Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill Climb to the Highest Pub In Ireland

• 28-07-2011 8:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭

Hi All

The Edge racing team are holding a hill climb on the 17th of September.

Sign of 2pm The Mills Inn Ballyvourney
    First rider off at 4pm
    Climb is 8k long to Coom

1st Prize is the winners Weight in Beer a large scales will be at the top of the climb.

Prizes for the other places to be confirmed.

Any quires please contact the Edge racing team.
    This is a CI event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

1st Prize is the winners Weight in Beer a large scales will be at the top of the climb.

Any quires please contact the Edge racing team.
    I they can make it guinness I'll quit my job now and start training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Lemag wrote: »
    I they can make it guinness I'll quit my job now and start training.

Dont loose too much weight it may effect the overall prize:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

Why would a club from Cork come all the way to Dublin to race up to Johnnie Foxes, the highest pub in Ireland?

But will Johnnie Foxes be giving out free Guinness? I won't be able to drink all of them myself..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

RPL1 wrote: »
    Why would a club from Cork come all the way to Dublin to race up to Johnnie Foxes, the highest pub in Ireland?

Ooooo, that's a can of worms right there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Because Top Of Coom in Kerry is the highest pub in Ireland and is so much closer to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

As per an old thread : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=2015478&postcount=17

An actual response from Johnnie Fox's that admits the Coom pub is the highest pub but they still claim it because the Top of the Coom doesn't want to contest it so Fox's just use it anyway. The actual heights above sea level for the pubs are:

Top of Coom: 1033ft
    Ponderosa, Derry: 947ft
    Johnny Foxes: 910ft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

There is a highest pub in Ireland in most counties; indeed some counties have more than one.

None of them are particularly high.

Only one seems to be doling out free beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

blorg wrote: »

Only one seems to be doling out free beer.

Which is now the top of coom?

tuxy wrote: »
    Which is now the top of coom?
    I think that blorg was refering to my incredibly generous act of sharing my winnings in Coom ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

sounds like cool event.
    tuxy wrote: »

Because Top Of Coom in Kerry is the highest pub in Ireland and is so much closer to them.
    Lovely scones too the last time I was there. Good jammy scones and a pint of stout after a good hill climb, lovely stuff :-)

Just an update on this Gerry Rea who got knocked off his bike a few weeks ago and is recovering in hospital as week speak.

All proceeds from the event that will be donated to a charity of Gerry's choice. Never fear you can still win your weight in beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

Just an update on this Gerry Rea who got knocked off his bike a few weeks ago and is recovering in hospital as week speak.

All proceeds from the event that will be donated to a charity of Gerry's choice. Never fear you can still win your weight in beer.

how about we find the fattest person in Ireland and "let" them win. That way there will be plenty of beer for everyone!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭sled driver

Dermo wrote: »
    how about we find the fattest person in Ireland and "let" them win. That way there will be plenty of beer for everyone!! :p

Hell, lets find four of them, and we can make a whole weekend of it !!!:D

tandem4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

Do you need a racing licence for this one ?

seve65 wrote: »
    Do you need a racing licence for this one ?

You will be able to get a one day license on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭mahoo

now thats my kind of event. i might even put in some training for this one.... hmmm. 89kg = 89 litres of water. ill assume beer is about the same density. soooo.. if my maths is right (157) i might need a bit of help with the last few pints :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

The winner should be the person who puts out the most 'watts per kilo', oooops I mean 'litres per kilo', and the event should be renamed 'CoomOnThePissTa' :o

Hi All

Just an update on this event this is now agreed with CI that this is now the Munster hill climb champs.

This now open to A1 A2 A3 A4 and Junior riders.

The prizes have changed a little its now your weight in Food and Beer and from what i hear the prizes are well worth it.

As well please remember that all Sign on money will be donated to Charity that will be picked by Gerry Rea who is recovering in hospital after having a near fatal accident on the bike a few weeks ago.

If you have any questions please feel free to ask.

