Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you Changed in COD?

• 12-07-2011 11:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭

Was thinking about this yesterday/today.. Wondering if anyone else might have noticed it happening with them.

When I first started playing with the Boards lads, I was not rush minded at all, I always had the mentality of sticking behind defending, not camping, (well I say that but we all know that when someone is in the one area of a map all game people are gonna call it camping, I liked to call it tactically deploying myself in a tent)

Anyways, my first game on with the lads was with Hypermuse an Beertons, didn't realise that the game was gonna get so different the more I played with more of the boards lads. I remember we had a game on Havana, Hypermuse ran straight to the enemy spawn, I was like eh what is this guy doing, I'd be guarding our 2 bomb sites, making sure the enemy team didn't get one, then a few days later I started to play in a party with Hyper, Ade an I think Kersmash an Lee, not too sure, but the same thing was happening again, lads, straight into the enemy spawn, I'm sitting back looking at them going, WTF am I gonna do, I can't get a kill when they are in the spawn an I'm outside it watching the bomb sites.

Now with me its a whole different story, the whole big FIRST BLOODthing that comes up now, like its crazy how much I rush, sometimes it gets me into alot of trouble, I run into packed spawns alot an get riddled with bullets, but for me, where hacker was once a needed perk, Mara pro is on every one of my classes, maybe the lads can't remember or don't notice me changing, but I've really had to adapt my play style to try "fit in" with the boards lads, an in the process I have gotten to be a better player. When I first started playing with the boards lads I had something like 0.71KD an at the moment it stands at 1.14 an growing, it might not be great to alot of the lads here that are beasts, but for me its some bleedin change I tell ya!

What about you lads? had to change since playing with boards lads or in full partys? An are ya better or do ya feel better now than at first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Definitely!

I for one can't play solo anymore, the average cod player is too focused on the kills rather than the win and games especially objective ones as a result are a shambles. My stats aswell are way better, more spy planes/blackbirds up for us and less up for them.

Then there's the enjoyment, playing with friends night in night out makes the game so much better. A good few times I'd be tired, but the craic would be so good I'd play for just one more game :)

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Balfie wrote: »
    I always had the mentality of sticking behind defending, not camping, (well I say that but we all know that when someone is in the one area of a map all game people are gonna call it camping, I liked to call it tactically deploying myself in a tent)

Hehe :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Leeg17 wrote: »
    A good few times I'd be tired, but the craic would be so good I'd play for just one more game :)

Sums it all up right there.

Games are way more enjoyable and not just cos of winning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

Yeh its a lot more enjoyable with people who know how to actually play the objective, today is a perfect example of why I hate playing with randomers, we had a party of 5, an the one random, an when I was waiting to spawn I was watching him, sitting in the back tank room on top summit with ghost an silenced galil, no one around him we had the enemy pushed into their own spawn, he didn't move, I got the bomb planted then, an only then he decided to go up to the enemy bomb site, it was crazy to see this mind set in sabotage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Yeah, I'm definately less "campy" now that I play with the same group all the time. Still class myself as "not a rusher" although I will rush the early rounds of s&d with an smg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Definitly. My first CoD was MW2 and I only used the scar silenced with heartbeat sensor. I just camped because I was crap. Started playing in parties with people on here and got way better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

i've always been fairly agressive i think, cos before i played with ye i mainly played with my friends from rl who are good players. I only started christmas of mw2 so i was ****e for ages but that's cos i'd no idea how to play. I used to snipe alot more though. I wasn't bad at it either. I've since lost my touch though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Not really I'm still crap but I really don't notice the way I play tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I find I play better on my own because I rage quit so much :p

But I do rush a lot, with every weapon. Especially the sniper.

Been playing a lot of MW2 lately and rushing with the M4A1 and UMP... it's class

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Oh yeah, much better since I started playing with yee. Never took out spy planes in mw2. Now If I don't have my counter killstreak or sam turrets, I have to at least try get it down for the team. Although some feeker usually shoots me in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Tallon wrote: »
    I find I play better on my own because I rage quit so much :p

But I do rush a lot, with every weapon. Especially the sniper.

Been playing a lot of MW2 lately and rushing with the M4A1 and UMP... it's class

Used to hate the M4A1 and then realised I was wrong.... so very very wrong :) Worked really well for me with the ACOG but only found this near the end of MW2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Whats changed for me ??? hmm... I've ended up talking to myself a lot ! Starting to go a bit insane !! :P But more people are starting to get on their mic nowadays. Donno how some of you guys can play CoD and not use it !

As for me as a player... not much, i **** about more than i used to i guess.. at least compared to when i played solo more because I don't have to carry you guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

BURN!

I play the only way I know how, to kill as many people in a round as possible.

This results in more deaths but that doesn't bother me.

My KD on MW2 is awful because I spent the first 18000 kills on my own.
    The next 7K were with boards but the damage was already done.

.96 K/D
    1.00 W/L

I always play Blops in a party because it's ****ing boring out of one.

