Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay byrnes new show for one night only

• 15-07-2011 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/for_one_night_only.html

gaybo starts as what you could say a replacement for the LATE LATE tonight
    it may not be as entertaining as the late late thread but could occupy the mind for a while.

tonight its imelda may

Imelda May
    Tonight Imelda May tells her life story through her songs, from Johnny Got a Boom Boom to Meet you at the Moon - she talks about being a Liberty Bell and shares some hilarious stories from her youth and her life in London, including singing at Bar Mitzvahs to supermarket openings where she had to perform on palettes. Coming from a tight knit family in the Liberties - she speaks with affection about them - even wrangling her father into singing a love song to her mother!
    A night of musical memories and a celebration of one of Ireland's hottest new talents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Gaybo is as entertaining as watching paint dry and I for one won't be watching RTE's "effort".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

vicwatson wrote: »
    Gaybo is as entertaining as watching paint dry and I for one won't be watching RTE's "effort".

I agree but you obviously have not been a regular here on a friday with the late late thread you dont know what your missing.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I agree but you obviously have not been a regular here on a friday with the late late thread you dont know what your missing.:D

Jaysus, I knew I had to have a licence to watch TV but not to make a comment here :D;)

vicwatson wrote: »
    Jaysus, I knew I had to have a licence to watch TV but not to make a comment here :D;)

now now its just a passing comment on what the friday night experience is like calm down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

I wish Gaybo would fcuk off for good.

too the BBC ??? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

jimmynokia wrote: »
    too the BBC ??? lol

indeed auld Gaybo always wanted to be part of the union

Auvers wrote: »
    indeed auld Gaybo always wanted to be part of the union

Is that a good idea with DLB already getting his foot in the door?
    Sure they might become good mates again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I might be the only one but I'm glad Gaybo is back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

He can stick this show up his jacksie:p.Too much chat shows:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

For One Night Only

A six part entertainment series hosted by the..

Ah come on RTÉ.. surely you could have thought of a better name considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Another episode of "Self Aid", I presume. We'll have a whip-round at the end for Gerry Ryan's kids too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Another concept "borrowed" from UK tv. RTE are completely shameless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

Listening to that woman's accent for 30 minutes, no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I might be the only one but I'm glad Gaybo is back :)

Hear, hear - when it comes to light entertainment interviews he is still the best in the business.

Good to see him back, and Imelda seems lovely too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

I like her, nothing fake about her. Has a bit of a laugh and seems a bit of a character, can get over the accent!
    The dad is a good singer too it seems :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Teclo wrote: »
    Listening to that woman's accent for 30 minutes, no thanks.
    Why? She has a 100% genuine accent. I was listening to Newstalk today, the reporter had to ask a girl if she was American due to her affected accent. She answered she was from Rathfarnham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Speaking as someone from outside the Pale, I think Imelda Mae is an absolute dote, and her accent is lovely too. So there.

As for Gaybo,he's still the guv'nor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Isn't Gay Byrne still so so good at this chat thingy. Bringing the best out of an entertaining guest.
    If Tubridy was there now this would be depressing and be over about 25 mins ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

He's just so believable......

Ryan Tubridy just comes across like a schmaltz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Seeing this makes me hate Tubs even more now, he's not fit to make the tea for Gaybo :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

It's a Friday night, I'm not drinkin, and Gaybo's on the telly?

Have I gone back in time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Parakeets

Fantastic show. Love Imelda - She's best around. Great to see Gaybo can still do it.

+1 He just has..IT He manages to bring the best out in guests,I guess,just by being so comfortable in his role.

calex71 wrote: »
    Seeing this makes me hate Tubs even more now, he's not fit to make the tea for Gaybo :mad:

I know :(

Gay Byrne is timeless ... here he is in 1963, (48 years ago!) with Ken Dodd and an up and coming Pop group from Liverpool ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭LCruiser Kid

Not a bad show at all now in fairness. Liking Imelda May too. Very talented singer. Like her stuff. :)
    Puts alot of todays so called singers to absolute shame. Good luck to her. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I wish the condescending cnut (Gaybo) would ride off into the sunset as his retirement promised.

Gaybo was the first person to introduce on TV:

The Beatles

U2

Boyzone

charting the decline of western civilisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

+1,000,000!!

For someone who "retired" he's still never off RTE! :mad:

He's one of those people who would fade into nothingness if he couldn't get his face/mouth onto the wireless as much as possible.

