Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quinn Direct ?????

• 20-07-2011 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭

Anybody know what Quinn Direct are up to?. Have a commercial policy with them for 10 years. Last year paid 835 euro, came home tonight and found this years quote - 2636 euro, same policy, no changes and no claims. Is there a higher inflation rate in Cavan that we haven't heard about, or are they trying to get rid of commercial customers.
    Had hassle taxing van this year although we have a registered company for best part of 20 years and have run up to 4 vans at times, now this lark with insurance.
    Are the powers that be trying to get rid of all commercials (like some housing developments that won't allow commercial parking) or are they trying to squeeze every penny from the few remaining companies left operating until they slowly squeeze up to death (and being self-employed we then cannot claim dole), just have a look at the toll charges for vans and how much extra you pay compared to a car on a return journey to Galway or Cork from Dublin.
    Has anybody else had crazy quotes from Quinn this year or recommend an alternative company for commercial insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

simple really.. quinn ****ed for cash... need more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

911s wrote: »
    Anybody know what Quinn Direct are up to?. Have a commercial policy with them for 10 years. Last year paid 835 euro, came home tonight and found this years quote - 2636 euro, same policy, no changes and no claims. Is there a higher inflation rate in Cavan that we haven't heard about, or are they trying to get rid of commercial customers.
    Had hassle taxing van this year although we have a registered company for best part of 20 years and have run up to 4 vans at times, now this lark with insurance.
    Are the powers that be trying to get rid of all commercials (like some housing developments that won't allow commercial parking) or are they trying to squeeze every penny from the few remaining companies left operating until they slowly squeeze up to death (and being self-employed we then cannot claim dole), just have a look at the toll charges for vans and how much extra you pay compared to a car on a return journey to Galway or Cork from Dublin.
    Has anybody else had crazy quotes from Quinn this year or recommend an alternative company for commercial insurance?

Reports of premiums going up 400% in some instances.

Insurers operate on a few different merits.

Your premium doesnt go into solely a big pool of Money which its paid out from. Its used in Invesment's to gain cash to meet claims etc...

Investments which are stable and solid are few and far between atm.

One other issue is that QUINN Direct despite being effectively sold is still Under Administration and must adhere to strict protocol set down by the High Court and the Financial Regulator. In turn premiums could be relatively stacked until Liberty complete their take over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Shop around OP. I had a commercial policy with them aswell, got the renewal and it was nuts. I got a way better quote and moved on, the year after they bet that price hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

they tried to move mine from 1800 to 3500 , so i moved to aviva who came in for 1790 and gave me a better policy

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Its not just Quinn and its not just commercial insurance thats gone through the roof.

All insurance companies are suffering, they dabbled in the markets, lost their shirt and now have to answer to shareholders who are not happy with their share price or their dividends. It went from being pure bliss to a pure nightmare for all insurance companies.

They are basically hammering their customers on the basis that they hope to keep a percentage who cant afford to leave due to having claims made and then they can use that to their advantage. Those who do leave are usually customers who have a clean record and as a result they cant make money off you, so they are not that worried if you leave. For every one that leaves another joins on an new customer deal.

As others have said, shop around, get a better deal elsewhere and keep doing that every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭timogen

My car insurance is up the end of the month paid E240 last year to quinn direct,and got quoted E670 for the exact same policy with an extra years no-claims bonus.I will be going to an other insurer that quoted E198 for the same cover as quinn and i informed quinn i wouldn't be renewing my policy.
    I got a call from one of quinns reps to ask if they could give another quote,i asked him "was the quote i got the first time not right" to which he said "as you are a loyal customer of ours we would be happy to renegotiate your quote".
    To which i replied "if i had just paided the first quote ye would of been happy to rip me off,now could you please send on my no-claims bonus and don't contact me again".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

timogen wrote: »
    To which i replied "if i had just paided the first quote ye would of been happy to rip me off,now could you please send on my no-claims bonus and don't contact me again".

Quinn may be robbers but it was a being a bit rude to the young girl/guy only trying to do her job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Quinn may be robbers but it was a being a bit rude to the young girl/guy only trying to do her job.
    +1, there's no point in taking anything to do with insurance personally. My renewal with Aviva this year was €1074, a bit of soft talking brought it back down to €568. They're just trying to make money in exactly the same way that we're trying to save it.

That's cr*p to be honest.They insult me with the first quote,then this chap rings me spouting bs about me being a loyal customer it might be his job,but is he taking the piss on the other end of the line.He has seen my quote for E670, when all the others were quoting in around the low 200's an apology would have been more in order.
    Anan1 that's just it why did you have to soft talk to get that quote.Wouldn't it have been nice if they had just quoted E568 in the first place instead of trying to screw you.I got my quote for E198 without haggling and was happy.
    Oh and i wasn't that rude i said please.

That's cr*p to be honest.They insult me with the first quote,then this chap rings me spouting bs about me being a loyal customer it might be his job,but is he taking the piss on the other end of the line.He has seen my quote for E670, when all the others were quoting in around the low 200's an apology would have been more in order.

