Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We're getting a property tax while Bertie rakes it in on lectures

• 27-07-2011 8:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/bertie-bags-40000-for-tips-on-celtic-tiger-success-2831887.html

"Bertie Ahern dedicated his career to re-inventing his country's economic and political stakes in global affairs. He persuaded his fellow politicians and citizens to accept short-term sacrifices to achieve long-term gain. His ability to persuade his constituents to follow his vision provides lessons for even the most seasoned executives."

Pass the sick bag quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Does he throw in the suicide advice as a free bonus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Mines A Bass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Is it a guide of "what not to do".

He had jack **** to do with the prosperity. Low interest rates from the European bank and rising global market.... it was the rainbow government that lowered our corporation tax... etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There he goes with that memory problem again. Poor chap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Well enough Irish people fell for his 'Man of de Peeple' bolloxology so they can't really complain.

For the rest of us? Well we have to live with the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

ollaetta wrote: »
    He persuaded his fellow politicians and citizens to accept short-term sacrifices to achieve long-term gain.

Delusional doesn't begin to describe it.

Reminds me of that saying "Fools and their money are soon parted"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It shows the calibre of people that he gives speaches to!! If they havent heard that Ireland is at the nadir of financial ruin as a result of berties mismanagement then good luck to them and i hope they all take on board what he says and apply it to the day to day running of their companies/business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I have more respect for the smack addicts on the boardwalk than i do this man

If its any consolation, he's not fully getting the royal treatment at home:

‘Bertie, you b****x’: Former Taoiseach gets an earful in Galway'
    AN ANGRY PUNTER heckled Bertie Ahern as he arrived at his old haunt the Galway Races yesterday.

Racegoer Brendan McCarthy from Limerick shouted “Bertie, you bollox!” at the former Taoiseach as he strolled into the grounds. Mr McCarthy later explained to Barry Moran of the Irish Sun (print edition): “He was here during the good times and then he fecked off when the bad times began. It annoyed me when I just saw him swanning in here without a care in the world. He’s got some cheek.”

Seeing that Bertie was headed for the restaurant, Mr McCarthy continued: “He’s going in there now to eat chocolate mousse – sure that’s too good for him.”

According to the Irish Sun, Mr Ahern actually tucked in to slow-roasted prime sirloin with mash.

The Irish Independent reports that when asked about his opinion on the presidential race which he was once widely expected to enter, Mr Ahern told reporters: “Ah sure they’re welcome to it. Let them at it.”

However, other Fianna Fáilers were having a better day. Former Finance Minister Charlie McCreevy will be enjoying a share of €11,385 in winnings after his wife Noeleen’s horse Catch the Eye came first in the day’s last race. Asked how the man once known as ‘Champagne Charlie’ would want to celebrate, Noeleen told the Irish Times: “Charlie will want to go straight home.”
    http://www.thejournal.ie/bertie-you-bx-former-taoiseach-gets-an-earful-in-galway-187481-Jul2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

CJC999 wrote: »
    It shows the calibre of people that he gives speaches to!! If they havent heard that Ireland is at the nadir of financial ruin as a result of berties mismanagement then good luck to them and i hope they all take on board what he says and apply it to the day to day running of their companies/business.
    The problem is that their cronies in government will corrupt the country so they can still get paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Biggins wrote: »
    If its any consolation, he's not fully getting the royal treatment at home:

‘Bertie, you b****x’: Former Taoiseach gets an earful in Galway'

http://www.thejournal.ie/bertie-you-bx-former-taoiseach-gets-an-earful-in-galway-187481-Jul2011/

Well done Brendan McCarthy

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

is he still being chauffeured around in a state Merc?

Can we not have add another referendum to the list about cutting free former FF Taoisigh?

Indeed.
    I'd buy the man a drink if I met him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

"He persuaded his fellow politicians and citizens to accept long-term sacrifices to achieve short-term gain."

Fixed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Is it too late for him to get into the presidential race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭ceekay74

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The real issue is with the person who'd pay him.

They're the real idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Jaysus bertie looks about 15-20 years older now that his 37k a year make-up artist is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Man, Bertie looks a lot like Werzel Gummage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

In all fairness to him, if people are willing to listen then he may as well. He not the stupid one here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Where else is he gonna get it from...?

The horses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Well I just hope he declares any income he receives from it to the taxman. We all know how he feels about being non tax compliant.

Skip to 1 minute for his views on the subject ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He should commit suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

He was here during the good times and then he fecked off when the bad times began. It annoyed me when I just saw him swanning in here without a care in the world. He’s got some cheek.

That quote sums up the average FG supporter perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Of all the folks in the world that get payed to talk bollocks Bertie would be the least annoying.

War criminals like that Tony Blair fella get millions for it. People even pay Führer Bush to come and talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

RichieC wrote: »
    People even pay Führer Bush to come and talk.

Judging from his past work those are presumably for comedy purposes rather than political insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

This is the kind of stuff that really grinds my gears and it's something thats happening all over the place.
    The guys that made the major decisions, the big players, have all gotten out of this mess without a scratch either by retiring and doing the speeches circuit in this case, by being given a handy number somewhere else, or in the case of the businessmen/bankers by going out abroad/moving their assets into someone elses name.
    Still no sign of any accountability, no sign of any movement on court cases (almost three years later) and all the while these guys continue to live in relative comfort, well insulated from the cuts.

