Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eddie Murphy Memorial Marathon and Ultra 20/11

• 14-07-2011 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭

Anybody know what length this race is ?
    Is it invite only or open to all ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

It hasnt been decided yet as of last week. Might be 40 miles or might be 52. Yeah im sure its open to the public but it will have a limited number of entrants. Ill get tom or pat to come on here when they get a chance to answer some questions.

Eddie Murphy Memorial Sixmilebridge

On Sunday the 20th of November, changed from 13th, the Eddie Murphy Memorial Marathon and Ultra will be held in Sixmilebridge on its now famous 1 mile circuit, can here the groans already lol.

As memtioned as well as the marathon distance there will be 2 Ultra distances, one of 30 Miles and the other of 52.4 miles, double marathon distance. More details to follow soon.

This is info from 1 of the race organisers pat o keefe. These are the final distances and dates ect... so happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭corkrunner71

How small a number do you think will be accepted for this event ? Is this the same marathon from Nov 2010. I think that was very limited entry if not invite only. Would be interested in the marathon myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭runningcoach

How small a number do you think will be accepted for this event ? Is this the same marathon from Nov 2010. I think that was very limited entry if not invite only. Would be interested in the marathon myself.

We will be increasing the size of the field to 100 this year as all the Entry fee (30 euros) will be given to Milford Hospice (Eddie's brother Tom has nominated this charity to benefit from the event ).

You will be able to enter on line with Run Ireland very soon.

We will be increasing the size of the field to 100 this year as all the Entry fee (30 euros) will be given to Milford Hospice (Eddie's brother Tom has nominated this charity to benefit from the event ).

You will be able to enter on line with Run Ireland very soon.

Thanks for that. Will keep an eye out for more info.

Registration now open on Run Ireland.

Specials thanks to Run Ireland for all their support to ensure all the entry fees can be donated to Milford Hospice in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

I just registered :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

baza1976 wrote: »
    I just registered :)

For which one? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I know I've already mentioned it on your facebook page, Tom, but I'm baffled why you're putting on a 30-mile race instead of a 50k. :confused:

Tom - The races on the day are in memory of Eddie with the goal of raising as much money as possible for Milford Hospice ( as nominated by Eddie's brother Tom ).

I really don't want any controversary arising over distances because it will take from a great day.

I am more than happy to discuss further offline with you but the last thing I want this thread to spiral into is something other than promoting a run in Honour of Eddie.

The races on the day are in memory of Eddie with the goal of raising as much money as possible for Milford Hospice ( as nominated by Eddie's brother Tom ).

That's good enough for me.

For which one? :pac:

The marathon

Just registered for marathon. See ye there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

Nice to have a choice of two ultra distances. I hope it goes well for all the races. Great way to honour himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

which of us is doing this zuppy? :p

Both of you, it's laps, if you pace it correctly baby will only be unattended for a few minutes per lap. :D

If I could only fix the nanny cam screen to my race belt, it would solve a lot of problems. :-)

Why don't you take turns pushing the jogging stroller around the course?

Mmmh! If only I could get away with this. :-)

Any idea how many people have registered and what the breakdown for each event is?

Just wondering how the training is going, or are most people waiting till after berlin, dublin etc.

B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭diddleyland

registered for marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

i registered for the 30 miles
    Its a first for me
    No expectation in terms of finishing time
    Did longford so have a bit of 'distance' in the legs, in terms of training- plan to do a few hilly runs & a lot of long slow runs, that 1 mile loop has a hill on every mile and its a long pull - just hoping it will NOT be icy :eek:

Already looking forward to this, even though there is Dublin yet to come (never mind the half marathon on Saturday).

I've finally signed up for the 30 miles. It's the first time since the Connemara marathon in 2006 that I'm not running the longest distance offered in an organised multi-event. :D

baza1976 wrote: »
    Any idea how many people have registered and what the breakdown for each event is?

Just wondering how the training is going, or are most people waiting till after berlin, dublin etc.