Lucky for him I guess he has RTE and the RSA to massage his ego on demand (at our expense of course!) :(

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    +1,000,000!!

He's one of those people who would fade into nothingness if he couldn't get his face/mouth onto the wireless as much as possible.

Lucky for him I guess he has RTE and the RSA to massage his ego on demand (at our expense of course!) :(

Is there anyone you can suggest is better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Not a big fan of Gaybo,but he is a great man to do an interview seems to have a good habit of making people relax and be themselves while been interviewed,Tubs and Plank Kenny should be taking notes.

Birneybau wrote: »
    I wish Gaybo would ride off into the sunset as his retirement promised.

He never retired.

He just stopped doing The Late Late Show, and he always said he would be doing more TV work.

And there is nobody in the country who would have presented tonight's show so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I wasn't mad about the premise of that show and the title at the start but I thought Imelda May was the perfect guest for it. She has a great story and a really entertaining personality as well as being a fantastic performer.

I really hope she gets a big break in the states and becomes a huge star, she really deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

cml387 wrote: »
    Gaybo was the first person to introduce on TV:

The Beatles

U2

Boyzone

charting the decline of western civilisation.

Europeans introduced a lot of diseases to the new world.

What's your point again?

That show was better then the past 5 years of the Late Late :D

There is no way I could have watched DLB interview one person for a whole hour.

Not a massive fan of gaybo but he is god honestly good at what he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Stevecw wrote: »
    I like her, nothing fake about her. Has a bit of a laugh and seems a bit of a character, can get over the accent!
    The dad is a good singer too it seems :)

shes a breath of fresh air , earthy , humble but at the same time fiesty , completly natural , a welcome change to the endless list of phoneys ( with faux accents ) we see cluttering our screens from one end of the week to the other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Agree there, love watching him interview people and when he was doing the late late a real master of his craft, but I'd have very little time for him on the radio or in his role as chief patronising office of the RSA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭FionnRua

Well we could suggest Parky, Bruce Forsythe, Terry Wogan or any others of a myriad of BBC/ITV chat show hosts. Sure they must be better than us.
    Also Imelda Mae's accent - well she doesnt sound like the usual D4 west coast of Atlantic bunch of c**ts but then if she was a cockney we would like her more.
    Get a grip FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭LCruiser Kid

Gaybo is doing a great job as usual. Ye can't deny that in fairness. Who else would ye like to see presenting the show then???
    There would be something wrong with whoever would be presenting the show. FFS, there's worse presenters out there.

Birneybau wrote: »
    Europeans introduced a lot of diseases to the new world.

What's your point again?
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Thoroughly enjoyed that - Gaybo, whether you love him or hate him, is a natural. Imelda May seems lovely too. I'm looking forward to next weeks' show already :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

I met Imelda in Belfast a few months back and she is a really lovely, down to earth person.

Really enjoyed the show tonight but have a couple of suggestions for RTE - extend it to - say - 2 hours and throw in a mix of guests. You could it something like "The Late Late Show".....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Skid wrote: »
    And there is nobody in the country who would have presented tonight's show so well.

And that's a good thing?

Of course it doesn't help that RTE is Nepotism Central and most Irish "celebs" are the types that would turn up at the opening of my front door if they thought there was a photo-op in it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Stevecw wrote: »
    Isn't Gay Byrne still so so good at this chat thingy. Bringing the best out of an entertaining guest.
    If Tubridy was there now this would be depressing and be over about 25 mins ago.

gay is the greatest broadcaster this country ever had , hes our parky , he doesnt need to remind his guest and his audience of how clever or witty he is every two mins , looking at you pat and also you tubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Another concept "borrowed" from UK tv. RTE are completely shameless.

That's how TV works now, it's a constant copy and paste, worldwide. RTE certainly wouldn't be the worst culprits.

Bob Geldof is on next week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Excellent show really enjoyed it. Imelda is pure talent and so unaffected ... lovely, beautiful, talented lady.

Gaybo has the confidence & the talent to just say enough to keep the show on track & then just lets the real star be herself and do what she does best.
    Imelda doesn't need to be interviewed you just need to start her up and away she goes.

A masterclass from the pro for Tubs et al.

And that's a good thing?

Of course it doesn't help that RTE is Nepotism Central and most Irish "celebs" are the types that would turn up at the opening of my front door if they thought there was a photo-op in it. :(

I wouldn't have though that RTE had a monopoly on nepotism in the media.
    And I'm still waiting for you to suggest a suitable replacement for Mr Byrne.