Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German Plates on Japanese cars?

• 27-07-2011 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

Thoughts???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭dell1211

Dont think they have a choice over there, you have to have a number plate on the front and rear of the car.

sacarfan-nissan-gtr-fire-fighter-01.jpg&sa=X&ei=3l0wTuawNsaXhQelhYQY&ved=0CAUQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNGCGDTGACyLF9Lx77fVk1J5suFjeQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm starting to go off the German plate look, there's too many about. Might change back to a regular metal stamped plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

madness ...lots of VAG heads would be giving out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

A tyre fitter who started in my place has a 00 Nissan Maxima with german plates and AMG wheels:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

I know of a citroen c6 with german plates :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

A tyre fitter who started in my place has a 00 Nissan Maxima with german plates and AMG wheels:rolleyes:

I bet the ladies love him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

In Germany you can select your own initials or words etc on your number plate for something like 20euro. It still has to have the state you're in etc but there is a section you can make your own.

I bet the ladies love him

Yeah its pimpin:P

He says he put the wheels and regs on to confuse people as the car has all the nissan/maxima etc badges removed.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Is he from eastern Europe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Looks class man, I've a set of german plates on me micra. 4 doors for more whore sticker goes well with the plate too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Idiots in my opinion.

Why exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Dunno, maybe because the car is Japanese, and the plates are German, therefore, it would make more sense to put Jap plates on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

sure aren't the VAGinas puttin fake carbon bonnets on their ****boxes nowadays anyway :pac:

German plates on Jap stuff that isn't in Germany looks daft. German plates on a Skoda looks sofakingweetoddad too, they look almost as sofakingweetoddad on actual German stuff too though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

If you like them then get them. Who cares what people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Guy in Limerick has a Focus saloon with German plates....the rear one is yellow :confused:
    Maybe he's on here, if so please take them off. They look ridiculous.:p

I was looking at that when i was up with yourself :D

Was going to ask where he got the AMG Monoblocks from, would look nicer on my clk :pac:

They look enormous tho, are they 18"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

It's just a style of font folks.. no different to italics or bold or Yellow reg's... If they like it let hem have it.. Nothing to get your panties in a bunch over..

OSI wrote: »
    You wouldn't put a VW badge on a Skoda, looks stupid and gives the impression of wishful thinking...

Sorry, But who was talking Badges here?

So what plates do you put on a civic in germany?
    Or on a Golf in Japan?

I honestly have no idea as to what the stupid hype is regarding plates.

Same as asking
    Why do some people buy Toyota's in Ireland ? They are Japanese after all ain't they?

Stupid mentality if you ask me.

Plug wrote: »
    Is he from eastern Europe?

No, it hasn't got dark tinted windows:P
    cisk wrote: »
    I was looking at that when i was up with yourself :D

Was going to ask where he got the AMG Monoblocks from, would look nicer on my clk :pac:

They look enormous tho, are they 18"?

Yeah they are 18's....and not replicas either:eek:

Absurdum wrote: »
    sure aren't the VAGinas puttin fake carbon bonnets on their ****boxes nowadays anyway :pac:

sure is,check out this badboy

189372_10150731551290176_805400175_20081489_4312993_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

vectra wrote: »

So what plates do you put on a civic in germany?

German ones
    vectra wrote: »
    Or on a Golf in Japan?

Japanese ones.

Theres a pattern forming there. It continues with anythign in Ireland on Irish plates, anything in the UK on UK plates etc etc......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I can't believe some people thing it's wrong to have german plates on a non german car! But german style font on an Irish plate is ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

I dont think its wrong, I just think anyone who does it is an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Anyone who thinks German font on a number plate makes their car look better is slightly mental. Standard pressed metal plate ftw.

German ones

Japanese ones.

Theres a pattern forming there. It continues with anythign in Ireland on Irish plates, anything in the UK on UK plates etc etc......

