Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you look at middle eastern types differently now?

• 15-07-2011 1:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭

occured to me today as i said hello to a couple of muslim people ( i say muslim because she was veiled,i may be wrong) that i see almost daily during my work,

the man said hello as we usually do but instantly i said to myself, i wonder are they in a sleeper cell !!!!

stupid i know but got me thinking that whenever i see middle eastern types, with the beard,the same type clothes,huddled together talking,or on the phone im paranoid they are up to something.. is it just me?

damm jack bauer and america :mad:

id imagine the first few replies will attemt to slate me for racism and others will pull something from my post to make a joke with, its ah so im expecting it, make it funny because im not racist to these people, im polite with everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

Dey turk our jobs... Durka durka durka!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just you.

*popcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

barone wrote: »
    whenever i see middle eastern types, with the beard,the same type clothes,huddled together talking,or on the phone im paranoid they are up to something.. is it just me?

Don't know if it's just you, but it's definitely not me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

I dont think ive ever talked to a muslim, except the lads that work in kebab house. And nah they dont seem like the terrorist sort, they gave me a free burger once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Look at them differently? No, I still use my eyes as I haven't found an alternative, as yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Most of them are good honest decent people..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm always wary of white men in the 25 to 50 bracket.

You never know when you're talking to a serial killer I tell ya.

Sometimes I suspect little girls of being elves the mischievous bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

but got me thinking that whenever i see middle eastern types, with the beard,the same type clothes,huddled together talking,or on the phone im paranoid they are up to something.. is it just me?

No I don't think it's just you I often finding my self thinking the same. I tell myself I am being stupid but you never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Muslims run the kebab shop in town. I know they are, because they shut down over ramadan, or what ever it's called.

Tell ye what though? Nicer bunch of lads ye couldn't hope to meet. My oppo and me get to chat with them each week.

I'm certain that, if we asked them; " Comes the jihad, are you lot gonna rise up against us? " They'd just curl their lips and say, " Aah, fcuk all that bollocks! "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

jugger0 wrote: »
    I dont think ive ever talked to a muslim, except the lads that work in kebab house. And nah they dont seem like the terrorist sort, they gave me a large bomb to detonate in a crowded public place a free burger once!

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

i more so mean the type that dont dress as westerner's ,the 'obvious' looking muslim types if you get me, not the lads in the chippers, i agree any of them i talk to are spot on and very polite and have a laugh, (the chipper type lads), the ones in traditional clothing all seem very different though..

nervous,shy,evasive .. probly have reasons given whats happend in the world theese last few years..

and lads...could ye not do better then those attempts at humour above !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Just you.

It's not the lads that stick out like a sore thumb you need to worry about either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

prinz wrote: »
    Just you.

It's not the lads that stick out like a sore thumb you need to worry about either.

I live 2 doors up from a bunch of Arab/Muslim/whatevers. Friendly enough but I still wouldn't trust them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

No but I do distrust nordies going parking outside a pub and then running away. See anyone can be a bomber OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭SunnyLucy

I'm the same Barone, the thought always sneak into my head that they could be up to something. Then I tell myself to cop on but still it niggles...
    Also if any of them get on the bus or train with a bag/knapsack I watch to make sure they take it with them when they get off... I know I'll probably get slated for admitting this but there's no point denying it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Try living in the UK and you will get used to them pretty quickly :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

It means your a racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

I don't have that problem with muslims but I do have it with Germans unfortunately. I can't help but think they're genetically evil and that behind all the smiles und sunshine a return to their old natural ways is just around the corner.

prinz wrote: »
    Just you.

so which ones should i worry about?

No but I do distrust nordies going parking outside a pub and then running away. See anyone can be a bomber OP.

no idea what a nordie is but i agree,anyone can be a bomber, my question was about a specific type though if you read the op title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

Not terrorists but they are filthy

It means your a racist

o you hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Of course OP, its well known in the international intelligence community that Al Qaeda are desperate to bring Galway to its knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

so which ones should i worry about?