Bertie himself has been using state cars and resources to get to book signings and personal appearances, bringing down the office of the taoiseach (if he could bring it any lower) by appearing in that rag and advertisements for that rag..........
    my BP is going up - you get the drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Downlinz wrote: »
    That quote sums up the average FG supporter perfectly.

Would say it somes up pretty much anybody in this country who has been affected by the downturn magnifies the idiotic economic policies of this idiot.
    Fair play to that McCarthy man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Guill wrote: »
    Mines A Bass.

How does one mine a Bass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Would people stop calling this crook "Bertie" as if he's a cuddly teddy bear?

Ahern, the man who was given a house as a present by a property developer, is a crook. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

RichieC wrote: »
    Of all the folks in the world that get payed to talk bollocks Bertie would be the least annoying.

War criminals like that Tony Blair fella get millions for it. People even pay Führer Bush to come and talk.

And Ahern was one of their partners in the Coalition of the Killing, allowing American planes to stop off here on the way to the slaughter in the ME. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

I have to laugh at the posters on here decrying Bertie "digout" Ahern, when if you were being honest the majority of you probably voted the clown into power, and in all likelihood will vote his "soldiers of destitution" back in again next chance you get .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Us and them folks. One guy defrauds the state of 250,000 euro in welfare payments and is rightfully sent down for 12 years, another defrauds the state of it's future and not only does'nt serve a day behind bars put gets a fat pension and 40k a pop for dinner speechs. Us and them folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

The-Rigger wrote: »
    He should commit suicide.
    No need to stoop to his level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I have to laugh at the posters on here decrying Bertie "digout" Ahern, when if you were being honest the majority of you probably voted the clown into power, and in all likelihood will vote his "soldiers of destitution" back in again next chance you get .

Cop on
    He was in one constituency and one constituency only. Last time I checked I was only allowed to vote in my consituency in the west and no other constituency. Same would go for many more people here.
    Unfortunately it took a long time for the nation to wake up to what his party was - extremely corrupted crooks for many that belong in FF. I firmly believe we would not be in as deep in **** if it wasn't for bertie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I firmly believe we would not be in as deep in **** if it wasn't for bertie.

I agree in one aspect,as the most powerful man in the country at time,there should had been laws brought in to tight control on the banks and cut down on spending,famous example was increasing the dole when there where plenty of jobs available..

Other aspect,he wasnt the director in the banks at the times who gave out loans regardless of their customers inability to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/bertie-bags-40000-for-tips-on-celtic-tiger-success-2831887.html

"Bertie Ahern dedicated his career to re-inventing his country's economic and political stakes in global affairs. He persuaded his fellow politicians and citizens to accept short-term sacrifices to achieve long-term gain. His ability to persuade his constituents to follow his vision provides lessons for even the most seasoned executives."

Pass the sick bag quick!

Americans are not known for their intellectual abilities, good aul bertie had it sussed out long ago.

'Connecting you with the world's greatest minds'

PMSLMAO

I agree in one aspect,as the most powerful man in the country at time,there should had been laws brought in to tight control on the banks and cut down on spending,famous example was increasing the dole when there where plenty of jobs available..

Other aspect,he wasnt the director in the banks at the times who gave out loans regardless of their customers inability to pay.
    The guy told people to go off and commit suicide.

He did not have a bank account for decades despite being minister for finance/taoiseach.

His memory when it came to large sums of money was sketchy to say the least.

His government were closely associated with bankers and builders and association he himself did nothing to cut.

These four points alone are enough to hammer the guy with never mind everything else - yet off he goes into the sunset - happy out.

Seriously, its not easy for the people of this country who are going to be getting 18 odd billion removed from their pockets, and left in hoc for generations to the EU/IMF without a pension fund left, to watch as this guy and his ilk (and there are many of them) piss all over us.
    He's probably claiming artist exemption on the speaking as well/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 dublinsd

Blah Blah...a country of moaners.....when are we going to do something about it? Its fair enough to say YES Bertie and CO are all white collar scumbags....listenin to the same crap for the last 5 years. This place will never change....Dont give a damn anymore...leaving with my degree in 12 months for ozy...thanks to the state for puttin me through college as a mature student. I have listened to every idiot in this place over the last years..--OH YOU DONT OWN A HOUSE, OH I HAVE 2! DO YOU LIKE MY PRADA BAG? ITS WORTH 700...
    Feckin STATE of this country...its people...and its attitudes...I hope David Mc Williams is right in what he predicted. No wonder there is a massive problem with drugs...drink the generation before...Seriously! Just cant wait for the day I leave.....35 years of runnin about in circles.....renting dodgy flats...payin through the nose for everything....stupid garda force...regulators....bankers....politicians...aint nothin left of the people.......and who voted them in? all the stupid fools who were buyin the property. Dublin and Galway blood in me....but now I cant even stand the Irish..........goodridins to bad ****..

kippy wrote: »
    These four points alone are enough to hammer the guy with never mind everything else - yet off he goes into the sunset - happy out.

