Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

re SMOKING BAN IN CARS

• 27-07-2011 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

what do all you car enthusiasts out there think of the proposed smoking ban in cars esp when kids are on board ill start by saying totally agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I hate the smell of it in the car, but having it out the window helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭dell1211

Samich wrote: »
    I hate the smell of it in the car, but having it out the window helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

First part yes, second part no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I would happily see smoking while driving banned, and smoking with children in the car. Beyond that, though, I can't see what business it is of the State what people do in their own car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I'd happily ban it while the vehicle is moving, and while kids are in the car. Hopefully it'll stop people throwing it out the window too. Country is destroyed with butts everywhere, on footpaths, on roads, on recreational greens, on beaches ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

smoking with children in the car - ok, but otherwise I have to say I think this is a step too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh, good parents know not to smoke in cars with children anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Anan1 wrote: »
    I would happily see smoking while driving banned, and smoking with children in the car. Beyond that, though, I can't see what business it is of the State what people do in their own car.
    Owen wrote: »
    I'd happily ban it while the vehicle is moving, and while kids are in the car. Hopefully it'll stop people throwing it out the window too. Country is destroyed with butts everywhere, on footpaths, on roads, on recreational greens, on beaches ...

Out of curiosity, do ye smoke?

I think if someone is voting yes/no to this they should at least state of the start of the post whether they smoke or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Out of curiosity, do ye smoke?

I'm the only member of my family that doesn't.

OSI wrote: »
    So the government shouldn't be allowed to tell you that you can't use a mobile while driving? The government shouldn't be able to tell you can't have sex while driving?
    As with smoking, both of those activities pose a potential risk to others. Did you actually read my post?

Owen wrote: »
    I'm the only member of my family that doesn't.

I gathered somewhat, I smoke, and I'd be against it, it's just going to be biased opinions being hit back and forth, this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭jimmysull

2 reasons I totally agree with this:

1. Smoking in an enclosed space is dangerous for other people in that enclosed space, especially kids.

2. Lighting a cigarette takes as much concentration if not more than holding a phone. If one is dangerous then the other is too.

@Captain Morgan
    Govt has every right to tell people what to do in their own property if that property can travel at speed in a public place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

Because I don't have to dodge flying cigarette butts on my motorbike or bicycle if people are throwing fag butts out of their sitting rrom windows.

How many vehicles on the road are taxis/public transport/commercial vehicles/company cars 20-30% maybe? Smoking is already illegal in all of these, not that it makes the blindest bit of difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Off the smokes 7 weeks now, don't have any kids.

When i did smoke I would not dream of smoking in the car with any of my nieces/nephews/godkids in the car.

BUT, on a long drive, there are few things nicer than the odd smoke here and there along the way.....especially when driving across the country, late at night cos of a urgent service call...

No bloody way should the government bring this in. Next thing they'll be banning driving with one hand on the wheel while you change gears....

I think if someone is voting yes/no to this they should at least state of the start of the post whether they smoke or not.
    In fairness, only an idiot would allow that to affect their answer. I'm an ex smoker, and smoking while driving is no more or less dangerous now than it was when I did it.
    jimmysull wrote: »
    @Captain Morgan
    Govt has every right to tell people what to do in their own property if that property can travel at speed in a public place
    People, or drivers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭jimmysull

People, or drivers?

In the case of posing a danger on the road, drivers
    In the case of posing a danger to other people in the car, people

In fairness, only an idiot would allow that to affect their answer. I'm an ex smoker, and smoking while driving is no more or less dangerous now than it was when I did it.

Beyond actually lighting it I don't see any danger to it, most people who smoke whilst driving and well used to it and fairly well capable of managing the car to compensate for the fag in their hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

OSI wrote: »
    Can't see how smoking while driving is any less dangerous than using a mobile phone while driving, so I would agree with banning smoking in cars. I would also agree in a blanket ban on smoking in any area that children are present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Fauntleroy

I pretty much only smoke in my car, I find it the nicest place to smoke. there's a multitude of things that distract your attention a hell of a lot more than lighting a cigarette (Which I always do at lights anyway) such as the radio, changing songs, bad weather, useless drivers, a car full of screaming kids.

This is the kind of legislation that is just meant to look like the government is keeping busy, what a load of tosh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

biko wrote: »
    Meh, good parents know not to smoke in cars with children anyway.

This law is to try protect the stupid and ignorant, as usual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I agree with the ban smoking whilst driving/road safety argument, thats all.

The other two proposals infringes on civil liberties in an inconsistent manner and the state should be told to fúck off. Its no different to pregnant mothers smoking or smoking at home with kids running around. Parents should know better but I dont want a complete nanny state either.

I dont smoke btw

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

This shouldn't be brought it and if it is, why not ban radio controls, coffee/tea, sweets etc.?

Banning it just because people smoke in the car around children is not a good enough reason. Sure, lets ban smoking in houses too while we are thinking of the children.
    It's not a nice thing but I'm sure if you have any brains you wont do it.

I smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Its banned in my car already. The OH isnt allowed smoke, whether its a long or short journey. Fecking ashes get everywhere and then there is the smell.