Going to Head down on Wednesday Evening to test this climb out will post Garmin file once finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Going to Head down on Wednesday Evening to test this climb out will post Garmin file once finished.

I did it a few Sundays back. Road is in good condition on the Cork side. Its a drag for the forst 5 or 6 km. Its really only the last bit up to the pub (maybe 2km from the bridge) that is actually a climb. First half is between 3 and 5% mostly. Last km has a lot of sections in excess of 10-12%, but the average is lower.

ROK ON wrote: »
    I did it a few Sundays back. Road is in good condition on the Cork side. Its a drag for the forst 5 or 6 km. Its really only the last bit up to the pub (maybe 2km from the bridge) that is actually a climb. First half is between 3 and 5% mostly. Last km has a lot of sections in excess of 10-12%, but the average is lower.

So threshold for the first part and then flat out for the last bit.:D

Here is the Garmin Data from tonight some rotten gale force wind the whole way this should make an interesting day.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/112646342

you should upload that ride to strava, makes for more fun than garmin connect.

From the other side:
    http://app.strava.com/segments/679223

Hi All

Good news Senator Windows have now chosen to become the event Sponsor and will be providing a Starting house.

As well Gerry Rea himself will be at the event to hand out prizes. Look like some big names will be there.

Sign on 2pm Mills inn first rider off at 4pm. If you have any questions please feel to ask.

Good Write up on Irish Cycling

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_5899.shtml

Looks like some of the biggest names in Irish cycling will be there.

Slightly OT but has anyone heard anything else about this? Still going ahead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

Anyone know the length of the actual race route, i've seen 8km, 6.8km and the climb only really seems to be about 5km?

here you go this start to finish as far as the race orginiser has said.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/112646342

Ok thanks, so 10.18km according to that.
    So basically is a 6km time trial with a 4km hill climb at the end.
    If I am correct, because I have never done the climb, just looking at the stats the first 5.7km averages only around 1% gradient.

Yeah thats the way its looking.

@ Ballyhoura. There is a short climb out of Coolea, but other than that you are correct in that most of the clim is actually a very low gradient. More of a drag with long flat bit. After about 7 km or so you will veer left then turn right at a bridge. From here the climb starts. About 2km at 8%+. with good stretches of 12%.
    Once at the top there is a short plateau (less than 0.5km) that is flat becore you get to the pub.

I can confirm that it is far more fun going down than up.
    Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭cantalach

Found the Strava segment...

http://app.strava.com/segments/749024

I wouldn't mind having a crack at this but I have a prior commitment in Limerick.

cantalach wrote: »
    Found the Strava segment...

http://app.strava.com/segments/749024

I wouldn't mind having a crack at this but I have a prior commitment in Limerick.

I uploaded the garmin file posted earlier to strava to get gradient data and it automatically picked out part of it as the hill climb route but notice that finishes almost 3km short of the pub so that's not it at all.

So one of those times isnt actually done by me but just uploaded the garmin file linked to from here, hence the two identical times

I uploaded the garmin file posted earlier to strava to get gradient data and it automatically picked out part of it as the hill climb route but notice that finishes almost 3km short of the pub so that's not it at all.

Sorry, you're absolutely right - I didn't notice earlier that the segment didn't go all the way to the top. I've defined a new one now based on crashoveroid's ride:

http://app.strava.com/segments/759713

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Grand soft day for it TBTG !
    TODAY ... Mostly cloudy with widespread thundery showers, some with hail, and a slight risk of s isolated small tornadoes. If the sun comes out, it will likely mean more storms are brewing. Rather cool in a blustery west or WNW breeze 20-35 mph, some higher gusts near squally showers. Hail to 2 cms in diameter could produce slippery road conditions. Highs 14-15 C. Rainfalls in the 7-15 mm range, probably higher across the south where heavy storms appear most likely (although they could break out almost everywhere)

Great Day to be had today savage turn out a nice win for Paudi O Brien.

cheers, do you know what the winning time was ?

Around 20:50 as far as I remember for Paudi.