You showed them and their potential to save you on your premium. :)

If i'd taken your attitude i'd have ended up paying €790 to FBD instead of €568 to Aviva. Given the choice between a €230 saving and an apology from some guy in a call centre, I know which one i'll choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I have Taxi insurance with Quinn for the last 3 years, with my father as a named driver.
    The first year cost me €2500ish
    The second year it came down to €2000ish
    And this year it came down to €1500ish

Before I paid them the €1500 I rang them and said I'd been given a quote for€1300 by a competitor of theirs (I didn't :cool:) and if they couldn't match it or lower I'd be moving on. After a few clicks, my premium miraculously came down to €1250.

I should have been doing this for years, probably would have save a grand in total.

When I got a renewal off them I would always run it via their website again and get it cheaper. Then call them and they'd match it. Saved a few hundred doing that.

MugMugs wrote: »
    You showed them and their potential to save you on your premium. :)
    Even if they divided their quote by a third (do you reckon they would) it still wasn't going to beat the quote i got.

Anan1 wrote: »
    If i'd taken your attitude i'd have ended up paying €790 to FBD instead of €568 to Aviva. Given the choice between a €230 saving and an apology from some guy in a call centre, I know which one i'll choose.
    Why didn't you soft talk FBD you might have got them to E400

I did my level best, but in the end Aviva were cheapest this time around.

I thought so,But what if aviva had quoted you E2000 would you have tried to haggle to get them down below 790 and would you have been ok with their first quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭911s

As previously quoted well pis##d off at Quinn Direct quote of 2636 euro, as opposed to last years 835 approx. Quoted from another company 405 euro for virtually same insurance, saving 2231 euro - holiday money!!

I thought so,But what if aviva had quoted you E2000 would you have tried to haggle to get them down below 790 and would you have been ok with their first quote.
    Aviva basically did the same thing to me that QD did to you - last year I paid Aviva €564, their renewal quote this year was €1074. Regardless of what they'd quoted i'd have tried to get them down as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Changed my car with them last March, 6 weeks before the end of the policy and they took me for 60 quid. Was over a barrel as I left it until the day I collected the car (was busy in work at the time and never caught them during office hours).

Then the renewal quote came in and they wanted 850. Shopped around and got a quote for 600 from Zurich, which I went back to them with and after being bounced up the chain the best they could offer was 730 for a customer of 4 years (since I'd started driving) with no claims.

Regrettable, as I like to show loyalty where possible, and I feel bad for the Quinn employees. If they came within 20-30 quid I'd have stayed. Presumably they need to get cash in quickly to get their balances up to Solvency requirements. The administrator's job will be just that.

Went with Zurich in the end. 123.ie was the cheapest quote I got, but I don't agree with their policy on admin charges

Aviva basically did the same thing to me that QD did to you - last year I paid Aviva €564, their renewal quote this year was €1074. Regardless of what they'd quoted i'd have tried to get them down as much as possible.
    I know what you mean.But my take on it is for the insurance company i'm with to give me their best quote they can,i will shop around to find a better price for the same cover.Now if i find it cheaper somewhere else and my insurance company then tells me they will try and beat that price it tells me they weren't giving me their best quote in the first place and they will lose me as a customer and i will haggle with the others.As MrDerp said if it was only 20 or 30 euros in the difference i would have stayed but try and rip me off it's their loss.

Insurance companies aren't our friends, they're trying to get as much money out of each of us as possible. If you were selling a car and I came to look at it and asked you what your best price was, would you tell me your absolute bottom line straight away?:)

But then again if you came to look at the car you know the value of it on the market is 1000 and i ask you for 3000.Would you try and haggle or would you laugh and tell me to f*ck off,because i think your a big enough eejit to pay the 3000.If i gave you a realistic price you might haggle that's fair enough but triple the value is taking the pi**.

I'd haggle, and if you didn't come down to a price I was happy with then i'd thank you for your time, leave my number in case you changed your mind, and walk. If you'd knowingly deceived me then I might take it personally, otherwise for me it's just business. I mean you never know, the company with the silly quote this time around might be the most competitive next year. Or even in ten minutes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

jaffa20 wrote: »

And the young girl/guy will know all too well who they are working for.
    If they don't develop a thick skin from that, they shouldn't be in a call centre.

I was getting shafted by Quinn for driving an imported car.
    I had about 9 years no claims bonus but they were asking for €800.
    I changed my car and changed my insurers at the same time, as I've much more choice with a non-import car.

Also I've heard Quinn are feckers when it comes to paying out claims AND I don't see the need to pay hundreds of Euro more per year because Mr. Quinn lost money on his investments which is nothing to do with my driving/insurable risk.

