Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does KFC taste so much better than every other kind of food

• 26-07-2011 7:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

sad face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Does it?

News to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

It doesnt. Its manky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A whopper meal would batter KFC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Cause its finger licking good,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

You've obviously never eaten decent food so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I'd rather eat the dead skin off the bottom of my foot that eat KFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Urquell

Are you High!?

Eating KFC is a slightly better experience than eating Glass, thats about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I can make something more filling and better tasting in ten minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Hillbillies chicken "nuff said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Downlinz wrote: »
    sad face

KFC sucks.

I wish the good chains would make it to the other side of the Atlantic...Popeye's and El Pollo Loco are WAAAAAAAY better than KFC...Potbelly's is better than Subway...Fuddrucker's is better than Johnny/Eddie Rocket's...sigh. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

When you get it freshly cooked, or even cooked in the last 45 minutes, it's nice...... but that rarely happens! Every time I go I get bitterly dissappointed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I'm going to say 'due to an uneducated palate' and then I'm going to run for cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

alwaysadub wrote: »
    You've obviously never eaten decent food so

Or a snack box from the 'four lights'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

it would taste different if there was chicken in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

KFC is staggeringly disgusting. The oil, the grease and the slime that drips and bursts forth from the pale fetid flesh makes you feel like you're actually eating a boil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ICE HOUSE

Feed of Drink + KFC = Heaven :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

irish-stew wrote: »
    Or a snack box from the 'four lights'.
    Or a Big 4 Special. The smell of that shit stays on your hands for days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

I've only tried it once and eh don't plan to again :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭T2daK

I Was VB wrote: »
    I'd rather eat the dead skin off the bottom of my foot that eat KFC.

its off the chicken's bottom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Only thing I like from KFC is the gravy,everything else is mank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Your tatse buds will mature in a few years when you reach your teens.

Hillbilly's of in Cork is widely accepted as having the best fried hicken in the country. It's certainly the best fried chicken I've tasted anyway (this in not a Cork-is-the-best-place-in-the-world thing btw - being only ½ Cork I managed to avoid that frightening disease of the mind).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

OP, are you 14?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

because its bad for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I've never had KFC but I find it hard to believe that anything can taste better than ice-cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

ate a family bucket one day cause a buddy tried it before and said none of us would be able to do it, petty much ruined it for me. Hillbillys isn't great either best thing about it is that everybody goes there and it cuts down on the queues in other places. Cork people seem to blindly love cork stuff regardless of quality lennoxs etc.:
    (this in not a Cork-is-the-best-place-in-the-world thing btw - being only ½ Cork I managed to avoid that frightening disease of the mind).

not from where I'm standin :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

OP - A genuine answer, it's not your taste buds telling you that the food tastes any better, in fact they have pretty much no say, it's your brain responding to the disgustingly high level of salt, sugar and fat in the food. At this stage fast food is designed to trigger this response, one example you just have to applaud is actually from KFC (they're way too good at this): Popcorn Chicken, the reason these mini chicken nuggets came into existence is quite simple, the more you cut up a serving of chicken the greater the surface area, the more of it you get to coat in crap, the more people literally become addicted to the food.

Snippet from a guardian article from last year (there's more, but I don't see the point in quoting the whole thing, you get the point):
    "Higher sugar, fat and salt make you want to eat more." I had read this in scientific literature, and heard it in conversations with neuroscientists and psychologists. But here was a leading food designer, a Henry Ford of mass-produced food, revealing how his industry operates. To protect his business, he did not want to be identified, but he was remarkably candid, explaining how the food industry creates dishes to hit what he called the "three points of the compass".

Sugar, fat and salt make a food compelling. They stimulate neurons, cells that trigger the brain's reward system and release dopamine, a chemical that motivates our behaviour and makes us want to eat more. Many of us have what's called a "bliss point", at which we get the greatest pleasure from sugar, fat or salt. Combined in the right way, they make a product indulgent, high in "hedonic value".

During the past two decades, there has been an explosion in our ability to access and afford what scientists call highly "palatable" foods. By palatability, they don't just mean it tastes good: they are referring primarily to its capacity to stimulate the appetite. Restaurants sit at the epicentre of this explosion, along with an ever-expanding range of dishes that hit these three compass points. Sugar, fat and salt are either loaded into a core ingredient (such as meat, vegetables, potato or bread), layered on top of it, or both. Deep-fried tortilla chips are an example of loading – the fat is contained in the chip itself. When it is smothered in cheese, sour cream and sauce, that's layering.

It is not just that fast food chains serve food with more fat, sugar and salt, or that intensive processing virtually eliminates our need to chew before swallowing, or that snacks are now available at any time. It is the combination of all that, and more.

Take Kentucky Fried Chicken. My source called it "a premier example" of putting more fat on our plate. KFC's approach to battering its food results in "an optimised fat pick-up system". With its flour, salt, MSG, maltodextrin, sugar, corn syrup and spice, the fried coating imparts flavour that touches on all three points of the compass while giving the consumer the perception of a bargain – a big plate of food at a good price.

