Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ma Digital Media

• 20-07-2011 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

Hi

I have a similar post on the UL forum but have the same quetions for the Digital Media course at NUIG.

Just wanted to get some feedback from anyone who has completed the MA in Digital Media . How is the course structured and what the timetable is like for any lectures/workshops etc and has anyone found related employment after taking the course.

How much time/emphasis is put on interactive media and what is the teaching and equipment like for that (what kind of sensors/software recent technologies like ipad etc). Also can projects be linked with students from different courses like music/computer sciences/programming

Also what are they looking for in your portfolio? Are they more interested in the ideas rather than flashy work.

Im looking into taking either this course or the MA in Interactive Media in Limerick. Im living in Galway and working part time so im wondering how heavy going this course is and if its possible to continue to work part time and still be able to get the work done and attend lectures/workshops etc.

(ill be applying for next years course)

Any info would be much appreciated

Cheers
    bloo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 memecece

I did the course in NUI Galway and found it to be a very big let down and therefore wouldn't recommend it. They don't provide you with enough technical skills, skills you will need when working in the industry. There are also a number of subjects which just have no place on the course. There are also a lot of modules that should be on the course but are not and never will be due to politics.

If you have knowledge of digital media then I would strongly recommend staying away from this course, as you will not learn as much as you would like and come away feeling let down and disheartened.

It has good points, such as having your own room and your own computer but unfortunately the bad outways the good.

I'm sure others will have found it good, but someone who had a background in the digital media, I found the course a complete waste of time and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bloo

memecece wrote: »
    I did the course in NUI Galway and found it to be a very big let down and therefore wouldn't recommend it. They don't provide you with enough technical skills, skills you will need when working in the industry. There are also a number of subjects which just have no place on the course. There are also a lot of modules that should be on the course but are not and never will be due to politics.

If you have knowledge of digital media then I would strongly recommend staying away from this course, as you will not learn as much as you would like and come away feeling let down and disheartened.

It has good points, such as having your own room and your own computer but unfortunately the bad outways the good.

I'm sure others will have found it good, but someone who had a background in the digital media, I found the course a complete waste of time and money.

Hi thanks for the reply.

Thats a shame it was a let down. From what ive read its only been going for a few years, I guess they have some adjustments to make.

I took a BA in screen design/interactive media in England a few years back and have been working in design (print based) since that. Im hoping to up-skill and get up do date with digital media again as I feel ive been a long time out of the loop. I wonder if by next year the prospectus will have changed much.

I don't think it will. As far as I know the same modules are going to be taught this year. If you are interested in print design then I would strongly suggest staying away from this course. The course doesn't go near photoshop, indesign or illustrator. Flash is barely touched upon.

It's in it's 6th year so a lot of those kinks should have been ironed out by now but unfortunately they haven't. I wish I had good things to say about the course but unfortunately the course just isn't very well organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

memecece wrote: »
    The course doesn't go near photoshop, indesign or illustrator. Flash is barely touched upon.

What do they cover?

Very little to be honest.

The course consists of a lot of essay writing, which I understand is part of a Masters but considering the discipline of the course one would have expected a lot more practical work.

The first semester you do about 4 or 5 weeks of dreamweaver - you don't learn much and the tutorials given are about 6 or 7 years out of date. You do flash for 4 or 5 weeks but it's mostly based on animation and not action script, you only get about 1 class on that.

You learn html, xhtml, asp.net (albeit rather badly and way too fast for people who don't have knowledge of it). You get do a bit of php but it is only about 2 hours and it isn't hands on, you watch the lecturers do it and are then expected to code something as an assignment. You also learn about semantic web (foaf, sparql etc), but all of that is done very quickly and it's hard to get your head around when you don't do tutorials in class and get a 2 hour theory class.

Databases is also part of the course (access, sql), but again more theory based and you get a 1 hour tutorial every week.

E-learning was enjoyable. You have practical assignments and get a lot of guest speakers but there's no technical skills being taught - you get to make a podcast, how to video etc but again a lot of it is writing based.

There is kinda a creative writing module which to be honest was kinda a waste of time. You would expect it to teach you skills in various writing styles but unfortunately it doesn't even come close to that.

There is two modules on film - Film in the digital age and A history of avant-garde film. Which are theory based and you sit watching films during the class, but personally i think they would have been better if we were given skills in film editing, sound editing and compositing (after effects etc). Assignements in these modules are essays. We have asked why we are doing these modules instead of practicle stuff but have been told that if we wanted to that we did the wrong course (go figure) and that those programmes will never be taught on the MA Digital Media course.