1.75 K/D
    4.04 W/L (damn those disconnects!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I do rush alot, but i usually pay for it, so then what im doing lately is going in with a galil supressor and stalking behind enemy lines. Racking up kills for funsies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Probably, I dont tend to rush with the SPAS as much anymore, now the RPD with extended mags and grip is my weapon of choice. Its the only gun where I hope an airdrop crate has ammo in it, cos and ammo drop gives you another 300 rounds on top of the 300 you already have in one clip, its basically a mobile turret, the amount of triple kills I've been getting with it on Dom games is unreal, just point and fire, and hold down R1, and let the kills rack up.

Definitely use way more guns than I used to as well, I have my main TDM/Dom class which varies from the M4A1 to Tar to Scar to AK depending on if I'm trying to unlock something on it, I wont be prestiging again on MW2 so just gonna unlock everything as I go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

yeah big time changes since i started. but its your mates that make the difference. kev blacky and the lads are more for the craic than actually winning(thats just a bonus) where as shammy and the a team are all about playing the objective . and it definitely effects the way you play the game yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭claiva

sierra117x wrote: »
    yeah big time changes since i started. but its your mates that make the difference. kev blacky and the lads are more for the craic than actually winning(thats just a bonus) where as shammy and the a team are all about playing the objective . and it definitely effects the way you play the game yourself

We like winning aswell Adam......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

claiva wrote: »

I personally hate losing and generally don't enjoy playing if not in a party of perhaps 3 or more. The craic is good though, Adam, you can take some serious schlaggin son, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

I havent really changed by play style.Once new maps are out or a new version of the game i play defensive(and not camping I swear!!:p)and take my time going from point a to point b.Tend to rush a bit more once i know the maps.

Only thing that has changed recently is the game type.Use to be all tdm with a few games of FFA but with the pro challemges for perks in BLOPS has forced me to play others that I wouldnt normally,nearly play demolition constantly now with a few games of dom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I used to rage quit alot in sabotage if my team were appalling (Im talking 10 kills 100 deaths job) because I would be running around in temper and dying lots too.

But now I like to sit back, keep a level head and camp the sh1t out of it and let those buzz kill medals build up

If you're in Sabotage long enough that the enemy team can rack up 100 kills on 1 guy you're doing it wrong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Lee post the vid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Leeg17 wrote: »
    If you're in Sabotage long enough that the enemy team can rack up 100 kills on 1 guy you're doing it wrong ;)

Wait I think I meant demolition, the one with 2 bombs! I always get mixed up

Gandalph wrote: »
    Wait I think I meant demolition, the one with 2 bombs! I always get mixed up

Ah. If you're in a full party you still shouldn't be getting those scores, playing solo and being spawn trapped you could see it happening with the average mentality of the CoD player... spawn/die/run out into open with CG or Gunship up/repeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭canister94

im new enough on this usually play on my own would love to get in and play with you guys love bomb gamesadd me on xbox eptic topspinz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

MW2 wasn't my first COD game, but it was my first COD multiplayer and I think the first online multiplayer I had gotten into properly since CS 1.6 on PC. I play MW2 on my 360.

I started off being absolutely tragic. I went from maybe 1-18 to about 6-11 on average. Played defensively. Had poor map awareness. Couldn't snipe. Hated it so much. And I only ever used the one class for EVERYTHING.

Famas w/ silencer + FMJs
    Stinger
    Flash Grenades
    Semtex
    Bling Pro
    Cold-blooded Pro
    Ninja Pro
    Martyrdom

I hadn't even bothered setting up other classes, like. When I hit level 70, I decided to change weapons and stuff, and set up other classes. My sniping has come on a bit, and I like to experiment with different set ups a lot now. And an average game of TDM now works at, let's say... 13-2.
    I know maps like the back of my hand now, and I like to rush or play aggressive with assault rifles.

Was never big on the whole K/D thing. Was always an objectives man. It also helps that my mates are objective-minded as well. We've started this thing where we try and get 10 team tac victories in a row with no map or game type skips allowed. But I'm trying to recover my K/D to at least 1 before I retire from MW2. I think I'm up to 0.93 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

claiva wrote: »
    im sorry i was working off your win loss ratio and just assumed.......:pac:
    Enigma IE wrote: »

I personally hate losing and generally don't enjoy playing if not in a party of perhaps 3 or more. The craic is good though, Adam, you can take some serious schlaggin son, fair play.
    yes well as you like to point out im used to taking things hard and often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I have changed so much. Especially in terms of map awareness, ie looking around corners, throwing stuns into rooms, etc. I used to run around with lightweight and marathon without a care in the world, until I found out that the majority of the people who play COD are ignorant b@stards who will do anything in their power to ruin the game for everyone else. Its annoying that ghost campers etc have forced me to change my gamestyle, but it is what it is.

I also usen't give a sh1te if our team won our not, but now that has all changed. I'd rather win while going negative than finish top of a losing team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

i've certainly gotten a lot better in providing enemy locations to others in the team.

you never get that useful mic chat with random pub player.

