Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

stalking boots

• 20-07-2011 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭

hi lads, anyone know of a good website to buy boots from. looking for good ankle support and waterproof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

hi lads, anyone know of a good website to buy boots from. looking for good ankle support and waterproof.

Meindl Boots first class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

+1 they are the only boots to get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭DR6.5

Second the above, have two pairs glockner and makalu, the makalu are a great boot, very hard wearing and i find them a very comfortable boot.

http://www.greatoutdoors.ie/product_info.php?cPath=232_31_111&products_id=9768&osCsid=dc676cdbb6da469b0772ce139ee51f91

the vakuum get some good reviews.

http://www.meindl.de/english/

I use sealskinz socks with the boots, 100% waterproof, definately recomend meindl boots.

dr6.5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

http://www.brixworkwear.com/ie/haix-montana.html

love a pair of these

I have a pair of haix and they are supercomfortable on long walks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

I like mendil army pro, but because their so high they say you should be above 6th tall to wear them comfortably. The army gore are lower but are suppose to be a great boot aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Keep an eye out for good stalking boots in TK Max @ the half price in the shops.

clivej wrote: »
    Keep an eye out for good stalking boots in TK Max @ the half price in the shops.

I was just looking there, can't see any boots??

http://www.tkmaxx.com/mens-shoes/new-in-mens-shoes/icat/2725/

Or stalking type boots?
    I'm looking for a light pair of boots at the mo for summer work, I bought a pair of boots in Paul byron that were supposed to be the same as goiretex, but all they do is rot your feet.

I have a few bob coming in 2 weeks so I want to buy a pair of boots for offroad but not crossing rivers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Harkila range of boots.

Sold at http://www.islandsports.ie/clothing.html half way down page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Meindl :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

+1 on the meindls.

Although as with any good pair of boots or footware, if you're planning to do a lot of walking whilst out stalking and spend a long night/day in the boots, unless you know exactly what size you are looking for, I'd say you'd be better getting your feet measured up and the correct size of boot chosen, rather than ordering online as the boots aren't cheap.

For example, I'd normally be size 10 in a shoe - but when I had my foot measured with walking socks on in the shop, the size chosen (for the Meindl Eagle boots) was actually a Size 9. And whilst they were kinda tight for the first day, they've been a perfect fit since. Plus, they didn't need any breaking-in and despite having hiked around the Spinc walk in Glendalough the day after I bought the boots (not a wise thing to do and a bit risky!), not a blister to be found.

My advice: Make sure to get your boots sized correctly. Once you have the size, then consider buying online.

Or stalking type boots?
    I'm looking for a light pair of boots at the mo for summer work, I bought a pair of boots in Paul byron that were supposed to be the same as goiretex, but all they do is rot your feet.

I have a few bob coming in 2 weeks so I want to buy a pair of boots for offroad but not crossing rivers ;)

No go online you have to get up off your arse and get down to a store and have a look see. They may only have a couple of good quality boots in stock. I saw Mendle boots there before.

I got a pair of good Brasser hiking/stalking boots from TK Max @€;70 ,I saw them at€150 in the shops, gortex inner and leather outer. Light weight, comfy, and nice ankel support as well. My second year to have them now. But with everything you must mind them, I use dubbin on them to keep them soft and supple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I dunno clive, I go to TK Maxx all the time for cooking kit and some clothes (jackets, tracksuits, shirts, etc); but for boots, I'll pay full price if it means getting a better fit (and I have odd feet, so it's unlikely TK Maxx would have my size anyway :D ). I mean, if your jacket's not the best, well, you get a bit damp - but if your boots aren't good, you're going to do your feet some damage (and I like to leave the skin on my feet instead of chafing it off with ill-fitting boots :D )

Sparks wrote: »
    I dunno clive, I go to TK Maxx all the time for cooking kit and some clothes (jackets, tracksuits, shirts, etc); but for boots, I'll pay full price if it means getting a better fit (and I have odd feet, so it's unlikely TK Maxx would have my size anyway :D ). I mean, if your jacket's not the best, well, you get a bit damp - but if your boots aren't good, you're going to do your feet some damage (and I like to leave the skin on my feet instead of chafing it off with ill-fitting boots :D )

Don't no about that but it worked out good for me, you have to be there when they get them in, could only be a couple of pairs at a time, then none for ages. Its pukker stuff but only if they have them there when your there. The boots I got were twice the price in The Great Outdoors so its not like I got 'No-name' cut your feet off boots.