So I either pull over and she gets out and smokes or she doesnt smoke at all (which pleases me more)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

The children may not be old enough or in a position to make the choice not to be in a car where people smoke. If you smoke with them in the car you are forcing the smoke onto them. That's not fair.

No offense meant to anyone but smoking is really one of the most idiotic things anyone can do but that's not the issue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I wouldn't smoke with kids in a car, not that I have any, but I'm fcuked if someone's going to tell me I can't smoke in my car when I'm on my own or with an adult who gets into my car knowing that I smoke.

It's a load of balls anyhow, when the smoking ban came in it became illegal for truckers, taxi drivers, people in vans and even company cars to smoke because it was 'in the work place'. Hasn't stopped them and I've yet to hear of anyone being prosecuted for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Mc Love wrote: »
    So I either pull and she gets out and smokes or she doesnt smoke at all (which pleases me more)

You pull, she smokes? Nice! :D;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Yakult wrote: »
    This shouldn't be brought it and if it is, why not ban radio controls, coffee/tea, sweets etc.?

Banning it just because people smoke in the car around children is not a good enough reason. Sure, lets ban smoking in houses too while we are thinking of the children.
    It's not a nice thing but I'm sure if you have any brains you wont do it.

I smoke.

Coffee and tea should also be banned - it's a car not a cafe. Though they are in fact banned by implication - that is, not being in full control. I am aware of prosecutions in the UK, possibly there are some here also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

they should ban Magpies because when you see one you Have to look around for another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Ban the kids instead, awful distracting so they are :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭DrZeuss

I think children should be banned from cars - they can be a terrible distraction! :P

Edit - Damn u boomstick!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I'd like to see how this will be enforced more than anything. Sure they do a great job at enforcing the mobile phone law....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Yakult wrote: »
    I'd like to see how this will be enforced more than anything. Sure they do a great job at enforcing the mobile phone law....

Very true!
    Also, you often see taxi drivers smoking in the car while waiting at a rank. I've yet to see a Garda have a word with one of them for doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭ultain

If smoking is so bad..Why isn't there huge demonstrations in the streets to ban it all together? oh wait! there is a whole lot of money been made from its sale. Ban smoking while driving for the kids sake?..Horse bollocks, if they (Government) really cared they would get rid of it altogether!

BAN THE BLOODY WEED!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

No it shouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Is the government gonna order everyone who owns a car to remove their built in cigerrate lighter ?

€80 fine and 2 penalty points for havIng one ?

I'm a non smoker and I think this is a load of cack.

If someone crashs their car while driving because they were lighting one up then it their own fault and only have themselves to blame and they will be hit by it with high insurance costs and so on.

Someone already said earlier if they smoke with kids around then it's bad parenting and the government can't tell people what to do with their kids.

People should already have the common sense already to not do this and of they don't it's their own fault.

jimmysull wrote: »
    In the case of posing a danger on the road, drivers
    In the case of posing a danger to other people in the car, people
    Agreed. So I see the justification for banning drivers from smoking and for banning smoking in the presence of kids, but not for banning adults from smoking in a car with other adults?
    Beyond actually lighting it I don't see any danger to it, most people who smoke whilst driving and well used to it and fairly well capable of managing the car to compensate for the fag in their hand.
    It's all grand until you drop it.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

anyone who smokes around a child is a git,end of. Anyone who smokes around non smokers who may object is a git also.

(signed reformed ex git)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

They sould also ban folk brushing there hair, putting on make up, looking at them selfs while driving,farting,picking nose,putting fist up at other drivers,rubber necking, even sex in the back seat ban it all,

I think it will, in two ways. Firstly, people will be less likely to smoke in cars with their children, which, even if small, is a help. Secondly, it'll help to make it less socially acceptable to smoke in front of kids. Hard to measure, and probably long-term, but it will help.
    Lighting a cigarette while driving is easy and so, for the most part, is smoking. The danger comes that one time when you drop it in your lap. It happens very rarely, but when it does happen it's very dangerous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I don't agree with banning it outright, but when kids are in the car then it should be banned. Saying that the parents are going to smoke at home anyway isn't really a good enough reason not to ban it in cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

It's a load of shíte.

This is from a non-driver non smokers perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Fix the HSE and stop ****ing around wasting time with bull**** like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

They are only talking about some measures to prevent smoking when kids are in the car. The state has a duty of care towards children and it certainly makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Next you know they'll make it illegal to hold your partners head under the covers when you fart!

Or better still it'll become illegal to put the child lock on the electric windows and fart on a long trip from Dublin to Galway the morning after a feed of Guinness.

MADNESS I TELL YOU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

dharn wrote: »
    what do all you car enthusiasts out there think of the proposed smoking ban in cars esp when kids are on board ill start by saying totally agree

smoking in cars is one of the most vile things imaginable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

My opinion is that the Govt should work on implementing the current laws before bringing in a stupid one like this .

We drink in two different towns and in both towns and many different pubs , we find that people start smoking as soon as closing time comes .

This includes pubs that have won awards for different reasons , and indeed pubs that have been visited by Sunday World Pub Spy .

Its like speeding and other motoring laws , - they bring in new rules and they ain't even bothering to implement the current laws .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

They are only talking about some measures to prevent smoking when kids are in the car. The state has a duty of care towards children and it certainly makes sense.
    So you'd agree with the extension of this into private houses?