Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best 15 to never win a provicional title

• 19-07-2011 5:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭

Seen this some where ealse and taught it would be interesting to see who people came up with. Mine would be from the last 10 years or so

1. ????
    2. Stephen Lucey
    3. Barry Owens
    4. Ciarán Hyland
    5. Kevin McKernan
    6. Kevin McCloy
    7. Damien Freeman
    8. John Galvin
    9. John Quane
    10. Tommy Freeman
    11. Padraic Davis
    12. Leighton Glynn
    13. Declan Browne
    14. Kevin O'Brien
    15. Matty Forde

Others would be Paul Barden, Brian Kavanagh,
    Niall McNamee, Paul Finlay, Adrian Sweeney, Odran O'Dwyer, Johnny Nevin, Martin Flanagan, Rory Gallagher

A few players not where they normaly play i know and cant think of a keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭irish_man

Cavan's James Reilly was nominated for an all star.(many years ago) He never won a provincial. Hes a keeper too.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Keeper I'd have James Reilly from Cavan, he was nominated for all star twice. He is very good even though Cavan seniors are ****e.

Seanie Johnston as well even if he was poor this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

not sure paul taylor of sligo was part of that 2007 provincial win, he was a super player in the 1990s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Paddy Bradley, Benny Coulter and Damien Diver would be 3 more of recent years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Not sure whether he was on the Westmeath panel in 2004 - but I might find a place for Ger Heavin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

DB10 wrote: »
    Keeper I'd have James Reilly from Cavan, he was nominated for all star twice. He is very good even though Cavan seniors are ****e.

Seanie Johnston as well even if he was poor this year.

I'd agree with both of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

open to correction here but i don't think john mckeown won a connacht with leitrim in 1994.....serious player who could play in many positions.

Was martin flanagan not part of westmeaths' leinster winning squad?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

open to correction here but i don't think john mckeown won a connacht with leitrim in 1994.....serious player who could play in many positions.

Was martin flanagan not part of westmeaths' leinster winning squad?

No had a falling out with Paudie that year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Steven Lavin and Johnny McCarthy of Limerick, both outstanding defenders and consistantly make the Munster railway cup teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭longpuck

Shane Brick and Christy Walsh from Kerry are two in hurling, in fact Brick never even won a provicional match!!

did shane have 2 more brothers on the team too, Billy?? i think, fantastic hurlers
    and what about mikey john dooley and the Hennessy chap, mighty players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭longpuck

washman3 wrote: »
    did shane have 2 more brothers on the team too, Billy?? i think, fantastic hurlers
    and what about mikey john dooley and the Hennessy chap, mighty players.

Billy was a good player alright, there was Ian Brick aswell but i think he was actually there cosin not brother. John Mike Dooley was some man to score a goal or 2 seen him play one or two times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Have to agree with Declan Browne! Great player! Could have even made the hurling panel if he wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

There'd be a lot of Ulster players on this team. Jimmy McGuinness, Christy Toye, Adrian Sweeney (Donegal) the 2 Bradleys and Enda Muldoon (Derry) Benny Coulter, Danny Hughes, Dan Gordon (Down) Paul Freeman, Paul Finlay (Monaghan) Barry Owens, Liam McBarron (Fermanagh).

Others that deserve a mention are Stefan White and Paddy Keenan (Louth) Kevin O Brien and Tommy Gill (Wicklow) Johnny Doyle, James Kavanagh and Emmet Bolton (Kildare) Matty Forde, Ciaran Lyng, Redmond Barry (Wexford) Paul Barden (Longford) Niall McNamee (Offaly) Peter Lambert, Declan Browne (Tipp) Barry Keane, Martin Daly (Clare) Gary Hurney (Waterford) John Quane, Johnny McCarthy, Stephen Lavin (Limerick).

A few shoe-ins on this team and why:
    1. Barry Gillis (Derry). Strongly built keeper, good under the high ball.

3. Stephen Lucey (Limerick) Any defender that can keep Kieran Donaghy subdued is worth his place at full back.

5. Emmet Bolton (Kildare) Really excelled over the last 3 season and is now turning into the complete half back. Excellent at spoiling and brilliant going forward.

7. Damien Diver (Donegal). Always seemed as comfortable going forward as he was at defending.

8. Dan Gordon - (Down) The engine behind Down's run to last years final.

9. John Galvin (Limerick). The complete midfielder.

11. Johnny Doyle (Kildare). You could play him anywhere, he's that good.

12. Christy Toye (Donegal). His build would have been more suited to centre forward but had the footballing skills to run many a no 7 ragged.

13. Ger Heavin (Westmeath) I saw him play on a few occasions and every time he was the best player on display. A scorer of great points and unbelievable work rate. He was the man who brought Westmeath from nowhere to provincial challengers in the early 2000s. What a pity he retired a year before they claimed a Leinster title.

