Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

520d - Is this the new Avensis?

• 27-07-2011 12:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭

Just an observation I made today was that I am seeing more and more 520d's and less and less Avensii. Even when I get a glance behind the wheel I am starting to see the sort of mundane types of people that one used to always see driving the latter car.

With the Mk3 Avensis having been quite underwhelming and the new 5 Series having gotten quite sensible (i.e. dull to drive) and the price having dipped below 40k, could this really be the case? Could the F10 5 Series have really replaced the Mk2 Avensis as the main staple of every school principal and civil servant in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

LOL. I think you are going to need to mention taxis and white vans at least if you are going to hit every stereotype and generalization you can.

http://www.motorcheck.ie/blog/strong-start-for-new-car-registrations/
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0711/breaking37.html

I suspect you just notice 520ds more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Avensii
    Avensiseses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Passat is the new aventis in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Qashqai is the vehicle of choice for the mass goers of 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭dell1211

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Just an observation I made today was that I am seeing more and more 520d's and less and less Avensii. Even when I get a glance behind the wheel I am starting to see the sort of mundane types of people that one used to always see driving the latter car.

With the Mk3 Avensis having been quite underwhelming and the new 5 Series having gotten quite sensible (i.e. dull to drive) and the price having dipped below 40k, could this really be the case? Could the F10 5 Series have really replaced the Mk2 Avensis as the main staple of every school principal and civil servant in the country?

we are in the middle of the worst recession in the history of the state. most families have reduced spend due to tax rises/ job loss/ pay cuts/increased living expenses/ loss of investments.

do you really think the above who would be a typical avenses owner are able to find 15k on top of their normal car budget to buy a 520d and the 15k doesnt take into account that their trade in is worth **** all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I think there's more of a chance that it's you that has a pick on the 520d cause you don't like them rather than them being the new Avensis! I bet if everyone was driving around in the new S60 you wouldn't be posting this!

Who cares as long as there are less of those horrible new Avensis about, rotten, awful looking yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

langdang wrote: »

I'm all over the country with the job, I can confirm that the new Passats are everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

This and the rest of the country too.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Who cares as long as there are less of those horrible new Avensis about, rotten, awful looking yokes.

Get over it.

You must be a fan of them, poor you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Worst thread ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

........the sort of mundane types of people that one used to always see .........

hate mundane people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I quite like the estate :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Qashqai is the vehicle of choice for the mass goers of 2011
    Renault Fluences from what I can tell are what most of the mass goers have "upgraded" to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Ha ha, the BMW is sacred on this forum, they could release a 3-series that smells of pooh and some people here would fall all over it with praise. :D

Apart from that, I think you're wrong. I'd imagine that Volkswagen (passat), Toyota (Avensis), Ford (Mondeo) and Opel (Insignia) will sell far more of their units than BMW. I had the opportunity to drive a Diesel Insignia estate automatic from Cambridge into Westminster in March and thought it was a pleasant drive; at home on the Motorways but equally comfy in the city. I can see why people buy these types of car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I don't know what the OP is on about - there's rakes of the new Avensis everywhere! :mad: I suspect the 520d is the new Passat though.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

I quite like the estate :o

+1,
    The silver garda estate looks awesome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

the uks white bmw 530d estates look better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 duck67

520d and a toyota Avensis in the same breath,
    Some real experts here lads, LOL,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

There is a scientific explanation:

Volvoman, Ive noticed you seem to very frequently discuss, diss and compare/contrast BMWs. This has lead to BMWs being a frequently accessed thought pattern which is filtered and promoted by your Reticular Activating System. The RAS's job is to process and filter the thousands of sights, sounds, smells we are subjected to every moment of everyday. Your, um, "interest" in BMW (negative or not) has promoted everything "BMW" in the RAS.

This leads to you "noticing" them more, which has the perceived impact them being more popular then the reality (which as noted, is miles from what you thought).

http://www.bizsuccess.com/articles/attention.htm
    http://www.conscious-easy-living-now.com/reticular-activating-system.html
    http://www.streetdirectory.com/travel_guide/8543/self_improvement_and_motivation/how_to_rise_above_the_clutter_in_your_brain.html

They say the RAS complements the law of attraction, maybe if you actually bought a BMW you would solve this problem once and for all. :pac:

Not to be confused with a "false consensus", which would be when a small group of similarly economic endowed friends all drive BMWs (for eg.) and therefore their perception is nearly "everyone must be driving BMWs".