So if it is OK for a Volks or BMW to have German font here then why not a Civic or whatever?

he meant its not OK, unless said cars are german registered...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

felt spec standard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭jame5_b

So if someone likes german font and has a non german car there an idiot??
    Yea that's great thinking...
    It doesn't matter if they may prefer that style font an idiot is an idiot I suppose.

What about a MINI? There designed and engineered in Germany but built in the UK?

Is someone an idiot for putting german plates on a MINI?

jame5_b wrote: »
    So if someone likes german font and has a non german car there an idiot??
    Yea that's great thinking...
    It doesn't matter if they may prefer that style font an idiot is an idiot I suppose.

What about a MINI? There designed and engineered in Germany but built in the UK?

I'm guessing you have them on your MINI ?

In my eyes. Yes.
    OP wanted opinions. I stated mine. Never said I was going to stop anyone from doing so, I just think its silly...

If you REALLY insist on putting non-Irish style plates on an Irish Mini, It was designed by a Norwegian/Spanish American born in Morocco, to echo a 1950s British designed car for a German company which own the original British one, so I've no idea what style plates to put on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

On a German registered car fine...on an Irish registered car sad

I've even seen people put german dealership badges on as well...very very tragic

Wonder do they put on a german accent as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

furtzy wrote: »
    On a German registered car fine...on an Irish registered car sad

I've even seen people put german dealership badges on as well...very very tragic

Wonder do they put on a german accent as well?

Vot do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

years ago, there was an aul lad around the corner from me who had a Soviet flag on the front of his Lada, diplomat-style

Legend:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

That reminds me of the sky blue Lada Riva that I used to see in the Ballycullen area with K G B in large letters down the side.

Think I'll do a complete U-turn an get meself a set of corps diplomatique plates:

ch_cdvd40-201.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

The fake test/seal stickers on any irish car is/looks worse than a german style on a jap car.

View2-6905137.jpeg

This style with the Irish County and dashes between the numbers/letters look good.

Most definitely, complete and utter me thinks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

RoverJames wrote: »
    Most definitely, complete and utter me thinks :pac:

Even moreso on a Mini. But surely no one would be that stupid.

How can someone be an idiot if they do it purely for aesthetic reasons on their own car to suit their taste? Taste thankfully differs but it certainly doesn't make the driver an idiot.

In much the same way as I would consider someone who went about their daily business in a tuxedo to be an idiot even if were suiting their own taste I would consider someone with German plates on a Bini to be an idiot. It is quite simply a matter of opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

Why do you have to label someone an idiot because they are doing something you would not consider doing yourself,why can't people just look and say "well he is doing something i wouldn't do but more power to him" live and let live.

tossy wrote: »
    Why do you have to label someone an idiot because they are doing something you would not consider doing yourself,why can't people just look and say "well he is doing something i wouldn't do but more power to him" live and let live.

Very politcally correct there :pac:
    As said, it's a matter of opinion, did you not ever consider someone an idiot for something they did? I don't go around pulling German plates off cars, I just think it looks daft and voiced than in a thread on the internet. Obviously all the lads with German plates on there cars won't agree, such is life, do I give a feck, no, not really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I'm on the border by having them on an Opel, not a VAG car (thank god ;) ) but German all the same.

I just like the font, I have the county, the dashes, and the IRL euro sign:

100_1775-1.jpg

I'm on the border by having them on an Opel, not a VAG car (thank god ;) ) but German all the same.

I just like the font, I have the county, the dashes, and the IRL euro sign:

'tis the ones with all the German muck and German dealer number plate surrounds that look daft imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

RoverJames wrote: »
    'tis the ones with all the German muck and German dealer number plate surrounds that look daft imo.

Or even worse! The ones that are split like:

02T N567

With the service stickers between the letters and a German dealer plate surrounds.

Daft and with the plate arranged that way, illegal.

People still buy Fiats..
    Are they also to be considered idiots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

Must be this guy I spotted the other day. Debadged and the front looking like a Micra.

168829.jpg

^^ Thats the very one.:D