Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you pick me up if I was thumbing at a bus stop?

• 15-07-2011 12:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭

Next time I go to get a bus I'm going to thumb while I'm waiting. I nearly did it last time but I felt like a feckin eejit. Like, who thumbs nowadays?? Are you a disgrace to your family if you hich hike a 15 minute ride into town?

Anyways, would you pick up somebody who was thumbing at a bus stop? Or is that just being shnakey. I would pick somebody up, if they looked normal.

Would you pick up a hitch hiker at a bus stop? 90 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    26% 24 votes
    Penis
    73% 66 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yes.

But then again, I'm a bus driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Smell of povo of hitchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Yes.

But then again, I'm a taxi driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Why do it at a bus stop? You know that they're just for buses to stop at?
    Cars can stop anywhere.

Edit: Ah, read the post properly, you're waiting for a bus.
    Still, no, I wouldn't. I'd just let you wait for when your bus arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Yes.

But then again, I'm a taxi driver. oh snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I wouldnt pick you up if you were dressed in fivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Yes, but then again I'm a serial killer.....

Shít did I type that or just think it out loud....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Depends on whether or not you're hot and look desperate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

My friend met his girlfriend at a bus stop by offering her a lift!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Yup, as a young male driving a reasonably **** car, I have nothing to lose by picking up hitchhikers. I've picked up a few in Galway, and along a few motorways. Granted, all were very strange and one guy was even impersonating someone who I actually worked with (how ****ed up is that?) Oh, and one guy stole stuff from my car.

The way I look at it, is that one of these days, I may actually be helping someone normal out who really needs a lift!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Yes, but then again I've a pet alligator. He is very hungry & meat is so expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Yes.

But then again, not on your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

Yes
    But then again i'm a serial rapist

Fieldog wrote: »

I love when couples have interesting stories of how they met!

It's looking likely that I'll be able to tell me kids about the time I lost my car to a maniac with a gun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Depends....if you looked normal and have massive bangers :pac:

You'd trust a stanger with fireworks in your car? Dude!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

i think they are called prostitutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

So they both got a ride then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

seven. minute. abs.

"Hitchhiker: You heard of this thing, the 8-Minute Abs?
    Ted: Yeah, sure, 8-Minute Abs. Yeah, the excercise video.
    Hitchhiker: Yeah, this is going to blow that right out of the water. Listen to this: 7... Minute... Abs.
    Ted: Right. Yes. OK, all right. I see where you're going.
    Hitchhiker: Think about it. You walk into a video store, you see 8-Minute Abs sittin' there, there's 7-Minute Abs right beside it. Which one are you gonna pick, man?
    Ted: I would go for the 7.
    Hitchhiker: Bingo, man, bingo. 7-Minute Abs. And we guarantee just as good a workout as the 8-minute folk.
    Ted: You guarantee it? That's - how do you do that?
    Hitchhiker: If you're not happy with the first 7 minutes, we're gonna send you the extra minute free. You see? That's it. That's our motto. That's where we're comin' from. That's from A to B.
    Ted: That's right. That's - that's good. That's good. Unless, of course, somebody comes up with 6-Minute Abs. Then you're in trouble, huh?
    [Hitchhiker convulses]
    Hitchhiker: No! No, no, not 6! I said 7. Nobody's comin' up with 6. Who works out in 6 minutes? You won't even get your heart goin, not even a mouse on a wheel.
    Ted: That - good point.
    Hitchhiker: 7's the key number here. Think about it. 7-Elevens. 7 doors. 7, man, that's the number. 7 chipmunks twirlin' on a branch, eatin' lots of sunflowers on my uncle's ranch. You know that old children's tale from the sea. It's like you're dreamin' about Gorgonzola cheese when it's clearly Brie time, baby. Step into my office.
    Ted: Why?
    Hitchhiker: 'Cause you're ****in' fired!
    "

Quagmire beat me to it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

iMax wrote: »
    "Hitchhiker: You heard of this thing, the 8-Minute Abs?
    Ted: Yeah, sure, 8-Minute Abs. Yeah, the excercise video.
    Hitchhiker: Yeah, this is going to blow that right out of the water. Listen to this: 7... Minute... Abs.
    Ted: Right. Yes. OK, all right. I see where you're going.
    Hitchhiker: Think about it. You walk into a video store, you see 8-Minute Abs sittin' there, there's 7-Minute Abs right beside it. Which one are you gonna pick, man?
    Ted: I would go for the 7.
    Hitchhiker: Bingo, man, bingo. 7-Minute Abs. And we guarantee just as good a workout as the 8-minute folk.
    Ted: You guarantee it? That's - how do you do that?
    Hitchhiker: If you're not happy with the first 7 minutes, we're gonna send you the extra minute free. You see? That's it. That's our motto. That's where we're comin' from. That's from A to B.
    Ted: That's right. That's - that's good. That's good. Unless, of course, somebody comes up with 6-Minute Abs. Then you're in trouble, huh?
    [Hitchhiker convulses]
    Hitchhiker: No! No, no, not 6! I said 7. Nobody's comin' up with 6. Who works out in 6 minutes? You won't even get your heart goin, not even a mouse on a wheel.
    Ted: That - good point.
    Hitchhiker: 7's the key number here. Think about it. 7-Elevens. 7 doors. 7, man, that's the number. 7 chipmunks twirlin' on a branch, eatin' lots of sunflowers on my uncle's ranch. You know that old children's tale from the sea. It's like you're dreamin' about Gorgonzola cheese when it's clearly Brie time, baby. Step into my office.
    Ted: Why?
    Hitchhiker: 'Cause you're ****in' fired!
    "

Harland Williams was the hitchhiker, the guys is nuts as himself. Watch his interviews on Conan O'Brien. He's great but crazy.

"My girlfriend said she was going to get herself a Brazillian, I said I ain't ever been to Brazil baby so we compromised and she got herself a mullet down there, now when we do it doggy style I put a baseball cap on her ass and talk baseball with her, pretend like it's my old pal Gary"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I thumb lifts sometimes when its raining, people generally stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Yes but then again my arms might get sore

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I thumb lifts sometimes when its raining, people generally stop.

God no one does that in Kilkenny. Last person I gave a lift to was never seen again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Gas, grass or ass. No one rides for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I used to pick up the occasional person hitch hiking if they looked like student types. I felt sorry for them and always thought that I was doing a good deed. However, as a female who travels with her handbag either on the passenger seat or on the floor in front of the passenger seat, I always felt a little vulnerable. They always saw me moving my bag to the back seat and I thought that they could steal my purse. As this was running through my head, I also realised that they probably thought that I could be a serial killer and the awkwardness of the whole situation just wasn't worth it.

About five years ago, I stopped for what I thought was a teenage girl but as she leant over to get into the car, I saw that she was much older and had been in a fight. Not in a 'poor girl has been attacked' sort of way but in a 'dirty fighting skanger way'. She even had dirty fingernails. I was so horrified that I reached over and pulled the door shut again while muttering "sorry, I've changed my mind you are scary..." and drove on leaving her standing there.

It would have to be really exceptional circumstances for me to give anyone a lift now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I saw a really pretty girl hitchhiking on the Dublin road in Drogheda a few weeks back and nobody was stopping to pick her up.

It's a sad state of affairs when even the serial rapists are emigrating.

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    I saw a really pretty girl hitchhiking on the Dublin road in Drogheda a few weeks back and nobody was stopping to pick her up.

It's a sad state of affairs when even the serial rapists are emigrating.

Were you off the clock or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

discus wrote: »
    I love when couples have interesting stories of how they met!

It's looking likely that I'll be able to tell me kids about the time I lost my car to a maniac with a gun!

"Slow down ya maniac!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Years ago my grandfather who was a very friendly and trusting man decided to pick up someone who was thumbing with a sign for Waterford which was where my grandfather was going. According to the grandfather god rest him, the fella got in and was closely guarding a black sportsbag to his chest for the entire journey.

My granddad being the chatty type asking him the usual questions, where he was from, following the sport etc, he said the fella was giving 1 or 2 word answers. So my grandfather asked him what he had in the bag seeing as he was guarding it so closely, the hitch hiker's response? "Mind your own fcuking business." Grandfather said he was a bit taken aback by this so eased off the ole small talk for a while. Then the fella checked inside the bag again and re-arranged something, my grandfather asked him again, and once again came the response "mind your own fcuking business."

Anyway they get to Waterford and my grandfather drops him close to where he was going. He wishes him all the best as they are coming toward the drop off point and curiousity got the better of my grandfather again so he asked him 1 final time what was in the bag, unsurprisingly the fella told him for the 3rd time to "mind your own fcuking business." At this point he seemed to get really angry, so anyway when the car stops, yer man storms off slamming the door, and the hilarious thing about it is, the bag he was guarding so closely was left behind in the car and my grandfather only realised when he got home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Were you off the clock or something?
    I'd picked one up already. Two's just plain greedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Years ago my grandfather who was a very friendly and trusting man decided to pick up someone who was thumbing with a sign for Waterford which was where my grandfather was going. According to the grandfather god rest him, the fella got in and was closely guarding a black sportsbag to his chest for the entire journey.

My granddad being the chatty type asking him the usual questions, where he was from, following the sport etc, he said the fella was giving 1 or 2 word answers. So my grandfather asked him what he had in the bag seeing as he was guarding it so closely, the hitch hiker's response? "Mind your own fcuking business." Grandfather said he was a bit taken aback by this so eased off the ole small talk for a while. Then the fella checked inside the bag again and re-arranged something, my grandfather asked him again, and once again came the response "mind your own fcuking business."

Anyway they get to Waterford and my grandfather drops him close to where he was going. He wishes him all the best as they are coming toward the drop off point and curiousity got the better of my grandfather again so he asked him 1 final time what was in the bag, unsurprisingly the fella told him for the 3rd time to "mind your own fcuking business." At this point he seemed to get really angry, so anyway when the car stops, yer man storms off slamming the door, and the hilarious thing about it is, the bag he was guarding so closely was left behind in the car and my grandfather only realised when he got home :D

Well...? What was in the bag?

A marathon (not a snickers) ?? coz that was back in the 70's/80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Mind your own fcuking business!

Angryman gets even angrier haaahaaa:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I can't believe I didn't see that one coming!

Anyway, the only time I've picked up, well my sister picked up but I was with her, a hitch hiker, he turned out to be a drunken scumbag who had a crate of beer hidden in the bushes and when we stopped he threw his bag in and then got the beer.

Luckily he was only going about 10 minutes drive away but still scary and stupid. When I asked my sister whey the hell she stopped she said she wouldn't have if I hadn't have been there. Even still, I wouldn't stop for anyone that looked like that guy.

I would probably stop if I say someone that looked genuine and was stuck in the rain or something, but I'd use my judgment, even though sometimes people aren't what they first appear.

One time myself and a mate walked from Enniskerry to Powerscourt waterfall, a very long walk and further than we thought. We tried hitching on the way back to no avail. Didn't get back to Knockree hostel til after 10pm that night and ended up walking in pitch black along the country road. Would have loved a friendly driver to pick us up about then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Turkana

So basically I've no chance of getting a lift nowadays. Seems to be mostly out of fear, but there are a few scroungy feckers here too.

Turkana wrote: »
    So basically I've no chance of getting a lift nowadays. Seems to be mostly out of fear, but there are a few scroungy feckers here too.

You're the scroungy one. These days you have to give incentive, something worth something to drivers. A blowjob for instance, or if extra generous a gallon of petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Without pics OP, very hard to say whether I'd pick you up or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Dont want no fcukin bottom feeder in my car, no way would I pick a stranger up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Turkana wrote: »
    Would you pick me up if I was thumbing at a bus stop?

Yes, if only to tell you about the were subjunctive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Some one stopped me before and asked me to drop a old nun into Dublin city centre. I politely told him I wasn't going that was. But had she be a much younger nun with big boobs and not actually a nun and willing to return the favour, then I am sure I could have gone out of my way.

OP, not a hope....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Shreddingblood

Depends on how heavy you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I'm genuinely surprised at how many people would not pick somebody up thumbing. I'd have little problem picking somebody up. I'd be delighted to have the chat usually. I used to hitch years ago before I got my own car and wouldn't mind doing it again just to meet interesting people. If this thread is anything to go by, there doesn't seem to be much time for that sort of culture in this brave new Ireland nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

How is someone supposed to answer this question honestly without a photo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Dionysus wrote: »
    I'm genuinely surprised at how many people would not pick somebody up thumbing. I'd have little problem picking somebody up. I'd be delighted to have the chat usually. I used to hitch years ago before I got my own car and wouldn't mind doing it again just to meet interesting people. If this thread is anything to go by, there doesn't seem to be much time for that sort of culture in this brave new Ireland nowadays.

Too many serial killers out there these days. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

My parents hitchhiked and camped around Europe in the early 80's. My Dad busked on the streets and that's how they made spending money! (cue "was your mother a hooker") They actually came back with more money then they had when they started.

I never see anyone hitchhiking these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Depends on how heavy you are.

Wouldn't want to ruin the suspension?