There is also a module on Digital information which isn't bad but unless you want to get into text analysis if doesn't really make sense on the course either.

3D studio max is on the course but the tutorials are basic and there is a chance you will be frustrated by how little you learn.

Sorry for being so negative, just wanted to give a clear picture of what the course does and unfortunately doesn't offer. There is a lot of peer learning and self learning involved, which is expected from a Masters. However, considering that students opted for a taught Masters it would suggest that they actually wanted to be taught of a high standard and the appropiate software. If they wanted to have to spend a lot of time teaching themselves and using Google as a teacher then they would've opted to do a research Masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 PRoDigital

Hi Bloo. I am not sure if you ever did the course after that advice… but I did this course and it was everything I wanted and more. Memecece complains about not making films and not doing enough programming. This is not what this course is about (although there is a fair bit of programing involved and we had editing workshops). If you want to make films, do a film making course, if you want to program, do a software development course. A digital media course is about content, and that’s what this course is all about – content is king!!! It’s about understanding how this can be done using technology – through storytelling, writing, film, e-learning and so on. I have a background in software development and I was delighted with this course and astounded by how much I learned and could do after a short amount of time. I would not have gotten my current job (and I definitely would not have been able to keep it) was it not for all I learned there. Sure, there were modules that I enjoyed less than others and some were too fast paced and some not fast paced enough, but I think that has a lot to do with what you already know. I loved that I got to propose my own project and was encouraged to explore some of the more radical ideas that I have. I got on really well with the lecturers and some of my old class mates are friends for life. For me, I got back a lot for all that I put in… but my advice is to RTFM before signing up

ProDigital I am delighted that you had such a good experience with the course, I really am. But the truth is a vast majority of people were extremely unhappy with it when I did it, ie, about 90% of the class. The modules were all over the place and a couple of the lecturers were extremely poor in their delivery. Even the notes we were given for some modules were 6 - 10 years out of date!!! We were messed around from the beginning in the course. Content may well be king but you also need to learn the skills to get a good job and in my experience that course doesn't help. I have a job based on what I taught myself. To be honest the majority of my class either went back to do other courses or they went back to the disciplines they were in before the course. As I said I am happy you had a good experience I wish I could say the same. I wanted the course to be amazing but I was sorely disappointed. I got on with my lecturers to but that doesn't mean I had a great experience. I came from a background similar to Digital Media and thought that by the end of the course I would have developed my skills more but the truth is I wouldn't have gotten anywhere if I didn't take the time to teach myself everything they were suppose to. I too have made friends for life in the course but again that doesn't make up for spending thousands for a lacklustre education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Is that at the Huston Film School?

Yep the one in the film school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 PRoDigital

I can only talk for myself, but it seems disingenuous to make claims for the “majority”. I did “learn the skills” and I did “get a job” and it was liberating when compared with my job prior to the course. For me it was exactly what I was looking for at that stage in my career. I have huge respect of the course and feel proud to have been part of it. I have advised lots of people to do it based on my own experience. But I am only one person. Most of my colleagues are working in the area of digital media and seem to be doing well. However, I can only speak for myself. :D

ProDigital I never said the majority of people who have done the course were disenchanted with it, if you had've read what I wrote you would have seen I said that the majority of my class were disappointed with it. What you seem to have experienced was very different from the quality of education I received. Maybe it has improved since I did it,all I know was that it had way to flaws. You learned skills that unfortunately I had to learn myself because the quality of notes provided were extremely poor. I got a job after in the area also but it wasn't due to the skills I learned during this course. I'm happy you have advised people to do based on your experience unfortunately based on my own I have advised people to stay as far away from it as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I also know some former participants in the course and the general view among them was negative with a feeling that the course was cobbled together, lacking focus, outdated and not having a consistently high quality of content. People may have gotten jobs from it but I'd suggest it was more a case of the M.A ticking a box to go with skills they largely built in their own time rather than the course facilitating this learning directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 TwitterDott

I did the course and it was out dated, out of touch, whatever you want to call it. They ARE modules on the course that should be cut. The students aren't the only ones copy and pasting.

I'd look elsewhere, it's a lot of money and a long course, get a course that will get you a job in your chosen area!

My personal experience. Thank you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Sorry for the bump but I'm thinking of doing this course next year and I'm wondering if anyone has any more updates/thoughts/feedback on it or if anyone is on the course now if they've any feedback on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 digitalash

I recently graduated from this course and would definitely recommend it! It's quite intensive and challenging but worth every minute! I've gained such a wide variety of skills from this course and I find it so much easier adapting to different programs and technologies. The students come from different diverse backgrounds and in the case of my class, we all shared our skills and helped each other in the areas which we were strongest. The course is made up of 3 semesters, 2 of them are taught and the third semester consists of your own project which you choose yourself. It allows you to thrive in the area of your preference!! The course was also actually just short listed for the gradlireland postgraduate course of the year! I myself am very proud to have been a part of this course and think it's very worth while!! Do it!! :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Excellent, thanks Digitalash

No promblem :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Edel5647

I did the course and have to say it wasn't great.
    The lectures just seem not to care at all. With one of the modules the lecture teaching the software didn't know how to use it. One of the students ended up teaching most of the module.
    At the end of it you end up being a little exposed to various topics but never really learning anything too in dept.
    A lot of people in the course felt it had been a waste of time for them.

If your looking to gain some practical skills this probably isn't the best course for you. You could probably learn just has much from reading a few books.

Saying that, other people that have posted seem to have thoroughly enjoy it, so I guess it just depends what your looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Dervilla27

Edel5647 wrote: »
    I did the course and have to say it wasn't great.
    The lectures just seem not to care at all. With one of the modules the lecture teaching the software didn't know how to use it. One of the students ended up teaching most of the module.
    At the end of it you end up being a little exposed to various topics but never really learning anything too in dept.
    A lot of people in the course felt it had been a waste of time for them.

If your looking to gain some practical skills this probably isn't the best course for you. You could probably learn just has much from reading a few books.

Saying that, other people that have posted seem to have thoroughly enjoy it, so I guess it just depends what your looking for.

Hi Edel,

Iv applied and got offered the place in the MA. I just wanted to know if you definately don't recommend it? L Like what background did you come from going into the course and what are you pursuing now aftet graduating from it? I am finishing a BA in Communication Studies in DCU this year, and I was hoping to specialise in digital media, learning more of the skill of it etc. But reading these posts I don't want to jump into something and end up making a mistake. Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 bredunl

I've also been offered a place on this course. My background is in in marketing but I have very little tech skills/knowledge. Is this a good place to start or would I be better off doing something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 emerfan

bredunl wrote: »
    I've also been offered a place on this course. My background is in in marketing but I have very little tech skills/knowledge. Is this a good place to start or would I be better off doing something else.
    Hi Bredunl,

I had no technical skills before the Masters, and while it is intense, you do go from zero to programmer, zero to Photoshop, Flash etc if you put the work in and take advantage of the resources that are available.
    eBusiness marketing was my favourite module last semester, there was a really strong focus on social media. If there was another module in marketing this semester I would have taken it, because it complements the skills you learn on the course so well.

If you need advice or have questions, my mail address is in a reply below

- Emer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 joespoons

I am a current student in the MA coures. i can honestly say I love it and have learned heaps. The course is very broad and encourages students to take their own direction. There is some essay writing as with any MA and an introduction to a variety of software. There are plenty of module choices of which I found the e-business module particularly useful. I also really enjoyed the e-learning course.
    As with any MA peer learning is a core element. I have been working in a our own computer lab with some very bright people. Working in this environment promotes learning. The course outline is very broad and therfore it offers all of us an opportunity to focus on our own areas of interest however the class is a great place to bounce ideas off some of the brightest and best.
    It will not suit everybody, however it does offer students the chance to focus on thier own area of interest in the final project. While i have stuggled with a couple of core modules, most notably internet programmimg I have found the lectures nothing but helpful and polite. Speaking for myself, I am really happy to have taken up a place on the course and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. I am looking forward to completeing a digital media project that has the potential to make a significant difference to peoples lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 MaireadM

I am a current student of this course in Digital Media at NUIG. Reading some of the negative comments, I feel I should add my more positive experience. Yes, the course is tough but you learn so much and there is a broad range of materials/subjects covered. And yes too, much of it is up to yourself but if you want to get real valuable digital media experienced, this is what you have to do. There is so much right about the course to facilitate becoming a digital media expert. The best feature of the course is that it is run from a dedicated Masters in Digital Media room in the IT building where all the IT post-graduates are located. In this room, you have your own assigned computer and desk and this is of enormous benefit in facilitating working and learning from others. You are not scrambling for a computer and desk space; you have your own dedicated space. You do cover a lot of subjects which sometimes means that some areas are thinly covered, but I think it is much more valuable to cover a broad range of subjects than a smaller in-dept no of subjects. The lecturing is generally top class and the few that are not so good do not significantly overshadow the general course quality.