Also sam-turrents or counter-uav are always in my killstreaks - if you're playing with boards guys they always get the blackbirds :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

I've gotten better, only started playing console fps xmas of mw2. Used to play ffa and tdm only . Added OpTic El Nino , started a party in mw2 , tdm on afghan and holy ****ing ****balls. He had predator in under 30 secs. . I knew I had to up me game!
    Decent now

LakesKeane wrote: »
    I've gotten better, only started playing console fps xmas of mw2. Used to play ffa and tdm only . Added OpTic El Nino , started a party in mw2 , tdm on afghan and holy ****ing ****balls. He had predator in under 30 secs. . I knew I had to up me game!
    Decent now

Sounds like a highly inspirational human being and honor to play with him. Nice wan :pac:

Us two pretty much got the PS3 side of things started, thus all pints at beers we attend should be on the house for us two xD

To a certain extent, more mentality wise if anything. I was K/D obsessive, now I'm W/L obsessive :D Good thing about the lads here, is they are for the most part are objective driven, with the lads(clan) I used to play with, pub matches were all about their scores/stats and I got caught up in that crap tbh.

As a player though, I was better before and those who played with me will know that. COD2 and 4 came so naturally(both in comp and pub) , MW2 derailed me somewhat and found my feet again with BOPS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

LakesKeane wrote: »
    Decent now

Sounds like a highly inspirational human being and honor to play with him. Nice wan :pac:

Us two pretty much got the PS3 side of things started, thus all pints at beers we attend should be on the house for us two xD

Yup, :cool:

I agree, and will happily drink on Eamo's behalf (talk about taking one for the team eh?)

Corona please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

For COD4 and WAW I only ever played hardcore mode on splitcreen with 3 friends because we didnt have internet. When I got MW2 I was the typical always crouched creeping around the map player. By the end of MW2 my motto was basically never stop running which I've carried into Blops. It makes a slow paced game fast paced and enjoyable. So yeah i've changed a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

Balfie wrote: »
    Was thinking about this yesterday/today.. Wondering if anyone else might have noticed it happening with them.

When I first started playing with the Boards lads, I was not rush minded at all, I always had the mentality of sticking behind defending, not camping, (well I say that but we all know that when someone is in the one area of a map all game people are gonna call it camping, I liked to call it tactically deploying myself in a tent)

Anyways, my first game on with the lads was with Hypermuse an Beertons, didn't realise that the game was gonna get so different the more I played with more of the boards lads. I remember we had a game on Havana, Hypermuse ran straight to the enemy spawn, I was like eh what is this guy doing, I'd be guarding our 2 bomb sites, making sure the enemy team didn't get one, then a few days later I started to play in a party with Hyper, Ade an I think Kersmash an Lee, not too sure, but the same thing was happening again, lads, straight into the enemy spawn, I'm sitting back looking at them going, WTF am I gonna do, I can't get a kill when they are in the spawn an I'm outside it watching the bomb sites.

Now with me its a whole different story, the whole big FIRST BLOODthing that comes up now, like its crazy how much I rush, sometimes it gets me into alot of trouble, I run into packed spawns alot an get riddled with bullets, but for me, where hacker was once a needed perk, Mara pro is on every one of my classes, maybe the lads can't remember or don't notice me changing, but I've really had to adapt my play style to try "fit in" with the boards lads, an in the process I have gotten to be a better player. When I first started playing with the boards lads I had something like 0.71KD an at the moment it stands at 1.14 an growing, it might not be great to alot of the lads here that are beasts, but for me its some bleedin change I tell ya!

What about you lads? had to change since playing with boards lads or in full partys? An are ya better or do ya feel better now than at first?

When I started playing COD (think I got MW2 maybe 5-6 months before blops came out) I was a lot more hesitant! I'd sit back and take the high ground somewhere and try control that part of the map.

But after a while found it boring! I find Rushing to be so much more fun, challenging and has far more variety than sitting back!

Oh how you've grown Balf!! You gots the real 3L1T3 0pT1€ zk1LLz now dawg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

just wondering how you guys play - i realized the other day that my typical setup is based on completing perk challenges, rather than chasing K/D.

I'll still play for the win, but if i'm going for ghost/ninja/hardened i'll have a setup with silencer, LAW, etc

i'll also try and change up weapons as much as possible (but i've still got a stack of FAMAS kills), currently using ak47u (grip/rapid fire) with lightweight, warlord, marathon

once i complete the warlord perk, i'll go for tac-mask pro - so i'll change the setup to include scavenger pro too

MiCr0 wrote: »
    just wondering how you guys play - i realized the other day that my typical setup is based on completing perk challenges, rather than chasing K/D.

When I was prestiging I'd always go for my most used perks first, FJ/SOH/Ninja, then just work towards levelling up as fast as possible.

I stopped prestiging at 7, so my first goal was to get all perks pro. Atm I'm trying to get Galil into top 5 guns so to knock the famas off and then to make enough money to buy everything available to me :p

Never worry about getting a higher K/D as long as I'm winning.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

I think iv gotten alot stronger as a player. I am a fairly good team player these days and I'm much more able to control my killstreaks and read the other team. Plus I think I began to enjoy the game alot more. Mainly due to watching you guys play and wanting to not fail so playing my heart out :pac: