Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro U23 Championships

• 14-07-2011 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭

Jessie Barr gets the Irish effort at the Euro U23 champs off to a good start, qualifying 2nd from her heat:

1 BEESLEY, Meghan GBR 0.201 57.38 Q
    2 BARR, Jessie IRL 0.265 58.01 Q
    3 ZNAMENSKAYA, Valeriya RUS 0.325 58.40
    4 RAUKUC, Anna GER 0.184 58.66
    5 IONESCU, Andreea ROU 0.251 59.51
    6 JEAN-FRANCOIS, Karen FRA 0.208 1:00.71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Looking forward to seeing Greego run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Paul Byrne is running soon in the 400m hurdles

http://livemanager.eurovision.edgesuite.net/eaa/site/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

Timmy 51.24 pb 2nd, was last going over the 8th hurdle. Paul 4th just outside his pb 51.90 all 3 hurdlers into Semi-finals:D

Just realised that Jessie Barr has made the Final (not semi)lane 8

Niamh missed out on a semi final place by 0.02sec in the 100m, her time 11.89secs:(

Rineanna wrote: »
    Jessie Barr gets the Irish effort at the Euro U23 champs off to a good start, qualifying 2nd from her heat:

1 BEESLEY, Meghan GBR 0.201 57.38 Q
    2 BARR, Jessie IRL 0.265 58.01 Q
    3 ZNAMENSKAYA, Valeriya RUS 0.325 58.40
    4 RAUKUC, Anna GER 0.184 58.66
    5 IONESCU, Andreea ROU 0.251 59.51
    6 JEAN-FRANCOIS, Karen FRA 0.208 1:00.71

In lane 8 for the final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Some of this is down to be on eurosport at 5 after tour de france.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Woddle wrote: »
    Some of this is down to be on eurosport at 5 after tour de france.

Few streams also available around the same time (Will add once become available 1 hour before coverage starts). With the time difference though means that there wont be coverage for the 800s with Leighio and McBrearty but will be for Gregan in the 400.

Wishing him the best of luck in this. Guy is in great shape but has been unfortunate at championships in the past with injury at the last u23s, DQ in the World Juniors and breathing complications in Doha. Hopefully he can break this spell and have the great run he was capable of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

Great run by Lieghio, a new P.B., third place in 1:48.06. He may get a fastest loser spot.

Lieghio does qualify for the final, great achievement. Would have liked to see McBrearty hold off a bit at the start.

Gregan pips the Frenchmen Mame-Ibra Anne on the line for the second auto qualifing spot with an SB of 46.32

ecoli wrote: »
    Gregan pips the Frenchmen on the line for the second auto qualifing spot

Looked about 46.4's 46.5's

Gandalph wrote: »
    Looked about 46.4's 46.5's

Just updated. Fastest losers look to be coming from his heat also

Haha, no chance of a group photo atop that podium!! Also, those medals are huge!

Jaysus that Italien triple jumper Delico is pretty yummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Getonwithit

Couldn't not hope for a medal for gregan based on that. Fingers toes etc crossed..

Gonna be a very very big ask as the 2 GB lads are firm favourites for medals Having said that I think he had one of the best reaction times out of the blocks so if he can get a good start and come one strong like he did today I still reckon he has it in him for a new PB atleast which hopefully should put him in the hunt for top 5 finish and possibly even sneak a medal but still a tall order

You must have missed the Greek girl talk about barefaced cheek, if you know what I mean;). Man she had it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Gonna be a very very big ask as the 2 GB lads are firm favourites for medals Having said that I think he had one of the best reaction times out of the blocks so if he can get a good start and come one strong like he did today I still reckon he has it in him for a new PB atleast which hopefully should put him in the hunt for top 5 finish and possibly even sneak a medal but still a tall order

I believe you are massively downplaying his chances which is fine as it takes pressure off but pressure is good. If he runs sub 46 he will likely medal. He is likely to run sub 46. This is 'championship hurling Ger', you PB, you do well.

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    I believe you are massively downplaying his chances which is fine as it takes pressure off but pressure is good. If he runs sub 46 he will likely medal. He is likely to run sub 46. This is 'championship hurling Ger', you PB, you do well.

I agree sub 46 will medal (think only the GB lads have gone sub 46 ever). I would love to see him go sub 46 as i reckon he can do that this year but .3 off his SB in the space of 2 days could be a big ask. Given his lay off earlier in the season it could be one or too races shy of that sort of run just yet in the season and most likely a big PB will come later in the season. Again I would love for the guy to do that in the final as I know he is capable of it this season. You see him more in training these days so can probably give a better indication of where he is at in terms of this fitness
    Pressure can be a fickle thing different athletes can react to it differently which is why I would rather the performance speak for itself rather than hyping it up too much before in case anything happened. Regardless though looking forward to a very good run from him in the final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭roycon

fastest 400m time by an irishman this year incidentally. im going for 45.9 in the final for grego with a silver medal to boot

Dont forget he would of finished 5th in the worlds 2 years ago had he not been DQ, he has the ability to knock chunks off his PB when faced with the task/competition

I agree think people are mistaking me here I am not saying he is not capable of it he has consistently blown me away year in year out for the last 5 years just when i think he cant take so much off a PB he has proven me wrong every year (maybe this is why I dont wanna jinx him by saying he is gonna do it:D). I have every confidence he will be a 45. runner this year i think I just like to keep quietly optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Kourosh Fouroghi qualified for the HJ final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭clubcard

Sorry guys,have to disagree about gregan,he looked laboured and heavy in the semi,he hasn't progressed since that world juniors and i dont see him in the top 5 in the final.

