Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How sensitive are...

• 14-07-2011 9:23am
    Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭

.. durty feckers! :p

Just curious. When spectating in 15 (or more) people private game last night, couldn't help but notice the mass majority play of a way higher sensitivity than myself. Be it sniping or not. I play of 3 usually but for the first time ever, I knocked it down a peg to 2 and scores are a tad more consistent. Kinda find it an interesting subject as you see MLG players usually playing off lower sensitivity, but again, the majority play of a higher one and IMO, a too high one.

Honestly don't get how people play off 10, fairplay if you are able to and effectively + consistently do well . Last word being the all important word. I actually have a very good reaction speed in other activities but gaming, eh not so much in regards to sensitivity.

What sensitivity do you play off? 56 votes

0% 0 votes
    0% 0 votes
    5% 3 votes
    23% 13 votes
    16% 9 votes
    16% 9 votes
    10% 6 votes
    14% 8 votes
    8% 5 votes
    5% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I normally stick to the default but sometimes if I take out and uzi and put down lightweight and that I will bump it up to 4-5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

I play on 10 in MW2. Main reason being that it is a game that if you hear someone behind you, having a ability to do a 180° turn as fast as possible is advantageous. That and you need it for a riot shield class.
    Saying that I play on 5, sometimes 7 on Black Ops. The reason I use a lower sensitivity there is due to the constant dealing of view kicks from gunfights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

In MW2 I was on 8/9/10 for the most of it but started to go lower as time went on. Down from 4 to 3 yesterday.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

CORaven wrote: »
    I play on 10 in MW2. Main reason being that it is a game that if you hear someone behind you, having a ability to do a 180° turn as fast as possible is advantageous. That and you need it for a riot shield class.
    Saying that I play on 5, sometimes 7 on Black Ops. The reason I use a lower sensitivity there is due to the constant dealing of view kicks from gunfights.

True but the likelihood of someone being consistent with that is very small wouldn't you agree? Most are doing it to get their Tony Hawk on.

Score wise, in MW2, do you think you're maxmising you're potential playing off 10 in all honesty?

Should add that this subject was created because my cousin is on my PS3 atm and was astonished at the sensitivity I use especially in relation to scores and stats. He plays off 8 himself. When I used to snipe pretty much only for a good year in COD4 (loved sniping in that game!), in the end I playing off 6 at the highest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Was on 7 all last nite because i've been sniping so much lately.. generally i'll play on 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

True but the likelihood of someone being consistent with that is very small wouldn't you agree? Most are doing it to get their Tony Hawk on.

Score wise, in MW2, do you think you're maxmising you're potential playing off 10 in all honesty?

Should add that this subject was created because my cousin is on my PS3 atm and was astonished at the sensitivity I use especially in relation to scores and stats. He plays off 8 himself. When I used to snipe pretty much only for a good year in COD4 (loved sniping in that game!), in the end I playing off 6 at the highest.

I agree, most of those with 10 high are for teh skillage trick shots. However, due to my personal play style it is at my optimal. I do encounter turnabout situation quite often and that ability is more valuable to me.
    If I played more gamemodes that provided more multiple person encounters other than FFA, the conservation of ammo and higher stress on headshots would take priority. Then I might turn it down. But as S&D is my scene on MW2 sensitivity 10 is the way to go for me.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

i'm a 6. i don't know why, think i read or heard somewhere that if it was high, quicker response in turning gun to aim. i suppose it has helped me a little, for all my prestiges anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Used to be a 10 in MW2 but gradually got lower (and better)on about a 3-5 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I use 7 with FPS freeks. Without them I'd prob notch it down to 4-5

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭War Machine 539

Im pretty much always on 8 . . . . . . . . Its a lot easier to lead a shot at that speed . . . . . . . . . it seems to be on a par with run speed. Maybe thats just me! :P

CORaven wrote: »
    I agree, most of those with 10 high are for teh skillage trick shots. However, due to my personal play style it is at my optimal. I do encounter turnabout situation quite often and that ability is more valuable to me.
    If I played more gamemodes that provided more multiple person encounters other than FFA, the conservation of ammo and higher stress on headshots would take priority. Then I might turn it down. But as S&D is my scene on MW2 sensitivity 10 is the way to go for me.

Thats a wierd one.. I would have thought S&D would be the one mode with very little need for super high sens and percision/accuracy of a lower sens would suit much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

I left it on default (medium, so 2), from the start and I do well enough. I'm consistent with my scores. Unless me and THE LADS are steamrolling a rubbish team.

I have noticed plenty of deaths though where I just wasn't quick enough to turn or aim, etc. I really do need to put it up to 5/6/7.

Magill wrote: »
    Thats a wierd one.. I would have thought S&D would be the one mode with very little need for super high sens and percision/accuracy of a lower sens would suit much better.