The University of Limerick run a 2 year part-time Digital Media masters and I did the first year of it (which is a graduate diploma) a few years ago and by comparison, its content is tiny and you get very few contact hours. This course is so much more comprehensive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 galwaygirl6

I am a student on this course at moment 2012/2013 and I can't agree with some of the previous comments about it. confused.png If you coming from an artistic background you will probably find programming, databases etc. difficult and wonder why do you need them. if you coming from technical background you will find the creative stuff hard. But all these are needed in different forms of Digital Media. I found the course great and learnt a lot. smile.png It is hard work and like any masters course it's time consuming but you get from the course what you put in.
    The fact that we had our own room and could learn from and help each other was a big advantage.There was always someone to ask when I needed to know something.Yes, I would have liked more practical modules but we had some practical workshops i.e. photoshop,premiere and learned myself as I went along. Although the module 'Film in the Digital Age' is mostly 'academic',at the end you are much more knowledgeable and have a greater understanding when shooting film and can apply what you've learned.
    I had looked at boards last year when I was deciding whether to do the course or not. I'm glad I decided to go ahead with it. It has benefited me and what I've learned I can apply to any projects in any discipline or in the workforce. wink.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 FloFlo

I did the MaDM last year, to go straight to the point: that course gave me a job in 3 weeks of job-seeking!
    The subjects completely fullfill requirements of the today's market: social web, internet technologie, design, animation,3d.. During that year I completed a cool portfofio of animation,websites,apps.. have a look on http://florent.letendre.free.fr/ .
    There was a great vibe among classmates where the artistic-background lads were helping the technical-background lads like me, a great exchange of knowledge! The film subjects were a bit out of scope in my case but pretty good for my own general knowledge, really enjoy them anyway, could be a good kick-off if you plan to do some shooting-editing afterward. For artistic background lads,Web Programming was a bit scary at first but the introduction is smooth enough with regular assignments, nothing to worry about.
    Concerning the lecturers, I studied in 4 different IT/Universities, I found here the most professional ones, most of them work in Research Center so they seriously know their domains, and always available for help or give extra resources.
    I really recommend it! be curious, versatile and motivated!
    Florent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 bredunl

Can anyone who has done the course previously tell me what kind of jobs they have ended up in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 digillike

I did the course in Digital Media and I was delighted with it- As with every course you get out of it what you put in- so if you got nothing out of it then I would think it can only be because you did not use it to your benefit - When your in a Masters you are never going to be spoon fed- my whole thesis involved using a lot of different technologies. We did not necessarily cover all of them but had been introduced to and had been prepared for their use. Digital media is a massive area therefore you cant expect any course on it to just cover the areas you love. The point is the course covers the use of timelines, programing- front and back end, design and usability and the general areas that are essential to working in this field.

Learning these broadly is far more beneficial, - no matter what programming you use functions, loops and arrays etc are all present- all that changes is the syntax- no matter what editing software you use - the way a timeline works is the same- its about learning the concepts, how things work and are ordered etc and then after that its about being proactive and taking what you've learned to produce something new and different for a thesis. Technology is changing far too fast to worry about very specific technologies.

I found the lecturers were very involved and really helpful. At times when we felt we needed help in areas we even had lecturers take their own personal time and use it to help us. This happened on many occasions. The modules were very relevant touching on programing and databases- both essential to an understanding on how the back end of the digital media we use works. It focuses on design and front end development also, as well as E-learning and 3d design and modeling. All of these are very relevant to current industries

Basically I was very happy with the course. Since completing it and I have gotten a job that I am very happy in. Everything that I learned in the course has been highly useful in this job, even those subjects that were not directly related to my job area. I would definitely recommend doing this course. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

This thread is very lively the last few days with a lot of people joining especially to say how great the course is. I'm normally not very cynical, but the low post counts and several people registering ONLY to post on this thread just doesn't sit right with me. And a lot of posts within a very short time of each other in a thread that had very little attention up until then... Who doesn't want the negative feedback stopping prospective students getting in?

