Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

birr game fair??

• 25-07-2011 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

anybody heading to the birr game fair this year???? myself and clarkey trd are heading down , wast just thinking if anybody from the forum is heading we should meet up for a chat, just a taought like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

There are a few lads on here that I know of who will be there, myself included

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I will probably head up one of the days. Mainly to stock up on a few new duck decoys as I will more than likely pick up a bargain. Its a good day out and well worth attending.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I'll be there on one of the days ........... as always :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Is it on the last weekend in August?, cant seem to find dates.

27th and 28th Aug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

I'll most likely make it too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭game hunter

hopeing to go at least one day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

I'll probably be there one day aswell, anybody know who will have stands there, i need a new scope for my .223 and if there will be a selection there i might wait till then to have a look at a few, i remember one of our riflesmiths had a stall there two or three years ago with a selection of rifles and optics, i wonder will he be there this year as he told me his bringing in sightron scopes shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i hope to make it,need new duck and pidgeon decoys ,my beloved springer jessie chewed up me last lot my fault really shouldnt have left where i did,hope its better than ballinlough,i was told and read here ballinlough was pure dungmanure,hope the weather is good,anywhoo,be nice to meet up with fellow boards/hunters:D:D:D

hoping to pick up a decent jacket a good wind /waterproof one as well or does any body know where to get decent ones for decent money?

Have you looked at any of the deerhunter brand jackets?

ive seen them they look pretty good i must say ,im looking for a jacket than can stand the punshment of briars,ditchs,etc that doesnt rip too easy ive just retired an ex-german army jacket given to me years ago brillant in the freezing cold but lite enough to wear,and it took years of abuse!!! went looking in all the army surplus stores on the net ,but cant find any:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Of all my gear my black snickers jacket is my favorite. Fleeced lined & tough as nails.
    Hoody & shooting vest inside it & roll on any weather or terrain.
    (if gets anywhere near zero there'll be a ban anyway ha):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

i did,hope its better than ballinlough,i was told and read here ballinlough was pure dungmanure,hope the weather is good,anywhoo,be nice to meet up with fellow boards/hunters:D:D:D

Haven't been to a fair for a few years now and reading some of the reports here on recent ones around the country, it wouldn't exactly motivate me to travel:( - is Birr considered to be one of the better ones now:confused:

its the biggest one of the year here on this island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭andrew dickenson

i have bein to the the past few years, great show in my opinion, plenty of attractions, fingers crossed its the same this year and we get a bit of sunshine, making a list of what i need now :D and hopfully get a few nice deals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭ClarkyTrd

Just bumping this up to see if anymore are going?

Is there anyone on here that trades at the fair?.. As myself and Andrew are looking to pick up a lithium battery and lamp pack, can someone shed some light on who stocks them at the fair?

Pretty sure he is a member on the forum.

Cheers :D

looking to pick up loadsa things this year, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

hope to get down one of the days with a couple of the IS lads, will be my first trip to the game fair lookin forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

went last year for first time, brought the wife and 2 kids, had a great day. will be there this year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

wouldnt miss it for the world...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 HWH DEER HUNTER

ya il be there as well,hopefully the weather will stay good,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

yeah heading down on the sunday shud be a good day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

ClarkyTrd wrote: »
    Just bumping this up to see if anymore are going?

Is there anyone on here that trades at the fair?.. As myself and Andrew are looking to pick up a lithium battery and lamp pack, can someone shed some light on who stocks them at the fair?

Pretty sure he is a member on the forum.

Cheers :D

Yap I Shoot and Fish will have a stand there going to be selling a few things too at very good prices but not sure if i am allowed to say on here? On the Lithium battery Jim nets will have a stand there and he is due a delivery of lithium battery lamps one charge lasts five hours i am told. Not sure if he'll have them by birr. If there is something you are looking for pm me and I'll see if i can get it cheap for you and bring it to birr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Pitty its on in Birr,would they not think of moving it around a bit, a bit nearer civilisation maybe:eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Pitty its on in Birr,would they not think of moving it around a bit, a bit nearer civilisation maybe:eek:.
    Damn right they should move it to Mayo!!:D I'm looking forward to it!! I hope the weather will be ok!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Looking forward to the fair. Will try make it both days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Will be there on the Sunday as I need a good waterproof Jacket and Trousers for the shooting Season hope I get sorted it is the last items I need for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

anyone going to try their luck at the clays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Nice Gun up for first Prize worth a go

I got an email to say that Irish reps from Yeswehunt will be at Birr - should be an interesting stand to check out for anyone thats going:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

I will also be there, looking to get gear!! :p the missus wont be happy with money going !!:rolleyes::o:p

WF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

Of all my gear my black snickers jacket is my favorite. Fleeced lined & tough as nails.
    Hoody & shooting vest inside it & roll on any weather or terrain.
    (if gets anywhere near zero there'll be a ban anyway ha):D
    i wouldnt be able to wear anything that warm , if i walked 2 fields with it ide be dripping with sweat :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Will know closer to the date.Havent been up in a few years now.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

I reckon we should organise a boards.ie shooting forum trip over to the CLA game fair next year. We'd have a year to organise it.......

e fudd i reckon you are on to something, i would love to go over to cla. im in anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

e fudd i reckon you are on to something, i would love to go over to cla. im in anyway

Im in! ;):D

Does anyone have a link to what trade bodies, organisations, companies etc. will be at BIRR this year??

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Does anyone have a link to what trade bodies, organisations, companies etc. will be at BIRR this year??

There is none, asked the organisers that same question.

Well lads, I hope ye get a better day then i did today at the Belmullet Fair in North Mayo. Rained all day and basically ruined the craic for everyone:(. And the way this summer has gone I would recommend plenty of rain gear to be brought for all going!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

which is the best day to go to the fair is it saturday or sunday?

both days have plenty of attractions, im going on the saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mallard123

will be going sunday as i hope to get a terrier pup :D

what type of terrier are you going to get mallard??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mallard123

what type of terrier are you going to get mallard??

hopefully a pup from a jack russell, border something like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Most likely be there on the Satruday as very interested to see the springer field trials on Sat morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

sunday for me for the lurchers/terriers etc.Had a hell of a time last year from the travellers due to having a lurcher with me.....never again.This year dog less and hopefully wont have bother again.

http://www.ecmwf.int/products/forecasts/d/charts/medium/deterministic/msl_uv850_z500!Wind%20850%20and%20mslp!192!Europe!pop!od!oper!public_plots!2011082000!!/

I hope the above charts look better nearer the time - god knows were due a late flush of summer:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

transit260 wrote: »
    sunday for me for the lurchers/terriers etc.Had a hell of a time last year from the travellers due to having a lurcher with me.....never again.This year dog less and hopefully wont have bother again.

How so??