Flynn with an outside chance of qualifying if the pace is pushed in this race you could see three of the four fastest losers come from heat 2 but will need to be in PB shape to get that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Getonwithit

clubcard wrote: »
    Sorry guys,have to disagree about gregan,he looked laboured and heavy in the semi,he hasn't progressed since that world juniors and i dont see him in the top 5 in the final.
    I thought he looked laboured too. Perhaps checked himself on his line a few times? Didn't really look fluid until final 100. With that in mind and my uncurable optimism I'm going for a pb and medal. His 'attitude' to the cameras I hope is a product of high confidence off the back of solid training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Cheers Ecoli,
    good finish to the mens 100m there GB 1st and 3rd.Where is Colvert ranked in the 200m and what are his chances of a medal?

Cheers Ecoli,
    good finish to the mens 100m there GB 1st and 3rd.Where is Colvert ranked in the 200m and what are his chances of a medal?

9th fastest PB in the field however I think he should make the final pretty comfortably. Still think the best of his season is yet to come so hopefully he can bring it out here. Full of confidence though and wants the B standard for Daegu from this meet be it in the final or heats

6th place for Lieghio in 800m final in a time of 1:48.77mins, good result as there were some very strong competitors in that race.

Dan man wrote: »
    6th place for Lieghio in 800m final in a time of 1:48.77mins, good result as there were some very strong competitors in that race.

Only his third sub 1.49 ever and had a very long and hectic early season schedule hopefully next year with less college race commitments at Arkansa will see times drop even more

Niamh Whelan through to next round as a fastest loser with a 24.13 (.26 off her SB). Not an amazin time but good to see her get through hopefully can push on from this performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Menapians

Great run by Colvert 20.96 winning his heat

Impressive run by Steven Covert, winning his heat in 20.95 secs, a S.B. and into a slight headwind of 0.8m/s. Loooking good for a P.B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Caprica

Nice run by Colvert to win his heat in 20.95.

Impressive run by Steven Covert, winning his heat in 20.95 secs, a S.B. and into a slight headwind of 0.8m/s. Loooking good for a P.B.

Teach me to wait for the official results :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭sleapy235

Well done to Steven Colvert, excellent performance. Disappointment for Chris Russell, last in his heat in 21.63.
    Why isn't Lemaitre running, I thought he was supposed to be?

sleapy235 wrote: »
    Well done to Steven Colvert, excellent performance. Disappointment for Chris Russell, last in his heat in 21.63.
    Why isn't Lemaitre running, I thought he was supposed to be?

He was a late withdrawal from what the announcers have said but cant find anything on why

Today got off to a good start. Sara Treacy with a new PB in the 1500m in 4.16 and gets one of the fastest loser spots.

Also Travers ankle niggle has cleared up and is going ahead with racing this morning so we have three in this event

All three athletes in the 1500m fail to make the final. Robinson was a bit unlucky as was cut off with hundred to go and had to almost stop before charging through for fifth in a tactically slow race.
    Field size way to big and three heats should have been run as there was way too much pushing and shoving going on

He was a late withdrawal from what the announcers have said but cant find anything on why

I'm not sure either, perhaps he felt a twinge and just decided to rest up to forego any lenghty injury lay-off. Steven Colvert seemed to know on Thursday that Lemaitre wasn't running.

Wouldnt read too much into this as Ste knows LeMaitre from the Euro Juniors in Serbia so could have heard it from him.

Great run from Ste with new PB and only .06 off the B standard for worlds

Qualifies as fastest loser. If he can improve on his start he can go even better

All three athletes in the 1500m fail to make the final. Robinson was a bit unlucky as was cut off with hundred to go and had to almost stop before charging through for fifth in a tactically slow race.

sara made the final as one of the fastest losers :D

longjump67 wrote: »
    sara made the final as one of the fastest losers :D

That was men; Robinson, McBrearty and Travers. Sara already got a notable mention :D

Late coverage tonight on Eurosport and trouble with the site stream acting up today here is a stream that was working earlier

http://www.ct24.cz/sport/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Caprica

Good running by Colvert to make the final, hopefully he will get another PB in the final. Good going by Treacy to make the final, the 1500 guys were a bit disappointing, I didn't realise Travers was injured. They have the potential to be finalists.

What happened to Tamgho? Did he even start or did he have 3 no jumps? He has had a very up and down season.

Caprica wrote: »
    Good running by Colvert to make the final, hopefully he will get another PB in the final. Good going by Treacy to make the final, the 1500 guys were a bit disappointing, I didn't realise Travers was injured. They have the potential to be finalists.

What happened to Tamgho? Did he even start or did he have 3 no jumps? He has had a very up and down season.

Tamgho injured his ankle in warm-up, which is worrying in the run up to Daegu.
    http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/more-sports/athletics/Frances-Tamgho-injured-at-U-23-meet/articleshow/9248534.cms

Caprica wrote: »

Optimistically all three are eligible for the u23s in two years time again

Jesse Barr fifth in a PB time of 56.62

Brilliant PB for Jessie there