Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That's it !

• 19-07-2011 11:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭

I did a quick search and can't find a recent thread for this

I have only being driving properly for just over a month now and I am fed up with assholes (there are a lot)

I will post later when I'm not on my phone about today's muppet !

So I have decided to invest in a dash cam

One that has gps and speed in it would be great benefit and maybe if a smaller camera looks out back too ????

Anyway anyone know where I can get this kind in a shop or online cheap please ?

All links and demos would be great !

Cheers all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

And what do you plan to do with these cameras - Vigilante cop??

If you are this angry after driving for a month :eek: , then i suggest you try to ignore some of the stupidity on our roads for your own sanity - its there, we all hate it, but you cannot control each and every person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

TrailerBob wrote: »

If you are this angry after driving for a month :eek: , then i suggest you try to ignore some of the stupidity on our roads for your own sanity - its there, we all hate it, but you cannot control each and every person.

x2, chill out a bit, There are a lot of terrible drivers on the road and losing the plot is not how to deal with them.

I suppose after 1 month of driving you are an expert of all things on the road?

Im only driving 5 years and I feel i still have a lot to learn regarding driver behaviour.

And, Really there are a lot of assholes on the road? srsly?

I also wouldnt bother with the camera(s), why would you want them? What use are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

TrailerBob wrote: »

I'm not angry I just don't want to have an accident and then I get stereotyped for being a young male driving and so on.

I'm not gonna chase after these muppets or anything

I just wanna cover my own ass if one of these dirty feckers ever cause an accident and try blame it on me

Better safe than sorry !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

roadhawk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

your living in the clouds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

you will have to change your mind-set, to avoid becoming a road-rage looney.
    try to imagine that ninety per cent of road users are complete incompetent fools. and drive accordingly. relax,ignore and stay calm. save on the heart attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

You've clearly not gained your psycic powers needed for driving yet

Perhaps you should read some of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

copeyhagen wrote: »

If you're not going to post constructively then don't post at all.

OP, you're on the road a month. I mean this in the nicest possible way but you have a lot to learn. Driving is a constant learning curve. The best way to get around it is to chill, learn to read the road so thar you can preempt any manoeuvres and know we're not all perfect. Every single one of us has done something stupid and caused annoyance at some stage to other drivers and will again;)

Lads I'm not getting road rage or the likes

When someone on the road annoys me I dont get angry ... I do ignore them until I have to react to a situation and even then i just laugh it off

I'm not lOoking to police the roads here or anything ... I just want to be on the safe side If I ever have an accident that's not my fault and so on

Plus I am seeing an increase in threads about road accident scams too and I can't afford to get stung by somethIng like that and end up paying thousands more for car insurance

I just want to cover my ass and the likes is all

No road rage here !

EPM wrote: »
    copeyhagen wrote: »

If you're not going to post constructively then don't post at all.

OP, you're on the road a month. I mean this in the nicest possible way but you have a lot to learn. Driving is a constant learning curve. The best way to get around it is to chill, learn to read the road so thar you can preempt any manoeuvres and know we're not all perfect. Every single one of us has done something stupid and caused annoyance at some stage to other drivers and will again;)

I agree completely ... I am still learning regardless of having a full license and so on and I think I'll be learning for many moons to come

Just as my previous post it's better to be safe than sorry

What's €50 against thousands in insurance !

I see threads here where people recommend these dash cams no matter what and I agree

I say there are a lot of assholes on the road but one is more than enough. And it does only take one

So any recommendations and so on for dash cams would be great

Will check out road hawk ... Thank you !

Cheers all

And thanks but I dont have rOad rage and i don't see why anyone would argue against getting a dash cam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

I use a roadhawk, which starts recording after a jolt (hard braking, hard accelerating, a hard turn, or hitting a big pothole); you can set how severe you want it to start recording at.

It also has the option of manual recording. It usually records the 10 seconds before record is hit and the 30 seconds afterward (again set by owner).

The software is very simple, the quality is very good, and it uses an SD card (if you buy a new SD card, the camera downloads the operating software to it the first time the card is put into the camera. You then put the card into your PC, change the settings on it, and put the card back into the camera).

It has GPS (if you have an internet connection when watching the video on your PC it will track your progress on googlemaps), shows speed (mine does KM, but I'm pretty sure that it can be set for MPH), and various G-forces.

I have the forward facing camera, but they have a version which records inside the car at the same time.

The unit suckers onto the windscreen and plugs into the cigarette lighter (I have mine wired to the ignition, and on the neater permanent windscreen mount, which lets me hide it behind the rearview mirror).

