Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parkwest 10k - 24th July

• 17-07-2011 3:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭

Anyone know if this is on next week?

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 3 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    0%
    3 stars (average)
    66%
    BeanFlickerPronator 2 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    33%
    bazman 1 vote
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Pronator wrote: »
    Anyone know if this is on next week?

I am pretty sure it is. There are signs up all over parkwest for it.

Here is the website: http://parkwest10k.ie/page1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

3 stars (average)
    I haven't ran in one of these events yet but when you buy through Run Ireland, do you have to bring a receipt to the race or will they have you down on their system when ye get there?

Cheers

I haven't ran in one of these events yet but when you buy through Run Ireland, do you have to bring a receipt to the race or will they have you down on their system when ye get there?

Cheers

In theory you do, but in reality they never ask anything but your name so the answer is 'not really'.

3 stars (average)
    menoscemo wrote: »
    In theory you do, but in reality they never ask anything but your name so the answer is 'not really'.

Thanks meno, signed up there anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

I am pretty sure it is. There are signs up all over parkwest for it.

Here is the website: http://parkwest10k.ie/page1.html

Is this the same run that was on the same day as last years Firhouse 10k ??? ...

liamo123 wrote: »
    Is this the same run that was on the same day as last years Firhouse 10k ??? ...

No, it was on the same date in July last year.
    Maybe you are thinking of the lakes 10k down in Blessington?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

liamo123 wrote: »

No, it was on the same date in July last year.
    Maybe you are thinking of the lakes 10k down in Blessington?

I haven't ran this before but does anyone know what the details are on race day and number collection, etc.
    Info is a little sketchy on the website. It looks like an 11am start too.

3 stars (average)
    ELFOYZER wrote: »
    I haven't ran this before but does anyone know what the details are on race day and number collection, etc.

This is from an email they sent me when I signed up:
    We will be sending out traffic management and parking details very soon.

Race Numbers & timing chips will be collected on the morning. (details will follow with parking info )

The race start time is 11 am and as well as the goodie bag everyone will get a finisher medal.

From living here, I'd imagine that the registration/number collection will be in the INFO Centre just in front of the appartmants. I'd guess it would be between 9am-10.30am given that the race starts at 11am.
    There will be loads of free parking available in the business centre right beside the start line I'd imagine (car parks are always empty on a sunday anyway- room for several hundred cars).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If not Cherry Orchard is just around the corner, I'm sure you can find a nice young lad who will happily look after your car for you while you're gone 'jogging'. :)

Cheers. I didnt get any email from the organisers after registering, although I am listed on the entrant list. I'll head over early and suss it out when I get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭u2livecd

Cheers. I didnt get any email from the organisers after registering, although I am listed on the entrant list. I'll head over early and suss it out when I get there.

Where do you see the entrants list? Thanks.:pac:

Think I recall seeing it on the race web page on runirelands website. There is an entrant search tab.

I actually recieved an email from the organisers this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

3 stars (average)
    I ran this last year, parking was in an underground car park, loads of spaces. Registration was in a large building in the industrial estate (sorry can't remember its name).

The route is flatish, a couple inclines over the motorway and a slow burn for the last k up to the finish but as routes go, its not bad.

3 stars (average)
    Just got a confirmation mail from organisers with the following information -

Registration & Chip collection is at Block 71a front of Plaza see map attached.
    Registration will be done by surname ( alphabetically ) and opens at 9 am.
    Medal's to all finishers.
    Water stations sponsored by Spar Park West located at 5.5k and finish line along with some hydration drinks and bananas.
    One way entry/exit system to Car Park
    Lots of family entertainment.
    Pub/shops/betting office etc etc. Put your free bet on the Galway races.
    Goody Bag: €150 +

Just got a confirmation mail from organisers with the following information -

Registration & Chip collection is at Block 71a front of Plaza see map attached.
    Registration will be done by surname ( alphabetically ) and opens at 9 am.
    Medal's to all finishers.
    Water stations sponsored by Spar Park West located at 5.5k and finish line along with some hydration drinks and bananas.
    One way entry/exit system to Car Park
    Lots of family entertainment.
    Pub/shops/betting office etc etc. Put your free bet on the Galway races.

So everything is exactly the same as last year then, except the finish line is in a different place. Let's hope the course is accurately marked/mapped.

Here it is as they have it mapped out on map my run: http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/fullscreen/36949722/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

u2livecd wrote: »

You can actually see all registered runners by typing [a-z] into the surname space on the entrants page. This is a feature I don't like on the runireland website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭DAVID AKA MACKY

I registered for this run.First time doing this event.Seems to be a fast enough course.My pb is 33.17 that was at the gir so hoping for a time near enough but form wise not sure.Looking forward to sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Ran this last year, not bad, course was accurately measured which is what you want first and foremost. Very industrialised route though, concrete jungle and factories for the most part, so not the most scenic of races.
    As far as I can see though they dont have the results up from last year on their homepage. Bit amateur hour there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

In response to my own comment, managed to track down the results(throguh boards). Still they really should have the results from last year on their homepage:

results

tunguska wrote: »
    In response to my own comment, managed to track down the results(throguh boards). Still they really should have the results from last year on their homepage:

results

It's run by a different crowdthis year. Eoin Ryan organised it last year and results are on his site

Read that the goody bag is very generous surely thats not for every competitor,is it???
    Looks like sunday is going to be a warm day too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

Read that the goody bag is very generous surely thats not for every competitor,is it???
    Looks like sunday is going to be a warm day too.

€125 worth of a goody bag? What's in it, do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭CrazySka

€125 worth of a goody bag? What's in it, do you know?

Running this today as well,
    At the risk of being cynical I suspect the goody bag is full of vouchers with conditions that probably have zero value unless you are buying something else. :D
    The Gym voucher is most likely a ploy to pitch membership...

Free 5 day guest pass to Energie gym Park West value €100+
    4* Redcastle Hotel Donegal €25 spa treatment & €25 round of golf
    Irish Rail Smart Card €5
    Auralia Clinic €10 voucher for Shellac Nails
    Applegreen/Burger King vouchers

Best of luck to all today.

Bazman soars to a great win over sergiu.

TheRoadRunner is banjaxed and thinking of going back on the booze to console himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

How was the race RoadRunner, many running? Gave it a miss myself cause I thought website lacked a little in information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

TheRoadRunner is banjaxed and thinking of going back on the booze to console himself.

That bad an injury?

tang1 wrote: »
    How was the race RoadRunner, many running? Gave it a miss myself cause I thought website lacked a little in information.

Yeah was well organised etc. Course wasn't to my liking (tough and ugly) and 25 blips was a bit steep but was willing to pay it as suited my schedule at the moment. Probably wouldn't do it again but no major negatives.

@ecoli. No injury just not a great run. 34.30 and really has to work for that. Think I was 6th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Yeah was well organised etc. Course wasn't to my liking (tough and ugly) and 25 blips was a bit steep but was willing to pay it as suited my schedule at the moment. Probably wouldn't do it again but no major negatives.

@ecoli. No injury just not a great run. 34.30 and really has to work for that. Think I was 6th.

Your still adjusting to the mileage week and this week was not exactly a down week IIRC there was a 14 miler mid week? Solid running man I wouldnt worry too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

No injury just not a great run. 34.30 and really has to work for that. Think I was 6th.

Only in my dreams have i ran this fast:D Not bad running if thats a bad day for you, well done.

ecoli wrote: »
    Your still adjusting to the mileage week and this week was not exactly a down week IIRC there was a 14 miler mid week? Solid running man I wouldnt worry too much

Yeah I'm just having a moan. You're right 14 miler was reason no spring in my step. Anyway tune into my log later for more moaning and self diagnosis. Don't want to hijack this thread with my ramblings :)

Yeah you were 6th, Barbara Sanchez won it for the wimmens in just over 36 minutes I think? She didn't look too impressed with herself!

Talking to someone who I think was one of the organisers before the race started, I mentioned Sergiu and Bazman being there and they didn't have a clue who either of them were. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Birdsong

did this race today & found it very though, running through office blocks etc with nobody to give you a shout of encouragement from the sidelines, even the mashells did give any bit of encouragement. Did over the hour, so will have keep going to get under the hour.

think i am going to stick to club races in the future, find them much better atmosphere & there is always tea after

3 stars (average)
    Yeah I'm just having a moan. You're right 14 miler was reason no spring in my step. Anyway tune into my log later for more moaning and self diagnosis. Don't want to hijack this thread with my ramblings :)

Finished just ahead of you in 5th. Good to meet you afterwards. Course was tough enough but I have not run a flat 10k anywhere on the roads. Good luck with Berlin. DCM schedule starts for me tomorrow:rolleyes:

Firstly well done to everyone that competed in todays event.It was well organised and was very happy to finish 3rd.Testing enough course,perhaps not as tough as the 5mile in the pheonix park earlier in the week but it was a good challenge.My watch said 33.49 but it was a little out it seems.My pb is 33.17 at the gir but ill need to work harder if im too break that.
    Lovely medal too.

3 stars (average)
    First time to race in one of these events and I really enjoyed it. Well organised and handy to get to, enjoyable course and overall a very good experience. Ran it in 49 mins flat, not great but a good enough platform for the next one

Good race this morning, well done to all. Surprised its not more popular.
    Just got an email from Parkwest 10k with 'provisional results' but all links led back o run ireland or parkwest site. Anyone get the correct link/ attachment or am I missing something?

3 stars (average)
    Good race this morning, well done to all. Surprised its not more popular.
    Just got an email from Parkwest 10k with 'provisional results' but all links led back o run ireland or parkwest site. Anyone get the correct link/ attachment or am I missing something?

No same here, was just going to post the same myself

Lovely medal too.

Seriously?
    Finished just ahead of you in 5th. Good to meet you afterwards. Course was tough enough but I have not run a flat 10k anywhere on the roads. Good luck with Berlin. DCM schedule starts for me tomorrow:rolleyes:

Yeah true, course wasn't that tough in hindsight I just didn't have a good day. Nice to meet you too, you were nice and consistent in your running. What's the target for Dublin? You doing the Frank Duffy 10 miler? I think you said you might be doing the Lakes 10K, was going to do the BHAA race in Firhouse but may stalk your next race for a rematch/rerun :D Good luck with the DCM training anyway

+2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 1sttimerunner

Lovely medal too.

Seriously?

Yeah true, course wasn't that tough in hindsight I just didn't have a good day. Nice to meet you too, you were nice and consistent in your running. What's the target for Dublin? You doing the Frank Duffy 10 miler? I think you said you might be doing the Lakes 10K, was going to do the BHAA race in Firhouse but may stalk your next race for a rematch/rerun :D Good luck with the DCM training anyway

+2

Did this run yesterday, found the inclines tough as there seemed to be a lot in the first 5k. Only running since may and knocked 1 minute off my last 10k time, so something to be happy about. Think the goody bag was.a bit of a con and not even a cuppa tea afterwards, only for the money is going to our ladys I would have been a bit peed off spending 25e for an envelop full of crap. Just wondering if anyone knows where the results are posted. Have looked the the web page for the run and have emailed the organisers but have gotten no joy from either :(

They're on the event website - http://www.parkwest10k.com/

Two lines below the energie logo - under event date.

They're on the event website - http://www.parkwest10k.com/

Two lines below the energie logo - under event date.

Thanks, must be going blind :)

only for the money is going to our ladys I would have been a bit peed off spending 25e for an envelop full of crap.

Hate to upset you but I'd be surprised if a significant proportion of that money went to the hospital. I could be wrong but usually races make a contribution that could be as small as 1% and "allow" you to raise money for the designated charity. As I said I may be wrong in this case

I was just about to say the same. Nowhere on the site does it say any of the €25 is going to the charity. They just have a link to the charity and encourse you to 'donate'.

Surprised there were only 150 runners. There were many more last year, close to 500 I think when Eoin Ryan organised it.

That's just the mens results you're looking at - 88 female as well, though I'm pretty sure some of the female times are missing from that list. Still, it was a very small race compared to last year.

Edit: At least on keynote it comes out as three seperate results sheets dunno about on a pc...

only for the money is going to our ladys I would have been a bit peed off spending 25e for an envelop full of crap.

Oh great, so not only was it a tough run for me and a crappy goody bag but now the feel good factor of knowing the run was in aid of a good cause is gone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Park West 10k

I am one of the Park West 10k organisers. I would like to thank you for all the comments, both positive and negative that I have read so far.
    I would like to respond to some of the comments made thus far as we hope that this run is one that will get bigger and better each year.
    • All profits from the run are donated to the Childrens Medical Research Foundation at Our Lady's Hospital Crumlin. No other party benefits financially from the event profits. All costs such Insurance/Signage/Consultancy/Entertainment/Marshal donations/Medics are covered by sponsors such as Park West Mgt/Energie/Bulmers/Bannon. Án Garda Siochána donated their services free of charge as it is a charity event. Run costs ie. chip/medals/gantry/crowd control etc is deducted from the €25 entry fee.
    • The Park West 10k is in its infancy and it is duly noted that the website needs improvement in terms of readily available information. As this is a new event and not associated with the Dublin 10km we chose not to post last years results. We will keep 2011 results available on the website.
    • We are confident as this race increases in size the level of spectator numbers will also increase providing a better atmosphere year on year.
    • We are open to suggestions on how to improve the race experience for all participants in the future.
    With thanks,
    Park West 10k Team

• All profits from the run are donated to the Childrens Medical Research Foundation at Our Lady's Hospital Crumlin. No other party benefits financially from the event profits. All costs such Insurance/Signage/Consultancy/Entertainment/Marshal donations/Medics are covered by sponsors such as Park West Mgt/Energie/Bulmers/Bannon. Án Garda Siochána donated their services free of charge as it is a charity event. Run costs ie. chip/medals/gantry/crowd control etc is deducted from the €25 entry fee.

That's great stuff. You should really make this more visible on your site as I think it would lend a lot more goodwill to your race. The website says it is run in association with the hospital which wouldn't give the impression that all profits go to charity. Fair play

+1. I didn't make it to the start line but I'm glad to know my €25 went to a good cause. As TheRoadRunner says, many races are run in association with charities but in reality the charity benefits very little from the race. It is definitely worth making it very clear from the start that all profits go to the charity.