Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Left job, gone travelling

• 20-07-2011 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭

Lot of people leaving the country because the cant find work.

What would you think of someone who left their job to go travelling ?

Person in mid twenties with job and savings, no resonsiblities 27 votes

Go travelling. Have a great year or two, but come back to no job
    0% 0 votes
    Stay put. Lucky to have a job
    100% 27 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

stellios wrote: »
    Lot of people leaving the country because the cant find work.

What would you think of someone who left their job to go travelling ?

I'd think they were cracked in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Well for 'em.

Someone else can have their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭stellios

i know a good few people doing this. mid 20s no mortgage.. still cracked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

My sister is doing it in October, going to Australia and Borneo. To be fair she is going to work with Animals (she has a degree in Zoology) but couldn't get a job in it over here, So she got a accounting job and is now going to Australia for a year and then to Borneo for two months to do volunteer work.

Personally I think she is a fool :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I would think that they had saved their money and could afford to do this.

I would think that they are much better organised than the rest of us who stick around and moan

I would think that they have taken a years leave and probably have a job to come back to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Its a brilliant idea. I'd do it myself if I had a job to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I'd tell them to avoid EasyJet, Stellios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I did this, Had great time. Came home after and found a new job. Whats the problem ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Fair play to them, go see the world. So many different cultures to experience, so many friends to make. You get maybe 70ish years all going well make the most of it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Depends on their level of responsibility and how good the job is.

If they're young, care free and working a crap job or heading off to find a job which they can't get here, good for them.

If they have a good, well paying job in Ireland, have 'grass is always greener' syndrome and expect to come back here and work after travel, well..they might want to think about that a bit.

I travel while working. It's called 'taking my holidays' :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 SheroN1

I left a well paying pensionable job in July 2009 to go travelling for a year. Went to south America, NZ, Australia and a few places in south east Asia. Arrived back last July and had found a new well paying pensionable job within a month. Any of the money I spent was mine, none of it was borrowed. I don't see a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

listermint wrote: »
    I did this, Had great time. Came home after and found a new job. Whats the problem ???

Well you see you're not supposed to be seen living a better life than the moaners. It's almost sinful to not have your life ruined by the recession.

Also having any sort of initiative is frowned upon. You wouldn't be liked for starting up your own business and providing people with jobs, the moaners will try and get the Law on your back regarding tax, insurance and permits, tell all their friends your business is sh1t and hope you go bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Left a job at home and am in oz at the moment. Don't see what difference a job makes. Its helps alright but i work to live not live to work and i worked long enough to earn this break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

annascott wrote: »
    I would think that they had saved their money and could afford to do this.

I would think that they are much better organised than the rest of us who stick around and moan

I would think that they have taken a years leave and probably have a job to come back to...

I would think that you are right. ;)

The possiblity of coming home to no job and no savings might put some people off..

If you were talking to someone next year and they were on the dole because they left their job to go travelling around the world, would you think, fecking eegit..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 SheroN1

The way I reasoned it was, if I came home and can't find a job, I can always head off to Canada/Australia or where ever. I made sure I had some money stashed away for when I came home incase I needed to emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

The possiblity of coming home to no job and no savings might put some people off..

If you were talking to someone next year and they were on the dole because they left their job to go travelling around the world, would you think, fecking eegit..?

It depends on the situation. Are they in a job they like, hate or not bothered either way? Can they afford to go travelling?

If I was in a job I didn't like and had the money with little or no debt then I'd go. Worst case scenario you come home to no job. More likely scenario you'll have a great time travelling, come home and find a job after a little while, or decide you like being out of the country and find a job elsewhere.

Now if you had a debts to pay and really need to be in a job to pay them then obviously travelling is not an option.

I'll be facing this situation next year I think. I left Ireland this year, leaving a good job I might add, for a better job in the UK. My girlfriend also got a job over here. But we're both seriously considering leaving the jobs to travel next year as it's something we've always wanted to do. We'll try to get 6 months off from work which would be ideal. If not we'll just get a job somewhere else. The key is to realise and accept this. It's a calculated risk but worth it in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I'd love to do it and still have a plan in my head to do it however life has a way of getting in your way and I'm not willing to sacrifice yearly holidays to save for a big one, so for the moment I'm content to see the world one small corner at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pretty much.

Travel is great, people need experience. But they also need to provide for their future at home/wherever that may be.

I know way too many people who fecked off for a year or two with no plans when they got home. Some quit good jobs (and can't get jobs now). Some took out massive loans to fund their traveling, with no prior thought of how to pay them back. 'Ah, sure I don't have to sort that out till AFTER traveling, who cares.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

A friend of mine did it.She's in her mid 20s,hated her job and always wanted to go travelling.Fair play to her I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Misread this as left travelling and got a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Im thinking of doing it next summer... wanna see some of the world... screw a job.. as long as i can eat and have somewhere to sleep ill be alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

o1s1n wrote: »
    Some took out massive loans to fund their traveling, with no prior thought of how to pay them back. 'Ah, sure I don't have to sort that out till AFTER traveling, who cares.'