All guilty tbh,alot of them before the election "retired" to save their pensions.

This is the kind of stuff that really grinds my gears and it's something thats happening all over the place.
    The guys that made the major decisions, the big players, have all gotten out of this mess without a scratch either by retiring and doing the speeches circuit in this case, by being given a handy number somewhere else, or in the case of the businessmen/bankers by going out abroad/moving their assets into someone elses name.
    Still no sign of any accountability, no sign of any movement on court cases (almost three years later) and all the while these guys continue to live in relative comfort, well insulated from the cuts.

Bertie himself has been using state cars and resources to get to book signings and personal appearances, bringing down the office of the taoiseach (if he could bring it any lower) by appearing in that rag and advertisements for that rag..........
    my BP is going up - you get the drift.

BERTIE IS A MOTHER OF ALL CNUTS,, THAT GUY ON THE VIDEO HERE...

HE IS BITCHING ABOUT BERTIE HALF THE FRIGGIN TIME.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQwppPeiD2k

dublinsd wrote: »
    Blah Blah...a country of moaners.....when are we going to do something about it? Its fair enough to say YES Bertie and CO are all white collar scumbags....listenin to the same crap for the last 5 years. This place will never change....Dont give a damn anymore...leaving with my degree in 12 months for ozy...thanks to the state for puttin me through college as a mature student. I have listened to every idiot in this place over the last years..--OH YOU DONT OWN A HOUSE, OH I HAVE 2! DO YOU LIKE MY PRADA BAG? ITS WORTH 700...
    Feckin STATE of this country...its people...and its attitudes...I hope David Mc Williams is right in what he predicted. No wonder there is a massive problem with drugs...drink the generation before...Seriously! Just cant wait for the day I leave.....35 years of runnin about in circles.....renting dodgy flats...payin through the nose for everything....stupid garda force...regulators....bankers....politicians...aint nothin left of the people.......and who voted them in? all the stupid fools who were buyin the property. Dublin and Galway blood in me....but now I cant even stand the Irish..........goodridins to bad ****..
    You have a very negative outlook although I understand your thinking, best of luck abroad, every country has it's issues and it is sometimes only when you live there that you realise this.

Do you know why people dont "up arms" and do something about it? Because most of them are genuinely worried about what could happen if they do that.

Despite what's been said there are still over 1.5 million people in gainful employment in this country who really don't want to upset the apple cart with their employment - directly or indirectly.
    The whole country are aware that any major "uprising" as certain people are after, would lead to massive uncertainty for all sectors of this society.

We shouldnt and dont need anything this radical too see the wrongdoers punished (believe me, there were wrongdoers in this mess) and a cleanup of the regulation and political system.
    Thankfully, some of that is happening, but the whole punishing the people who did have a major impact hasn't and probably won't happen.

yes, i can fondly remember boardsies having orgasams over bertie when he was 'in power' over on the useless politics forum.

it was riddled with ff dinosaurs

All guilty tbh,alot of them before the election "retired" to save their pensions.

Yep they did, shouldn't stop us hitting them in their pensions - they were somehow able to add a .6% levy to private sector pension funds, how about a 90% levy on pensions over 30 K pa.

And by the way, if there aren't some serious players in the dock after this investigation has been completed (if only for failing to assist with an investigation as the report outlines) then we should be asking for the nucleur option.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/more-time-given-to-odce-as-anglo-witnesses-refuse-to-co-operate-514436.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Seriously, its not easy for the people of this country who are going to be getting 18 odd billion removed from their pockets, and left in hoc for generations to the EU/IMF without a pension fund left, to watch as this guy and his ilk (and there are many of them) piss all over us.
    He's probably claiming artist exemption on the speaking as well/

This is exactly it. There is an arguement thrown about the place that we all lost the run of ourselves buying property, cars and holidays, in which we all did not. Whether one behaved foolishly with money or not, there will be hardship in store for this nation. And we have to wake up every day knowing what kind of a future is in store for us, just to see the very people that got us here rewarded. No accountabilty whatsoever. I believe if we were to see justice against these people - the bankers, politicians and developers - the people that brought our economy to ruins - we'd be able to cope at swallowing the bitter pills that will be forced upon us.

I think the link you proved showed judges are out of touch with reality,those people should had being called before the court and jailed for contempt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Cop on
    He was in one constituency and one constituency only. Last time I checked I was only allowed to vote in my consituency in the west and no other constituency. Same would go for many more people here.
    Unfortunately it took a long time for the nation to wake up to what his party was - extremely corrupted crooks for many that belong in FF. I firmly believe we would not be in as deep in **** if it wasn't for bertie.

sorry mate i don't buy that. He was the leader yes. But he could not have attained power if all the rest of the idiot electorate in this banana republic didn't vote his shower into office time & time again.

as for taking a long time to wake up. do me a flippin favour matey! have you never heard of haughey, dick burke, p. flynn.

i agree with you on one thing it sure took a long time for our idiot electorate to cop on to cute hurism & stroke politics. sadly the country had to be destroyed first.