B

14 entered so far. 86 places remain to be filled. 30 ml race is most popular to date so far.

met about 30 lads at the marathon club race in connemara on saturday who will be coming but have not registered yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

lookimn 4ward to this, will enter when i get permit off wife

Ill sign up tonight for the double marathon:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Notwitch

Zuppy wrote: »
    Mmmh! If only I could get away with this. :-)

Was watching Berlin marathon last month - in the space of about 20 minutes 2 guys passed pushing strollers. One was using the one handed 'hold method', the other the one handed 'push and then run to catch up method'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Is there a cut off time for the 30 mile race ?

It would only mean adding on a bit to Dublin and its the sort of crazy thing that interests me:D

Is there a cut off time for the 30 mile race ?

It would only mean adding on a bit to Dublin and its the sort of crazy thing that interests me:D

No cut off.you are more than welcome to partake. If you have a concern that it make you a long time then we can start you off earlier on the day. PM if you wish to discuss further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

No cut off.you are more than welcome to partake. If you have a concern that it make you a long time then we can start you off earlier on the day. PM if you wish to discuss further.

Thanks,

I think i'll enter over the weekend and pop you a PM next week !

Nicest RD ever and a great race lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭aigster

I'm unlikely to make this but if anybody is thinking about it.... Stop thinking sign up!!!!
    I met eddie pre Connemara and he was a pure gent..kept me calm pre my first ultra.you'll be in great company and honouring a great man.
    Well done organisers.

Im signed up for the 30 miler, all the cool people are doing it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Oisin11178 wrote: »

Me too. I don't think I'll be racing this one. Should be good fun.

All the cool ones, and me as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Ath36

Three questions
    Can anybody give a profile of the 1 Mile course. Hills etc.?
    Are IPODs etc allowed or is course unsuited to them ?
    Intend entering next week after pay day. Any liklihood thiswill be sold out before then ?

Thought you were doing the 52?

Ath36 wrote: »
    Three questions
    Can anybody give a profile of the 1 Mile course. Hills etc.?
    Are IPODs etc allowed or is course unsuited to them ?
    Intend entering next week after pay day. Any liklihood thiswill be sold out before then ?

Check out attached for the course profile http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/25419555F

IPODs - ideally no for your own safety as you will encounter traffic on the course and also because you will miss out on all the craic during the race.

I will incl you on starters list. sign up on runireland when suits .

What race are you doing RQ ?

Not well at the moment, 30 is far enough. The wife will kill me if i did 52:D

What race are you doing RQ ?

I won't be able to do any unfortunately. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

after protracted negoiations, mostly carried out at 3am, it's MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE, just entered ;-)

Did you use sex or violence on Zuppy (or both :rolleyes:)?

She just wore me down. I gave in to sleep. :-)

Zuppy wrote: »
    She just wore me down. I gave in to sleep. :-)

Which shows that she's better suited to endurance events like that anyway

Thanks to all who have entered so far and a remainder to anyone that intends to enter that no entries will be taken on the day. Please sign up on Run Ireland to avoid dissapointment.

For those taking part in Dublin and I am sure many will ask "whats your next marathon ?" Please spread the word on the Eddie Murphy Memorial race events especially to those who want to try out a Ultra Race.

Thanks to all who have entered so far and a remainder to anyone that intends to enter that no entries will be taken on the day. Please sign up on Run Ireland to avoid dissapointment.

For those taking part in Dublin and I am sure many will ask "whats your next marathon ?" Please spread the word on the Eddie Murphy Memorial race events especially to those who want to try out a Ultra Race.

How are the entries going ? Are there many slots still available ?

Approx. 50 slots to be filled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Alicano

I have that very bitter taste of missing a pb in the dcm.
    Would love a second shot. only two questions.
    Are we talking a nice flat 1 mile loop?
    And is there space for one more!?
    Many thanks.

Alicano wrote: »
    I have that very bitter taste of missing a pb in the dcm.
    Would love a second shot. only two questions.
    Are we talking a nice flat 1 mile loop?
    And is there space for one more!?
    Many thanks.

No worries on entering but it's not a PB course as you have 400 mtrs of a hill on each lap.