Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Quarter Finals Draw

• 23-07-2011 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭

Is the draw on tonight or tomorrow evening? Dunno what the point is in waiting

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

mystic86 wrote: »

I understand it is tomorrow evening, As round 4 of Tyrone V Roscommon has not been played I wonder how will they structure it? Will they draw Tyrone/Roscommon and hope Mayo is not drawn, because in reality Tyrone will hammer Roscommon unless all the Tyrone players were killed in a bus crash or something.

From a Kerry point of view we are likely to be drawn against either Tyrone, Wexford or Kildare as we can't draw Cork having met them in the Munster final just like the Tyrone/Roscommon V Mayo fixture couldn't go ahead in case Roscommon got a Miracle and won the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭sob1467

The draw is on tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Stinicker wrote: »
    I understand it is tomorrow evening, As round 4 of Tyrone V Roscommon has not been played I wonder how will they structure it? Will they draw Tyrone/Roscommon and hope Mayo is not drawn, because in reality Tyrone will hammer Roscommon unless all the Tyrone players were killed in a bus crash or something.

From a Kerry point of view we are likely to be drawn against either Tyrone, Wexford or Kildare as we can't draw Cork having met them in the Munster final just like the Tyrone/Roscommon V Mayo fixture couldn't go ahead in case Roscommon got a Miracle and won the game.

thats a bit much isnt it considering what happened Conal Keaney yesterday.

Also, a bit early with the call about Wexford in the quarters. Come on Limerick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Tucker.Tim

I see your stereotypical Kerry arrogance extends to games which your county aren't even playing in - well done, sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

so they get to show it on the sunday game i'd reckon

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,971 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Also, a bit early with the call about Wexford in the quarters. Come on Limerick :)

Come on Limerick indeed!!!!!

wow, somebodys very confident of teams they don't follow and know little about...

you cant draw limerick either, for what its worth. so Tyrone/Roscommon or Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

spiralism wrote: »
    wow, somebodys very confident of teams they don't follow and know little about...

you cant draw limerick either, for what its worth. so Tyrone/Roscommon or Kildare.

Agreed on the first bit!

Kerry can draw Limerick though, the only stipulation is provincial finalists not being drawn to meet in the quarter-finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

lads can anyone provide a link or source saying about teams that have met in their provincial competition can't meet each other again in the quarter final??

Also, I heard someone say a couple of rounds ago that this rule was scrapped this year or something, anyone know more on this??

Syferus wrote: »
    Agreed on the first bit!

Kerry can draw Limerick though, the only stipulation is provincial finalists not being drawn to meet in the quarter-finals.

is it only finalists? thought teams couldnt meet again was the rule, not that, fair enough

• Subscribers Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

lads can anyone provide a link or source saying about teams that have met in their provincial competition can't meet each other again in the quarter final??

Also, I heard someone say a couple of rounds ago that this rule was scrapped this year or something, anyone know more on this??

Only if they met in the final

http://www.gaa.ie/content/downloads/wallcharts/football_wallchart_2011.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

personally id love to see the following draw dublin v cork kerry v tyrone/roscommon donegal v kildare mayo v limerick.im basing that solely on the fact i think tyrone will beat the rossies and theres potential for an upset with mayo v limerick!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,971 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

rpurfield wrote: »
    personally id love to see the following draw dublin v cork kerry v tyrone/roscommon donegal v kildare mayo v limerick.im basing that solely on the fact i think tyrone will beat the rossies and theres potential for an upset with mayo v limerick!

A Mayo win;)

This is fantastic - we're being written off again! It's perfect fodder for a team whose level of progression over the last two years or so still has to be properly gauged. I'm looking forward to a great game next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Syferus wrote: »
    This is fantastic - we're being written off again! It's perfect fodder for a team whose level of progression over the last two years or so still has to be properly gauged. I'm looking forward to a great game next weekend.

i doubt my personal opinion will be the sole motivating factor for roscommon footballers,but if it is i want to be credited in the speech in the hogan in september :p

Nah, I just mean the temperature seems to be that Tyrone won't even be favourites, but red hot favourites in alot of peoples' eyes going into the game. If there's one thing Roscommon know about it's being deep underdogs.

And I'm sure we can engineer a mention for you on the big day ;)

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    No underdog there in my opinion.... we all know how Mayo play in Croke Park;) That would be a seriously close game with Limerick having absolutely nothing to lose.

There's this strange idea out there that Mayo play badly in Croke Park - it's false. I know from living beside them for all my life that they play perfectly fine at HQ, it's only finals that undo them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I heard Dublin and Donegal (or whoever beats them) will play each other in the semi. Kerry V Mayo (or whoever beats them) in the other semi. Ulster V Leinster and Munster V Connacht. Is this true?

corny wrote: »
    I heard Dublin and Donegal (or whoever beats them) will play each other in the semi. Kerry V Mayo (or whoever beats them) in the other semi. Ulster V Leinster and Munster V Connacht. Is this true?

Yup, that's correct.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Yes, that switches year on year. Its in the wall chart I linked above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Temp Barry

So

Kerry can't draw Cork
    Mayo can't draw Tyrone/Roscommon

No other restrictions (other than obviously provincial champions kept apart).

Whoever draws Tyrone/Roscommon won't be playing on the August bank holiday weekend, but the other 3 quarter-finals along with Rossies v Tyrone will be played over the August bank holiday weekend.

The winners of the Kerry quarter-final will play the winners of the Mayo quarter-final in the semis.

I wasn't aware of Conal Keaney's motorbike crash until I just read up on it there now and it was in reference to Tyrone not Dublin, I don't tend to follow up on the personal lives of the players of weaker counties.

As you can see from the timeline of my post Wexford were 4 points ahead with a few mins to go so I naturally assumed they had it in the bag, however congrats to Limerick and this is a great lift to them to get to play in Croker on the big day, they ran Kerry close last year and even though they have had injuries they have been putting in the hard work and you don't get to the last eight in Ireland on a whim.

Roscommon are by far the weakest team left and I expect Tyrone to annihilate them to announce their arrival back onto the scene, Roscommon have achieved nothing other than a Minor title that a dodgy ref gifted them back in 2005 when it went to a replay. Mayo are useless and will most likely bow out in the quarters rather than face Kerry in a semi, which could propel Limerick into a Semi-Final against Kerry because I think they'd beat this Mayo team and if I was a Limerick fan I'd be hoping for Mayo in the draw tomorrow.

Cork have shown today once again their class and determination and will waltz through to the final, Kerry on the other hand will also quite possibly make the final with Tyrone as the only big team in the way but we'd take care of them alright. Cork are a better team than Kerry at the moment and can do everything right, however Kerry are miles too cute and the history between the two teams would see even a mediocre Kerry team triumph over Cork in an All-Ireland final as we always prove too much for Cork.

I wasn't aware of Conal Keaney's motorbike crash until I just read up on it there now and it was in reference to Tyrone not Dublin, I don't tend to follow up on the personal lives of the players of weaker counties.

I didn't know Kerry people were in a position to label other 'weaker counties' when it came to the hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Roscommon have achieved nothing other than a Minor title that a dodgy ref gifted them back in 2005 when it went to a replay.

someone is still sore, dodgy ref classic, the replay showed the gulf in class between kerry and roscommon minors that day, kerry barely touched the ball last 15 mins

Ha, Kerry people, LOL.

First off Conal Keaney plays for the Dublin hurlers not the footballers and someone from Kerry calling Dublin a "weaker" county in hurling is just LOL.

Secondly, Kerry and Dublin made the same stages of the Championship last year and Dublin made a NFL final this year, beating Kerry along the way. I know Kerry are probably favourites to win the Championship at this stage (on the back of 1 game and, realistically, one half of one game) but your arrogance is absolutely hilarious. Get over yourself will ya?

As you can see from the timeline of my post Wexford were 4 points ahead with a few mins to go so I naturally assumed they had it in the bag, however congrats to Limerick and this is a great lift to them to get to play in Croker on the big day, they ran Kerry close last year and even though they have had injuries they have been putting in the hard work and you don't get to the last eight in Ireland on a whim.

Roscommon are by far the weakest team left and I expect Tyrone to annihilate them to announce their arrival back onto the scene, Roscommon have achieved nothing other than a Minor title that a dodgy ref gifted them back in 2005 when it went to a replay. Mayo are useless and will most likely bow out in the quarters rather than face Kerry in a semi, which could propel Limerick into a Semi-Final against Kerry because I think they'd beat this Mayo team and if I was a Limerick fan I'd be hoping for Mayo in the draw tomorrow.

