came on here looking to be wished well in the jobhunt. Seems fairly decided on the course of action. I say, fair play, too many people on the 'you're lucky to have a job' bandwagon. Such a depressing frame of mind when you hate your job, your bosses and/or aren't keen on your co-workers either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I would also love a new job or a career but don't want to start looking till I know whats going on with my masters application.

G'luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

beside the sarcasm detector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Jopari87

Best of luck op. Think this Mark Twain quote is fairly apt:

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Thanks guys.

I stick to the current job until I find something else, then I leave it giving the appropriate notice, etc. I don't want more crap around, but it's really time to move on, I can't handle more frustration.

Have a nice day folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

The team I work in really need staff at the moment, but you'd have to commute to NZ so it might be a bit of a pain. We do have a lot of cake and biscuits in the office if that helps!

Best of luck with it - having been stuck in a miserable job before I say go for it. Being miserable at work colours everything, it really affects you, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Good man OP.

Made that decision myself a few weeks ago. Had come back from a long weekend in London to my home in Belgium and said feck this, sick of Belgium and sick of my work. That evening after work I wrote a CV and applied to a could of online recruiter advertised jobs based in London. 30 minutes later got a call from a recruiter and got the interview the following Monday. Accepted and quit my job that week!

Extra special piece though is the garden leave. God I love garden leave. Being paid to stay at home cause I "know too much". Hah.

The hardest bit OP is to make the decision, after that everything will fall into place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Best of luck OP - don't know what some people here are on about. There's no risk in looking for a job while you're in a job... just keep it quiet from the bosses obviously. Being in a job that makes you miserable and affects your health is not good for you as you spend too much time there, so I hope you get out of that situation.

At the same time though, there's nothing spineless about feeling lucky to have a job when there are so many unemployed and having to emigrate. And don't mind that stuff about there being "plenty of jobs out there" - there aren't, plus think of the competition for the meagre number that there are. Depends on what you're skilled at too.

Feeling lucky to have a job is not the same as being grateful to have a job or willing to put up with employers taking the piss - it's just an acknowledgment that there are lots of qualified, experienced people being laid off/unable to find work, and by a twist of fate you're not one of them.

Getting entrepreneurial is a good idea, but just because there's an anecdote about one doing well doesn't mean it's the same across the board - even established businesses are collapsing right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Can I have your job then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

"if you don't like your job you don't strike, you just do a half assed job, that's the American way"

Best of luck finding a new job

I hate my job too, but it appears that in this game of musical chairs the music has stopped and I'm stuck here for the foreseeable future.

Would love to train to be a teacher but there is no way in hell I can afford to go back to college when I have a family to support.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Akrasia wrote: »
    Would love to train to be a teacher but there is no way in hell I can afford to go back to college when I have a family to support.

Even apart from the money aspect, it would be suicidal to leave a job and train as a teacher at the moment. There's 2,000 new ones after being released into an already over-saturated market, and the redeployment scheme is eating up the small handful of jobs there is.