Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

superlevy

• 15-07-2011 10:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

had coop board meeting last night and this super levy situation is serious.one guy has his quota full already in july so no more money for him until may of next year:eek:i know people are going to say serves him right where was he going but as ive said before this will break lads.the figures out there are scary and there is three more years of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

keep going wrote: »
    had coop board meeting last night and this super levy situation is serious.one guy has his quota full already in july so no more money for him until may of next year:eek:i know people are going to say serves him right where was he going but as ive said before this will break lads.the figures out there are scary and there is three more years of it.

well if you play with fire, expect to get burnt by fire someday. Talk about gambling and the odds stacked completely against him. I wonder what figures he will put in his Teagasc profit monitor for the rest of the year :D:D. his costs per litre could be interesting come the end of the year!! Yes it may break people but didnt they know this before they started out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

have to agree , just because people got away with it other years doesnt mean it will be the same the next year.....its a total mess up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭mattthetrasher

fellas took their chance and will pay the price but teagasc and ifj have alot to answer for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Yeah, having your quota filled in three months is ridiculous, it is like looking for trouble as it doesn't take much logic to know that dairy farmers will be upping milk supply as we get nearer to the time quota disappears and that this would mean super levy would be an increasing problem.

I wonder why the co-op allowed this happen in previous years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Of course there are lackeys out there who live off what the IFJ and Teagasc have to say, but you can’t blame them. Like Min said, the co-ops have allowed it to happen but its the farmers own fault ultimately as he'll have to face the consequences.

Is the first round of leasing out yet, I suppose it will be small if anything.

Of course there are lackeys out there who live off what the IFJ and Teagasc have to say, but you can’t blame them. Like Min said, the co-ops have allowed it to happen but its the farmers own fault ultimately as he'll have to face the consequences.

i will have quota for temporary leasing ... but i am going to wait til later in the year as there should be a better price me thinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

I heard yesterday that 5000l for bigger farmers and 10000 for smaller in kerry iirc.

There are farmers all over the country with quotas filled or nearly filled. They made a decision and took a gamble. When it pays off they dont have to pay for quota leases or purchases. When it doesnt they suffer equally as much as they gain. Nobody put a gun to their head and made them buy/calve cows/heifers.

They will have to buy quota of some kind eventually, whether that is EU quota or processing rights or they will continue to have the same boom/bust cycle for years to come. Again, they go into this with their eyes wide open;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

5live wrote: »
    I heard yesterday that 5000l for bigger farmers and 10000 for smaller in kerry iirc.

They will have to buy quota of some kind eventually, whether that is EU quota or processing rights or they will continue to have the same boom/bust cycle for years to come.

A collection so:(

What this:eek: I thought it going to be a free for all in 2015:p Whats the most likely approach for Kerry, do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

whelan1 wrote: »
    i will have quota for temporary leasing ... but i am going to wait til later in the year as there should be a better price me thinks

will you have much to put in to it.
    it went from 1c to 2c in the last round, year gone
    what will it make later in the year

dar31 wrote: »
    will you have much to put in to it.
    it went from 1c to 2c in the last round, year gone
    what will it make later in the year
    will have between 20 and 30 thousand gallons , waiting til later in the year to put it in as i will know the better picture then... still suffering from loss of stock 2 years ago but my own stock are coming through now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

They will have to buy quota of some kind eventually, whether that is EU quota or processing rights or they will continue to have the same boom/bust cycle for years to come. Again, they go into this with their eyes wide open;)[/QUOTE]
    not sure about that,the price volatility will have very little to do with little old ireland,we are very,very,very small player and any way other countries are going to produce it anyway.carbery have loads of potential for extra processing so dont see why there should be some form of expensive milk rights to throw another layer of cost on milk production.as for the farmers who sold their soul to a plc it looks to me like ye have shot yourselves in the foot. cant see how your business is going to develope but i hope it does.dont think any body realizes how much potential has been wasted in west cork over the years and how much fustration is there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭funny man

For anyone over quota blaming teagasc or indeed Kennedy in the IFJ are really clutching at straws, every farmer must take responsibility for their own actions, if we all did exactly what that shower told us we would be on the road, you have to take advice relevant to your situation. why would the co-ops stop it as they were only too delighted to get the extra milk while the farmer took all the risks.

A collection so:(

What this:eek: I thought it going to be a free for all in 2015:p Whats the most likely approach for Kerry, do you think?
    Your processing right in kerry will be 120% of your EU quota on 31 march 2015 adjusted for your butterfat for the 2014/2015 quota year ie 100,000 gallons at 3.9 bf% that year will be 120,000 gallons at 3.9 bf% of a processing right. If you go over then you will have to get premission to supply over the 120%.

Once kerry run out of processing capacity then they will look at building more or supplying Milk Ireland if it ever gets off the ground. Thats what we were told on friday anyway but who can believe all they tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 kennedy138

farmer with 180 cows. quota full. big loans . Bank ordered all cows to factory

kennedy138 wrote: »
    out of interest what bank?