I also got a good camo ski jacket for my first years of stalking. Kept the rain, wind and cold out.
    Also good for thermal breathable underware, long johns and long sleeve button neck tee shirts.

Rock/stone ski camo jacket €70 from TK Max

CamoShot1.jpgPosewithFirstDeerkillBest.jpg
    I am a rock camo and 2 nice Sika

No go online you have to get up off your arse and get down to a store and have a look see. They may only have a couple of good quality boots in stock. I saw Mendle boots there before.

I got a pair of good Brasser hiking/stalking boots from TK Max @€;70 ,I saw them at€150 in the shops, gortex inner and leather outer. Light weight, comfy, and nice ankel support as well. My second year to have them now. But with everything you must mind them, I use dubbin on them to keep them soft and supple.

Nearest TK Maxx to me is PortLowsey and that is a long journey on a bad road for a "maybe".
    Lowe Alpine Closed down and so too did another Outdoor shop in Athlone that I frequented a lot so my choices are limited.

Ah well, maybe I'll fork out for the Ecco Yak's, I preferred the older ones as they were leather inside so if sand or muck got in they were easy clean, and it thrown in the car did not stink up the place, alas I wore the latex sole out on them.

I might even stretch to a pair of haix, but they can be a tad warm also as they are very padded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I also got a good camo ski jacket for my first years of stalking. Kept the rain, wind and cold out. Also good for thermal breathable underware, long johns and long sleeve button neck tee shirts.
    Yup, they're fantastic for the cold weather gear. Got the jacket I use in Finland there for about €50, and I was toasty warm in -25C weather in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Ah well, maybe I'll fork out for the Ecco Yak's, I preferred the older ones as they were leather inside so if sand or muck got in they were easy clean, and it thrown in the car did not stink up the place, alas I wore the latex sole out on them.

Ecco Yak's got a pair on now and these will be my last. 3 pairs 160.00 to 180.00 euro......never waterproof unless plastered with Dubbin. Sole fell off one pair.....stitching come undone on other pair.

Very comfortable from first day but from my experience with them, NEVER a get wet outdoor boot.......in fact i think vastly over priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭DJandDeid

Sparks wrote: »

I've found that the 'odd' sizes are often more plentiful in TK Maxx :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Or stalking type boots?

Summer work...What summer you on about?:D:D

dwighet wrote: »
    Summer work...What summer you on about?:D:D

Well I remember the Summer of 2006, and I wore Flip Flips like an Aussie :D

I remember that summer..8 years here now and 1 decent summer...

Oh yeah meindel boots are the go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

dwighet, did no one tell you about the amazingly hot warm and balmy summers we used to have? Man, you really missed those.....Must have been before you arrived, ah, well.......:D:D:D;)

dCorbus wrote: »
    dwighet, did no one tell you about the amazingly hot warm and balmy summers we used to have? Man, you really missed those.....Must have been before you arrived, ah, well.......:D:D:D;)

Yeah my Mrs told me that when she was a youngen that the summer was spent by the river swimming and sun baking...But that was 30 yrs ago..

dwighet wrote: »
    I remember that summer..8 years here now and 1 decent summer...

Oh yeah meindel boots are the go...

2001 and 2002 were great too!

1996 it did not rain for 6 weeks in the Midlands!
    Lord, Drinking Cider down by the lake.........
    167749.jpg
    just don't buy these boots!

2001 and 2002 were great too!

1996 it did not rain for 6 weeks in the Midlands!
    167749.jpg
    just don't buy these boots!

Oh I can smell em from here...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Do you need a foreshore licence for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Tack is the lowe alpine factory shop closed? (syit - bought some good gear there ) how about the dubarry shop in balinasloe?? I bought miendl army pro last year ( not near 6ft) And that put my boot issues to bed for years to come, excellent boot in all ground ,mahons in cork had them on sale last Autumn try their web site p.s loads of old treads on this...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

thanks for replies everyone, jst trying to get my kit in order for the upcoming season. any recommendatons on minox binos?

Tack is the lowe alpine factory shop closed? (syit - bought some good gear there ) how about the dubarry shop in balinasloe?? I bought miendl army pro last year ( not near 6ft) And that put my boot issues to bed for years to come, excellent boot in all ground ,mahons in cork had them on sale last Autumn try their web site p.s loads of old treads on this...........