Perhaps I'm way off the mark, but I read every single thread in this forum and I have never seen so much activity in such a short space of time in such remarkable defense of a course. Just seems a bit off to me, tbh.

My input - I only know some of the lecturers on the course, have been taught by a couple of them and I can't really vouch for them in my experience. Lovely people but poor "teachers", if you will. But they do try their best, in fairness to them. Can't say much else, really.

In reply to 'reap a rat'. Yes there has been a lot of activity in the last few days. This is because we all got together as a group and discussed the negative press that was on this form. I think the amount of positive activity shows how strongly we feel that the negative comments aren't justified and we all got together as a community to put up for our course which so many people have benefited from, put a lot of work in to and dedicated a year of their lives to. It doesn't change the fact that each of us truly believe the opinions we wrote. As you say we went to the trouble of creating accounts just to reply to this forum. I'm very sorry you feel this way but as you can see, so many of us strongly disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

digitalash wrote: »
    In reply to 'reap a rat'. Yes there has been a lot of activity in the last few days. This is because we all got together as a group and discussed the negative press that was on this form. I think the amount of positive activity shows how strongly we feel that the negative comments aren't justified and we all got together as a community to put up for our course which so many people have benefited from, put a lot of work in to and dedicated a year of their lives to. It doesn't change the fact that each of us truly believe the opinions we wrote. As you say we went to the trouble of creating accounts just to reply to this forum. I'm very sorry you feel this way but as you can see, so many of us strongly disagree.

Well, that's a reasonable explanation - fair play that ye feel so strongly! I'm happy that it's the students themselves that are sticking up for the course - I was worried that people may have had 'encouragement' from those higher up instead of just stating how ye really feel. Well done, it's quite noble that ye're putting a good effort in to commend the course. Hope it goes well for ye! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I'm on the P & D course, and can't vouch for the Digital Media students, but we probably have lecturers that crossover. I would say that our course is very sound academically and a little short on the practical side... but only through the fact that some of the equipment has seen better days and deadlines could be better. However I believe that the equipment is on it's way to being up dated, and our feedback is noted. I do have some other quibbles, but nothing I wouldn't bring up with the tutors or course co-ordinator. And I've posted lots of time on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Fatboydim wrote: »
    I would say that our course is very sound academically and a little short on the practical side...

Some things never change, it seems :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Eogclouder

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    Well, that's a reasonable explanation - fair play that ye feel so strongly! I'm happy that it's the students themselves that are sticking up for the course - I was worried that people may have had 'encouragement' from those higher up instead of just stating how ye really feel. Well done, it's quite noble that ye're putting a good effort in to commend the course. Hope it goes well for ye! :)

Well that's what you would say if you were virally promoting the course! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bidiots

Eogclouder wrote: »
    Well that's what you would say if you were virally promoting the course! :pac:

Is it acceptable to virally demote the course then?

bidiots wrote: »

Explain to me how feedback of personal experience is "viral demotion".

Explain to me how feedback of personal experience is "viral promotion"?

Perhaps you don't understand what viral marketing is or how it works. It's a process whereby a group purposefully plant people to act and behave as though they are not a part of/affiliated with said group, and promote a product or service from that group with a final goal of having something to gain from doing so (praise, renown, money etc.)

This happens with the gaming industry all the time, an example would be a dev posing as a "normal person", posting on a forum about how great a new game was in hopes of spreading word of mouth praise for a product.

Reap-A-Rat saw hallmark signs of the above in the thread and pointed it out, someone replied giving an explanation, I made a joke saying that's exactly what someone in the position of virally promoting something would say.

"viral demotion" though not unheard of, isn't really a thing. So, implying that it exists here is implying that all positive feedback is genuine while the negative feedback is not. This means people posting negative feedback have an agenda to spread belief of the course being bad. This doesn't really make much sense compared to the opposite where the college and course heads would have something to gain from virally promoting something.

I never made any implication of the practice being acceptable in either form.

tl;dr
    Read the thread and keep up instead of ****posting.

I think you need to take some of your own advice here;).

You were the first to mention 'viral promotion'. I countered that opinion. Viral Marketing works both ways, which is exactly what I was pointing out.
    That is all.
    There is no need for long winded, unnecessary analogies, it's pretty black and white. No need to drag this off topic any further.

You were the first to mention 'viral promotion'.

The last 3-4 posts before mine in this thread have been about it, I was the first to call it by name.
    I countered that opinion.

