Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"knackers"...

• 27-07-2011 7:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Do you use this word, and in what context?.

When I was growing up it was an excepted description for a member of the traveling community, but its rare (if ever) I hear it used in that context these days, thankfully - tbh, I put it on a par with using the N word for black people.

However I do find it acceptable to describe scumbags, and I'm not in the least bit offended if its used in that context in my company.

Anyone with me on that, or is it a word which shouldn't be used in any context?.. (ok, exceptions can probably be made for a knackers yard but since I'm a Dub I've no idea if these even exist anymore).

Lets keep it civil eh?.

Do you mean travellers when saying knacker? 242 votes

Knacker means traveller, I live in the pale
    0% 0 votes
    Knacker means traveller, I live outside the pale
    9% 24 votes
    Knacker means scumbag in general, I live in the pale
    15% 38 votes
    Knacker means scumbag in general, I live outside the pale
    34% 84 votes
    Atari knackuar
    39% 96 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I do, when talking about them in a derogatory manner, usually only when I'm angry and preceded by "fúcking".

I try not to say it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I use at as an alternative to scumbag. Didnt even know it was a slur for travellers until fairly recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

i was hoping you were going to say

"should all be shot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I use "knackers" when threatening our dog with the removal of same if the fecker decides he's not going to what he's told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'd use in a derogatory sense when talking about scumbags, but I try not to use it when talking about travellers because I don't think it's right to denigrate an entire community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Usually use it to describe someone who steals things. So they could easily be a scumbag, pikey, traveller, or a combination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

SV wrote: »
    I do, when talking about them in a derogatory manner, usually only when I'm angry and preceded by "fúcking".

I try not to say it though.

I used it like that too, but strictly to describe scumbags, ie we've a family on our road - great area most, but these people are only "a shower of f*cking knackers".

I'm not too far away from two traveler sites and I've never heard anyone describe them as anything other than "the travellers".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I don't use the term at all, as it is derogatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I always call scumbags "knackers" now too. Travellers are travellers, I wouldn't call them knackers. I did when i was younger too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

When did the term knacker actually become derogatory?

I don't think it always was...so maybe it's just the fact that it's used with a certain affliction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

exceptions can probably be made for a knackers yard but since I'm a Dub I've no idea if these even exist anymore

I'd have thought being a Dub would have given you inside information into things like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

90%+ of people describe travellers as ''knackers'' and whoever tries to deny this is a liar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭animan

I'd use it to describe both depending on who i'm with. Tinker and gypo aswell for pikeys :) Yay for traveller bashing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I remember when we called the knackers "tinkers"

Simpler times..... simpler times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

knacker is a catch all term for me used as a substitute for scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Yes, the word seems to have morphed. A good healthy sign for a living language. From the old meaning which we shall not mention ....... I think it now is meant for the scobies and for people who behave in an anti social manner. But the dress code is pretty anything goes (as long as not conventional) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

that blatter fella speaks the truth. this thread may soon be linked to the PC thread with people denying it.

Wompa1 wrote: »

I don't think it always was...so maybe it's just the fact that it's used with a certain affliction?

I think it always was, at least when I was growing up.

It was like a 'them and us' thing, you just didn't associate with travellers at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    knacker is a catch all term for me used as a substitute for scumbag

I would have thought the opposite .......... SCUMBAG is an all encompassing word that includes KNACKER :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

knackers/cream crackers/snax (rhymes with knacks) all substitutes for scangers or scumbags in my vocabulary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I use the word "knacker" to describe someone who acts like a knacker, ie. people who attack innocent, defenseless people (eg. the elderly), and who generally just do deplorable things that make you despair for humanity.

The lowest of the low in scumbaggery, basically. I would use it to describe someone of the above criteria, whether they happen to be a traveller or not, but don't use it as a slur against all travellers.

As my Dad said once "Not all travellers are knackers, and not all knackers are travellers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Blatter wrote: »
    90%+ of people describe travellers as ''knackers'' and whoever tries to deny this is a liar.

:confused: who made you ****ing king of everyone?

i use the term knacker for the lads you'd see around with their tracksuits tucked into their socks, runners floppin about the place, in a vest, and an addidas cap. if i was referring to travellers I'd probably use the word travellers.

"Creamers" is growing in popularity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I heard it growing up as a reference to members of the travelling community. Same as jerry's and tinkers. Now it seems to have become synonymous with scumbag and used to refer to any anti-social person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Degag wrote: »
    I remember when we called the knackers "tinkers"

Simpler times..... simpler times.

When they worked with tin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I use the word "knacker" to describe someone who acts like a knacker, ie. people who attack innocent, defenseless people (eg. the elderly), and who generally just do deplorable things that make you despair for humanity.

The lowest of the low in scumbaggery, basically. I would use it to describe someone of the above criteria, whether they happen to be a traveller or not, but don't use it as a slur against all travellers.

As my Dad said once "Not all travellers are knackers, and not all knackers are travellers"

True, but a damn high percentage of them are.

