Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justify a 400k salary

• 18-07-2011 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

After watching the news on Saturday evening i was shocked to see that John Delaney is receving a salary of 400k per annum :eek:. Enda Kenny is on 230k per annum. What makes John Delaney so fantastic that he deserves it ?, he also stated that he took quite a substantial voluntary 50k drop in salary, Wow, how will he survice.......Madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

depends really. is he dating your ma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Not everyone earns the same amount of money and it's not based on some empirical universal theory of value of the work they do. Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Who the feck is John Delaney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

To support their coke and hooker lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Not everyone earns the same amount of money and it's not based on some empirical universal theory of value of the work they do. Deal with it.

How insightful :rolleyes:, as the french may call you "le muppet"...

All i'm asking is how he is worth a salary of that magnitude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

presume that's the lad from the FAI? that's ****in madness if it is, no matter how good he is (and he's not!), the Football Association of Ireland hardly merit handing out that much money. 100k would be more realistic, spend the rest on getting kids off their fat asses and into sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Ricardo G wrote: »
    How insightful :rolleyes:, as the french may call you "le muppet"...

All i'm asking is how he is worth a salary of that magnitude

There's no such thing as being "worth a salary" because there's no universal theory of the empirical value of work. Justify your own specific salary versus your neighbour's and you'll find exactly the same. Magnitude is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

Some fella that gets paid **** loads to ruin Irish football...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Footballers totally earn their 250k a week

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There's no such thing as being "worth a salary" because there's no universal theory of the empirical value of work. Justify your own specific salary versus your neighbour's and you'll find exactly the same. Magnitude is irrelevant.

I just heard your theory go Pop...

Pop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/delaney-on-defensive-over-euro400k-pay-packet-2824004.html

Soccer boss
    Afterwards, though, Delaney was placed on the defensive about his considerable pay packet even though he has taken a voluntary pay-cut of €50,000 over the past two years -- a drop of €17,500 in 2010 and another €32,500 this year.

He said that the other members of the FAI Board of Management were against a reduction in his salary.

"I'm not going to speak of the reasons," said Delaney, when it was put to him that he earns twice as much as the Taoiseach. "The board believes it's justifiable. I work very hard and deliver for the association to the best of my abilities. They (the board) didn't want to reduce my salary, which is something I voluntarily did last year and this year.

"It went from €450,000 to €431,000 and it will be around €400,000 now after the latest reduction," continued Delaney, who refused to disclose what portion of the figure relates to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

they pay 400k to that face :confused:

the mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

And yet you have kids with no changing facilities playing football every weekend in this country

Ah right. Hey cheer up John, recession won't last forever.
    Good to see Mr Delaney is happy with his €400k salary. The FAI are like €50m in the red right? & he gets twice as much as the Taoiseach.

Arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Since you'd expect the FAI to benchmark themselves against other associations of similar size around the world, then the simple answer is, its not justified.

its not justified against competitive benchmarks, its not justified against turnover (approx. €40M) and its not justified against success. Question is, who decided that job paid 400K in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Heard Roddy Collins speaking about this over the weekend on RTE radio 1. he was disgusted. With the FAI posting a loss this year and so many people who volunteer to run, train, manage soccer clubs across the country John Delaney gets 400k for what?

He has a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I have no idea about football but I can only assume he needs most of that to pay for the upkeep of his magnificent wig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

400k, I'd buy me a nice big bag of gun's and a gaggle of hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Got tax dodger Denis O'Brien to pay a portion of Il Trap's salary
    As soon as the Eircom deal ended, 3 were snapped up

It's like Gerry Ryan on his massive 500k but the show pulled in over 3 million a year in advertising.

It's not suprising the FAI are now losing money since corporate sponsorship is drying up. Since the FAI made a loss he has to take a major cut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Footballers earn 250k p/w because that's the going rate if you want their services.

HoweverI don't believe Delaney is worth 400k p/a or that you couldn't find a guy who could do a better job for half the price. They guy is a goon who is ruining the national teams chances with pointless games in front of half-empty stadiums just to pay the mortgage on his half of the white elephant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

phasers wrote: »
    Footballers totally earn their 250k a week

In alot of cases they do. Once the club earn more then that as a result of the players commercial worth and on-field contribution, they do earn it

is this private income yes? who cares then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

If the taxes you are paying are not going towards their salary then what they earn is none of your business to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Plenty of folks making that kind of money. Scandalous that the likes of him are making it. No value there!

Think I should get twice that if thats the best we can come up with.

Sack him and hire an ''intern'' to do it for free. Then get some other country to hire him, fvck their football team up and thereby increase our chances of winning matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

I baffles me whenever I see a post like this. Have you never fcuking heard of a thing called Google?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I had to wikipedia him.. That's disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

mstan wrote: »
    I baffles me whenever I see a post like this. Have you never fcuking heard of a thing called Google?