14. Matty Forde (Wexford). Had every skill going.

15. Benny Coulter (Down). Unmarkable, low centre of gravity player who can turn on a sixpence. Rarely held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Ciarán Lyng or Red Barry from Wexford.

Lyng was an All-Star in 2008 (i think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

John Doyle won a Leinster in '00 with Kildare. So that rules him out.

grenache wrote: »
    There'd be a lot of Ulster players on this team. Jimmy McGuinness, Christy Toye, Adrian Sweeney (Donegal) the 2 Bradleys and Enda Muldoon (Derry) Benny Coulter, Danny Hughes, Dan Gordon (Down) Paul Freeman, Paul Finlay (Monaghan) Barry Owens, Liam McBarron (Fermanagh).

Others that deserve a mention are Stefan White and Paddy Keenan (Louth) Kevin O Brien and Tommy Gill (Wicklow) Johnny Doyle, James Kavanagh and Emmet Bolton (Kildare) Matty Forde, Ciaran Lyng, Redmond Barry (Wexford) Paul Barden (Longford) Niall McNamee (Offaly) Peter Lambert, Declan Browne (Tipp) Barry Keane, Martin Daly (Clare) Gary Hurney (Waterford) John Quane, Johnny McCarthy, Stephen Lavin (Limerick).

3. Stephen Lucey (Limerick) Any defender that can keep Kieran Donaghy subdued is worth his place at full back.

5. Emmet Bolton (Kildare) Really excelled over the last 3 season and is now turning into the complete half back. Excellent at spoiling and brilliant going forward.

7. Damien Diver (Donegal). Always seemed as comfortable going forward as he was at defending.

12. Christy Toye (Donegal). His build would have been more suited to centre forward but had the footballing skills to run many a no 7 ragged.

13. Ger Heavin (Westmeath) I saw him play on a few occasions and every time he was the best player on display. A scorer of great points and unbelievable work rate. He was the man who brought Westmeath from nowhere to provincial challengers in the early 2000s. What a pity he retired a year before they claimed a Leinster title.

15. Benny Coulter (Down). Unmarkable, low centre of gravity player who can turn on a sixpence. Rarely held.

Jim McGuinness won an Ulster and an All Ireland in 92.

Enda Muldoon won a Ulster in 98

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Martin Daly has a munster medal from '92 aswell, which rules him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭doc_17

Big Jim won it in 92. And Christy Toye has an Ulster Medal as of last Sunday:D

I'm goona throw in Brendan Devenny as well. On his day he was a real handful

doc_17 wrote: »

When it came to the big games, he never came up with the goods.

shiibata wrote: »

When it came to the big games, he never came up with the goods.

But the same could be said about that Donegal team in general...Armagh in 02,04,06 and yet several I those were included by others.

Devenny though had one big problem.....he complained too much at times and maybe the tight markers of tyrone and Armagh got minded his skin too often

But the same could be said about that Donegal team in general...Armagh in 02,04,06 and yet several I those were included by others.

Devenny though had one big problem.....he complained too much at times and maybe the tight markers of tyrone and Armagh got minded his skin too often

Only lads I would pick from Donegal since 92' are Diver definetly and probaby Sweeney. McGuiness, fair dues to him as a manager at the moment but as a player would have him nowhere near the 15 best never to win a provincial(he won a medal in 92 but did he ever play).

Ye, Devenney unfortunately always seemed to be in McNulty's pocket when it came to the Armagh games.

Big Jim won it in 92. And Christy Toye has an Ulster Medal as of last Sunday:D
    Didn't know McGuinness was around in 92. And never thought Toye was still on the current Donegal panel. Learn something new every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Carthy303

Marty Clarke of Down has to be in with a shout?

As regards hurling, Ger Loughnane would have to be mentioned.

Also Joe Cooney and all the Galway lads from back in the day - don't think they won a Connacht hurling medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Carthy303 wrote: »
    Marty Clarke of Down has to be in with a shout?

I'd imagine a good rule of thumb would be not including active players since they can still win a title.

Kojak wrote: »
    As regards hurling, Ger Loughnane would have to be mentioned.

Also Joe Cooney and all the Galway lads from back in the day - don't think they won a Connacht hurling medal.

Was just going to say that about Galway hurlers actually!

longpuck wrote: »
    Seen this some where ealse and taught it would be interesting to see who people came up with. Mine would be from the last 10 years or so

1. ????
    2. Stephen Lucey
    3. Barry Owens
    4. Ciarán Hyland
    5. Kevin McKernan
    6. Kevin McCloy
    7. Damien Freeman
    8. John Galvin
    9. John Quane
    10. Tommy Freeman
    11. Padraic Davis
    12. Leighton Glynn
    13. Declan Browne
    14. Kevin O'Brien
    15. Matty Forde

Others would be Paul Barden, Brian Kavanagh,
    Niall McNamee, Paul Finlay, Adrian Sweeney, Odran O'Dwyer, Johnny Nevin, Martin Flanagan, Rory Gallagher

A few players not where they normaly play i know and cant think of a keeper

Kevin McCloy actually won a Ulster Hurling Championship in 2000 so would that rule him out?

sendit wrote: »
    Was just going to say that about Galway hurlers actually!

