Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Balotelli - What will he do Next?

• 24-07-2011 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭

Had high hopes for Balotelli this season, think I was mistaken:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Great talent but still prone to monumental **** ups. Always entertaining.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Fair play to Mancini for taking him off, there's no place for that in football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

I reckon it was his way of getting a transfer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

I have gained respect for mancini after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Fair play to Mancini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

lmao

what a clown...

now where did he put that chicken hat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

Am I alone in thinking that this is just another reason to LOVE balotelli... what a crazeee SOB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Whatever shall he do next :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

MUSEIST wrote: »
    I have gained respect for mancini after that

Same as!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

101001 wrote: »
    Am I alone in thinking that this is just another reason to LOVE balotelli... what a crazeee SOB

I don't see how that could make anyone love him, after gaining a lot of respect for Mancini there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Balotelli = ratings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Awesome.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Strange guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

What's wrong with trying to finish with a flourish in a meaningless pre-season friendly?? True, he is a nut-case, but I dont see anything wrong with what he did above...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

THFC wrote: »
    What's wrong with trying to finish with a flourish in a meaningless pre-season friendly?? True, he is a nut-case, but I dont see anything wrong with what he did above...

It shows an enormous amount of disrespect for LA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I love him, he's a nutter.

Don't really know how people can moan about that. It was a meaningless friendly and that moment has provided more entertainment than the the other 89 minutes ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Outrageous, love the reaction from Mancini.

LA got a goal back to draw the game after this, though city won on penos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Headshot wrote: »

How tho? It was a trick finish, we see plenty of them every week in La Liga, the EPL and Serie A.

Maradona, Best, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo all took the piss out of opponents all the time. Football wouldn't be half what it is without personalities like these guys.

Have another look at the attempt though, nowhere near the ability to try what he did compared to those you mentioned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

It was a meaningless friendly against a team of comparative armatures, why should he take it seriously, he was probably bored, fair ball to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Have another look at the attempt though, nowhere near the ability to try what he did compared to those you mentioned.

exactly

He didnt look bothered, just a shrug of the shoulders

He wants a move away from the club I reckon

Are we getting our panties in a bunch because it didn't go in, or because he tried it in the first place? Seems to me like people are upset because he even attempted it.

Far from it, am actually laughing at how bad an attempt it was, the only person thats upset seems to be Mancini I doubt Ballotelli is even bothered that he was taken off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The fact that Joe Harte was allowed to take a penalty demonstrates that the match wasn't being taken seriously. Had Harte missed, City could have been accused of disrespecting the opposition in the same way Balotelli is being accused of it. Its a bit hypocritical of Mancini IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

How though? It was a trick finish, we see plenty of them every week in La Liga, the EPL and Serie A.

:confused: Very rarely and usually only if the situation calls for it.
    exactly

He didn't look bothered, just a shrug of the shoulders

He wants a move away from the club I reckon

Nah, he'd be like that at any club.

it's the sort of thing 20 year olds do in training every day, this game was, to players of that calibre, like playing against the u17's, it was a farce to them, they had no need to take it seriously, MLS, bar a handful of players, is about league 1 standard, why the hell should any player of Balotelli's ability take a pre-season friendly against a team that bad more seriously than they would a training game against the reserves or u17's?

At least rather than walk around bored and throwing a strop he tried to amuse himself and the fans.

Superman, Chuck Norris and Mr. T all wear Mario Balotelli underpants, true story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

tommyhaas wrote: »
    The fact that Joe Harte was allowed to take a penalty demonstrates that the match wasn't being taken seriously. Had Harte missed, City could have been accused of disrespecting the opposition in the same way Balotelli is being accused of it. Its a bit hypocritical of Mancini IMO

Hart took a penalty for England U21 in the Euro Championshios a couple of years ago and buried it, so he has proven he can take a peno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Seaneh wrote: »
    it's the sort of thing 20 year olds do in training every day, this game was, to players of that calibre, like playing against the u17's, it was a farce to them, they had no need to take it seriously, MLS, bar a handful of players, is about league 1 standard, why the hell should any player of Balotelli's ability take a pre-season friendly against a team that bad more seriously than they would a training game against the reserves or u17's?

At least rather than walk around bored and throwing a strop he tried to amuse himself and the fans.

Superman, Chuck Norris and Mr. T all wear Mario Balotelli underpants, true story.

Yes, it was a friendly on paper but it should be treated like any other match.

Every player out there is fighting for their place on the team for the start of the season. It should be serious and not a play area for the players to do something stupid when only 1 - 0 up.