As much as I would love to travel I would not be willing to get in debt to do it. I think it's crazy, especially nowadays where you have no guarantee of a job to come back to to start paying it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I did it a couple of years ago, just as the recession hit. Glad I did, Canada was amazing!

I've a friend who's staying in their job solely to pay for a trip around the world, and I say fair play. They know they may struggle to find work when they get home, but they're doing something they want to do. Not going to let a recession keep them locked up at home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

If you've a few quid put aside, no serious responsibilities and you understand the consequences then why the hell not? I've given serious thought to doing something similar and I've talked to a few people who think I'm stupid to consider it. They can provide no rational explanation for their opinion than "you can't just leave a good job" and it does get a bit boring after about 30 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

So now having a job is more important than living your life?

We'll end up selling this country off to some one who offers us a few jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I would think they probably know if things got really bad they have support from their family. Honestly I'd love to do the travelling thing but if I come home and can't get a job my parents won't be able to feed me...

If I get over there and can't find work within a few weeks/months it's the same scenario only in a different country. I'm going to go for it in the new year and leave a very good job behind, just because I think it's something I need to do. Living here is getting me down. I love Ireland but I think I need to get away to really appreciate it...or maybe it will make me dislike it more?

Only real travel I have done was for work. Which was get on a train, go to the office, go to the hotel and do more work and repeat until I leave.

Recently had an experience in which I tried to blow the whistle on someone committing welfare fraud and got fobbed off...it's kind of tipped the scales for me that this place isn't going to sort itself out and I'm going to continue to pay the price as someone working in the private sector getting royally shafted in tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Only for the morgage i'd be gone.

Fairplay to the people who've gone, dont begrudge them at all, fairplay, bon voyage

o1s1n wrote: »
    Depends on their level of responsibility and how good the job is.

If they're young, care free and working a crap job or heading off to find a job which they can't get here, good for them.

If they have a good, well paying job in Ireland, have 'grass is always greener' syndrome and expect to come back here and work after travel, well..they might want to think about that a bit.

I travel while working. It's called 'taking my holidays' :pac:

I had a very good job, I wanted to travel, So I did. It was superb I did stuff I couldnt have done on my 'taking my holidays'...cos for most people thats 2-3 weeks max.

The world is out there, go see it life is too short.

I now still have another different very good job. ;)

I had a very good job, I wanted to travel, So I did. It was superb I did stuff I couldnt have done on my 'taking my holidays'...cos for most people thats 2-3 weeks max.

The world is out there, go see it life is too short.

I now still have another different very good job. ;)

Would you regret going if you had'nt found another job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

delighted i came across this thread. i HATE MY JOB, big time.
    Have been thinking about it for ages now but im going to Hand in my notice at the end of the month.i have around 10k saved and if i decide to travel for a bit i could sell the car for maybe 6-7k. i don't see any reason to be miserable and stick around.have not done any travel yet so cant wait really.
    i have no mortgage, children or any financial responsibilities.was hoping to get into a post grad but it will have to wait until 2012 i think.
    ive just turned 26 i think it will be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 kudo

Peoples lives are theirs to live, if someone wants to go travelling I don't see why they should be judged on it. One life and all that, few will regret having gone travelling many would regret having worked in a job when they wanted to go travelling for the sake of security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I'm leaving my job on Friday and going to Australia. I need experience in a lab and I can't get paid work here. I was working at internal sales but that wasn't helping my CV or my wallet much so I've saved for the last few months to go. Before I started this job I had a good work ethic (which was pointless here), hopefully I'll get back in a lab like I want and get my drive going again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

I always wanted to travel, but didn't do it. Instead saved my money, worked hard at building my business, bought a house, thought I'd take a year sometime in the future. Now I've lost all my money, have massive debts, business has gone under, and the mortgage on the house is twice its value. I have nothing to show for the last 20 years of non-stop work, but at least if I'd gone traveling I'd have the memories: just go, sez I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

Have been thinking about it for ages now but im going to Hand in my notice at the end of the month.i have around 10k saved and if i decide to travel for a bit i could sell the car for maybe 6-7k. i don't see any reason to be miserable and stick around.have not done any travel yet so cant wait really.
    i have no mortgage, children or any financial responsibilities.was hoping to get into a post grad but it will have to wait until 2012 i think.

Fair play to you.You best make the most of it while you can before circumstances change a few years down the line.There's nothing worse than being in a job that you despise.

