Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petition to ban all church related threads from AH

• 20-07-2011 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

As above. Vote with your index digits, people.

Moratorium on Priestly Topics? 240 votes

Yay
    0% 0 votes
    Nay
    31% 75 votes
    Atari Pope
    68% 165 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I'm not for a ban, too much to talk about re the church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

No way. Never miss an opportunity to bash the bishop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

sollar wrote: »
    I'm not for a ban, too much to talk about re the church

I am. Nothing we haven't heard before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Free speech etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Take your thread to Christianity would ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Ah here, I'm sick of it. If it's not a recession thread it's one about a fiddling priest. Sick of it at this stage. (And yes Im fully aware I've kinda just started one, yes you're clever for figuring it out, move on.)

We all know that some priests are well deserving of a trip to hell, but we dont need a million threads a day about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

What would Jesus do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

sdeire wrote: »
    Ah here, I'm sick of it. If it's not a recession thread it's one about a fiddling priest. Sick of it at this stage. (And yes Im fully aware I've kinda just started one, yes you're clever for figuring it out, move on.)

I'M CLEVER!!!

YAY!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You know you dont have to click on those threads, right? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Just fcuk it all into a superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Not really bothered, but hate to see anything banned from AH, well stuff thats actually acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I think it is rather important the AH users discuss Catholic priests abusing young kids and then the pope covering it up. Perhaps that is just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Ban the atheist threads too and you've got a deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

No you.

Ban OP.

A megathread would do the trick. Could a mod edit the poll (if ye actually listen to those things when making such decisions)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Freedom of speech and freedom of reading - don't like, don't click, feel free to start better if you don't like what's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Church, government, banks, social welfare, health care, immigration/emigration

What is left for AH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

No.

If people want to talk about it, vent their anger and opinions let them.
    The fact that the OP doesn't want to hear it, means they have unresolved issues with the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

It's very simple OP.

You don't likey, don't clicky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Someone should start a thread about banning threads started by people who want threads banned. That'll fix the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Sure if we all ignore it it will just go away...

Where did I hear that before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I like the sound of Atari Pope.

All hail Pope Pong I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

If only we weren't forced to click on every single thread that appears in AH... oh wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

The church has silenced people for decades, not any more though. I think it would be an insult to the victims who suffered beatings, sexual assault, rape, psychological torture, etc at the hands of the church by banning discussion of the church on a huge media outlet such as boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Skunkle wrote: »
    Someone should start a thread about banning threads started by people who want threads banned. That'll fix the problem.

Surely the simplest solution would be to get the mods to ban everyone ?

Then start banning each other.

Last mod standing wins !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Skunkle wrote: »

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

can we maybe just... perhaps have a stronger movement towards making happy, light-hearted threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ban church related threads ? why stop there ...just ban all threads on any subject = No

I'll be honest - never thought of a megathread, with that in mind perhaps this particular thread was a little misjudged. Have requested it be locked.

Ahh, hindsight. Good stuff so tis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I have this crazy affliction where I dont click into threads I'm not interested in, its mental really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

F*ck the pope!

I'll be honest - never thought of a megathread, with that in mind perhaps this particular thread was a little misjudged. Have requested it be locked.

Ahh, hindsight. Good stuff so tis.
    So you've started it just so you can end it .That's abuse :pac:

It's boards democracy as we know it OP ,like we can get tired of a thread this week but might find it interesting ( or some of it ) next week .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Craebear wrote: »
    F*ck the pope!
    I fairly sure somebody has - but he's not my type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

The church is deserving of all the abuse it receives here on After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Why not just have a megathread? At least then the people with the clichéd rants and the "fidei defensors" of boards if you will can have their own dedicated battlefield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Craebear wrote: »
    F*ck the pope!
    Why would you say that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I find the Christianity forum just isn't judgemental enough so a big no from me.

And no to a megathread too. I want lots of microthreads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

orourkeda wrote: »
    I am. Nothing we haven't heard before.

Really. When last did a taoiseach last stop cap twisting and for lock tugging long enough to tell The Church to stick its 'special relationship' up its... aisle... and stop interfering in our matters?
    When?

Take your thread to Christianity would ya?

Yes. Thanks OP for another one. Personally in shocked and disappointed that there arent more of them:D

We all know that some priests are well deserving of a trip to hell, but we dont need a million threads a day about it.

Find me a thread specific to Priests and priests alone... go on...

Yes. Thanks OP for another one. Personally in shocked and disappointed that there arent more of them:D
    No worrys . OP's really a seekcrit church related thread anorack ;)

But but but where would all the Catholic Apologists get to use the line "Dont tar them all with the same brush".?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Is it just me or are there more threads giving out on boards.ie, about supposed atheists starting up threads - than there actually is threads started up by atheists?
    I mean, there is a lot of baptised people actually out there on boards.ie who have started religious threads I assume!
    Probably 'cos they are just as pissed off - if not more so - 'cos of something they are in, has gone so wrong!

...Of course its just cheap, lazy and easy to blame it all on the atheists!
    Sure its another way of putting them down by the constant tainting of them with that wide tar brush again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

The topic is old but they deserve to be berated for what they done.

Pity it's took so long for ' some ' people in Ireland to wake up although I'm sure there's quite a few Rip Van Winkles out there still .

Biggins wrote: »
    Is it just me or are there more threads giving out on boards.ie, about supposed atheists starting up threads - than there actually is threads started up by atheists?
    Probably just you. The number of "giving out about Atheists giving out" threads can probably be counted on one hand but the number of "Atheists giving out" threads are more than likely far higher.
    Sure its another way of putting them down by the constant tainting of them with that wide tar brush again!
    Yes, of course. It's the atheists who are having generalisations made against them and who are being "persecuted" on boards. They're the ones being "Put down" by the big nasty "wide tar brush" of AH alright. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Biggins wrote: »
    I mean, there is a lot of baptised people actually out there on boards.ie who have started religious threads I assume!
    Probably 'cos they are just as pissed off - if not more so - 'cos of something they are in, has gone so wrong!

...Of course its just cheap, lazy and easy to blame it all on the atheists!

Dont tar all thread starter with the same brush. There are perfectly good thread starters out there and they are entitled to their disbelief or belief. This is a fine country founded by neolithic Pagans and we would have no New Grange if not for them. Start your own New Grange if you dont like it.....

repeat until you p1ss every one off....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Probably just you. The number of "giving out about Atheists giving out" threads can probably be counted on one hand but the number of "Atheists giving out" threads are more than likely far higher.

Yes, of course. It's the atheists who are having generalisations made against them and who are being "persecuted" on boards. They're the ones being "Put down" by the big nasty "wide tar brush" of AH alright. :rolleyes:

Pssssssssssssst. Giving out about a very powerful cult/ institution which covers up child rape does not = Atheist.
    Its = being aware and decent....

Pssssssssssssst. Giving out about a very powerful cult/ institution which covers up child rape does not = Atheist.
    Its = being aware and decent....
    I was talking about "Religion/God" threads in general. That's what these threads generally descend in to anyway.

Had you actually read Biggins' post properly instead of purposefully misreading it to try and get in a dig at me you would have noticed he used the word "Atheists". He did not mention any specific church. Don't let any of that get in the way of getting out a nice thanks-harvesting post though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Might I remind everyone that boards already has a forum under the religion and spirituality category where Catholicism is the main topic of conversation.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=614