I found mine invaluable after a crash last year, as it proved that I wasn't speeding, wasn't driving erraticly, wasn't on the phone (you can set the audio record to on or off), didn't have the radio too loud, wasn't cutting lanes, and the weather conditions. Without the video the accident assessor would have put it down to excessive speed.

The agent here is Roscommon Motor Factors, IIRC. The guy in there is Keith. I bought accessories for my roadhawk from him, and his prices were the same as online.

Have a look on www.roadhawk.co.uk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I found it easier to drive being aggresive :D
    People move out of your way :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Slushfund

robbie_998 wrote: »
    I'm not angry I just don't want to have an accident and then I get stereotyped for being a young male driving and so on.

Then don't drive like one. That way if someone does makes a mistake, and people do every day, then you will be able to avoid it, or at least minimise it, shrug your shoulders, and stay nice and calm, without looking like your speed was a contributory factor. Then perhaps the day you make a mistake, and you will, you will be given a bit of courtesy and leeway too.

Slushfund wrote: »

Then don't drive like one. That way if someone does makes a mistake, and people do every day, then you will be able to avoid it, or at least minimise it, shrug your shoulders, and stay nice and calm, without looking like your speed was a contributory factor. Then perhaps the day you make a mistake, and you will, you will be given a bit of courtesy and leeway too.

This Is what I'm trying to prove exactly

You just assumed there i drive like an ass by telling not to when I already don't drive like an ass

This is what I want to prove if I ever got into an accident otherwise it's just my word against theirs !

Thank you for the great review of the roadhawk there

I think I'll definitely be looking into that one

Thank you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Cheap as chips > http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/othermotor/2010767

Might get one myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Slushfund

This Is what I'm trying to prove exactly

You just assumed there i drive like an ass by telling not to when I already don't drive like an ass

This is what I want to prove if I ever got into an accident otherwise it's just my word against theirs !

Thank you for the great review of the roadhawk there

I think I'll definitely be looking into that one

Thank you !
    I have only being driving properly for just over a month now and I am fed up with assholes

Look mate, I've been driving on the road for 25 years, doing about 30k per year, if driving on the public road is winding you up like that, then you need to calm down. You can festoon your car in camera's it won't improve your driving or reaction to it. I'm trying to give you advice. You don't own the piece of public road in front of you, and you don't have to protect it from someone else taking it. if some boy racer teenage clown cuts you up, or some old lady makes a mistake, then your an even bigger clown for letting it raise your pulse a single heart beat. You can take the advice, or learn the hard way, its no odds to me. Studies have shown it takes at least 100,000 miles of driving on a public road before you have developed all your skills, including calmness.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

No offence OP but I think learning and road experience are key factors.

Lots of us have witnessed & experienced all sorts of brutal driving over the years, but have learned to stay cool and safe, and drive defensively and in general stay out of harms way.

All without the need to start videoing others. That's a little O.T.T.

No offence OP but I think learning and road experience are key factors.

Lots of us have witnessed & experienced all sorts of brutal driving over the years, but have learned to stay cool and safe, and drive defensively and in general stay out of harms way.

All without the need to start videoing others. That's a little O.T.T.

This is the last time I'm gonna say this

I am not getting road rage and annoyed and the likes while driven !

I saw dangerous driving today that I will post about later .. Kept my cool when It was happening . Didn't change my driven for it and didn't cause any accidents which was great considerin your man did actually nearly hit me while over takin me on the Neilstown road but swerved beck Into the lane to avoid Hitting a traffic island and nearly hitting me again !

I kept my cool but I thought to myself wow that was a bit dangerous and i should be more careful and maybe get a dash cam incase something ever happens

I did not get angry or the likes at this and kept my cool an was very happy not to have an accident !

End off no more discussing my driving.

I came here looking for a recommendation for a dash cam and am very grateful to those who helped and are helping and I will be taking these seriously

Thank you

Any more recommendations and so on would be great for dash cams and what make / model and prices and accessories and so on

Thanks !

To be fair I am getting a tiny bit annoyed at people here who are not listening to my point.

I really do just wanna cover my ass and be better safe than sorry.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Keyboard rage or road rage? Either way you need to cool it a little I'd suggest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

People seem to be jumping on the bandwagon here a bit.

The OP only wants recommendations for a in car camera as he wants to cover his arse just in case.

To be fair Robbie you should of just left out the whole other arseholes on the road bit ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭dell1211

This is the last time I'm gonna say this

I am getting road rage and annoyed and the likes while driven !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

I find drivers here to be some of the best in the World and i've been all over. Go to Sorrento Italy and hire a car if you want to see some terrible driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

There are several android apps that do the same thing as the roadhawk, and you can pick up an android prepay phone for as little as 40quid from vodaphone.