Cork have shown today once again their class and determination and will waltz through to the final, Kerry on the other hand will also quite possibly make the final with Tyrone as the only big team in the way but we'd take care of them alright. Cork are a better team than Kerry at the moment and can do everything right, however Kerry are miles too cute and the history between the two teams would see even a mediocre Kerry team triumph over Cork in an All-Ireland final as we always prove too much for Cork.

Well, surely that's all make believe if Mayo draw Cork and if Cork win would mean a Kerry v Cork semi. I for one would welcome a crack at Kerry - this 'history' thing will be put to bed eventually. Afterall, history told us Down had never lost an All Ireland final until of course last year. Having been to nearly all the Cork V Kerry championship games in recent years I am confident Cork will come through at some stage - why not in the semi this year, another 'monkey' off our backs;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

lol, well played - must not feed the .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

rossie1977 wrote: »
    someone is still sore, dodgy ref classic, the replay showed the gulf in class between kerry and roscommon minors that day, kerry barely touched the ball last 15 mins

Ros won the replay fair and square being the much better team on that occasion, but I have to agree Kerry were absolutely robbed by the ref the first day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

I didn't know Kerry people were in a position to label other 'weaker counties' when it came to the hurling?
    Since when have people from weaker counties not been allowed to refer to other weaker counties as weaker counties? But yes Dublin are not a weaker county in hurling these days.

Ha, Kerry people, LOL.

First off Conal Keaney plays for the Dublin hurlers not the footballers and someone from Kerry calling Dublin a "weaker" county in hurling is just LOL.

Secondly, Kerry and Dublin made the same stages of the Championship last year and Dublin made a NFL final this year, beating Kerry along the way. I know Kerry are probably favourites to win the Championship at this stage (on the back of 1 game and, realistically, one half of one game) but your arrogance is absolutely hilarious. Get over yourself will ya?

I thought he was still on the Dublin football panel which alone tells you how much I follow Dublin football, Dublin are a weak football team and their hurlers are punching more above their weight in their field of play compared to their footballers whom I doubt will make it beyond the quarter finals.

Hurling in Kerry is weak but that doesn't say it is not played the Kerry won the Christy Ring cup this year, which was a big achievement for the lads having being there or thereabouts for a while.

Dublin this year played a blinder in the league yet Cork pipped them by a point, although in reality it should have been a Kerry V Dublin final except for a dodgy free Cork got which saw them beat Kerry by a solitary point in a mean tempered affair as both Kerry and Cork has 10 points but Cork went to the final on virtue of having beaten Kerry by that free. I tell it like how it is, like Pat Spillane call a spade a spade and lets be honest both Mayo and Roscommon are two teams of dire weakness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭traecy1

Secondly, Kerry and Dublin made the same stages of the Championship last year

Actually Dublin made the semi finals last year while weak Kerry got knocked out in the quarter finals

Dublin this year played a blinder in the league yet Cork pipped them by a point, although in reality it should have been a Kerry V Dublin final except for a dodgy free Cork got which saw them beat Kerry by a solitary point in a mean tempered affair as both Kerry and Cork has 10 points but Cork went to the final on virtue of having beaten Kerry by that free. I tell it like how it is, like Pat Spillane call a spade a spade and lets be honest both Mayo and Roscommon are two teams of dire weakness.

LOL - those sour grapes are still sour I see:D

Pat Spillane.....well I tihnk most people have their opinions well and truly formed on him;)

I thought he was still on the Dublin football panel which alone tells you how much I follow Dublin football, Dublin are a weak football team and their hurlers are punching more above their weight in their field of play compared to their footballers whom I doubt will make it beyond the quarter finals.

Typical Kerryman, worse than Dublin for bandwagon support. Only have eyes for last years beaten quarter finalists (cheers Traecy I actually had forgotten that).

Dublin footballers are playing quite poorly at the moment but they're pretty universally considered one of the top 4 counties with Kildare, Cork and Kerry. Even Spillane admits that.

Kerry may well win the Championship this year but ultimately you did just as well as Roscommon and Meath did last year in the Championship.

Agus wrote: »
    Since when have people from weaker counties not been allowed to refer to other weaker counties as weaker counties? But yes Dublin are not a weaker county in hurling these days.

People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones, especially when they're deliberately talking ****.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    LOL - those sour grapes are still sour I see:D

Pat Spillane.....well I tihnk most people have their opinions well and truly formed on him;)

Not sour grapes, Cork won it and fair play to them, it could have just as easily have been Kerry to benefit from a bad referee. As for Pat Spillane he is one of the most decorated footballers of all time having won umpteen awards and medals, whether he was Kerry's greatest is another story but he is one of the greatest to ever grace the field of play. Give me a Cork player with a record or as much sucess or any other country for that matter, you can't because Pat was one of the greatest.

