Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What 'outdated' things do you still do?

• 15-07-2011 11:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭

I still buy CD's and DVD's, rather than download. I also don't own an i-pod or mp3 player.

I don't own a mobile phone, just use the landline.

These things cause people to think I live in the dark ages, but I prefer them to the alternatives.

What outdated practices do you still prefer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i still listen to music from the year 2000 back because since then its been shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I accidentally used Yahoo! search a few weeks back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Thrash ruffians from my steed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Still like buying cds/dvds.
    Prefer actual books to kindles.
    Prefer using cash to cards to pay for stuff...get laughed at a lot for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I still watch porn on videos :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

My dad has a slide projector and sometimes after a family BBQ, we dig out the projector and put on a slide show of the summer holidays we enjoyed as kids :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I still buy CD's and DVD's, rather than download. I also don't own an i-pod or mp3 player.

These things cause people to think I live in the dark ages, but I prefer them to the alternatives.

Why do people say iPod or mp3 player? An iPod is a fecking mp3 player.

I dunno what I so that's outdated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Conor108 wrote: »
    I accidentally used Yahoo! search a few weeks back

Oh, that brings me back!

I still use IE as my web browser. Apparantly that is very outdated :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

i still listen to music from the year 2000 back because since then its been shite

Not all of it, you're just old now and don't like change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,319 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Buying DVD's is outdated? Fûck that....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

seanybiker wrote: »

Because Apple is a machine that would have you believe that an iPod is somehow magically better than any other MP3 player, in the same way they have 99% of the population brainwashed into thinking the iPhone is the best phone ever invented in the history of the world. Its not, far from it.

I was using tapes to tape the telly up until a few months ago when I got Sky+, changed my life!

I still use IE as my web browser. Apparantly that is very outdated :confused:

Thats not outdated,its just stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I use Aertel every day.

lotto 150, soccer 220, what's on now 180, film previews 183 and the headlines 102

A lot of people knock Aertel, I started a thread over in TV forum about it. But I find it's very simple and works very well

It can definitely get me TV listings faster then the internet

seanybiker wrote: »

Apologies, I'm too outdated to know the difference.

I don't know what your last sentence means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

As well as the whole buying CDs/DVDs/actual books...

I still write and send letters on occasion :D. I go to the 2D version for the film rather than the 3D one, I played a Playstation 1 game yesterday and I still have a Gameboy.

Thats not outdated,its just stupid.

Aww, that's not nice. It serves me perfectly well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I don't even use the internet.
    Hardcore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Still buy credit for my phone..... thats on Esat Digifone network

Aww, that's not nice. It serves me perfectly well.

No,not you, but IE is stupid,please try google chrome :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i still use Betamax

..that reminds me, i have to return some videotapes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Write love letters to my sweetheart..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Teletext.
    It's like the internet for old people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Cerocco

I still use 'Paper' future generations will wonder in awe what this flimsy piece of communication was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

mikemac wrote: »
    I use Aertel every day.
    i use it on the internet :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I use Aertel every day.

lotto 150, soccer 220, what's on now 180, film previews 183 and the headlines 102

A lot of people knock Aertel, I started a thread over in TV forum about it. But I find it's very simple and works very well

upgrade to this new thing called broadband and retire the hamster

Yeah but teletext is old skool!

I still buy newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

I do the dishes by hand. That's kind of outdated, no?

I also write letters regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Saila wrote: »
    upgrade to this new thing called broadband

I know you can get Aertel on the RTÉ website

My point is if we sit on the couch and I hold the remote control and you hold your laptop I'll still get the TV listings faster :)
    Aertel rocks!

My point is if we sit on the couch and I hold the remote control and you hold your laptop I'll still get the TV listings faster :)
    Aertel rocks!

and if I have the guide in my hands I will get it faster than you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I do the dishes by hand. That's kind of outdated, no?

No there are loads of people who don't have dish washers. They also use a load of power so it saves you money doing them by hand, just like hanging clothes out to dry rather than shoving them in the dryer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Actually he's 100% right, I listen to everything from the beatles to the police. Now all the charts and radio stations are full of computer-based, talentless, ghost-written pop. Last time rihanna or Katy perry wrote anything was a poem for English class in school.

And I'm not old. I'm a teenager who actually hasn't been brainwashed by the media. The day I turned on my radio and heard the start of "I'll be watching you" by the police, I thought maybe sense had been restored to todays music scene. Until some American started rapping over it in a monotone about how he missed someone.

As I type this, Katy perry is singing "last Friday night" on FM104, to a beat that sounds suspiciously computerised.

