Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things your parents/siblings/friends did to embarrass you

• 26-07-2011 5:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Just after reading the phone thread in AH, and the one where somebody left themselves singing as their voicemail reminded me of a time I recorded myself singing.

We had one of these things:
    http://www.hopco.co.uk/images/prod_audio/1112273289-1946.jpg

I recorded myself singing "total eclipse of the heart", and really got into it for the high notes, "I really need you TONIGHT, forever is gonna start tonight" etc.

I also recorded myself singing "two in a million" from s club 7
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqgAvYzZ3Pg&feature=related

I prefaced my singing 2 in a million pretending I was a dj, with the words "this one's for you Anthony" a fella who I had a huge crush on.

I was only about 12 or 13 at the time, but of course was very "cool" outside the house, so this is not something my friends were ever meant to hear.

Anyhow, my friends called over to meet me one weekend to go into town. I always hung around with both fellas and girls, infact most of my friends were male so a few of the lads were there with the girls including Anthony who was friends with some of the lads I knew.

I wasn't finished showering so they sat in the sitting room chatting to my mum for a bit.

I came downstairs to my friends drinking cups of tea with my mum, and the sound of my voice blaring from the tape player!
    The girls were openly laughing with tears streaming down their faces, the lads were kind of holding their cups of tea rigidly, with frozen polite smiles on their faces, they were trying to be polite infront of my mum who was saying to the girls "why are ye laughing, I think she's quite good". Poor Anthony was just gone puse red and just kept staring at his feet.:o:o:o

I ran upstairs and locked myself in my bedroom bawling, and refused to come out until one of the girls coaxed me back down.
    We went into town, and they all were kind and didn't bring it up for oh about half an hour, when everybody just erupted laughing, including myself because I could then see the funny side of it.

Didn't work out too bad because I "got the shift" of Anthony at the cinema that evening.:)

My mum maintains that she had just "stumbled" across the tape in the sitting room, (I had stupidly just left it in a drawer), but she still laughs about it to this day many years later, so I'm not sure it was quite so accidental as she proclaims.

Anyone else with embarrassing stories from your youth or even adult ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭LJD10

haha that story reminds me of a similar one from my youth...except the song I was singing was the theme tune from the Golden Girls (that old american sitcom)....no idea why I loved that song... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

My mother was always very open about periods and sex - and would drop it into conversation like all the time. 14 year old me was always mortified - even when it was just me and her.

Well, I was in superquinn with her one shopping day, she had run into one of her friends an her friends daughter and she turned around to me and said "oh! Storminateacup, do you need tampons?"

Omg I almost died. A complete over reaction, I called her a cow and run out of the shop.

Or I used to hang around with these older boys that she really disapproved of. Cause they were so rough. We met her outside of the cinema one evening and I just knew by her she was furious. My "friend" mark rolled up to her with this strong inner city Dublin accent

"here will ye come up here wi me an pretend teh be me ma, cause I'm barred n day won't leh me in".

I coulda cried!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭LJD10

heehee I love hearing stories like this :D

I remember years ago standing watching the parade with a group of friends and someone turns around to me and goes "isn't that your mam?" so I turned around and seen my mam dressed as a nun (in black plastic bags) dancing up the road to MC Hammers song "Aw ye we Pray"...funny when I think back of it but slightly embarrassing at the time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭tough__cookie

I remember pestering my dad to let me go to Beat on the Street because EVERYONE was allowed go except me. He said "no you are not going, you're too young, I'll give you beat on the street here." He took a hammer and went out onto the terrace and started hammering the road in front of my friends like a nutcase. :eek: Scarlet. Never asked him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

My mother always stands by the bus when I go back to dublin crying (like a mother seeing her youngest go off to school for the first time) EVERY TIME I GO HOME....she now stays in the car and watches until I'm gone but she cries and waves out of the car and beeps the horn! :o

My siblings sometimes do this to annoy/embarrass me.

I remember when my bf was off to meet my siblings for the first time together I warned him about my second brother. I told him to take him with a pinch of salt....I was laughing with him saying that probably the first thing out of his mouth would be "how long are you ridin my baby sister?"

We walk into the pub...."how long are you riding my baby sister" bf goes pale...ahh..umm..ohh .....PINTS? I was scarlet for about two seconds until my brother thought he was hillarious! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

LJD10 wrote: »
    heehee I love hearing stories like this :D

I remember years ago standing watching the parade with a group of friends and someone turns around to me and goes "isn't that your mam?" so I turned around and seen my mam dressed as a nun (in black plastic bags) dancing up the road to MC Hammers song "Aw ye we Pray"...funny when I think back of it but slightly embarrassing at the time :D

Your mother sounds like The Business. Can I hang out with your mam??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

My mother always stands by the bus when I go back to dublin crying (like a mother seeing her youngest go off to school for the first time) EVERY TIME I GO HOME....she now stays in the car and watches until I'm gone but she cries and waves out of the car and beeps the horn! :o

My siblings sometimes do this to annoy/embarrass me.