What opinion? What are you talking about? I Joked that the claim made that the positive feedback was genuine is EXACTLY what someone who wasn't genuine WOULD say.
    Viral Marketing works both ways, which is exactly what I was pointing out.

Not in every context as my above post explained. What's the point in the current context of organizing a viral campaign against the course? What would one gain from doing this? There's no clear motive or benefit for doing so.
    There is no need for long winded, unnecessary analogies, it's pretty black and white. No need to drag this off topic any further.

Clearly there was, as you have a hard time following a simple conversation. The first "off-topic" post was your own.

Before this post, no one had mentioned acceptability. That wasn't the discussion, point or topic of my post or anyone else's.

I think you need to read the posts again. It's obvious what my statement was about, to those that have read it that is, I have no idea what way you are understanding it. All you are doing is dragging the thread off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 badbuzz

Hi folks

Currently considering applying for this course.

I've read up on it and am very interested in some of the course content and the fact that you can specialise within that is very encouraging.

One question though: What kind of jobs did people go into from this course? Anybody got any information on where they've ended up working etc?

Would be grateful to know what the opportunities from it are like...

Thanks a lot.

badbuzz wrote: »
    Hi folks

Currently considering applying for this course.

I've read up on it and am very interested in some of the course content and the fact that you can specialise within that is very encouraging.

One question though: What kind of jobs did people go into from this course? Anybody got any information on where they've ended up working etc?

Would be grateful to know what the opportunities from it are like...

Thanks a lot.

I'm going to be brutally honest here. This course is not good. An arts degree in a computer field is generally a bad sign.

If you are looking to invest in education for the purposesof being hired, I'd suggest a different course.

I'm going to be brutally honest here. This course is not good. An arts degree in a computer field is generally a bad sign.

If you are looking to invest in education for the purposesof being hired, I'd suggest a different course.

Thanks for the opinion.

Did you do this course yourself?

Thanks for the opinion.

Did you do this course yourself?

No I didn't. I'm enrolled in the Computer Science undergrad course in NUIG though in my final year. I'm familiar with all of the lectureres invovled in it and know many of the modules.

Similair to the arts IT undergrad, it's generally quite weak and doesnt really leave you qualified to get hired in the tech industry. To me, it doesn't seem up the scratch for that. It's too broad and genrealized and the subjects are quite weak. (Taking the same subjects that undergrads take in their 2nd year for example).

I wouldn't doubt that some people may have gotten hired, but I would wager that's the exception and not the rule. For the money it costs and your afforementioned motive of wanting to get a job from it, I don't think it's worth your while.

No I didn't. I'm enrolled in the Computer Science undergrad course in NUIG though in my final year. I'm familiar with all of the lectureres invovled in it and know many of the modules.

Similair to the arts IT undergrad, it's generally quite weak and doesnt really leave you qualified to get hired in the tech industry. To me, it doesn't seem up the scratch for that. It's too broad and genrealized and the subjects are quite weak. (Taking the same subjects that undergrads take in their 2nd year for example).

I wouldn't doubt that some people may have gotten hired, but I would wager that's the exception and not the rule. For the money it costs and your afforementioned motive of wanting to get a job from it, I don't think it's worth your while.

Thanks for your opinion.

Anybody on here that has actually done this course and can give concrete feedback on the aftermath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭lostdesign

Thanks for your opinion.

Anybody on here that has actually done this course and can give concrete feedback on the aftermath?

I am currently undertaking the Digital Media MA so I don't have any idea about job prospects after the course is finished but I could answer any questions you have on the course.

If this had have been before Christmas I would have told you it was a great course but since then the course co-coordinator has left and things are a little up in the air. Its hard to say how things will play out next year so I would think long and hard before committing your 6k which will be the fees next year.

If your from Galway you could always drop into Lab 303 in the IT building, that is the Digital Media Lab and there is generally someone here you could have a chat too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 bullman_14

I have applied for the course. I was just in before the deadline.. Does anyone know at what stage they make their decisions on applicants? Is the course usually full?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭thisNthat

bullman_14 wrote: »
    Does anyone know at what stage they make their decisions on applicants? Is the course usually full?

I'd also like to know this?
    Is it possible to get in if you missed the application process through PAC?
    How many on the course?
    What video editing software is used? Adobe premier pro or final cut pro or other?
    Thanks in advance :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Jenny_G

Hey,

I was also wondering if there have been any updates on people's more recent experience of the course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 flower123

I would also like to know any updates of this academic year.