I'd say fair play. Career paths and general reality are overrated. I'll go back to that serious stuff in a couple of years but it will still wont be in Ireland. Maybe Taiwan/Singapore/Hong Kong/Melbourne/Canada or something. Before that, travel and work in other countries.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Good for them, I feel envious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

16k could keep you knocking around Europe for a year, maybe in a year things will be better. Maybe you'll find something you really love doing, your opening up many possibilities, something that doesn't happen by sitting around at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭parrai

This is not addressed to anyone in particular, just my opinion. Travelling is the best experience someone can have. It opens your mind to other people way of life, so you can have a broader view point on life. Why stay somewhere if you are miserable. There will be other jobs, you never know, you could find the job of your life while travelling, and discover what you really want to do. I say go for it and forget about others say, if it is what you want to do, and you have no commitments, why not, who knows where it'll lead. Best of luck to you. Besides 'good jobs' are acquired by getting experience, experience you can use in interviews, which any employer worth their salt will value and recognise. Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I did this last year, came back into the same job (I'm Public Sector Scum).

My girlfriend however was working with a large Insurance company and was coming to the end of her contract. They said there was a CHANCE that they would extend her contract. We decided to go anyway. We'd missed the chance to go when we were younger and knew it was the last chance we'd have before we got married, had kids etc etc. We saved hard for a few years and although we ran out of money before we came back this opened up a new way of thinking for us. We worked in bars and volunteered in an orphanage to pay the bills (free board & meals), some of the best stuff I've ever done.

Before my gf left, the company she was with said they would take her back on. Six months later it was a different story and there was no position for her. So she'd to do a bit of job hunting. She's now in a managerial position (a higher level then when she went), making more money with a company that is going places.

OK. Not everyone is so lucky but if anyone asks me should they go travelling, I always tell them to get on the next flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Three people in my company are going to Oz for a year in the next two weeks.

All in very good full time jobs that they enjoy and the jobs are not on hold for them - it's goodbye.

No point putting life on hold for fear of what might go wrong, 85% employment out there so loads of opportunity. The majority of people have jobs, this 'lucky to have a job' thing is bull.

In fairness, besides the fact it's so far away from home - what's the reason not to go to Oz if you have no ties.

Ireland has crap weather and is only alright as a place. There's nothing special about it.

Would you regret going if you had'nt found another job?

No I wouldnt regret it, Id regret turning around when im forty with 2 kids and that i didnt do it.

But aside of that, Im very driven individual Il push as hard as I can to get work regardless of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I'm 23 and am leaving a pretty damn well paid Public Service job in September to go travelling for a year.

Yes it's a risk leaving a job like this to go travelling but I want to do it and I'll deal with trying to find another, most likely lower paid, job when I return.

Would rather do it and have a blast for a year than stay in this mind numbingly job forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

...Id regret turning around when im forty with 2 kids and that i didnt do it.

I can confirm that this would be the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

know someone who took a paid sebatical for a year, and just walked straight back into the same job when they came back. the company was banking on not everyone returning but she did. fair play.
    they had a mortgage then and now btw

Frisbee wrote: »
    I'm 23 and am leaving a pretty damn well paid Public Service job in September to go travelling for a year.

Yes it's a risk leaving a job like this to go travelling but I want to do it and I'll deal with trying to find another, most likely lower paid, job when I return.

Would rather do it and have a blast for a year than stay in this mind numbingly job forever.

:eek: you are mad. what are you going to work at when you come back? dont you know there is a recession and you are lucky to have a job?

This is the stuff people (in particular people post 40s) are saying.
    I think you are dead right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

What do I think of them? I think they're incredibly lucky and I'm jealous. If I had a job, substantial savings and enough money to get me to Australia or America with the chance of living there for a year I'd take it. Ireland's just depressing at this stage.

Not being smart or anything, ligitimate question. If you had a job would you be so eager to leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Not being smart or anything, ligitimate question. If you had a job would you be so eager to leave?

Yep, I'm sure I would. Even when I was a kid I never envisaged being still in Ireland when I was a 'grown up', I'm desperate to travel and if I did get a job I'd probably stay in it for a year or two if I could, but ultimately I'd like to emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,586 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I have left jobs three times to head off backpacking somewhere. I am thirty now, and on reflection I dont regret a single thing.

What brings it home is when I go back to my home town. I am still very close to the group of lads I went to primary school with, all of whom still work close to home and have done so since they left school. I look at them sometimes in the pub and think to myself, "Jesus lads, this is your life. You know nothing but small town Ireland, nothing has changed for you in ten years, and probably nothing will change in the next thirty years. You arent living, you are just existing."

Work is just a means to an end. People forget that, or perhaps just have a cultural fear that they will not survive if they change their situation. Not only am I prepared to leave a job and go have actual experiences, I feel sorry for those that have convinced themselves work is more important than living.

(Yeah yeah I know there is more to life experience than staying in dingy hostels, but the point still stands)