+1.

This is more or less my thinking on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

I used to call them members of the travelling community until one of them tried to push me down a set of steps when I was 7 months pregnant now I call them knackers and I try to make it as derogatory as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

"ah ye knacker! :mad::D" --> cheeky friend robs something on you
    "ah ye dirty knacker!:(" -->someone just farted
    basically the same as cunt but less harsh

as well as the obvious scumbag use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Funnily enough knacker means an old codger in German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Do you use this word, and in what context?.

When I was growing up it was an excepted description for a member of the traveling community, but its rare (if ever) I hear it used in that context these days, thankfully - tbh, I put it on a par with using the N word for black people.

However I do find it acceptable to describe scumbags, and I'm not in the least bit offended if its used in that context in my company.

Anyone with me on that, or is it a word which shouldn't be used in any context?.. (ok, exceptions can probably be made for a knackers yard but since I'm a Dub I've no idea if these even exist anymore).

Lets keep it civil eh?.

Is the N word ****??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

foxy06 wrote: »
    I used to call them members of the travelling community until one of them tried to push me down a set of steps when I was 7 months pregnant now I call them knackers and I try to make it as derogatory as possible.

Seems a little harsh to judge all travellers on the basis of what one of them did to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

One of my friends uses the best phrase to describe getting your hole. In his squeeky voice he'll always ask "Did ya get your knackers?" for some reason it just sounds right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

foxy06 wrote: »

What happened?

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Is the N word ****??

Yes, and if your wondering why I didn't post the word is because while I'm personally not uncomfortable slipping it into a conversation like this I bare it in mind that its still offensive for other's to read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

A knacker is a person who butchers horses. People used to take ill horses to them, and the majority of the time they were travellers. So thats why people call the knackers.

I myself use it to describe people who are dirty looking, disgusting, scumbags etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

More likely to call a traveller a pikey then a knacker.

Knacker is generally used for the scumbags going around, though I've been using scobie more lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I still use the term but tend to use 'knackers' as another form of 'scumbag'. I have started to use the term scumbag now though. I have never called the travellers knackers by any means, they are more intelligent than that believe me! I usually call travellers 'travellers' or by their proper title.

More likely to call a traveller a pikey then a knacker.

I actually first heard "pikey" on the movie Snatch.

RayM wrote: »
    Seems a little harsh to judge all travellers on the basis of what one of them did to you.

Yes I agree it would be a little harsh but after working for years in pubs and living quite close to a halting site I have yet to come across one that didn't deserve to be called a knacker. Everyone I have met is the same. I'm sure there are nice ones but I have yet to meet them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Funnily enough knacker means an old codger in German.

Is it also a type of sausage in Germany ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It's the context which decides the meaning imo.

I think 'knacker' is used as an alternative to 'scumbag' to describe undesireables but some people use it to describe Travellers and that offensive (to Travellers at least).

As was said scumbags are scumbags be they white, black, traveller, banker, male, female whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Wompa1 wrote: »

It's always been derogatory.

I know the word from a young age and would never say it to someone's face unless you are looking to fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Yes, and if your wondering why I didn't post the word is because while I'm personally not uncomfortable slipping it into a conversation like this I bare it in mind that its still offensive for other's to read it.

But It's not offensive for people to read..Knacker,Jippo,Pikey,Tinker,cream crackers or snax??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

i just use it for another word for scumbags or other such lowlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

dillo2k10 wrote: »
    A knacker is a person who butchers horses. People used to take ill horses to them, and the majority of the time they were travellers. So thats why people call the knackers.
    Kind of like ****, the word came from the term Negros, ie a race of people from Nigeria, then became Nigra, then Nigga.
    Funny thing is that travellers find the term derogatory but some coloured people use the word **** to each other..

moco wrote: »
    What happened?

Last day of my maternity leave working in a pub two youngish ones came in walked straight past the bar and up a set of steps to the pool table. Looked around for an adult with them but they were on their own. Went up and told them they were too young and they would have to leave. They said no problem and when I was walking back down the steps I hear them running and I grab the bannister as one of them shouts bitch and tries to push me down the stairs. Pair of little ****s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I put it on a par with using the N word for black people.

The comedian Louis CK once said the term "the n word" is more offensive than the word ******. Saying "the n word" puts the word into the persons head you are talking to. The word ****** in and of itself is fine. It's the context of where it's used that's offensive.

Plus why is every "offensive" word put on a par with ******? No word is the history of mankind can come close to it.

Knackers is used to describe travellers and/or scumbags depending on where you are in the country.

In galway(city anyway) it's exclusively travellers.

Prop Joe wrote: »
    But It's not offensive for people to read..Knacker,Jippo,Pikey,Tinker,cream crackers or snax??

Thats not what the discussion is about.

But to answer you, and I won't be drawn further.. I believe a lot of people would view the word 'N*gger' to be much worse so I'd simply prefer not to use it here.