Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Floyd Mayweather v Victor Ortiz - Sept 17, MGM Grand Las Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Anyone know if HBO will be doing a 24/7 program for this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,379 ✭✭✭✭walshb

MBC wrote: »
    Anyone know if HBO will be doing a 24/7 program for this???

Yes, they are doing it. Schaeffer announced this. Check Floyd's youtube channel; it is on his facebook page. The press conference is there and they do mention the HBO 24/7 programme. Floyd's 5th appearance I believe. Victor's 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

walshb wrote: »
    Yes, they are doing it. Schaeffer announced this. Check Floyd's youtube channel; it is on his facebook page. The press conference is there and they do mention the HBO 24/7 programme. Floyd's 5th appearance I believe. Victor's 1st.

Excellent.....fricken love that show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

MBC wrote: »
    Excellent.....fricken love that show.

+1. surprised other sports havent used the format yet. could be a massive franchise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 jjm

Potentially I can go to this fight. All the USD300 tickets are gone so I would be paying USD600 (yowsers) to go. Thats a boat-load of dosh. Looking for opinions.

What do ye think. Will this be value for money. Does Ortiz have the tools to make a great fight of it.

Although its a world title fight there has been so many crap fights lately. Haye pussying around, Zab taking a dive and looking for a way out last week. Moneys last fight with Mosely, Shane was there for his pension fund.

I guess I would sickened after paying that if Ortiz is just there for a pay-day and in survival mode (although I doubt it).

Is this a USD 600 fight? Thoughts?

i think so. the money is irrelevant as soon as you have bought the ticket. after that it's the memories of the fight. i think the regret would be greater if you missed a great fight, instead of witnessing a mediocre one. plus, you still get to see mayweather in one of his last fights, and a great chance to see one of the few with potential to become one of the greats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

jjm wrote: »
    Potentially I can go to this fight. All the USD300 tickets are gone so I would be paying USD600 (yowsers) to go. Thats a boat-load of dosh. Looking for opinions.

What do ye think. Will this be value for money. Does Ortiz have the tools to make a great fight of it.

Although its a world title fight there has been so many crap fights lately. Haye pussying around, Zab taking a dive and looking for a way out last week. Moneys last fight with Mosely, Shane was there for his pension fund.

I guess I would sickened after paying that if Ortiz is just there for a pay-day and in survival mode (although I doubt it).

Is this a USD 600 fight? Thoughts?

I see only 1 winner but feel your guaranteed plenty of rounds and i think it will not be an easy fight-plus you get to see 1 of the best boxers ever do his thang..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

If ever there was a chanve for Ortiz it is now. Floyd is 34/35, has been inactive for a long time and should not be as sharp as he once was. I still see Floyd winning, but I hope Ortiz gives a good show and isn't overawed by the spectacle.

Credit to PBF for taking on a young and fresh and dangerous opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

First episode of 24/7 from Obama on boxing scene. Use either the stream or the download, the youtube clip is only a tiny piece of it -

http://www.boxingscene.com/forums/showthread.php?t=504173

Mayweather really makes himself impossible to like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

Personally Mayweather is IMPOSSIBLE to like. But you have to respect his "**** it, **** them" attitude. Its seen him rght so far.

Looking at that 24/7 its hard to see who they are painting as the good guy and who is the bad guy! ;)

Jesus Victor had it tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Personally Mayweather is IMPOSSIBLE to like. But you have to respect his "**** it, **** them" attitude. Its seen him rght so far.

Looking at that 24/7 its hard to see who they are painting as the good guy and who is the bad guy! ;)

Jesus Victor had it tough.

I don't get that attitude of Floyd at all, don't know what you are watching. He is a modern great but he is an absolute tosser. Surrounds himself with yes men, shows no respect to opponents and has a natural need to show people that he is wealthy.

A great great fighter but not a good man.

I always grudgingly held the opinion he would beat Manny if they ever fight, and I even kinda hoped he would such is my admiration for Floyd's skills.

Manny v Floyd will be the ultimate good guy v bad guy fight and i'd love to see Manny shut that insecure mouth of his.

His old man is a so lacking in class its actually funny. Roger plays up a bit, he is knowledgable but when the camera is rolling he takes on the persona that Floyd has but he is a serious boxing afficionado. He claims not to be watching Ortiz and couldn't give a f*ck about him but you can bet he has watched every tape of him inside out.