They used to play Roscommon in a connaught final at one stage anyway iirc

Best Tipp hurler I guess not to win a provincial medal was Pat McLoughney, he won two all stars without ever winning a championship match :eek:

Thats impressive!!

He was awesome tbh, I remember him playing for hes club when he was 40 odd and he would single handedly keep them in games pulling off miracle save one after another and then he would have to come up to FF and score a few goals still wearing the tracksuit bottoms and then head back down to goals and continue the shut out, hes daughter Aoife is currently a member of the Tipp Camogie panel.

They used to play Roscommon in a connaught final at one stage anyway iirc

They used to alright, but I think that that "final" was only brought in after most of the 87-88 brigade had retired from hurling.

was some keeper all right. never knew he held that infamous record. such a shame. think the game that must have really pissed him off was 1980/81 V Limerick. Tipp led by 14 pts at half time. Limerick scored 5 goals in the 2nd half,finished a draw. Limerick won the replay scoring 3 more goals(fairly sure) can safely say that Pat didnt stand a chance for 1 of the 8 goals,his backs really let him down.
    Can you give me info on this? did Tipp fail to win a championship game between 1971 to 1987 or so. that would have included Pat's era for sure and how many years did he play for Tipp.
    By the way i recollect many outstanding Tipp hurlers from that era, Kevin Fox,(Pat Fox's brother) was a mighty man. Jack Bergin was another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

This is tough enough but for me...

1. James Reilly (Cavan)

2. Damien Diver (Donegal)

3. Barry Owens (Fermanagh)

4. Johnny McCarthy (Limerick) A lot of people are naming Stephen Lucey but McCarthy has been Limerick's outstanding back since he made his debut and is one of the best man-markers around.

5. Kevin McKernan

6. Kevin McCloy (Derry)

7. Emmet Bolton (Kildare)

8. Fergal Doherty (Derry) I always rated him very highly and I don't think he was around in 98. Maybe I'm wrong.

9. John Galvin (Limerick) First name down for me, a wonderful player, in my opinion the best midfielder of the last 10 years. It sickens me that he hasn't won a provincial title or even an all-star yet and we've come so close.

10. Kevin O'Brien (Wicklow) Not his proper position, but just to fit him in.

11. Paul Barden (Longford)

12. Benny Coulter (Down) One of the most dangerous forwards from play over the past 10 years.

13. Mattie Forde (Wexford)

14. Paddy Bradley (Derry)

15. Declan Browne (Tipperary)

I know I forgot a few and I think Johnny Doyle won a Leinster medal.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    10. Kevin O'Brien (Wicklow) Not his proper position, but just to fit him in.

11. Paul Barden (Longford)

12. Benny Coulter (Down) One of the most dangerous forwards from play over the past 10 years.

13. Mattie Forde (Wexford)

14. Paddy Bradley (Derry)

15. Declan Browne (Tipperary)

This forward line up I like, would prob swap 12 & 15 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Gael85

1.James Reilly
    2.John McKeon
    3.Barry Owens
    4.Johnny McCarthy
    5.Damien Freeman
    6.Ryan McCluskey
    7.Leighton Glynn
    8.John Galvin
    9.Paddy Keenan
    10.Paul Barden
    11.Niall McNamee
    12.Benny Coulter
    13.Mattie Forde
    14.Paddy Bradley
    15.Declan Browne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Declan Browne is the ultimate shoe in on this team, probably one of the best forwards in the past 20 years.

Also, im somewhat of a Donegal man, but the 3 players you mentioned there were average at best. McGuinesses midfield partner from Glenties, Glidea I think, was a much better player. Diver often didn't get his game and there are much better players there to take Toye's spot, such as Leighton Glynn or Paul Taylor or Sweeney from Donegal

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Declan Browne is the ultimate shoe in on this team, probably one of the best forwards in the past 20 years.

Also, im somewhat of a Donegal man, but the 3 players you mentioned there were average at best. McGuinesses midfield partner from Glenties, Glidea I think, was a much better player. Diver often didn't get his game and there are much better players there to take Toye's spot, such as Leighton Glynn or Paul Taylor or Sweeney from Donegal

Ya never remember Jim McGuinesses being an outstanding player by any means, a Donegal player no was has said who i think you fall into this group would be Brain Roper, played for years with out much success was the first Paul Galvin type wing forward that i can remember

sendit wrote: »
    Brain Roper, was the first Paul Galvin type wing forward that i can remember
    You mean to say he was fond of looking at himself in the mirror with a pink suit on?

Ya of couse thats what i ment......