Just one for the road hawk

Any prices on them for here ?

Or what type you have yourself and what it does ?

Cheers

just a good one here people

has anyone got this done through their insurance company ?

or asked their insurance company about it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

PM Ironclaw, I'm pretty sure he has one that was cheap and works well.

Cormie has one but I think it's top-notch so probably big bucks.

-Chris- wrote: »
    PM Ironclaw, I'm pretty sure he has one that was cheap and works well.

Cormie has one but I think it's top-notch so probably big bucks.

will do . thank you sir !

just talked with my insurance broker who rang the insurance company

my broker likes the idea and thinks its great to cover myself and so on but if i put this in my par (even just plug and play type) my actual insurance company (Asgard) wont insure me at all ? :eek:

is this a bit crazy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

my broker likes the idea and thinks its great to cover myself and so on but if i put this in my par (even just plug and play type) my actual insurance company (Asgard) wont insure me at all ? :eek:

is this a bit crazy ?

Absolutely mental. Relax a bit and drive your car. Ringing your insurance broker to ring your insurance company to see if you can get a pat on the head for installing a dash cam. Right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I did a quick search and can't find a recent thread for this

I have only being driving properly for just over a month now and I am fed up with assholes (there are a lot)

and already you're an expert:cool:

who's to say you're not the cause of bad driving

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Wow, it looks like the whole motors forum got out the wrong side of the bed this morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

stevenmu wrote: »
    Wow, it looks like the whole motors forum got out the wrong side of the bed this morning :)

Yet again! :D

And Anan1 hasn't even entered the fray yet!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homer

I'm currently using the Novus View-i pro which is a dual channel (camera facing inwards as well as outwards) and find it superb overall. From quality of the product itself to the software that comes with it, which allows you to search all the data using preset parameters. Will also allow you to export eco and speed reports to excel or csv, as well as the actual video footage. Will post a screenshot when i get home later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Looking at one myself op :)

Although don't want to spend the bones of 300 euros on one :)

Handy for a crash for cash, someone on the phone, eating a sandwich, reading the paper etc.

Anyone that rams into the side of you is going to say you rammed into the side of them, if your in the car alone allot then its good to have a cam as a witness, otherwise its your word against theirs, or worse, 2 against yours.

gpf101 wrote: »

is this a bit crazy ?

Absolutely mental. Relax a bit and drive your car. Ringing your insurance broker to ring your insurance company to see if you can get a pat on the head for installing a dash cam. Right...

Pat on the head ? No

To make sure it was ok to put this on my car and just aswell I did because they said if I put this in my car I will not be insured !

I admit 300 is a bit steep and will look for a cheaper alternative !

Thanks for the recommendation. Will check that out later the novas !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homer

They also have two budget versions, one with gps built in and one without. Single outward facing camera only. At the end of the day the most important thing is the actual fvideo ootage which is going to be hard to dispute in the event of an accident. Yeah it would be nice to have the GPS data and "g-force" figures but if you are on a budget then there is a really tidy little unit that will do what you want called "blackvue" from Novus also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

All these people telling the OP to "relax" and what not need to read what he's posted again I think.

He wants to get himself something that could be used to prove his innocence were he involved in an accident that was not his fault. Nowhere that I can see has he claimed to be an expert after a month on the roads?!!

Given the appaling driver testing standards and some of the muppetry I see on the roads every day (and I do 1000km+ a week) coupled with the "your word against theirs" and "it depends who you get" nature of our policing and judicial system, I think there's a case for cameras to be fitted as standard - preferably with a reduction in insurance premiums if you have one.

I'd go with the Roadhawk myself from what I've seen of it.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    All these people telling the OP to "relax" and what not need to read what he's posted again I think.

He wants to get himself something that could be used to prove his innocence were he involved in an accident that was not his fault. Nowhere that I can see has he claimed to be an expert after a month on the roads?!!

Ive been driving for 15years(both as a truck and a car driver). Of course there are very bad drivers out there but I make it my business to watch out for them and give them a wide berth and also ignore them whereas the OP stated the following:
    I saw dangerous driving today that I will post about later .. Kept my cool when It was happening . Didn't change my driven for it and didn't cause any accidents which was great considerin your man did actually nearly hit me while over takin me on the Neilstown road but swerved beck Into the lane to avoid Hitting a traffic island and nearly hitting me again !