Floyd Snr on the other hand thinks he has been god sent to the sport of boxing. His tired cliches and idiotic schtick is cringeworthy and tragic to say the very least. Actually sad to see an old man be so competitive with his own son and try and take all the credit. Probably explains a little why Floyd is so screwed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

I got tickets to this one when they went on sale awhile back. Managed to snag the $300 ones. I think it's gonna be a great fight. Not clear cut by any stretch. As long as Ortiz is here to fight I think he has the potential to trouble Floyd and make it a competitive 12 rounds.

I still see Floyd taking it on points but maybe Ortiz can floor him at some stage and put some fear into him. Here's hoping anyway.

Either way I'll be getting a chance to see one of the best boxers of this generation. I saw Manny fight in vegas back in 2009 so now seeing Floyd will be great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Jayob10 wrote: »
    I don't get that attitude of Floyd at all, don't know what you are watching. He is a modern great but he is an absolute tosser. Surrounds himself with yes men, shows no respect to opponents and has a natural need to show people that he is wealthy.

A great great fighter but not a good man.

He may be a tosser away from the camera but you have to hand it to him, he knows what sells PPV's and generates hype - ie royally piss everyone off, when you do that you get everyone wanting to see him get knocked out.

Personally i think the mans a genius, because despite being a brilliant boxer, his style of fighting isnt usually the type that would generate all time PPV records, but his mouth and 24/7 cameos do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Floyd loooksreally solid-cant wait for this fight, great warm up for Manny!!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Floyd doesn't have the legs any more, I hope he's not taking this fight as a donedeal.
    Ortiz is in with a very good chance in this one, the kid has a lot of skills, I'll be cheering for him to knock the arrogant smirk off floyds face.
    Floyds out of the ring a long long time now (15 months) this is one of the biggest factors for me , Ortiz is a hungry young fighter with a great work rate !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

sweetswing wrote: »
    Floyd doesn't have the legs any more, I hope he's not taking this fight as a donedeal.
    Ortiz is in with a very good chance in this one, the kid has a lot of skills, I'll be cheering for him to knock the arrogant smirk off floyds face.
    Floyds out of the ring a long long time now (15 months) this is one of the biggest factors for me , Ortiz is a hungry young fighter with a great work rate !

How do you know he doesn't have the legs anymore? It may or may not be true but I can't see how you can come to that conclusion. He's well known for taking very good care of his body all year round.

His legs aren't what they were. Due to age and weight. He is now a WW aged 35, not a LW aged 27 or so. It makes a big difference. It's a natural progression. Still good feet though. Amazing balance, and a fantastic boxing brain.

Couldn't have put it any better than walshb put it , I really don't like the guy, but his boxing skills and ring savvy can't be denied , for me he didn't have the legs in his last 2 fights , but was slick enough to cover it up , I really think Ortiz has a great chance in this one , he will be on top of Floyd from the get go , I have to say I couldn't believe it when he took the fight with Ortiz !

sweetswing wrote: »
    Couldn't have put it any better than walshb put it , I really don't like the guy, but his boxing skills and ring savvy can't be denied , for me he didn't have the legs in his last 2 fights , but was slick enough to cover it up , I really think Ortiz has a great chance in this one , he will be on top of Floyd from the get go , I have to say I couldn't believe it when he took the fight with Ortiz !

It will go the distance and PBF wins 10+ rounds easily imo.

Ten easy round wins, or wins ten rds? I think he will be made work hard for the win, and I think many rds will be competitive, if not all rounds.

He wins the fight easily, but looking at Ortiz he will have to work hard and stay focused throughout but I see him winning most rounds in a way that is clear to most that he won them.

Boxing history is full of upsets , and I feel another one could be at hand in this fight !
    Although I don't believe the powers that be will allow an Ortiz victory unless he kos mayweather , but don't be surprised when your scoring the fight that you have victor ahead , I have to say I'm really looking foreword to this fight

cowzerp wrote: »
    Floyd loooksreally solid-cant wait for this fight, great warm up for Manny!!!

you think? didnt think he looked as good as he should, cf last clip in 24/7. that from a few weeks ago though so no doubt has improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Floyd's technique is unbelievable, he has the ability to make world class boxers look very ordinary.