Yea, but googling the name to find out doesn't increase your thanks count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Gary4279 wrote: »
    Some fella that gets paid **** loads to ruin Irish football...

He's doing a **** job of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Sykk wrote: »
    I had to wikipedia him.. That's disgraceful.

Is it public money though? If not and it's purely private sector then it shouldn't bother people

mstan wrote: »

I'm on a Mac here, I don't think I have Google installed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

The president of the Dutch FA (close to 1 million members) gets €150.000 a year as far as i know.
    So €400.000 for the Irish FA president seems a bit much.
    About €350.000 too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

"I don't think I have Google installed" WTF?? :eek: Whaddaya mean, "installed"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

bluewolf wrote: »
    is this private income yes? who cares then

The Government give the FAI money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

All I know is that I'm well worth my salary of €6400 & free M&M's per year

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

would love to know their reasons behind keeping their reasons secret. shouldn't a breakdown of their expenses and accounts be available to view somewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

inforfun wrote: »
    The president of the Dutch FA (close to 1 million members) gets €150.000 a year as far as i know.
    So €400.000 for the Irish FA president seems a bit much.
    About €350.000 too much.

I was thinking about 400k too much. They run it like a bunch of amateurs so they should be paid as amateurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

tommyhaas wrote: »
    In alot of cases they do. Once the club earn more then that as a result of the players commercial worth and on-field contribution, they do earn it
    No, they really don't.

I've noticed the definition of 'earn' has changed in modern times. Some bloke running around for 90 minutes and maybe kicking a bit of leather into a net has not 'earned' 250k. He is just paid that much. Regardless of what the club makes from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If I had a 400k, it would be grand.

Anybody else that has one is a cunt.

On a serious note: the salary of John Delaney is certainly in poor taste seeing as the prize money for winning the League of Ireland premier division has been slashed by nearly 300% in the last 3 seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

The notion of a salary like this is disgusting when the game at grassroots level is, by and large run by volunteers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Vanderbilt

It can't be justified. If you were feeling generous €150k tops imo.

Wiki says he became CEO in 2004.

Hardly surprising then that heres yet another guy with his snout in the trough.

What sort of salary is his compatriot Philip Browne in the IRFU on I wonder......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

stovelid wrote: »
    the prize money for winning the League of Ireland premier division has been slashed by nearly 300% in the last 3 seasons.
    you have to pay the FAI if you win???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

subway wrote: »
    you have to pay the FAI if you win???

Believe it or not, clubs do have to pay the FAI around 20k a year to even compete in the league.

Actually my calculation was bandy too. The league prize money went from 290k to 100k in 3 seasons, IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

400k salary is ridiculous, although i wouldnt complain if i was getting even a quarter of that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

phasers wrote: »
    No, they really don't.

I've noticed the definition of 'earn' has changed in modern times. Some bloke running around for 90 minutes and maybe kicking a bit of leather into a net has not 'earned' 250k. He is just paid that much. Regardless of what the club makes from him.

Now now, that's not entirely accurate. Some of them keep the bit of leather away from the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I can justify many a €400,000 a year salary.

But not this one.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

stovelid wrote: »
    Believe it or not, clubs do have to pay the FAI around 20k a year to even compete in the league.

Actually my calculation was bandy too. The league prize money went from 290k to 100k in 3 seasons, IIRC.
    Teams have to pay for medals and officials accommodation/food for the league cup as well don't they?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Here is something I have noticed in life, im sure i am not the only one.
    When someone is on the recieving end of something (positively) doesnt matter what it is. They justify it. Especially when it comes to money.

But then theres another side in life, if someone is willing to pay you a mental amount. Take it. Who here wouldnt take 400k to do that job? ... no-one would decline.

Not to use those words again .. "begrudary" (gets thrown around alot) ... but lets look at the situation. everyone here would gladly accept that amount for that job, or any job. So ... how can you be against it, knowing you'd have no issues accepting it.

So, begrudary / jealously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭goingpostal

Is it public money though? If not and it's purely private sector then it shouldn't bother people

400k would buy a lot of nets, goalposts, lawnmowers, changing rooms, whiteline paint etc., for young boys and girls countrywide who want to play the game of soccer. The FAI (which claims to represent our nation in the sport of soccer) is an organisation with limited resources, the subject of whether paying 400k to a CEO and 1.8m approx. to a national team manager is the best use of those limited resources, when both jobs could be filled for far less, is a legitimate topic of debate. Seriously, who else is going to pay John Delaney or Trapatoni even a fraction of what they earn now, if they were sacked in the morning?

The description of the meeting in Ennis in yesterdays Independent sounded like a cross between a cult meeting where everyone is forced to worship the fearless leader and a meeting of some totalitarian autocratic party. No debate vill be tolerated!! Sieg Heil, Mein Fearless Fuhrer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

meh, Job was offered at 400k, he put his name forward and got it, fair dues to him.

The question is why the FAI can justify paying Anybody this amount, not why this person in particualr is recieving it.