Horrible conditions but a bit of craic and pain to end the season! (well except for the mtb marathon champs tomorrow)!

Well done to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

I'll add to what Ballyhoura said and please note the organisers lived upto their promise.

Watching Paidi sitting on a home-brew weighing scales made from a plank of wood and a beer barrell while they loaded the other side with slabs of food and drink until it blanced made for a more spirited prizegiving.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Horrible conditions but a bit of craic and pain to end the season! (well except for the mtb marathon champs tomorrow)!

Well done to all!

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_5911.shtml

Well done to all!

Well done yourself! If I'm putting 2 + 2 together correctly as regards your real world identity, you went very well! Looking forward to seeing your ride up on Strava...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Well done to all!

Well done Steve! Did you get a crate of heineken for second place?

Well done HomeB. Good result in the MTB yday also.
    A man on the up.

When you are next down Ballyvourney way, you should try the hill climb to the mast up at Mullaghanish. Rises from 100m to 650m in 6km. The last three km on a private road to the mast - you'd love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭rochefan

Any pics of this posted? Had snots out my nose when people were snapping on the steep section. Enjoyable day out and great to see Gerry at the top

cantalach wrote: »
    Looking forward to seeing your ride up on Strava...
    Bit of fooling around after the finish but you should be able to pick out the segment which was the hill climb route. Uploaded, can be seen here now hopefully, new to Strava myself (also power estimations I know is way off!)
    http://app.strava.com/rides/1683050#26829579
    DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Well done Steve! Did you get a crate of heineken for second place?
    Unfortunately not! My friends were hoping I would win for the prizes.
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Well done HomeB. Good result in the MTB yday also.
    A man on the up.

When you are next down Ballyvourney way, you should try the hill climb to the mast up at Mullaghanish. Rises from 100m to 650m in 6km. The last three km on a private road to the mast - you'd love it.
    Cheers, MTB marathon champs was some experience to say the least! Blown away by Sherlock's time, amazing! Must give that climb a go alright, you must know I quite fancy the uphill stuff!
    rochefan wrote: »
    Any pics of this posted? Had snots out my nose when people were snapping on the steep section. Enjoyable day out and great to see Gerry at the top
    I might be able to post up a couple, don't have photos of everyone so cant promise anything! Will try to put up a couple this evening

...Uploaded, can be seen here now hopefully, new to Strava myself (also power estimations I know is way off!)..http://app.strava.com/rides/1683050#26829579
    Perhaps your weight is in wrong or you entered it after the ride was uploaded ? If not drop the strava support a question, they maintain their calculation is fairly accurate, and from what I can see they usually have explanations such as poor elevation data when the calculations are way out or users entering totally the wrong weight. Congrats on the good performance btw.

There is me in 2nd place. Great day cold but a good one.
    Bit of fooling around after the finish but you should be able to pick out the segment which was the hill climb route. Uploaded, can be seen here now hopefully, new to Strava myself (also power estimations I know is way off!)
    http://app.strava.com/rides/1683050#26829579

Unfortunately not! My friends were hoping I would win for the prizes.

Cheers, MTB marathon champs was some experience to say the least! Blown away by Sherlock's time, amazing! Must give that climb a go alright, you must know I quite fancy the uphill stuff!

I might be able to post up a couple, don't have photos of everyone so cant promise anything! Will try to put up a couple this evening

seve65 wrote: »
    Perhaps your weight is in wrong or you entered it after the ride was uploaded ? If not drop the strava support a question, they maintain their calculation is fairly accurate, and from what I can see they usually have explanations such as poor elevation data when the calculations are way out or users entering totally the wrong weight. Congrats on the good performance btw.

I've the weights bang on before I uploaded it. The reason it is so wrong has to have something to do with the savage headwinds we were up against, does Strava take that into account? How does it know what kind of position I have on the bike or if a skinsuit/aero wheels were used or not. Not too worries about it anyway, that's what power meters are for!

you r right in that it doesnt account for wind nor position on the bike.