Remember this is the same Ortiz, that quit against Maidana and pissed away a win against Peterson... he beat a frankly heavily overrated Andre Berto to get the title so I wouldn't put too much confidence in Ortiz especially against someone of Floyd's class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Floyd's technique is unbelievable, he has the ability to make world class boxers look very ordinary.

Remember this is the same Ortiz, that quit against Maidana and pissed away a win against Peterson... he beat a frankly heavily overrated Andre Berto to get the title so I wouldn't put too much confidence in Ortiz especially against someone of Floyd's class.

I couln't agree more.

It never ceases to amaze me how people's memories don't function most of the time. Ortiz is overrated and a proven quitter. People are reading far too much into his win over the overrated Berto.

Mayweather will win this quite handily, probably on points, but there won't be any doubt.

He was robbed in the Peterson fight , it was disgraceful !
    Can't argue about him quitting against maidana, but better fighters than him have quit and come back to take titles.
    Berto was the champ, he went and took his title off him, In a fantastic fight that left me in no doubt he has the heart .

When are people going to realise Floyd is just a man and sooner or later he will be beaten ( if he continues to fight, or is not locked up or shot ) very few boxers Winn them all .

Ortiz is bigger, stronger ,younger, has a solid chin, great believe in himself, is hungrier , has real ko power !
    These things can't be overlooked .

Floyd needs to be at his best for this one , but I've lost a lot of cash betting against him in the past , so really ,what do I know :-)

megadodge wrote: »
    I couln't agree more.

It never ceases to amaze me how people's memories don't function most of the time. Ortiz is overrated and a proven quitter. People are reading far too much into his win over the overrated Berto.

Mayweather will win this quite handily, probably on points, but there won't be any doubt.

And, if it's close, and most rds are hard fought, will you eat your words?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Competitive for the first 2-3 rounds before FMJ puts on a clinic and wins every round, possibly stopping him late but the UD is more likely.

Could well be. I just think it's gonna' be a very difficult fight to gauge because
    of Floyd's layoff and age. I do not think he is the same fighter as he once was. I still think he wins here, and would not be surprised if it's a clear win, but I think it will be a hard fought win for Floyd. Put it this way, it is damn intriguing. Ortiz brings a lot to the table. He quit once; let it go. Duran quit, didn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Hulk Hogan

This is a great comeback fight for Floyd, massive props to him for taking on a guy like Ortiz. Victor is a serious fighter, he's young, fast, very powerful and also has that awkward southpaw stance. He was straight up robbed against Peterson and yes he did quit against Maidana (a fight he simply wasn't ready for), but he came back and showed his true colours against Berto in another war. Ortiz will be a top fighter at 147/154 for years to come.

With that said, I'm very confident of a Mayweather victory here. It's true that his legs aren't what they once were and it's true that he's getting old, but for me, he just still has far too much for Ortiz. There's no chance of him overlooking this fight, anyone who watched the first 24/7 will have seen his "Who works harder than me" spiel.

Here are the two key factors for me:
    1. Ortiz's lack of a jab: I find it hard to see anyone beating Floyd just throwing tons of hooks and completely ignoring the jab. I know Manny Pacquiao hasn't much of a jab either, but his footwork is far superior to Ortiz's and he makes up for it. Victor will be eating counter right hands all night long. You'll see plenty of slow-motion replays of Ortiz's head being rocked back by those shots

2. Ring IQ: Despite his terrific performance in the Berto fight, Ortiz showed himself to still be somewhat naive in the ring. The 6th round in particular springs to mind - Berto had him badly stunned, yet Ortiz just kept throwing bombs. As it happened he lucked out and actually put Berto on his ass, but the odds of that happening were slim. A better finished would have finished Ortiz right there, he wasn't defending himself. Floyd isn't a massive hitter, he hasn't knocked anyone out in nearly four years, but he wouldn't slip up like Berto did, he's a much smarter fighter, he'd end it right there. Overall Floyd is just much more wily in there, his ring IQ is leagues above Victor's. He makes adjustments as he needs too, I've yet to see anything like that from Ortiz

Ortiz might win a round or two at the start but as the fight goes on I see Floyd taking over and kicking into cruise control. Ortiz will keep coming and will be game right throughout, but I really don't see him winning this. I like Floyd by a wide decision, although it could happen that Garcia pulls Ortiz out late on. Floyd UD is my prediction though