Rant over :o

Anyway, regarding this threads topic, my favourite console is still the PS2, I'm the only person I know who still has a working one and I got mine in '03 :P

Also, I still pull out my old gameboy colour for a quick wander around Kanto sometimes when I'm bored ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

bronte wrote: »
    Still like buying cds/dvds.
    Prefer actual books to kindles.
    Prefer using cash to cards to pay for stuff...get laughed at a lot for that.

This is my big one and can't see it ever changing. I love the feel of a book when you'tr kicking back, and the smell whether it be the lovely new book smell or the musty "sat on a bookshelf for 10 years" smell. The former goes perfectly with a relatively new title you are reading, the classics have to be read in the latter form.
    I can't give away books either, books and a shelf are a fantastic decoration for every room.

I dn't know if this is 'outdated' in this country yet but I will never buy an automatic car. Have driven them elsewhere, and they are fantastic for a city, but I love country roads and I love being able to drop her a gear and feel the torque when you finally find a place to pass. It's nowhere near the same on an automatic.

Also, lighting big coal and timber fires in a fireplace. It makes a room and it certainly makes my winter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I dn't know if this is 'outdated' in this country yet but I will never buy an automatic car. Have driven them elsewhere, and they are fantastic for a city, but I love country roads and I love being able to drop her a gear and feel the torque when you finally find a place to pass. It's nowhere near the same on an automatic.

Most new cars I see are manual, Porsche even coming out with a 7-speed manual gearbox hopefully will make its way to cheaper cars. I will never buy an automatic either, hate them, absolutely hate the fecking yokes and yes I did drive them before. I might consider a 1-gear electric car but at the end of they day its just another boring PRNDLer and nothing will beat a decent petrol burning manual transmission car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Feckfox

Aertel rocks!

If you don't include starting up a laptop, then no you won't.

http://www.rte.ie/ten/listings/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

On Sunday nights i like to watch re runs of Where In The World and Glenroe and send myself to bed at 9 o clock to dream of threesomes with Theresa Lowe and Terry Killeen.

I still watch golden girls :)

Fbjm wrote: »
    Actually he's 100% right, I listen to everything from the beatles to the police. Now all the charts and radio stations are full of computer-based, talentless, ghost-written pop. Last time rihanna or Katy perry wrote anything was a poem for English class in school.

And I'm not old. I'm a teenager who actually hasn't been brainwashed by the media. The day I turned on my radio and heard the start of "I'll be watching you" by the police, I thought maybe sense had been restored to todays music scene. Until some American started rapping over it in a monotone about how he missed someone.

As I type this, Katy perry is singing "last Friday night" on FM104, to a beat that sounds suspiciously computerised.

Anyway, regarding this threads topic, my favourite console is still the PS2, I'm the only person I know who still has a working one and I got mine in '03 :P

Also, I still pull out my old gameboy colour for a quick wander around Kanto sometimes when I'm bored ;)

theres your problem, take phantom [105.2] 2 times a day as required

yore welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I still buy CD's & DVD's too. I have 20 year old CD's I still listen too. I still read paperbacks. I hate reading ebooks. I like to read for a couple of hours at a time and reading from an e-reader screen for more than an hour gives me a migraine. I still have my commodore 64 & a bunch of games for it. Occasionally I pull it out and play the original Mario Bros game on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I obey my husband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

can we laugh at the first person that says they pay for things by cheque?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

I still stalk rather than cyber-stalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Fbjm wrote: »

While not a golden age for music there has definitely been some gems in there. When I was a teenager I thought the same about the late nineties early noughties (I hate that term).

Up until yesterday I didn't have online banking set up.
    I still play my N64.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

WindSock wrote: »
    Teletext.
    It's like the internet for old people.

Teleweb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Owldshtok

does anyone use moblie phones to make calls anymore?..can someone try to call me please? (088) 2463420

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

use 3.5" floppies

....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Owldshtok wrote: »
    does anyone use moblie phones to make calls anymore?..can someone try to call me please? (088) 2463420

My phone has 10 million apps but cant make calls, wait a minute and ill try you on the landline..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

All my outdated stuff has been mentioned but

Record onto VCR's
    Still have only 4 channels
    Use teletext
    Never even heard of a kindle but it sounds like its one of those electronic books and nothing will ever replace books for me
    I will never ever ever buy a touch screen phone
    I hate 3d movies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Disleksic

I still occasionally horsewhip my servants to make them toe the line. Apparently this isn't the done thing these days.