All the Outdoor shops in a 30 mile radius have closed down, sad day :(:(

I love Dryflo Tee's and their socks for stalking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

http://www.protac.ie/store/index.php/footwear.html I bought Meindl army pro from this lot in the Curragh. Couldn't be nicer to deal with. I could have bought online but I went up to get the fit right. Got the socks as well. Absolutely amazing boot. (If you are way under six foot don't get the really high boots as you might find them uncomfortable.) For shooting/stalking I would not wear anything else. Hope that helps, B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Have me eye on a pair of Meindl Antarktis boots - 2nd hand but the seller only wore them twice and I could pick them up for handy money. Thing is that they have 400 g of thinsulate insulation and I'm a bit concerned that they might be too warm as I would only use leather boots July to early November when I'm doing a bit of walking out after bunnies . From November I go back to wearing the neoprene lined Aigle wellies which are great for the wetter/colder weather.
    Seems that a lot of the lads on here are fans of Meindl and was wondering if any of ye had/have the Antarktis boots and what ye think of them? Do you think that the 400 g of thinsulate would make them too warm for 3 - 4 mile walks ? Also any idea of the weight ? Tried looking at Miendl website but couldn't find the weight anywhere and am bit concerned that they might be very heavy. Are Meindl boots usually very heavy compared to other makes ? Any advice welcome.

p.s.

Previously had a pair of Ecco boots which were lightweight and the most comfortable boot I've ever worn , but the soles disintegrated in no time. Trying to find something similar but with soles that will last more than a season !.

I hear you Brian
    I suffer with my feet, joys of standing hours on end in work.

I loved my old Ecco boots, walk or Run with them on no probs.
    Crossed Fields and drains no issue, I wore the soles bare in 11 months though :(

You don't want your feet too warm or too cold when stalking, hard to get the balance right at the right price

Tack, how do your Haix compare to the Eccos you had ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Meindl Burma. Lightweight but supportive, not too warm in summer but never cold in winter. Best pair of boots I've had and would definitely buy them again. Got them for €210 in Great Outdoors and some of the best money I've ever spent.

Tack, how do your Haix compare to the Eccos you had ?

Very comfortable, black though as they were a Gift from the Late Willie O'Dea :D

I'm trying to push myself to buy a pair of there brown leather ones, but €229 :eek: Did these people never hear of recession!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

€229 :eek: Did these people never hear of recession!

Spend money on boots. You'll never regret it, but if you skimp on them, you'll just end up spending the money anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭murtdono

i use the le cheameu stalking boots , find them very good and super anle support , waterproof too , think i paid €210 in 2006 , still in good cond , john lambert always stocks them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

All the Outdoor shops in a 30 mile radius have closed down, sad day :(:(

I love Dryflo Tee's and their socks for stalking

there is 'always outdoors', in cloncollig industrial estate. There well over 2year now. Only in it a couple of times for camping gas and stuff so cant comment on the clothes or boots. Right across from midland vet, the ag shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

what about these good value

http://www.johnnorris.co.uk/search/harkila-stalker-gtx-7in-dark-green-boots-8865.html?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=2011_07_21&utm_content=&utm_term=

Dusty87 wrote: »
    there is 'always outdoors', in cloncollig industrial estate. There well over 2year now. Only in it a couple of times for camping gas and stuff so cant comment on the clothes or boots. Right across from midland vet, the ag shop.

You are 6 months out of date Dusty.
    Gone Gone Gone

I bought a pair of Meindl Dovre Extremes from this crowd for €229.

http://www.huntingandoptics.com/

They don't sell Meindls anymore but at the time they were the cheapest around and I found them good to deal with.

I bought a pair of Meindl Dovre Extremes from this crowd for €229.

http://www.huntingandoptics.com/

They don't sell Meindls anymore but at the time they were the cheapest around and I found them good to deal with.

I see they sell Haix for 225 including delivery, not for the short legged though.

They have others for similar price.
    I like my le Chameau but always found Haix more comfortable

I see they sell Haix for 225 including delivery, not for the short legged though.

They have others for similar price.
    I like my le Chameau but always found Haix more comfortable

The breakdown of the price for my boots was as follows;
    Subtotal: £197.00 / €221.64
    Shipping: £5.00 / €5.63
    Total: £202.00 / €227.27

They shipped the boots from Germany and delivered with a few days of placing the order.

