Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have an office husband/wife ?

• 19-07-2011 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭

Or girlfriend/boyfriend, call it what you will. Im not talking about your actual other OH, this applies to everyone.

Someone you share all those in house jokes with in work. Maybe you run to them with your first bit of gossip. Keep seats for each other and defend each other to the boss etc. Only thing is compared to a proper relationship you dont have to sleep with them. Although you may be so close half the office thinks you are anyways. Ive got one. We've often make each other coffee and toast in the mornings and just "get" each others jokes and stuff.

Nothing going on though

So do you have a work other half ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I've a couple. I'm the office bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

Kiera wrote: »

Thats gotta hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

No. I pretend to be people's friends at work but the first chance I get I'm going to fuck them all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I was considering that bike to work scheme thingy. If that's what's on offer I won't bother.

<3

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

No. I pretend to be people's friends at work but the first chance I get I'm going to fuck them all over.

All over? That's a good thorough fucking, that is.

ShadowGal wrote: »
    Thats gotta hurt

No way, its awesome ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Have I stumbled onto OK Magazines forum?

Im sensing a little bowling for columbine from you.. yowza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

Or girlfriend/boyfriend, call it what you will. Im not talking about your actual other OH, this applies to everyone.

Someone you share all those in house jokes with in work. Maybe you run to them with your first bit of gossip. Keep seats for each other and defend each other to the boss etc. Only thing is compared to a proper relationship you dont have to sleep with them.

So do you have a work other half ?

Is this not just a friend?

g'em wrote: »
    I was considering that bike to work scheme thingy. If that's what's on offer I won't bother.

<3

We dont let slutwhores ride us :P

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Thats gotta hurt

Not with a good set of stabilizers.

CK2010 wrote: »

Its a little more than that, lets not deny it :cool:

Just someone in work who you kind of partner up with that happens to be of the opposite sex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Here here. The "office wife" is nothing but a silly label that the office gossipers love to use.

I've had a few of the friendships you've described ShadowGal, and they've been the only platonic relationships of my life with the opposite sex - as in, I don't fall head over heels for them!

Not with a good set of stabilizers.

God be with the days ;)

Honestly though, my dad didnt get us stabilizers. We just got a good shove :o

discus wrote: »
    Here here. The "office wife" is nothing but a silly label that the office gossipers love to use.

I've had a few of the friendships you've described ShadowGal, and they've been the only platonic relationships of my life with the opposite sex - as in, I don't fall head over heels for them!

Ive seen one or 2 myself, and they look just a little closer than friends i have to say. I dont see it as a bad gossipy thing though. I find it amusing

We dont let slutwhores ride us :P
    Office bikes with standards? See that's what happens when you implement equality regulations. Fraks' sake.

I have an office husband. We annoy the crap out of eachother all day, finish eachother's sentences, fight over stupid things and yes we do gossip all the time. But there would never, EVER be anything in it more than that, it's just from working so closely with eachother for three years. Ewww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sounds like what your talking about is an emotional affair. The worst kind apparently. :eek:

Its a little more than that, lets not deny it :cool:

Just someone in work who you kind of partner up with that happens to be of the opposite sex

so if its with a girl its just 'my friend' but if its a guy its my 'office husband'? its all the same to me tbh! actually i think id be a little pissed off if people referred to my guy friend in work as my hubby or whatever as its a teeny bit unfair on my actual boyfriend! but thats just me!

Office bikes with standards? See that's what happens when you implement equality regulations. Fraks' sake.

I have an office husband. We annoy the crap out of eachother all day, finish eachother's sentences, fight over stupid things and yes we do gossip all the time. But there would never, EVER be anything in it more than that, it's just from working so closely with eachother for three years. Ewww.

Exactly, thats my point, nothing would ever happen its just funny how close you get to someone when you spend that much time with them. Which lets be honest is a good chunk in your day

so if its with a girl its just 'my friend' but if its a guy its my 'office husband'? its all the same to me tbh! actually i think id be a little pissed off if people referred to my guy friend in work as my hubby or whatever as its a teeny bit unfair on my actual boyfriend! but thats just me!

No the heading is husband/wife or boyfriend/girlfriend. and im not talking about people actually referring to you as an office hubby. Its an anonymous forum, we're not going to tell your boyfriend/girlfriend ;)

You just wait til the christmas party, when one of you has been having a bad time and needs some good company, maybe someone to talk to...

Maybe the waiters kept topping up your glass too much. Maybe the giddiness of the season gets to you both. Who knows... but next thing you know, you'll have checked in to the Fitzwilliam Hotel, after claiming you were going home sick, and you order 2 magnums of Dom, run the bath, booked a late check-in, and have the night of your LIVES!...

....I've said too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This is reading like a Ladies Lounge thread, get it outta here

discus, Mills & Boon will be calling you soon
    They have a contract for you

mikemac wrote: »

So where do all of the Irish girls are fat and ugly threads belong ? the mens lounge surely (if there is one) :pac:

No the heading is husband/wife or boyfriend/girlfriend. and im not talking about people actually referring to you as an office hubby. Its an anonymous forum, we're not going to tell your boyfriend/girlfriend ;)

i dunno, i dont get it sorry! :o
    i have close friends in work but boy or girl i wouldnt ever really think of it that way, a friend is a friend, never thought about/heard of office husband/wife before! maybe im weird! :pac:

as for not telling him, its not about that, i just think its a bit weird to think of someone else as your 'office husband' when you have a real husband, surely they're just a friend. like what you describe is what a friendship is all about, no?? i just dont get it :confused:
    sorry! :pac:

i dunno, i dont get it sorry! :o
    i have close friends in work but boy or girl i wouldnt ever really think of it that way, a friend is a friend, never thought about/heard of office husband/wife before! maybe im weird! :pac:

as for not telling him, its not about that, i just think its a bit weird to think of someone else as your 'office husband' when you have a real husband, surely they're just a friend. like what you describe is what a friendship is all about, no?? i just dont get it :confused:
    sorry! :pac:

The heading is kind of a joke, not to be taken literally (sorry) :)

Thats like me a one of the lads in work. They call us the "old married couple" cause we're always fighting, taking the piss and helping each other out.

no, i know its not serious but i just dont get it thats all!
    no need to say sorry! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

You should enter politics. Then you could be the town bike.