That would be my thought as well.

You played comp for a bit on console I'm fairly sure you said before, what were you playing off then? 3-4?

Leeg17 wrote: »
    :cool:

Clips, clip and clips haha :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

+1 to everything Raven has said so far. 10 in MW2 and 8 in Black Ops.

Regarding playing off 10 in S&D I think it's very effective as the sound whoring in MW2 is unreal. So having the turnaround advantage is huge.

To be honest, I've no idea how people play off default. If ya hear someone running up behind you by the time you turn you're dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

have no idea what so ever, as far as I know I changed it, but to what I don't know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,415 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

4 for both MW2 and Blops. Then I was convinced by a M8 if I turned it up to 6 I'd get better. I did but didn't. :( Think I'm better of @ 4 but now I'm getting kinda used to 6. fkn hate options!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

9 all the way baby! Especially with the freeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Regarding playing off 10 in S&D I think it's very effective as the sound whoring in MW2 is unreal. So having the turnaround advantage is huge.

To be honest, I've no idea how people play off default. If ya hear someone running up behind you by the time you turn you're dead.

If you were soundwhoring in mw2 with sit rep pro, and half way decent headphones you can hear enemies about 20 metres away, that's what I've found from using these. If you can't kill an enemy and you hear them from 20 metres away then you're a terrible player! These are pretty bad as headphones go, too much bass which means explosions overwhelms subtle things like footsteps.

20060517_1127341.gif

Since they're semi open, you get a wider soundstage of where a particular sound is. In general, closed headphones don't offer the same sized soundstage as open ones so if you're using turtle beaches, tritons, etc you're not going to be able to discern sounds as well. If I was playing MW2 in an ideal world, I'd favour open headphones that don't favour the bass, such as the ad 700 and have a large soundstage.

41AO8oIX5wL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

You've no need to play on high sensitivity to benefit from soundwhoring unless you're encountering ninja or a crouched users regularly but even then they do give away audible sound. I'm fairly sure I play on default on mw2, black ops and battlefield. In a pinch a faster speed will give you an edge but chances are the better more aware player would dominate the majority of the time. But even a crappy player with 10 sensitivity can fluke shot you by chance so there is an advantage of being able to play on high sensitivity and being a good player. Being map aware and knowing where enemies are likely to spawn, shelter, congregate would be of better benefit to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

I play on 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I've put mine up from 2 - 5 this week, I'd keep going higher but I'm probably leaving the country soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Started on 7 worked my way up to 10 and have been playing a 10 ever since.

Was playing MW2 over in a buddies house online and he ahs it at 4/5 and I couldnt deal with it at all, was way to used to my 10 setting.

i meant to reign it back towards 7 but never got around to it and stuck with 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

4. mostly because i have my earphones so bloody high i can hear anyone coming a mile away and usually get the drop on them. the majority of my deaths ive noticed arent from behind but are usually from being shot at while im shooting someone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

4 or 3 on a reg. gun, 8 when sniping. Wish I could play on 8 the whole time though :(

Its all personal preference, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

3 all the time.

I honestly couldn't see anyone playing competitively with a very high sensitivity unless sniping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Playng on 6 with freeks.
    I usually favour SMGs and a CQ style of play so teh additional turn speed comes into a play a lot.

On a side note those freeks are impossible play without now! I dont think they made a huge diff to m quality but I simply cant play any game without them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

hightower1 wrote: »
    On a side note those freeks are impossible play without now! I dont think they made a huge diff to m quality but I simply cant play any game without them now.

Very true, I have to have a set in the car in case a wild cousin appears and challenges me to a game!

Finical wrote: »
    3 all the time.

I honestly couldn't see anyone playing competitively with a very high sensitivity unless sniping.

My mate can clarify it as he is heavy into the MLG scene these days but when I was involved, the average for players on console were off 3 (default I think). These are upper tier players, individually and as a team. So while the talk of spinning round quicker in certain situations has foundation, I don't think people are maxmising their potential I guess you could say. I mix it up, but am in essence a controlled/tactical rusher ie: I ain't thick when I rush like many in short :pac: but I'll fancy myself against most players no matter the sensitivity unless v a Famas or AK74u >_>

Not really the case tbh at least from my perspective.

I say my biggest strength besides being a versatile player(class set ups and general style of play) is being very self aware of my surroundings and knowing traffic patterns... some paranoia thrown in, sorted. Playing off anywhere between 8-10 is completely unnecessary for 95 out of 100 players IMHO as I eluded to before. There's an element of bragging dare I say for some(not aimed at anyone here) in saying oooh look I can play off 8 + when really, they're kidding themselves's (I'm sure some here can handle it but it's a very small %).

