Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ - Shannon Coast Guard Search & Rescue

• 27-07-2011 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭

The follow up from Rescue 117 will be called Shannon Coast Guard Search & Rescue.

The film crew followed Rescue 115 over 12 months and the first airing will be on Tuesday 6th September @ 8:30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Seems odd not to just call it 'Rescue 115'
    Never the less I'm looking forward to seeing this.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

My cousin was doing winchman training in Shannon when they were filming, he's down with 117 now. Looking forward to seeing this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Rescue117

Just a reminder for those that are interested, the second series of Irish Coast Guard helicopter operations, "Rescue 115" starts tomorrow on RTE 1 at 8:30pm for 6 episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Rescue117 wrote: »
    Just a reminder for those that are interested, the second series of Irish Coast Guard helicopter operations, "Rescue 115" starts tomorrow on RTE 1 at 8:30pm for 6 episodes.

Thanks for that I had completely forgotten about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

sweet!! i had forgotten about this.. looking forward to seeing it tonight!!

H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭baronflyguy

Looking forward to it.

Would be nice if RTE or someone put up a Youtube Promo for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

RTE Player Just watching it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

Success!! After watching 117 a few times infront of the other half, she voluntarily switched over to 115 last night and said "oh lets watch this"

Yes Boy!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Good to see how the winchmen are selected/trained. Looking forward to the next ep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

enjoyed it! the slightly irritating production of "117" (i.e the annoying recaps every five minutes and the cheesy graphics) has been improved no end!

much more enjoyable watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Very good show to be fair to RTE. Unfortunately.. there is no Dara! :(

Here's Rescue 116 getting in on the action.

This happened off the County Down coast. Is there any helicopter based in the North at all:confused:

This too shall pass.

No, there is no SAR heli in the north.

116 (Sligo) covers Donegal, and RAF cover NI.

source wrote: »
    116 (Sligo) covers Donegal, and RAF cover NI.

Rescue 116 is actually Dublin, Rescue 118 covers the Northwest Coast, and seeing as Donegal forms part of the Republic, it comes as no surprise that Donegal is part of their catchment.
    Rescue 117 mentions above that there is no SAR Helicopter in the North at all which comes as a surprise to me. Obviously there must be some form of cross border agreement otherwise the rescue above can't happen. Still though, if you get into difficulties along the upper Northern coast it must be a bit of a wait before Helicopter help arrives. (unless there is a base in Scotland that can reach faster?)

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    Rescue 116 is actually Dublin, Rescue 118 covers the Northwest Coast, and seeing as Donegal forms part of the Republic, it comes as no surprise that Donegal is part of their catchment.
    Rescue 117 mentions above that there is no SAR Helicopter in the North at all which comes as a surprise to me. Obviously there must be some form of cross border agreement otherwise the rescue above can't happen. Still though, if you get into difficulties along the upper Northern coast it must be a bit of a wait before Helicopter help arrives. (unless there is a base in Scotland that can reach faster?)

My bad on the call signs, Doesn't HMCG and RAF give SAR cover in Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

EDIT: Opps.....missed the above posts!!

Dublin R116 and Sligo R118 cover SAR in NI. If they are not available, occasionally R177 Royal Navy in Scotland travel over but it's rare enough. No RAF SAR helis in NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Rescue 117 do the four bases have a 2nd heli as back up in case of MX work or if it goes tech? I noticed that there is two down in Waterford anytime I'm down there and noticed on the program that there were two in SNN.

There are 6 helicopters covering the 4 bases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭searescue

For those of you who missed last night: http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1112161

There are 6 helicopters covering the 4 bases.
    So the other two are maintained and can be deployed to any of the stations at a short notice something similar to what my aul company do regarding having spare aircraft and crew on stand by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Klunk001

So the other two are maintained and can be deployed to any of the stations at a short notice something similar to what my aul company do regarding having spare aircraft and crew on stand by.

Yes.

I have to say, this series is much, much better. A bit more of an edge to it, compared to the 117 programme ( personnally I thought it was ok in a cheesy kind of way:D. Having said that it did have a very large audience when originally aired) Not every rescue has a happy ending in reality:(,we are seeing this in the 115 show.