So, from http://www.beepbeep.ie/stats/ registrations so far this year, to the end of June:

BMW 5-Series : 1786
    Ford Mondeo: 1430
    Opel Insignia: 1689
    Skoda Superb: 785
    Toyota Avensis: 3089
    VW Passat: 2784

And in smaller cars:
    VW Golf: 3466
    Toyota Auris: 1842
    Toyota Corrolla: 2374
    Nissan Qashqai: 2368
    Renault Effluence: 2827
    Skoda Octavia: 1870
    Ford Focus: 3659

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

The new 5 is such an no-brainer car, I can see why it's a big seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭MrO

Still much nicer than the previous model, now that was manky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Do you ever get bored of giving out about BMW's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

No offence Volvoman you must be gone mad if you think the 520 is the new Avensis.

1 Volvo S40 350
    2 Volvo S60 257
    3 Volvo V50 104
    4 Volvo XC 82
    5 Volvo S80 81
    6 Volvo C30 55
    7 Volvo XC90 44
    8 Volvo V60 36
    9 Volvo V70 22
    10 Volvo XC60 9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭dell1211

1 Volvo S40 350
    2 Volvo S60 257
    3 Volvo V50 104
    4 Volvo XC 82
    5 Volvo S80 81
    6 Volvo C30 55
    7 Volvo XC90 44
    8 Volvo V60 36
    9 Volvo V70 22
    10 Volvo XC60 9

thanks for that, i didnt have the patience to scroll to the very very end to see volvos excellent results:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

my neighbour bought a new 11 avensis there a few weeks back. I can honestly say I cannot imagine why anyone would want to go out and part with good money to buy one of those yokes. they are utterly devoid of any style character or class. Even if I got one as a company car I think I would pack the job in. granted I have not driven the latest model but I did spend a weekend with one of the previous models and that was such a shockingly disappointing car I can only imagine the new one is just as sh1t.

I also got to spend a weekend with the latest 520d - and its a deeply impressive motor - it deserves to sell a lot more than the other biscuit tin on skates.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    ... it deserves to sell a lot more than the other biscuit tin on skates.

Deserves has got nothing to do with it :D

THe new shape 5 series hasn't grabbed my tbh. The last one took a long time to grow on me though. The right wheels and body kit, makes a huge different to the last model. Maybe it will be the same with the new one. ATM the new one looks more like a scaled up 3 series to me, and not as sharp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Anyone else depressed by those new car sales on BeepBeep? Do Irish people lack any imagination or independent thought when it comes to buying a car? I don't understand why some very great cars have sold so little. The top selling Fiat, a Panda, only sold 247 units, despite being a fantastic small car by all accounts. The Alfa Romeo Giuletta is another terrible performer with a measly 107 sales, despite a massive advert campaign. Further down the list is the Honda CR-Z, a real eye-catcher that I would probably buy if I could justify the purchase of a new car - it sold 18 units. The craziest one for me is the Alfa Romeo MITO, which sold just 17 times so far this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Theres an 11 CR-Z in my estate! Great looking car.

Well the lots of reason for it. Bad past experiences, either with the brand or dealers. Poor public image of the brand or with problems that the brand has done very little to counter with positive PR. Or that the brand has an excessive markup in Ireland, not just for the car, but perhaps servicing and parts, and perhaps a much poorer warranty than the UK. People hate to think they are been taken for a fool.

I expect that when people are making a purchase of something so expensive, imagination isn't high on the list for many people.

shblob wrote: »
    Theres an 11 CR-Z in my estate! Great looking car.

Reminds me of my old CRX MrkII.
    That broke my heart with expensive parts, bad dealers and high insurance.

BostonB wrote: »
    Deserves has got nothing to do with it :D

THe new shape 5 series hasn't grabbed my tbh. The last one took a long time to grow on me though. The right wheels and body kit, makes a huge different to the last model. Maybe it will be the same with the new one. ATM the new one looks more like a scaled up 3 series to me, and not as sharp.