Initially, KFC meals were built around a whole chicken, with a pick-up surface that contained "an enormous amount of breading, crispiness and brownness on the surface. That makes the chicken look like more and gives it this wonderful oily flavour." Over time, the company began to realise there was less meat in a chicken nugget compared with a whole chicken, and a greater percentage of fried batter. But the real breakthrough was popcorn chicken. "The smaller the piece of meat, the greater the percentage of fat pick-up," said the food designer. "Now, we have lots of pieces of a cheaper part of the chicken." The product has been "optimised on every dimension", with the fat, sugar and salt combining with the perception of good value virtually to guarantee consumer appeal.

He walked me through some offerings at other popular food chains. Burger King's Whopper touched on the three points of the compass – then was altered for further effect. In its first, stripped-down form, the burger was explosively rich in fat, sugar and salt. Then the chain began adding more beef, extra cheese or a layer of bacon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Hillbilly's of in Cork is widely accepted as having the best fried hicken in the country.
    "Hillbilly's - come for the chicken, stay for the fist fights'.

In fairness there is good craic to be had outside on happy nights, champions league finals, all irelands etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Hillbilly's of in Cork is widely accepted as having the best fried hicken in the country.

Not a chance buddy, KC's in Douglas. It's been three years since I lived near it and I'm still suffering withdrawal symptoms! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

OP you obviously never had a good big plate a' bacon n' cabbage

It's really not as bad as people make out imo. There's always a good few gardai around there too.

Been going in town years (less so recently) and never really had any trouble worth talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I'm disgusted that any sane adult would put that rubbish into their body.

What's worse, I'm disgusted that people have the cheek to call themselves parents when they shovel that crap into their children.

People who feed their children take aways any more than a treat once or twice a year, should be ashamed of themselves.

Not a chance buddy, KC's in Douglas. It's been three years since I lived near it and I'm still suffering withdrawal symptoms! :(

For fried chicken? Jesus no man.

The pittas are delicious allright (Chicken Creole yummers) but everything else is fairly unremarkable.

I'm disgusted that any sane adult would put that rubbish into their body.

What's worse, I'm disgusted that people have the cheek to call themselves parents when they shovel that crap into their children.

People who feed their children take aways any more than a treat once or twice a year, should be ashamed of themselves.

Would you like a bigger spoon to help with the stirring?

As for you OP, are you crazy??:eek: Awful chips, even worse chicken, sugary baked beans, terrible coleslaw and watered down soft drinks. Walked past KFC in a food court recently and someone was going mental because their ice cream had loads of chicken in it. YUCK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

OP you might want to look up what they actually do to the chickens:
    KFC suppliers cram birds into huge waste-filled factories, breed and drug them to grow so large that they can’t even walk, and often break their wings and legs. At slaughter, the birds’ throats are slit and they are dropped into tanks of scalding-hot water—often while they are still conscious. It would be illegal for KFC to abuse dogs, cats, pigs, or cows in these ways.

KFC’s own animal welfare advisors have asked the company to take steps to eliminate these abuses, but KFC refuses to do so. Many advisors have now resigned in frustration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Because you're African American?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

That extra secret ingredient ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Tom1991

i work in the same shopping centre as a kfc and if im not gonna defend mcd's abrakebabra burger king and other fast food places that are there too but atleast there clean the state of the kitchen n health n safety practices in there would turn your stomach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

The oil, the grease and the slime that drips and bursts forth from the pale fetid flesh

But that's the best part...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I actively avoid the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

If anyone is still contemplating eating there, I suggest you watch this short video:

Now there's some tasty breasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Tehachapi wrote: »
    KFC suppliers cram birds into huge waste-filled factories, breed and drug them to grow so large that they can’t even walk, and often break their wings and legs. At slaughter, the birds’ throats are slit and they are dropped into tanks of scalding-hot water—often while they are still conscious. It would be illegal for KFC to abuse dogs, cats, pigs, or cows in these ways.

KFC’s own animal welfare advisors have asked the company to take steps to eliminate these abuses, but KFC refuses to do so. Many advisors have now resigned in frustration.

Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Tehachapi wrote: »
    If anyone is still contemplating eating there, I suggest you watch this short video

Damn you I was going to go get a bucket but now I've seen Pamela Anderson I need to choke a chicken of my own.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    Because you're African American?

Go ahead and don't post in this thread again.

The secret ingredients to any thread. Veggie propaganda video crap from youtube and dumb comments like the above.

I literally just threw the paper from it in the bin! Transylvania burger and chips with honey mustard mayo *rubs tummy*:P

Go ahead and don't post in this thread again.

The secret ingredients to any thread. Veggie propaganda video crap from youtube and dumb comments like the above.

"Go ahead and don't post in this thread again." <- it's not that dumb, but fair play to you for being so self-deprecating

FYI African Americans are well known for their love of KFC and various other fried chicken places. It's like saying Irish people love Guinness, or do you have a problem with that too?

mod: banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    "Go ahead and don't post in this thread again." <- it's not that dumb, but fair play to you for being so self-deprecating

FYI African Americans are well known for their love of KFC and various other fried chicken places. It's like saying Irish people love Guinness, or do you have a problem with that too?

Irish people love Guinness - false generalisation

Guinness originates from Ireland - statement of fact

See the difference?