If it happened that I saw a driver overtaking me in a dangerous manner with a island approaching I would ease of the accelerator/brake and give them room to complete their kazacamy manoeuvre then forget about it and get on with my life(Im not one of those serial flashers, because it acheives nothing other than to cause the other driver to get pissed off, not do nothing at all to avoid an incident and then post about it in an internet forum and swear blindly that I didnt get emotional at all

I am a very different driver compared to what I was 15years ago when I started, I am sure the OP will look back on his post in a few years and say the same about himself.

dell1211 wrote: »
    Ive been driving for 15years(both as a truck and a car driver). Of course there are very bad drivers out there but I make it my business to watch out for them and give them a wide berth and also ignore them whereas the OP stated the following:

If it happened that I saw a driver overtaking me in a dangerous manner with a island approaching I would ease of the accelerator/brake and give them room to complete their kazacamy manoeuvre then forget about it and get on with my life(Im not one of those serial flashers, because it acheives nothing other than to cause the other driver to get pissed off, not do nothing at all to avoid an incident and then post about it in an internet forum and swear blindly that I didnt get emotional at all

I am a very different driver compared to what I was 15years ago when I started, I am sure the OP will look back on his post in a few years and say the same about himself.

if i had eased off the pedal i would've slowed down as i was just going past the island making it more dangerous and leaving him less room to get back in without hitting me thank you

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I've been looking at something like this little dinky thing, however I'd like something a little more automated. Ebay is full of on-dash cams, it's just a matter of finding the right one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Hi OP

Great idea, and worth the money. Never mind the begrudgers around here, they dont have the concept of what it is for and why you want it.

Its a invaluable tool when there are ar$%h**ls out there pulling out randomly in front of you, breaking to zero at high speed, reversing when they should be going forward. Its clearly a great assistance in determining fault if something happens.

Over on bmw-driver some guys have had instances where their pride and joys where driven crazily by mechanics when dropped in for a service. These are ideal for picking this sort of crap up.

if i had eased off the pedal i would've slowed down as i was just going past the island making it more dangerous and leaving him less room to get back in without hitting me thank you

In that case how would a front facing camera help at all, or are you going to add 15cameras to the car?

dell1211 wrote: »

In that case how would a front facing camera help at all, or are you going to add 15cameras to the car?

With a camera facing in ward too

What's to say he can't turn and lie about what he and myself were doing ?

He was over 40 and most likely driving for a few years where as me a young male driver just started out and we get into an accident and it's just my word against his.... Who do you think the gardai and insurance company will listen to more

All I was doing was driving down the road normally in a good road position and not breaking speed limits or driving like a twat... He could say all this and they would probably believe him more

I want to use one of these so pricks like this cant lie and get me into trouble for something they caused ! Again increasing my insurance and so on

After the insurance company getting back to me they said I can have one in the car as long as I don't leave it in over night (they just don't want to pay out for the device itself which was the problem) but can have when I'm in the car driving and so on no problems

sent an email on the "contact us" form on the motor crowd in roscommon for the RoadHawk RH-2

he said it cost €395 including p+p

lot of money but might be worth the punt in the long run !

Reason for edit: was asked by shop to not say how much I paid for mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Automan

For a cheaper option there is the 720p keyring camera with Continuous Recording (with new firmware flash) + car charger from ebay for 30 euros (see review):

http://www.techmoan.com/blog/2011/2/18/finally-a-real-hd-mini-keyring-spy-camera-11-808.html?currentPage=3#comments

Looking at the video review the video quality is very impressive. Plus its tiny.

The in-car part of the review starts at 9:30 on the youtube review (make sure youtube is set to 720p quality).

Here is a link to it on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.ie/HD-Camer-Key-Chain-Recorder-DVR-Video-cam-30fps-808-11-/150627360430?pt=UK_CCTV&hash=item2312171eae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭ronanphilip

AutoGuard is an android app that might be an option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Antikythera

Thread is one big level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I was thinking about camera for a while, the best option was to use my phone, which is desire HD, using a 5euro gooseneck and holder, it works well. Only one trip with it so far, short clip is here. I also use the phone built-in gps, so it is quite handy. Great phone costs around 400 now, which is better than spending 300 just for onboard camera...

well i suppose if your gonna do it then do it right !

got the roadhawk ! :pac:

will report back later with my findings and thoughts and videos !

didn't bother getting a bigger roadhawk branded SD card... just gonna get one off my bro.. he has tons of them lying around all around 16GB and so. i'll just copy the files over for the system and the player.

Grand so the RoadHawk works great

a word of advice to anyone getting one - leave the sensitivity on low :cool:

works grand ... did a bit of driving.. it does continues recording but overwrites useless stuff and saves important stuff which is great.

got a lil video of the N4 today !

also image showing googles maps.

device itself is a good small size and has a small display on it for some various things like time, speed, messages and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

How did you get the video off of the device?