And how is that going to pay off all the loans:confused:. A little bit of sanity by both the farmer in doing it and the bank in stopping it would go a long way:mad:

yeah right, that sounds like pure bull, surly if they are good cows the most sensible thing to do would be dry them off early in preparation for next year . What sort of an idiot is over quota already anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

I have to say I'm sick sh*t of hearing jack kennedy, justin mccarthy, the journal in general, teagasc, and the co-ops blamed for every bad business decision farmers have ever made.

The journal is a newspaper that along with merely reporting the weekly news strives to also educate it's readers about different practices.

Teagasc are advisers, they give advise, and imho all advice should be listened to.

But it's up to the farmer themselves to know their own business, and decide what they should or shouldnt do.

If it all goes tits up then take it like a man, dont go crying off blaming everyone else.

As for the co-ops?

Who the hell owns the co-ops?

(leaving aside kerry and glanbia, who's sole purpose in life is to to generate earnings for their PLC shareholders)

The farmers own the co-ops, not the other way around.

The co-ops, teagasc and the journal have been advising people to ramp up for expansion, but they're not psychic, they could not have predicted how many people would jump in so far so fast.

however over the last few years there has been a steady rise in output nationally, but lads keep driving on. do the maths and it's fairly obvious this is a one way street to superlevy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

+1 johnboy, its up to every farmer to manage his own business, the lad with 180 cows and quota filled was just being greedy the last few yrs and got away with it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Hi
    Prob a stupid question but can a farmer in Sligo sell Quota to a farmer in Cork or has all trading to go through the Co-Op ???

thetangler wrote: »
    Hi
    Prob a stupid question but can a farmer in Sligo sell Quota to a farmer in Cork or has all trading to go through the Co-Op ???
    He can sell the land and quota to the cork farmer but quota sales alone have to be to the co-op. And the cork farmer either has to supply to the sligo farmers co-op or look for a transfer to his own co-op (or bring his quota to sligo) which isnt guaranteed due to a 'gentlemans agreement':rolleyes: not to look for transfers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

He can sell the land and quota to the cork farmer but quota sales alone have to be to the co-op. And the cork farmer either has to supply to the sligo farmers co-op or look for a transfer to his own co-op (or bring his quota to sligo) which isnt guaranteed due to a 'gentlemans agreement':rolleyes: not to look for transfers

I think quota can be sold (without land) between relatives can't it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭cjpm

JohnBoy wrote: »

But it's up to the farmer themselves to know their own business, and decide what they should or shouldnt do.

however over the last few years there has been a steady rise in output nationally, but lads keep driving on. do the maths and it's fairly obvious this is a one way street to superlevy.

Couldn't agree more.

After a poor year (2010 - 2011) the country almost went over quota in April. That should have been a lesson to anyone over quota.

Considering that the co-ops have constantly said that they are way ahead of supply for each month so far this quota year (2011-2012), and some fellas are still milking on in the hope that quota will appear out of nowhere.

And then they'll convince themselves that it was the co-op's or journal's fault....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭mattthetrasher

i am not over quota but i do feel sorry for the guys that caught up in the hype it was ott there is such a thing as responsible journalism every farmwalk or news article although educational was aimed at expansion at an ebi winning farm walk in durrow last september the focus of the day was on expansion when i urged caution as 2015 was along way away and that farmers had to act responsibly i was told by teagasc staff on the stand that i was being negative.:mad: i think they should get some stick .right up to christmas french was saying to drive on the writing was well on the walls by then guys ,they are the national advisory organisation well resourced,and they got it badly wrong

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I think quota can be sold (without land) between relatives can't it??
    You could be right on that. Favoured nephew/neisce(mi spelin gon too pot:D) or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

cjpm wrote: »

Couldn't agree more.

After a poor year (2010 - 2011) the country almost went over quota in April. That should have been a lesson to anyone over quota.

Considering that the co-ops have constantly said that they are way ahead of supply for each month so far this quota year (2011-2012), and some fellas are still milking on in the hope that quota will appear out of nowhere.

And then they'll convince themselves that it was the co-op's or journal's fault....
    Someone on here blamed co-ops and IFJ and teagasc now you are complaining that every farmer in the country over quota are doing the same. How did you come to that conclusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭cjpm

Couldn't agree more.

Someone on here blamed co-ops and IFJ and teagasc now you are complaining that every farmer in the country over quota are doing the same. How did you come to that conclusion?

???

Try reading it again kid.

Using the words "Some fellas" does not imply that i'm speaking about every over quota farmer in the country, far from it.
    Try not to jump to conclusions.

???

Try reading it again kid.