I remember when my bf was off to meet my siblings for the first time together I warned him about my second brother. I told him to take him with a pinch of salt....I was laughing with him saying that probably the first thing out of his mouth would be "how long are you ridin my baby sister?"

We walk into the pub...."how long are you riding my baby sister" bf goes pale...ahh..umm..ohh .....PINTS? I was scarlet for about two seconds until my brother thought he was hillarious! :D
    Correct answer, anywhere from 2-5 minutes on a good day :pac:

The worst thing my sister shave done to embarrass me is tell their friends about piercings I had in the past and then said friends kept at me till i showed. Nothing more awkward than a few women demanding to see your privates :s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Correct answer, anywhere from 2-5 minutes on a good day :pac:

The worst thing my sister shave done to embarrass me is tell their friends about piercings I had in the past and then said friends kept at me till i showed. Nothing more awkward than a few women demanding to see your privates :s

:0 my bfs 20th this weird guy showed up. I was hammered I turned around and this guys dick was out on the table.. it was pierced. the lads didn't bat an eye lid ( he does this alot) but I spat my drink out all over him..... this was the first time I'd went out with the boys group.....I was so embarrassed....though he does have a tattoo of Ralph wiggam picking his nose on the back of his leg which is pretty cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

When we were young my parents had a bright yellow banger of a car you could probably see from space and me and my sister hated being seen in it, it was hideous, cue many evenings begging to be let go to the local disco, the only condition was that we were left at the door and collected at a certain time in the big yellow monstrosity. Still at least we weren't known as the Lada family like another friend of ours :pac:

Thankfully I don't give a crap about that sort of stuff anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

When I was a kid I wasn't allowed to walk home from school on my own even after all my school friends were allowed. I was only about 7 but I was full of independence. This is about 30 years ago when kids did walk to and from school:D

I decided one day that enough was enough and I would sneak past my mam and walk on home, just to show that I could do it all by myself. The commotion made was unreal, she nearly had a nervous breakdown there was tears and screaming in the street in front of all my little schoolfriends.

Just so I would never do it again the next day the principal nun hauled me up in front of the whole school and showed me up as an example of what might happen if kids don't do what they're told. :eek:. Mam said she told her to do this in case any other child ever got it into their head that what I did was a good idea.:mad: Ruined my rep at primary school!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

(Background: I have PCOS.)

In Dunnes, aged 14, with my mum. Picked up a skirt I liked.

Mum: Do you want to fit it on?
    Me: No, I'm sure it's fine. Anyway I'm not going in there, it's a communal changing room.
    Mum (Very loudly): Oh right, you don't want anyone to see your HAIRY LEGS!!!!
    Me: :o:mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

Oh god, what letter should I start with :P

When I was too young to buy my own clothes, my mum would take me shopping. She would ALWAYS go to the boys section. ALWAYS. It wasn't on purpose either, she'd just naturally gravitate towards it and next thing you know she's trying to buy me boys trackies and runners, and I'd get really upset and she'd tell me it wasn't the boys section, that girls could wear these clothes too. Why not just take me to the girls section? I've no idea. It might have been slightly more expensive. But at the time I felt so bad, at that age the whole boy/girl thing is a really big deal, you don't want to be accused of being like a boy. I'd usually end up having a tantrum because I felt so uncomfortable, but had no way of making her understand.

When she would find trousers for me she would want to see if they'd fit me, so she'd take them off the hanger and hold them up to me, and she'd make me hold the waist of them and then she'd hold the crotch of the trousers up against me to get a better idea of how they'd fit! I started going shopping by myself at around 13, I used to be so embarrassed with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭jenny111111

There is too many of these stories running through my head.

When I was around 12-13 I used to go to swimming classes, I was in a rush to get home so I got changed really quick after. Came out after and mammy goes "Here its much too warm to be wearing a hoodie today" and yanks the zip down, exposing me to a group of "cool lads" I had just thrown it on as we were only 20 minutes from home. Queue my face turning puce and she just says nice and loud "sure they're not boobs anyway". I refused to go to swimming for 2 weeks after that.

My brothers acted out scenes from my diary when I was younger in COSTUME and when I was really small they convinced me to whisper in Santas ear "f**k off". I had no idea what it meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭ConTheCat

Haha OP that's something similar to me.
    I was very good friends with a lad, and we both loved Westlife.. We were about 10 I's day and recorded ourselves singing Flying Without Wings, we were finished recording and he ran out and played it to his parents :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

When they ask embarrassing questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

when I was really small they convinced me to whisper in Santas ear "f**k off". I had no idea what it meant.

This really made me laugh out loud :D

/i can sooooo picture a cute little innocent kid doing this :D