While looks are subjective - the new 5 is a seriously good motor. It's whisper quiet at 160 on the motorway, the 520 is as punchy as you'd realistically need it to be and it handles well for a saloon it's size. The car also feels well built, though I felt it didn't feel all that special inside. The one I drove was black on black which may have taken from it a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I like them. Plasticky on the inside though.

Anyone else depressed by those new car sales on BeepBeep? Do Irish people lack any imagination or independent thought when it comes to buying a car? I don't understand why some very great cars have sold so little. The top selling Fiat, a Panda, only sold 247 units, despite being a fantastic small car by all accounts. The Alfa Romeo Giuletta is another terrible performer with a measly 107 sales, despite a massive advert campaign. Further down the list is the Honda CR-Z, a real eye-catcher that I would probably buy if I could justify the purchase of a new car - it sold 18 units. The craziest one for me is the Alfa Romeo MITO, which sold just 17 times so far this year.

unfortunately Irish people on the whole couldn't give a monkeys about how good their car is - its about, a) what it costs to run b) how little it will inconvenience them and c) what it says about them ( financially more than anything )

An 11 D Toyota hits all those targets without actually being very good at any of them.

You probably bring some emotion into it - hence the mention of brands like Alfa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Ha ha, the BMW is sacred on this forum, they could release a 3-series that smells of pooh and some people here would fall all over it with praise. :D

I think that's nonsense. I think you'll find easily as many BMW detractors as fans here. They might not get the irrational hatred that you find on more marque-specific forums, but that's not the same thing as being sacred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Big jump from a 2L diesel to a 3L in the F10. The 525D was a great car. Proper set up on a E60.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    I think there's more of a chance that it's you that has a pick on the 520d cause you don't like them rather than them being the new Avensis! I bet if everyone was driving around in the new S60 you wouldn't be posting this!

No, I think it's a fine car and certainly would consider one if I was in a position to buy.
    high horse wrote: »
    Do you ever get bored of giving out about BMW's?

I think I have posted many times before in praise of BMW's. I am a big fan of everything before the E46.

This is a genuine observation and nothing more, so would all the BMW fanboys stop being such women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

184 bhp 156 to tax 55 mpg good spec on them look well and are well priced what more do you want from a car

Absolutely. But my point is that they are becoming a victim of their own success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Ummm, the 2012 530d with 258 bhp and also €156 tax (with an auto 'box) or the 2012 535d with 313 bhp and, 52.3 mpg and €302 tax:rolleyes::)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

There does seem to be alot of 5 series around alright,in cork last night passed 3 in the space of 5 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

is it just me or does any else seem to think the 5 series is a MASSIVE car ...now i thought a passat was a big car until i walked by a 5 series one day and i was taking back by the size of it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

I dont think they are huge,have you been near a 7 series or s class?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

ofcork wrote: »
    I dont think they are huge,have you been near a 7 series or s class?

yup but not that many 7 series around as 5 series doe.....id say they would be hoors of cars to park ? but is say they would be alot more 'solid' on the road than a vw golf or a3 for example ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Company car park is full of E60 and F10 520ds, majority of them in black with the odd silver one. The default choice for upwardly mobile middle management perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

bazz26 wrote: »
    Company car park is full of E60 and F10 520ds, majority of them in black with the odd silver one. The default choice for upwardly mobile middle management perhaps?

The lower price has brought it in to middle management's bracket, whereas it used to just be upper management.

Sophisto Grey Xirallic has been the big seller, Space Grey not far behind and a few Silvers. Not many Black expect an M-Sport in Carbon Black.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Sophisto Grey Xirallic has been the big seller, Space Grey not far behind and a few Silvers. Not many Black expect an M-Sport in Carbon Black.

Black accounting for 35% of regs this year

1 Volvo S40 350
    2 Volvo S60 257
    3 Volvo V50 104
    4 Volvo XC 82
    5 Volvo S80 81
    6 Volvo C30 55
    7 Volvo XC90 44
    8 Volvo V60 36
    9 Volvo V70 22
    10 Volvo XC60 9

I know we've moved on from this, but I hate this sh1t when I criticise a German car and then some genius retorts with some stupid fact about Volvo due to my username.