Using the words "Some fellas" does not imply that i'm speaking about every over quota farmer in the country, far from it.
    Try not to jump to conclusions.
    So you meant Some fellas of the some fellas that are over quota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I started milking 3yrs ago before the outlook started looking good for dairying. I had to buy quota, cows and also takeover loans. I bought about 40 k gallons. Next thing the department, Teagasc and FJ are pushing for higher production- New entrant scheme, Partnerships etc. My neighbour receives 44 k gallons for nothing!. All these factors including a good grazing yr,FJ-( more replacements, more new entrants) have upped the production and leaves myself who has built up slowly with big loans with quota full in August. Should be ok hopefully, just have to fatten some of the cows:(

look when i started off i paid £2.50 a gallon for quota , built a 6 unit parlour and 56 cubicles... now the milking parlour lies idle, my dad has the sucklers in the cubicle shed with automatic scrapers... quota is alot cheaper now and i am still paying for the set up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

why so?

thought you were still milking, or have you outgrown that original setup?

why so?

thought you were still milking, or have you outgrown that original setup?
    thats the way i had to go to get quota, i set up on an outfarm, used to milk my cows and then my dads cows in the morning and then do his and then mine in the evening, did that for 4 or 5 years.. Then i took over his cows and we put the whole lot together on his farm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Begob

out of interest what bank?
    http://www.enniscorthyguardian.ie/news/farmers-warn-acc-bank-theyll-boycott-forced-sale-2829089.html

surprise surprise eh?
    His quota's full as he saw no option but to try and milk his way out of trouble but the super levy got in the way.
    Talk of the country down this way,a sad situation and no debt forgiveness it seems or attempt at a survival plan.
    They built a fine dairy farm there,relying sadly on a sale elsewhere that fell through at the same time as the banks went wallop but before they could pay off the loan it seems.

While I'm here when is the 2nd round of temp leasing? and any idea on price yet?

Begob wrote: »
    http://www.enniscorthyguardian.ie/news/farmers-warn-acc-bank-theyll-boycott-forced-sale-2829089.html

surprise surprise eh?
    His quota's full as he saw no option but to try and milk his way out of trouble but the super levy got in the way.
    Talk of the country down this way,a sad situation and no debt forgiveness it seems or attempt at a survival plan.
    They built a fine dairy farm there,relying sadly on a sale elsewhere that fell through at the same time as the banks went wallop but before they could pay off the loan it seems.

While I'm here when is the 2nd round of temp leasing? and any idea on price yet?
    1c a litre is the price and its early in the new year iirc but not sure about when. Dont expect much as demand will be huge

i will have some quota to put in , should i wait til after christmas will the price go up?

No the temp leasing prices are set. 2c for the first and 1c for the second to encourage people to lease earlier

hey lads i have 45k of a quota full at the end of july. will i get paid anything for augusts milk? any ideas?:confused: arrabawn is the co op

kevthegaff wrote: »
    hey lads i have 45k of a quota full at the end of july. will i get paid anything for augusts milk? any ideas?:confused: arrabawn is the co op
    WOULD YOU NOT RING THEM AND ASK?

your entitled to the balance after the levy is deducted.

I cant believe you are asking such a question :eek:

funny man wrote: »
    your entitled to the balance after the levy is deducted.

Thanks funny man.:D Just talking to a rep from the co op- confirmed it. Any idea how much extra quota ye get for the disease erradication scheme?. Had 3 reactors.

I cant believe you are asking such a question :eek:
    Well believe it you can it's printed in black and white for you :D

Thanks funny man.:D Just talking to a rep from the co op- confirmed it. Any idea how much extra quota ye get for the disease erradication scheme?. Had 3 reactors.

if they have recently been put down i'm afraid the panel will not give you much of an allocation (15-25kltrs), their view is usually that you carried far too many cows all year and should have off-loaded them before now, but you make a case for it and if your not happy with the out come don't be afraid to appeal it.

sound funnyman ill prob find out in sept-oct u cant apply till then. id say ill appeal if i only get that amount. I knew a few lads who got 12k gallons last year(perhaps diff circumstances)

was talking to glanbia rep about this apparently theu look at your last years supply and you get an allocation based on that so if your supply for this year is the same as last year they will be saying that you are not at much of a loss milk wise iykwim and you will get feck all:o

well people, hows it looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

coveney still 'reminding quota holders of their obligations' > http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/press/pressreleases/2012/march/title,61905,en.html

says that results for feb wil be out next week, prob wednesday or thursday to play ball with the journal

twill be very very tight, 0.3% under for Jan like not much of a margin there. not much rain falling, cows out around the place, alot of cows calved it seems. Alot of calves in the mart.. but this could be cos exporters not calling to yards. anyone i speak to that usually would be able to call it are to is sitting on the fence :rolleyes: some farmers saying there wont, more saying there will.... im on the fence aswell until feb numbers are out :pac: but even if feb is under march seems to be a very very good milk month so far :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

what does this mean to guys wanting to buy calves i'm waiting an waiting they mental expensive at the mo

we will be over ,just dont know how much.as for waiting for cheap calves after april 1,theres alot of ye out there doing that and i dont know anybody holding calves to drink milk,most lads are letting them off due to housing pressure.calves are still cheap relative to store cattle

keep going wrote: »
    we will be over ,just dont know how much.as for waiting for cheap calves after april 1,theres alot of ye out there doing that and i dont know anybody holding calves to drink milk,most lads are letting them off due to housing pressure.calves are still cheap relative to store cattle
    agree, i think now is the best time to buy calves, cant really see there being a big glut of calves in april , any of the lads i have been talking to that are over are selling away