Over all a great series, Nice insight into the recruitment process.
    It'll be sad to see the S61s go, I'm sure the new birds will be lovely, they don't seem to be as sea capable, (probably why the new man needed capsizing training cos it'd take some storm to capsize the current chopper.) Nice little cameo Dara right at the end.

This too shall pass.

Great series, massive improvement over Rescue 117, similar to the massive improvement in Traffic Blues over the previous series. RTE seem to be getting the hang of this type of show!

Possibly of interest to people here might be this series Rescue produced for Scottish Television, who have kindly put the whole series up on Youtube:D

Its been posted here before, but just incase anyone hasn't seen it:
    Rescue

It'll be sad to see the S61s go, I'm sure the new birds will be lovely, they don't seem to be as sea capable, (probably why the new man needed capsizing training cos it'd take some storm to capsize the current chopper.) Nice little cameo Dara right at the end.

not quite,the lads have done dunker training all the way back to the air corps Dauphins in the 1980's.

choppers are top heavy and once the blades stop turning your going to roll over!

Choppers are top heavy(rotors&engines on top) and regardless of the hull design they could still topple over,From memory the IAC used to send there crews to the UK for training in ditching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Just finished watching the last episode of Rescue 115 and I have to say that I really enjoyed watching every episode of the series.

Felt sorry for that guy that came off the bike, once I heard them say he could not feel below his legs. I knew that he was paralysed. Which in reality you wouldn't think would happen on a beach, just goes to show never let your guard down.

Also, the new helicopter looks completely different from the old one. I'll miss seeing the old ones over head!

Have to say fair play to RTE on this series, just keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Can't wait to see the new S-92's myself even though it will also be sad to see the S-61's disappear, they're responsible for many thousands of lives here and around the world. Will probably middle of 2013 before we see the new ones here though.

vulcan57 wrote: »
    Will probably middle of 2013 before we see the new ones here though.

Nope ! First one (the brand new machine) arrives in January to Shannon.
    Bit of a gap before the next ones arrive alright.

Can't wait to see the new S-92's myself even though it will also be sad to see the S-61's disappear, they're responsible for many thousands of lives here and around the world. Will probably middle of 2013 before we see the new ones here though.

Dec or Jan coming for SNN delivery

Edit: beaten too it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭searescue

When are ye looking to get yours?

Around mid 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Looking for a new winchman? Like to travel, not afraid of heights and I make a cracking cup of tea. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Oh! Brilliant !! Can't wait. The Shannon crew on the program said they would be starting training December 12 months ? Presume this part of the program must have been filmed during the filming for the Rescue 117 series ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Oh! Brilliant !! Can't wait. The Shannon crew on the program said they would be starting training December 12 months ? Presume this part of the program must have been filmed during the filming for the Rescue 117 series ?

Well the new recruit to the unit started training late in 2009.

Am I correct in saying there are 4 S-92's coming?
    Meaning there will be 2 S-61's kept as backups??

How will this affect type rating? Meaning crews may have to be current on both types, while only rarely using the S-61..?

Am I correct in saying there are 4 S-92's coming?
    Meaning there will be 2 S-61's kept as backups??

How will this affect type rating? Meaning crews may have to be current on both types, while only rarely using the S-61..?

SAR heli pilots can only be rated for one aircraft. There will be 5 S92s in the state once it's fully up and running.

Hooch wrote: »
    SAR heli pilots can only be rated for one aircraft. There will be 5 S92s in the state once it's fully up and running.

Why are they only allowed to have one TR? my aul crowd the lads were rated on two different aircraft the same with my mate who flys for Ryanair.

Not a clue, would guess it has to do with it being a heli and they have to be at the top of their game

Cheers.

I had been led to believe that there were 4 new ones coming, with the 2 most suitable S-61's being kept on...

So they will now be covering 4 bases 24/7 with 5 airframes? wowzers

Cheers.

I had been led to believe that there were 4 new ones coming, with the 2 most suitable S-61's being kept on...

So they will now be covering 4 bases 24/7 with 5 airframes? wowzers

Yes but the newer ones will have less down time I believe than the S61s meaning one spare will be enough.

To be honest I'm only hearing it all second hand from a colleague as I only have a passing interest. Rescue117 is the man to answer correctly.

Hooch is bang on,5 choppers covering four bases
    for any major maintenance or AOG situation I imagine Norway will send over an aircraft to cover it