I've no sympathy for Quinn losing his business.
    When I cancelled my policy with them a few months ago, they transferred me to a customer service person and asked for a reason why I was cancelling. I said it was because I changed my car.
    I didn't mention the fact that I still felt p*ssed off that they increased my premium by €150 last year for no reason, even though I've over 9 years NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

I got my renewal letter from Quinn the other day and its not bad for only 2 years no claims on a Levin which is somewhat of a blacklisted car. Paid 1467 for the first years insurance on it, came down to 913 last year and this years premium is 827. Im pretty happy with that figure but I'll still ring around to see if I can get better. Not expecting much except the usual "Oh we dont insure that type of car" bullsh*t that I usually get from insurance companies :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Was with quinn for 2 years and i thought the 2 years no claims would bring my insurance premium down, but in year 3 they wanted an extra 200 euro ,i switched to 123.ie and saved around 500 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

My car insurance is up the end of the month paid E240 last year to quinn direct,and got quoted E670 for the exact same policy with an extra years no-claims bonus.I will be going to an other insurer that quoted E198 for the same cover as quinn and i informed quinn i wouldn't be renewing my policy.
    I got a call from one of quinns reps to ask if they could give another quote,i asked him "was the quote i got the first time not right" to which he said "as you are a loyal customer of ours we would be happy to renegotiate your quote".

I lol'd at your comeback.

But seriously, Id imagine the guy/girl on the end of the line was just offering what was on the computer screen at the time, dont take it personally, its ridiculous getting insulted over something like this.

ColHol wrote: »
    I lol'd at your comeback.

But seriously, Id imagine the guy/girl on the end of the line was just offering what was on the computer screen at the time, dont take it personally, its ridiculous getting insulted over something like this.
    To be honest i didn't feel insulted i just felt they were taking the pi** with the first quote, even if the person on the other end of the line when i rang to cancel my renewal even said something like that quote seems like a bit much ill get someone to ring you,I might have even thought the quote that was given was an error but it obviously wasn't.
    I wasn't that rude i did say please, the reason i asked them not to ring again is i don't want them ringing me again,stops the cold calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

To be honest i didn't feel insulted i just felt they were taking the pi** with the first quote, even if the person on the other end of the line when i rang to cancel my renewal even said something like that quote seems like a bit much ill get someone to ring you,I might have even thought the quote that was given was an error but it obviously wasn't.
    I wasn't that rude i did say please, the reason i asked them not to ring again is i don't want them ringing me again,stops the cold calling.

You were dead right. They were just taking the piss completely and when you threatened to leave Quinn for good, they go to their last resort trying to renegotiate the renewal price. Nonsense, Either offer you that price at the start or don't offer it at all. I will be doing the same as my insurance has gone up 350 euro since last year.

teednab-el wrote: »
    You were dead right. They were just taking the piss completely and when you threatened to leave Quinn for good, they go to their last resort trying to renegotiate the renewal price. Nonsense, Either offer you that price at the start or don't offer it at all. I will be doing the same as my insurance has gone up 350 euro since last year.
    I wasn't naming companies,but it was no-nonsence that quoted the E198,with the rest being between E220 to E250 and quinn at E670.

teednab-el wrote: »
    Nonsense, Either offer you that price at the start or don't offer it at all.
    With all due respect, that's not how the world works.

That's the way no-nonsence(it's in the name)are doing it so it is how the world is starting to work and it's up to the rest to catch up.Quinn seem to be going the opposite way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

That's the way no-nonsence(it's in the name)are doing it so it is how the world is starting to work and it's up to the rest to catch up.Quinn seem to be going the opposite way.

I guarantee you that it's possible to negotiate with No Nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

-Chris- wrote: »

I think a lot of them are like that Chris. I got a great bargain of Quinn for the wifes car insurance this year. A lot of people have the idea when they they get a higher renewal quote is to ring Quinn and have a fcuking match, Unfortunatley that dont work.

-Chris- wrote: »
    I would of only been haggling over 10 or 20 euros.With quinn it would have been for 400 to 500 euros, if i was haggling with no-nonsence over that kind of difference they would have owed me money.Hmmmm there's a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭knuth

Below quotes / renewals from QD

Sep 09: €750 (5 ncb, full dl)

Sep 10: renewal €1200 (6 ncb, full dl)

Sep 11: quote €700

No accidents, fully comp, full drivers license.

Ditched them in September last year but got a quote of them yesterday, a bit suprised!

lordlame wrote: »
    Below quotes / renewals from QD

Sep 09: €750 (5 ncb, full dl)

Sep 10: renewal €1200 (6 ncb, full dl)

Sep 11: quote €700

No accidents, fully comp, full drivers license.

Ditched them in September last year but got a quote of them yesterday, a bit suprised!
    I'm not supprised at all,sep 10 they tried to rip you off you were having none of it so they have to rethink again in sep 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

no nonsense .ie are a branch of fbd so hard to understand how they will be so much cheaper than fbd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

dharn wrote: »
    no nonsense .ie are a branch of fbd so hard to understand how they will be so much cheaper than fbd

Because with no nonsense everything has to be add on as extras. A full comp quote with fbd will be exactly that, full comp with all the bells & whistles, get a full comp quote from no nonsense with the same details & it will intially seem cheaper but if you want anything like breakdown assist etc etc it has to be add on. Add everything & you probably have the exact same quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

911s wrote: »
    Try www.insuremyvan.ie. I got my 07 tdi caddy insured with them for 380 fully comp.