Thats like me a one of the lads in work. They call us the "old married couple" cause we're always fighting, taking the piss and helping each other out.

Here, twelve-gears, does that mean that you're having an affair with all the other lads? Jaysus. The labour divorce courts would have a field day with you. Can you imagine trying to sort out who gets custody of the staplers and the fax machine?

:D @ 12 gears!

I wouldnt go near any of them! Ick!

mikemac wrote: »

It's all the stories of my life. I should compile a book...

Diary of Call Girl
    Rent(boy)

The Highs and Lows of being the Laboratory ManSlut. Ah, there we go.

It's all the stories of my life. I should compile a book...

Diary of Call Girl
    Rent(boy)

The Highs and Lows of being the Laboratory ManSlut. Ah, there we go.

You were a manslut ? tell us more :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Why the need ti label people like this!?

You work with them, you get in well with them. You might be friendly on occasion outside work. Leave it at that.

This work wife/husband stuff is bollox! Surely you can have a bit of craic whereby you're not reduced to this.

But whatever gets you through another day. :D

You were a manslut ? tell us more :cool:

An excerpt from the up and coming book for yourself and mikemac!

Chapter 2: 2, 3, 4-trimethyl-Pent Up-ane
    She knew by coffee time that she had to have him. Watching the staff leave for their elevenses, she sought him out. Her head bowed, she waited until the sound of the crowds hurried footsteps had receeded down the corridor. It was now that she needed him - Just to see him.

She found him in the lab; his lab coat dirtied, his hair askew. Quietly opening the door, she thought her entry was unnoticed - thought that his safety glasses provided a blind spot. She stood, watching his delicate movements as he decanted his iso-octane into a small cuvette. She had not breathed, but he sensed her... "Are you here to help?" he said, without turning his head. She was caught off guard. How did know? Did he feel the electricity between them too? Just as the thought occured to her, he turned to her. "Are you ok?" He had placed down his glassware. "I'm just hear to, give you a hand". Now he was caught offguard, her innocent answer banging the drum of innuendo in his mind. He cleared his throat awkwardly... "Well, I'm having trouble placing my cell into the spectrometer"... She walked over, her eyes never leaving his. "Maybe it's too tight" she offered, "you'll just have to give it some lube" as she reached for the silicone oil...

Get Penguin on the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

No matter what job I was in, there was always one guy I got on really well with. Though I'd call them friendships not work husbands.

I think the situation confuses some people though, as there was one or two that got a bit 'confused' as to what it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Probably got two in work who I would say anything to, one of them I like to constantly tell what I'd do to her given the chance while the other I just slag the gee out of constantly and she does same to me. It's great to have people like that in work cos most of them are boring fookbags.

It's a shame for both of them that they are engaged/married cos both of them are defo after me for a shot at the title, they know about the fingers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

kfallon wrote: »
    Probably got two in work who I would say anything to, one of them I like to constantly tell what I'd do to her given the chance while the other I just slag the gee out of constantly and she does same to me. It's great to have people like that in work cos most of them are boring fookbags.

It's a shame for both of them that they are engaged/married cos both of them are defo after me for a shot at the title, they know about the fingers :pac:

I actually have a visual of the office cheese-ball now, winking at the chicks and doing the 'magic fingers' at them :pac:

Abi wrote: »
    I actually have a visual of the office cheese-ball now, wianking at the chicks and doing the 'magic fingers' at them :pac:

FYP :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

That's what you want lad, an office girl, good at the whole typing thing. If you can find one that has a typing speed of about 45-50 words per minute there will be no going back! Beware girls that work in bakeries or pizza places, they tend to be fairly heavy handed (think fisting and pummeling the dough etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

If you are half as good as you seem to think you are they would be in there in a shot engaged or married :p

That's what you want lad, an office girl, good at the whole typing thing. If you can find one that has a typing speed of about 45-50 words per minute there will be no going back! Beware girls that work in bakeries or pizza places, they tend to be fairly heavy handed (think fisting and pummeling the dough etc.)

Listen I'm all for a couple of fingers but I draw the line at a clench fist :o

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

checked in to the Fitzwilliam Hotel, after claiming you were going home sick, and you order 2 magnums of Dom, run the bath, booked a late check-in, and have the night of your LIVES!...

Oooh hellloo... ;)
    being the Laboratory ManSlut

BAM -ruined :(

That was my old job.

Soon to be a soldier, any better? :pac:

hondasam wrote: »
    If you are half as good as you seem to think you are they would be in there in a shot engaged or married :p

I don't want to be a home wrecker, somebody has to think of the kids! ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

That's what you want lad, an office girl, good at the whole typing thing.

What is this "typing"?

It sounds kinky.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    What is this "typing"?

It sounds kinky.

Not sure if serious...

I don't want to be a home wrecker, somebody has to think of the kids! ;):p

If all men were as thoughtful as you fallon, there would be no divorce.

If all men AND WOMEN were as thoughtful as you fallon, there would be no divorce.

Fixed that post for you there, you sexist pig. :mad:

If all men were as thoughtful as you fallon, there would be no divorce.

What can I say, I'm the perfect gent :D

Fixed that post for you there, you sexist pig. :mad:

I don't appreciate been called a sexist pig thank you especially when it's not true.