No, it was a pre-season friendly they were playing in because the sponsors of the game paid enough money for them to play in, which the club in turn would use to help market the business in north america, it wasn't like any other game, it was a merchandising expedition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭henke

If your not a City fan you have to love Balotelli. He is a nutter and livens things up and always provided a talking point. But he is not a player you want in your own team and not someone you could ever have any respect for. I love him purely for the comedy factor.

I'd have him at Milan in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

So why did it finish up 1-1. If they are as bad as you say the surely the most expensive team in the premiership would make easy work of them even if they were taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

No, it was a pre-season friendly they were playing in because the sponsors of the game paid enough money for them to play in, which the club in turn would use to help market the business in north america, it wasn't like any other game, it was a merchandising expedition.

Why did Mancini take him off? To save face? In fear it would damage the merchandise expedition?

He's an idiot imo and should have at least taken a decent shot on goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

So why did it finish up 1-1. If they are as bad as you say the surely the most expensive team in the premiership would make easy work of them even if they were taking the piss

Its preseason, Arsenal drew with Hangzhou Greentown, Liverpool got done 3-0 by Hull. Hardly an accurate reflection of the quality of the sides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭IsThisIt???

A fellow Milan fan, I'm still hopin he goes to Milan at some stage this season despite his attitude he is quality. There was talk of it before but and I think he's more suited to Italy anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

If thats the case why did Mancini take him off and argue with him as he was going past him? Dzeko couldn't even believe he was stupid enough to do it. Stupid thing to do by Balotelli who isn't half as good as he thinks he is, the sooner he is out of the EPL the better imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Whatever about the importance of the game, preseason is about professionalism and making sure you're right for the start of the season proper, clearly Balotelli isn't a true professional, spends far too much time acting the clown to ever fulfill his potential. He's running out of time to cop himself on. Congrats to Mancini for being so decisive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Would have been very nice, shame he missed tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

It was a meaningless friendly against a team of comparative armatures, why should he take it seriously, he was probably bored, fair ball to him.

A meaningless friendly it may have been but as far as the manager is concerned it's a serious game in terms of preparing for the season ahead. This guy is a professional player who gets paid alot of money and that sort of muppetry isn't good enough.

Go in to work in the morning and act the maggot and your manager will call you aside, so it's no different here. Mancini was right to take him off and I'm sure they'll sell him if they can find some eejit to buy him. He's talented but he's an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

So will Mancini after that :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Brilliant..... :D

I'm still in stitches at the shock of the American commentators over Balo's disrespect for Galaxy..... FFS.... He tried a fancy shot which came off arseways!!! So what???? If anything I was more embarrassed for the lad than annoyed or let down by him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

even if he leaves City.. like so many others on 100k+ week. Im sure some other team will be stupid enough to take him on and pay his handy wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

One of the many ridiculous comments, maybe he should take it seriously because he is a professional soccer player, this is his job and even pre season friendlies are part of his job.
    He should always respect your opposition no matter what level you think they are at, especially in front of a crowd as you are somewhat of a role model and ambassador for the game.

Maybe if he actually pulled it off it would be one thing but the fact is that he couldn't and shows he thinks that he is a lot better than he actually is.
    Then he throws a big tantrum after being taken off, just an utter knob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I wonder if Mancini would have took him off if he managed to score?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

That shot was disrespectfiul, arrogant, wasteful... and utterly and hilariously entertaining. He's the player everybody wants to watch ... in a shirt of anyone's elses team, but their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

If he had scored it I'm sure there would be people raving about the goal!!.The fact is he didn't. In fairness I don't mind a bit of showboating pre season however there is a time and place for it. Just 1-0 up is not the right time to be trying that craic, maybe 4 or 5 up.
    A bit of flair never hurt anyone :P .I hope he stays in England just for the character he is!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

1. Pre-season friendlies are far from meaningless. They are there to get match fitness, for the manager to assess the players, and in this case marketing / promotion comes into it too.

2. Finish with a flurrish?? Matches don't finish on 30 minutes.

Personally I hope he puts him on the transfer list. Stupid, blatant, arrogant disrespect for the opposition and his team mates. The man doesn't think.

Let alone the fact he obviously holds his own 'tekkers' in high regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Personally I hope he puts him on the transfer list. Stupid, blatant, arrogant disrespect for the opposition and his team mates. The man doesn't think.

LMAO I've read some ridiculous comments on this forum in my time but this takes the biscuit. Balotelli showboated in a pre-season friendly - TRANSFER LIST!!!

Balotelli has bags of potential but I genuinely believe he is mental. He's a gas man. He's got everything he needs to be a world class forward but the brain for it. Hopefully he matures but I wouldn't hold my breath. I hope he manages to become a top forward while still being an absolute lunatic.

Mourinho described him as unmanageable and by the looks of things he's dead right. Having said that, Balotelli is some character and I hope he has a cracker of a season this year with some mental patches on the way. Stone mad.