AFAIK all the major terror attacks related to Muslim extremists in Europe and the US have been carried out by people trying desperately to fit in, i.e. clean shaven, western-style dress etc.
    no idea what a nordie is but i agree,anyone can be a bomber, my question was about a specific type though if you read the op title

So do you look at your average white person differently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

nah I don't be worried about the muslims at all , at least they would have the decency to say hello back to you ,

I'm more worried about gangs of Africans and Romanians and general drug addicts wandering the street's looking at every single opportunity to mug you, scam your card etc , plus i personally find the Africans very very ignorant.....................................and thats from personal experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Of course OP, its well known in the international intelligence community that Al Qaeda are desperate to bring Galway to its knees.

It's well known in the "International intelligence community" as you put it..that Ireland is a major target for Al Qaeda.
    So I wouldn't say the 'fears' are completely unfounded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I always feel a tad bit uneasy when a muslim gets on the bus with a back pack, its sad but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭SunnyLucy

SV wrote: »
    It's well known in the "International intelligence community" as you put it..that Ireland is a major target for Al Qaeda.

Whaaaat?? A MAJOR target?? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

its those shapeshifting jews you have to watch out for op haven't you watched borat??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

do you look at middle eastern types differently now?
    Slightly.
    I got new glasses after an eye test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Someone with a Northern Ireland accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Middles Eastern and sporting a beard you say?

Hummus be up to something me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

yes i see them differently than i did 3 years ago thank god

the amount of disgusting yank propaganda bullsh!t i've had thrown at me for almost 2/3 of my life I'll never forgive them (american media) for instilling so much fear and hatred in me

SV wrote: »

If you live with the feeling of suspicion in the back of your mind of an militant Islamic attack while living in Galway, I can't imagine the tension and nerves you would feel in every moment of every day were you to move to London, Paris, Berlin etc. You say major, and yet for all of the reading I have done on the subject, I have come across no more than 2 or 3 references to cells based in Ireland.

Btw, you clearly have an issue with the way "I put it" and not being the expert on espionage as you so clearly are, how would you put it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

I live 2 doors up from a bunch of Arab/Muslim/whatevers. Friendly enough but I still wouldn't trust them

Why not it's not like there any different from us except a different religion,Different beliefs.

There still people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

OP, I'd say you have mild prejudices based on the amount of media-driven hysteria we are forced to experience. Anyone who says they are not prejudiced is lying, we all have them.
    Racism is a whole different ballgame, it's what happens when you put prejudice into a weak, small mind. If you're questioning your prejudice and not being guided in your actions by it, then I think it's quite safe to say you're not a racist. Unlike, oh, say, these unreconstructed bigots;
    Not terrorists but they are filthy
    careca11 wrote: »
    nah I don't be worried about the muslims at all , at least they would have the decency to say hello back to you ,

I'm more worried about gangs of Africans and Romanians and general drug addicts wandering the street's looking at every single opportunity to mug you, scam your card etc , plus i personally find the Africans very very ignorant.....................................and thats from personal experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

Disappointing that this is even an issue tbh given our own recent history and attitudes towards Irish people 'across the water' not too long ago. Under what rationale would a muslim person even under the unlikely circumstance they were terrorists be a threat to an Irish citizen on Irish soil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

occured to me today as i said hello to a couple of muslim people ( i say muslim because she was veiled,i may be wrong) that i see almost daily during my work,

the man said hello as we usually do but instantly i said to myself, i wonder are they in a sleeper cell !!!!

stupid i know but got me thinking that whenever i see middle eastern types, with the beard,the same type clothes,huddled together talking,or on the phone im paranoid they are up to something.. is it just me?

damm jack bauer and america :mad:

id imagine the first few replies will attemt to slate me for racism and others will pull something from my post to make a joke with, its ah so im expecting it, make it funny because im not racist to these people, im polite with everyone.

Londoners used to think the same thing about the Irish during the 70s and 80s.

Actually, they didn't, but they would have as much cause back then to view the Irish with suspicion as the Irish of today would have to view Muslims with suspicion.

I know a lot of Muslims. I've worked with Muslims, I went to school with Muslims and lived in an estate which was about 25% Muslim.

You should be no more worried about them than you should anyone else you see on the street.

If you see one on a train carrying a backpack though........

Disappointing that this is even an issue tbh given our own recent history and attitudes towards Irish people 'across the water' not too long ago. Under what rationale would a muslim person even under the unlikely circumstance they were terrorists be a threat to an Irish citizen on Irish soil?

eh?

Do you understand the mentality and ambitions of many of the extremist islamic organisations that exist in the world? As much as I think the OP need not live in fear, to think there is no way Ireland would not be a target because it doesnt get involved in international conflict is very naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

It means your a racist
    Being a racist never hurt anyone ...oh wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No.

I'm still inexplicably aroused by the mots in ninja gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 anawfulbogey

eh?

Do you understand the mentality and ambitions of many of the extremist islamic organisations that exist in the world? As much as I think the OP need not live in fear, to think there is no way Ireland would not be a target because it doesnt get involved in international conflict is very naive.

Its rather not naive but realistic. What benefit would come from attacking a small neutral island off the west coast of Europe? With respect, given your username and location I would imagine your view has been coloured somewhat by the events in that city 4 years ago and the media saturation of the subject. Ireland is a very different society, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

At this stage I'm probably just indifferent to any middle eastern types I come across in the same way they might be with white skinned , western europen types ie , me . However whenever I pop in to do the lottory , I still smile and say thank you to my dark skinned newsagent .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

I have worked with Hindu and Muslim people. All were very hard-working and a pleasure to be around in a work and social environment. Decent people. We could do with more of them in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Not just you. My work links me with people from many weird and wonderful places including Afghanistan. I am always polite, friendly and welcoming. (I even had to learn a little Arabic!) However, deep down there is always a feeling of unease.

Four years ago, I was on a tube train in London. Two Middle Eastern looking guys got on with rucksacks. Of course, no one said anything and nothing happened, but the fear. Oh man, the fear....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

annascott wrote: »
    Not just you. My work links me with people from many weird and wonderful places including Afghanistan. I am always polite, friendly and welcoming. (I even had to learn a little Arabic!) However, deep down there is always a feeling of unease.

Four years ago, I was on a tube train in London. Two Middle Eastern looking guys got on with rucksacks. Of course, no one said anything and nothing happened, but the fear. Oh man, the fear....

I'd say not too long ago the Irish accent would have also instilled fear in Londoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I view Muslims in the same way I view most religious people. I see them to be like Neanderthals dancing around a fire worshipping the moon God...blissfully ignorant of the truth.

And no, I'm not an athiest.

a few good points there about the irish in england and why would i think they are gonna bomb galway/ireland etc
    i understand your views,id also like to thank the lad who said i wasnt racist , thank you,

i am questioning why i think like this, i KNOW why i do,im just not happy about it,nor atm can i help it, as i said before,if i saw them dressed as westerners walking down the street id think nothing of it im sure of that.

if i saw them walking down the street wearing hijabs or burqa's ,or the long dress type garmet the lads wear id straight away be a bit suspicious of them.

what if they are terrorists and see me looking suspiciously at them,and decide to take me out :confused: and not for dinner !

thats a joke but now im thinking it for real.

i should perhaps be suspicious of everyone with a american accent :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I could never trust anyone who doesnt like a nice sausage sammich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

a few good points there about the irish in england and why would i think they are gonna bomb galway/ireland etc
    i understand your views,id also like to thank the lad who said i wasnt racist , thank you,

i am questioning why i think like this, ........

Years of stereotyping. It's not that difficult.