Well said hulk, I can't disagree with anything you've said there, Ortiz lack of jab is a worry , but I just think he has so much going for him !
    And let's not forget, it's Ortiz who is giving Floyd a shot at a title not the other way round, Ortiz could have faught anyone in the division, but decided to take on Floyd , one of the greatest ever to lace up gloves !
    That alone speaks volumes for his confidence .
    " can he win ? Absolutely " " will he win ? Only if he kos Floyd "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Ortiz is being overrated since his win against Berto. Berto isn't all that and he went life and death with him in a terrific fight. I really like Ortiz, he punches hard and is great to watch but he's out of this depth here. I reckon Mayweather will dominate him to the point where either Ortiz quits, his team throw in the towel or the ref steps in from the prolonged beat down Ortiz will be on the end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Got this on PPV.

I thing PBF is just awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

efb wrote: »
    Got this on PPV.

I thing PBF is just awesome

He is brilliant. Hate the guy, but he's phenomenal.

magma69 wrote: »
    He is brilliant. Hate the guy, but he's phenomenal.

I was in the crowd in the MGM when he bounced Fatton off the ring post :D

PBP brings boxing to a new level of sweet science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Second episode of 24/7 from obama on boxingscene-

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S037HO7N

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

PBF knows how do sell the PPV- playing himself as the villain, Ortiz as the underdog who has had a hard life.

His controversial statements keep it on the media- he's v savvy.

R6 RSC to PBF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Floyd hasn't fought anyone like Ortiz in a long time. Like DLH said - Hatton and Marquez were too small, DLH himself admitted he was finished. He has built his career very carefully, and I think a hungry Ortiz is dangerous for him. In saying that - You can't forget Mayweather's ability. He is the best welterweight in the world, bar none.

But he will ultimately have his day and be beaten at some point. The money will always call him back. He's 34 now, and while that's not old - a guy who depends on speed and quick reflexes will be caught. Look at what happened to Roy Jones Jr. Will Ortiz be the man to derail him? Doubtful - But I think it was be a cracking fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭ucd.1985

The video description said "Floyd goes car shopping". Did I completely miss that in episode 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

Uhhh no waaay you guys. This is just 2 weeks away. Sweeeeet.

My moneys on 'money' mayweather.

Roger mayweather " a despicable human"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Heard this is on Primetime PPV and not Sky. Cant get fights on Primetime????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

And, if it's close, and most rds are hard fought, will you eat your words?

If Ortiz wins I would be shocked. Too shocked to eat anything.

If Ortiz runs him close I would be very surprised, as even before the Maidana fight I just thought "what's the big fuss about this guy". He's far too square on, lacks a decent jab and has the look of a bully/on-top-only type fighter. I was never convinced and the Maidana fight just cannot be dismissed. He wasn't even very badly hurt when he quit.

So to answer your question, I would have no option but to eat my words if it was a genuinely close fight. But I don't think it will be.

Warper wrote: »
    Heard this is on Primetime PPV and not Sky. Cant get fights on Primetime????

if you have sky you can. http://www.primetimelive.co.uk/buy-now/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Coll79

Would like to see a Ortiz/Berto rematch before watching Ortiz fighting someone as technically brilliant as Mayweather. I just cannot see how Ortiz can win. Good fighter but he'll want to have a scrap and Mayweather wont let himself get into a brawl and risk getting knocked out.

Hate the antics and ridiculous over the top arrogance, burning dollar bills etc of Floyd, but once he gets in the ring he is the master.

If Ortiz runs him close I would be very surprised, as even before the Maidana fight I just thought "what's the big fuss about this guy". He's far too square on, lacks a decent jab and has the look of a bully/on-top-only type fighter. I was never convinced and the Maidana fight just cannot be dismissed. He wasn't even very badly hurt when he quit.

So to answer your question, I would have no option but to eat my words if it was a genuinely close fight. But I don't think it will be.

3-4 years ago I think it's clear. Now I reckon it's a good competitive scrap with Floyd winning most rds. But, I think Ortiz can make it competitive and tough.

BTW, the burning of the dollar bills, ain't that a federal offence in the States? I think it's a crime in most
    countries. Floyd better watch out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I agree. While father time is catching up with Floyd Mayweather, i don't think Ortiz is going to be the man to benefit from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Ortiz is very over rated, this won't be a close fight imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Boxmad

Anybody know where to watch this fight.?

Dont have sky, only UPC?

Ill try a stream but only as a last resort