I'm in two minds whether to go for the Dovre Extremes or the Haix boots..... Have sourced a pair of new size 10 Meindl Dovres in UK for a very competitive price and mate of mine can pick them up for me and bring them over when visiting.

However I'm a bit concerned about the sizing , espcially when spending top dollar for boots, so wonder if Deeks or any others who have them , could let me know if the Meindl Dovre Extremes are are true to size. Same question to Tack re the Haix. Reason I ask is that whilst my normal shoe size is 10 , in the past I had a few other makes of boots marked Euro 44/UK 10 , some of which fit grand and others were on the small side - resulting in sore big toes after a decent hike ,so had to go to Euro 45/size 10.5 . If I could find a shop in Cork City (which so far I can't) who stocks the Meindls and/or the Haix I would pop in , try them on and then buy whichever fitted best on-line at cheaper price....

I'm in two minds whether to go for the Dovre Extremes or the Haix boots..... Have sourced a pair of new size 10 Meindl Dovres in UK for a very competitive price and mate of mine can pick them up for me and bring them over when visiting.

However I'm a bit concerned about the sizing , espcially when spending top dollar for boots, so wonder if Deeks or any others who have them , could let me know if the Meindl Dovre Extremes are are true to size. Same question to Tack re the Haix. Reason I ask is that whilst my normal shoe size is 10 , in the past I had a few other makes of boots marked Euro 44/UK 10 , some of which fit grand and others were on the small side - resulting in sore big toes after a decent hike ,so had to go to Euro 45/size 10.5 . If I could find a shop in Cork City (which so far I can't) who stocks the Meindls and/or the Haix I would pop in , try them on and then buy whichever fitted best on-line at cheaper price....

Haix are spot on size wise

It's my biggest fear buying clothing over the internet :(
    As returning can sometimes cost as much as the saving from buying here

Haix are spot on size wise

It's my biggest fear buying clothing over the internet :(
    As returning can sometimes cost as much as the saving from buying here

+1 on that Tack. Was in northern Sweden few years ago visiting a friend who is a professional hunting guide and he took me out on a moose hunt with some Italians he was guiding which was a good experience. All of the shooting party had the same really top-end boots (none of 'em were my size so I couldn't try them on) , which they recommended .
    Didn't have enough funds on me at the time so after I got home I saved up the sheckles and ordered the boots in my shoe size on-line. When they arrived they were about a 1/2 size too small for me:( Would of been expensive to send to them back and also pay courier costs again for sending the replacement ones. Rightly pissed off I was as I had paid big coin for them and absolutely delighted was my slightly shorter toed brother as they fitted him like a glove - so he wasted no time in stressing the hassle /costs of sending them back etc.. and then battering me down on the price. :eek:

Same happened to me last year when I ordered a pair of Euro 44/ size 10 Aigle Parcours wellies from sportsden.ie .They were a bit short for me. Must say sportsden were excellent as they sent their courier to pick them up free of charge and sent me out replacment Euro 45/size 10.5 wellies next day by courier , again free of charge..... pity they don't stock Meindl or Haix......

My problem seems to be that one make of boot in size 10 will fit fine and then other makes of ''same'' size are too short and I have to go to 10.5.

Anyone know of any shops in Cork area who stock Meindl Dovre Extreme or Haix Montana boots so that I could try them on for size ?

The DF wear Haix,so if you know anyone that is in the Army and has tactical boots Same size as you might help

I'm size 10 but same story size 10.5 in some
    I take 10 in Haix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

I'm not going to read back thru the thread....

I wear brashers. Find them great. Light, grippy and comfortable.
    Previously had some US Marine issue boots that were great, had a side zip which was handy, too bad they started taking on water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

I have just got a price on Magnum Style Stealth Force 8" for myself are they any good there waterproof €73.80 to me and Magnum Style Stealth Force 8" different type €88.45 I am a size 9 has anyone used these before and do the do the job.

Brian,

I'm size 10 and 1/2 go to Mahers Outdoor shop, they stock Meindls and try on a pair, I had a pair of Mendl Burmas which were 10 and 1/2, So thats the size I ordered off the internet, when I got my boots they were fitting perfect.

So the Meindl sizing is spot on.