I thought he was still on the Dublin football panel which alone tells you how much I follow Dublin football

I'm glad you said it. It shows you know **** all.:)

Not sour grapes, Cork won it and fair play to them, it could have just as easily have been Kerry to benefit from a bad referee. As for Pat Spillane he is one of the most decorated footballers of all time having won umpteen awards and medals, whether he was Kerry's greatest is another story but he is one of the greatest to ever grace the field of play. Give me a Cork player with a record or as much sucess or any other country for that matter, you can't because Pat was one of the greatest.

Christy Ring

Typical Kerryman, worse than Dublin for bandwagon support. Only have eyes for last years beaten quarter finalists (cheers Traecy I actually had forgotten that).

Dublin footballers are playing quite poorly at the moment but they're pretty universally considered one of the top 4 counties with Kildare, Cork and Kerry. Even Spillane admits that.

Kerry may well win the Championship this year but ultimately you did just as well as Roscommon and Meath did last year in the Championship.

Well in 2010 Kerry won their province and defeated that years ultimate All-Ireland winners Cork but bowed out of the series at the same stage, however Kerry won more and took more from it than Meath or Roscommon. With dubious refereeing which saw Tomas O'Se and Paul Galvin banned for small incidents it was inevitable as two of the teams stalwarts were removed by the GAA.

Again this year Kerry put Cork to the sword and retained their Munster title, the only team to retain their Province with Leinster, Ulster and Connacht seeing different teams win it from 2010's winners.

Christy Ring

Never knew he played football!

Lol, don't make a fool of yourself now.

No doubt about that!! But he talks alot of shít...another thing ye have in common apparently;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

As for Pat Spillane he is one of the most decorated footballers of all time having won umpteen awards and medals, whether he was Kerry's greatest is another story but he is one of the greatest to ever grace the field of play. Give me a Cork player with a record or as much sucess or any other country for that matter, you can't because Pat was one of the greatest.

All very true but a great footballer does not a great pundit make,nor do his many decorations make him more qualified than anyone else to call a spade a spade.

Lol, don't make a fool of yourself now.

That ship has sailed;)

Well in 2010 Kerry won their province and defeated that years ultimate All-Ireland winners Cork but bowed out of the series at the same stage, however Kerry won more and took more from it than Meath or Roscommon. With dubious refereeing which saw Tomas O'Se and Paul Galvin banned for small incidents it was inevitable as two of the teams stalwarts were removed by the GAA.

Again this year Kerry put Cork to the sword and retained their Munster title, the only team to retain their Province with Leinster, Ulster and Connacht seeing different teams win it from 2010's winners.

It's always the refs fault for a Kerry players misgivings:rolleyes:

In 2010 Cork won the lge lost to Kerry and won Sam.....

This year, Cork won the lge, lost to Kerry and......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Kildare, Tyrone, Cork... I don't fancy Dublin beating either of those three. They have the best chance against Kildare. If we draw Limerick, it would be another All-Ireland semi-final but it would be no real progress this year. The end of Gilroy also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

you don't get to the last eight in Ireland on a whim.
    Roscommon have achieved nothing

Remind me again, how did Roscommon do in last year's Championship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Seeing as you have sh*t the togs the last few times you played them in the championship i wouldn't be so sure of that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Well if it wasn't for the dubious penalty Kerry were awarded v Down at the end of that game Kerry would have been beaten by exactly the same score line as Roscommon 1-16 to 0-10.

Reading your above posts i'm sure the whole of boards.ie will be behind you in your hunt for Sam this summer. ;)

Get over yourselves. Meath were breaking the 5 year stranglehold on Leinster held by their fiercest rivals while winning the Nestor cup was a monumental achievement for us in Roscommon as it was our first in 9 years and we're pretty die hard down here. Kerry won yet another Munster and only cared at all because they beat Cork to do it before being unceremoniously dumped out by a Down side that was far better on the day and that your lot have never beaten in the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭dog_pig

The one team I really hope Donegal avoid in the draw is Cork; I don't think we're at the point yet where we're good enough to contain their style of play in Croke Park.

Apart from them I think we have a decent chance of progressing against the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

By the width of a post. Kerry were dire in that second half. I think Kerry will have an early exit out of the championship this year like last year..