If people find high sensitivity such an advantage then surely their scores (I won't reference the actual stats.combat record) would be a hell of a lot better than they are, at least from my experience that's never been really case bar a couple of people I've played with on boards who consistently put in good scores. In saying that, I do remember my sensitivity on Xbox was 5 back in 07/08 and have said before on the 360 I felt it necessary to up it when discussing a controller comparison.

fjsanchez wrote: »
    4 or 3 on a reg. gun, 8 when sniping. Wish I could play on 8 the whole time though :(

Its all personal preference, though.

Indeed it is. I'm just looking at in the sense of people improving is all. I genuinely believe if the majority lowered the sensitivity, not drastically necessarily but even by one or two, their scores would improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I personally think up to a point increasing your sensitivity is beneficial maybe 4/5 past which it doesn't help because you can turn fast enough to give you a chance to kill an enemy behind you. I must try come down from 9 because sometimes I find it hard to stay on target against enemys in the distance.

That would be my thought as well.

You played comp for a bit on console I'm fairly sure you said before, what were you playing off then? 3-4?

yeah 3 or 4 i think. Low sens has always been the better choice in almost every game i've played competitively (PC and console). IMO the only situation that high sens is superior than a low sens in CoD is when you snipe, and thats only because of how slow the zoom speed is.. on PC you can config your zoomed sens to match your unzoomed.. shame you can't do that on console ie have two sens settings.

Even for turning on people i'd prefer 4 over 9-10... You can turn pretty ****ing fast with 4 and you're gonna be much more accurate whereas i'd imagine its much easier to overturn and just fail in general at aiming with a really high sens. If your finding yourself with your back to an enemy often then its probable that your positioning and awareness is sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,384 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

iv really fine it difficult going to back to the controller from the mouse

should I be playing on the highest sensitively do ye thing

Headshot wrote: »
    iv really fine it difficult going to back to the controller from the mouse

should I be playing on the highest sensitively do ye thing

Although im not sure if its the same with CoD.. but in general on PC.. you want to be doing a 180 turn with a single sweep across your mousemat (Unless its one of those big giant things).

Going from keyboard/mouse to controller is always going to be difficult unless you play regularly on the console... i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

I go between 4 and 5. Knock it down to 3 after a break from COD. In mw2 i'd snipe on 9 because of the slow zoomed - in speed. For the rest of the guns I'd play on 3-4.

I think black ops is harder to play on with a high sens compared to mw2.

7 + on anything seems stupid to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

Used to be a 10 in MW2 but gradually got lower (and better)on about a 3-5 now.

I was exact same Kells.. Used to be 10 on MW2 but have dropped to 6-7 for black ops..

I used to use 8 but I find after a long time of not playing it, such as PSN meltdown (or even just a week), after I pick up the controller again I couldn't play for peanuts!! So had to drop the sensitivity back down to get used to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Yeah I used to use the advantage of not having a headset on so used 10 if I heard someone I could spin Quick but then I noticed my aiming was Shiet so switched to 7 then 5 then 3.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Was 6. Lee changed the setting to 8 when he was up, so leaving it at 8 and going to try play it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I generally use 3, find its easier to swing my aim onto someone bein on 3, if I go any higher I find that I try to slowly pull the gun across the screen like I'm used to, but I over swing an end up doing a 180 turn an shootin behind myself Like a dork while the opp gets an easy kill..

I'm happy with what I'm on an used to it so I wont complain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭FYG

I play using three on PS3. It's perfect for me. My friend plays using ten and I don't know how he does it. I'm hopeless playing with high sensitivity.

I don't know if it's just me, but does anybody else find the sensitivity different on the Xbox compared to the PS3? I was playing on my friend's Xbox earlier and three was too slow for me. I had to put it up to five, yet it felt the same as what I use on PS3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

FYG wrote: »
    I play using three on PS3. It's perfect for me. My friend plays using ten and I don't know how he does it. I'm hopeless playing with high sensitivity.

I don't know if it's just me, but does anybody else find the sensitivity different on the Xbox compared to the PS3? I was playing on my friend's Xbox earlier and three was too slow for me. I had to put it up to five, yet it felt the same as what I use on PS3.

The dead zone is alot bigger on the xbox afaik. Might be the cause of it.

FYG wrote: »

The PS3 sticks are known to be more sensitivity (And better) than the xbox's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Usually use 3 on Blops but on MW2 today I had It on 2 and couldn't control my aim at all so put it on 1 and was getting decent scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Wow, I use 10 and never really thought much of it till now, I'll have a go at 7 next time and see what sort of effect it has on my game play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭32yg

I used to always play on ten until i realised i didn't need it and i was missing shots by just slight bits so i put it on 7 for sniping and 5 or 6 for normal.